DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 recites, “wherein heat conducting silica gel is disposed between the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface”. Perhaps Applicant means “wherein a heat conducting silica gel is disposed between the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (US 2019/0036278) (hereinafter Shimizu).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a temperature-measurement terminal structure, comprising a terminal (10) and a temperature sensor (S) (see Figs. 1 and 4A-B and paragraphs 0047); wherein the terminal (10) comprises an embedding groove (12a) with an inner contact surface (see Figs. 1 and 4A-B and paragraph 0055); and the temperature sensor (S) is at least partially disposed in the embedding groove (12a), and has a temperature measurement surface attached to the inner contact surface (see Figs. 1 and 4A-B and paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu further teaches the temperature sensor (S) is provided with a plugging port (connection point of sensor (S) and sensor cable (SC)) for being connected to an electric transmission member (SC) (see paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu further teaches the inner contact surface is a curved surface (see paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu further teaches the temperature sensor (S) is an NTC temperature sensor or a PTC temperature sensor (see paragraph 0064).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Jin et al. (CN 106329674) (hereinafter Jin).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu further teaches the terminal (10) has a cylindrical section (see Fig. 12 and paragraph 0055).
However, Shimizu does not explicitly teach the embedding groove is a circumferential groove disposed on the cylindrical section, and the temperature measurement surface is an arc surface matched with the circumferential groove.
Jin teaches the embedding groove is a circumferential groove disposed on the cylindrical section, and the temperature measurement surface is an arc surface matched with the circumferential groove (see Fig. 1 and page 4, lines 3-14).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embedding groove as taught by Shimizu to be a circumferential groove disposed on the cylindrical section, and the temperature measurement surface is an arc surface matched with the circumferential groove as taught by Jin. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to facilitate a secure and efficient thermally conductive mounting of the temperature sensor to the terminal.
Regarding claim 5, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 4, and further teaches the arc surface has a radian of 28° to 180° (see Jin; Figure 1 and page 4, lines 3-14) .
Regarding claim 6, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Shimizu further teaches a fixing portion (20) (see Figures 1 and 4A-B).
However, Shimizu does not explicitly teach the fixing portion and the temperature sensor are connected end to end to form a ring disposed in the circumferential groove.
Jin teaches the fixing portion and the temperature sensor are connected end to end to form a ring (ring-shape temperature sensor) (3) disposed in the circumferential groove (see Figure 1 and page 4, lines 3-14).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing portion and the temperature sensor as taught by Shimizu to be connected end to end to form a ring disposed in the circumferential groove as taught by Jin. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to facilitate a secure and efficient thermally conductive mounting of the temperature sensor to the terminal.
Regarding claim 7, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Shimizu further teaches the fixing portion (20) is elastic (shrinking tube (20) made from Viton; see paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Shimizu does not explicitly teach a radial thickness of the temperature sensor is less than or equal to a depth of the embedding groove.
Jin teaches a radial thickness of the temperature sensor (3) is less than or equal to a depth of the embedding groove (see page 5, lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor as taught by Shimizu with a radial thickness of the temperature sensor is less than or equal to a depth of the embedding groove as taught by Jin. One would be motivated to provide allowance for deformations of the temperature sensor with out causing damage to the sensor or the terminal.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Wang et al. (CN 213705226) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Shimizu does not explicitly teach heat-conducting silica gel is disposed between the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface.
Wang teaches teach heat-conducting silica gel is disposed between the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface (“the power supply connector temperature detecting unit 201 located on the live wire terminal in the power supply connector or near, and/or located on the neutral line terminal or near; and the power supply connector temperature detecting unit 201 is fixed with the live wire terminal and/or zero line terminal by insulating heat conducting silica gel”; see page 7, lines 34-37).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature measurement terminal structure as taught by Shimizu with heat-conducting silica gel is disposed between the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface as taught by Wang. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to improve the thermal conduction the inner contact surface and the temperature measurement surface and ensure a more accurate thermal measurement.
Conclusion
/JANICE M SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855