Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/18/2025 and 6/25/2024 are being considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an anti-false triggering assembly disposed at the main support, … wherein: the roller assembly is prevented from sliding outwards from the roller groove” in claim 9.
When looking to the specification, the anti-false assembly is discussed being a spring loaded cam assembly that prevents movement. For examination purposes, this is the structure required of the claim, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 20170055791).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a roller device, comprising:
a main support (Item 110)having a roller groove; and
a roller assembly comprising a roller (Item 142), a locking component (Item 210), and an ejection component (Item 213), wherein:
the locking component is connected to the roller, and has a first position where the locking component is locked to the main support and a second position where the locking component is released from the main support (Paragraph 99); and
the ejection component is disposed at the main support or the roller assembly, and configured to provide a force for the roller to move out of the roller groove (Paragraph 91; helps remove the locking component).
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the roller device according to claim 1, wherein the locking component comprises a locking support (Item 211), a button (Item 212a), and a swing arm (Item 212), wherein: the locking support axially is connected to the roller; the button is disposed at the locking support, the button being movable in an axial direction of the roller; the swing arm jaw is rotatably disposed at the locking support; the button is configured to move towards the roller to push the swing arm jaw to rotate(Fig 9), and the swing arm jaw is separated from the main support.
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses the roller device according to claim1,further comprising a connection assembly, the connection assembly comprising a bearing (Item 234), a first end cap (Item 120), and a second connection shaft (Item 141) , wherein: the first end cap is fixedly connected to a side of the roller facing towards the locking component; and the second connection shaft traverses the first end cap and the bearing and is connected to the locking component (at Item 233), the bearing being disposed between the second connection shaft and the locking component.
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses the roller device according to claim1,further comprising a drive assembly fixedly disposed at the main support and located at a side of the roller away from the locking component, the drive assembly being configured to drive the roller to rotate and be disconnected from the roller when the roller slides outwardly (Figure 6 Item 31).
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses the cleaning apparatus, comprising: a body housing; and the roller device according to claim 1,the main support being fixedly disposed at the body housing (Figures 3 and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723