DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7, 12, 20, 27, 32, and 40-51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
When Examiner rejected the application, Examiner did not apply the claimed to specification of application. Examiner rejected based on claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shekhar et al. (US 20230189115 A1).
Considering claim 7, Shekhar teaches a method of a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving (208, Fig.2A-C), from a communication apparatus, first information included in information of a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule, the first information indicating which URSP information is to be reported (Fig.2A-C, [0063] At 208, a Registration Accept message is sent to UE 102-1 including the URSPs… URSPs and their corresponding NF_TOKENs and QOS TOKENs as configured for subscription information for UE, [0064]); and
Sending (218, Fig.2A-C), to the communication apparatus, second information corresponding to the first information, the second information being provided by an application of the UE, the second information being included in the information of the URSP rule (Fig.2A-C, [0064] UE 102-1 to send a PDU Session Establishment Request message to AMF 122 at 218 that includes the application identifier for the first application ‘App1’, the S-NSSAI-141...).
Considering claim 27, Shekhar teaches a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.5) comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (504, 506, Fig.5); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (502, Fig.5) to:
receive (208, Fig.2A-C), from a communication apparatus, first information included in information of a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule, the first information indicating which URSP information is to be reported (Fig.2A-C, [0063] At 208, a Registration Accept message is sent to UE 102-1 including the URSPs… URSPs and their corresponding NF_TOKENs and QOS TOKENs as configured for subscription information for UE, [0064]); and
send (218, Fig.2A-C), to the communication apparatus, second information corresponding to the first information, the second information being provided by an application of the UE, the second information being included in the information of the URSP rule (Fig.2A-C, [0064] UE 102-1 to send a PDU Session Establishment Request message to AMF 122 at 218 that includes the application identifier for the first application ‘App1’, the S-NSSAI-141...).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 20, 32, 40-51 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claims 12, 20, 32, 40, the most pertinent prior art of record,
Shekhar et al. (US 20230189115 A1) teaches user equipment (UE) to UE communications in a mobile network environment. In one example, a method may include provisioning a UE route selection policy (URSP) for each of a first UE and a second UE, wherein each URSP provisioned for each of the first UE and the second UE comprises: a first token that identifies at least one network resource that is to be utilized for a session for each of the first UE and the second UE; and a second token associated with a quality of service (QoS) that is to be provided for each session. The first token can be used to establish a session for each of the first and second UE using the same at least network resource and each session can be provided a QoS level based on the second token.
Kim et al. (US 20250150888 A1) teaches a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting higher data transmission rates, and pertains to an operation method of a user equipment (UE). The operation method comprises the steps of transmitting a registration request message including a traffic category support indication to an access and mobility management function (AMF) via an access node, receiving, from the AMF via the access node, a UE configuration update message including UE route selection policy (URSP) rules determined on the basis of the traffic category support indication and first traffic category mapping information, and determining a protocol data unit (PDU) session for application traffic on the basis of the URSP rules and pre-stored second traffic category mapping information.
Huang-Fun et al. (US 20210243664 A1) teaches method for UE route selection policy (URSP) rule matching is proposed. URSP is used by a UE to determine if a detected application can be associated to an established PDU session, can be offload to non-3GPP access outside a PDU session, or can trigger the establishment of a new PDU session. The UE first finds a non-default URSP rule with a matching traffic descriptor to the application. When the UE fails to find existing PDU session or setup new PDU session with any or the route selection descriptors of the non-default URSP rule, the UE moves to another non-default URSP rule, if any, and try the matching. If all non-default URSP rules cannot be matched with the application, then the UE tries the default URSP rule, which includes a match-all traffic descriptor.
However, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the following:
“receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a first message, the first message including first information included in information of a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule and second information, the first information being provided by an application of the UE, the second information indicating one or more parameters of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU)session; and sending, to the UE, a second message based on a check whether the first information and the second information are compliant with a URSP rule of the UE, the second message including an update of the second information.”, in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 12, 20, 32, 40.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641