DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/31/2025, wherein claims 1-15 have been examined and are pending. This Action is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment/ Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claim 1, filed on 01/12/2016, have been considered but are moot in new ground of rejection. The previously cited references Kammachi and Gugumasu disclose all the limitations as cited in independent claims 1, 12 and 14-15. See the following rejection.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 14-15, Applicant argues that Kammachi and Gugumasu do not disclose determine a target temporal level. However, Gudumasu [0275] dicloses stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded and [0279], [0308], [0312] discloses temporal_layer_id used to indicate a determined temporal layer. Hence, Gudumasu discloses determine a target temporal level, and identifying a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level as cited in claims 1, 12 and 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kammachi Sreedhar et al. (U.S. 2021/0314626) hereinafter Kammachi, in view of Gudumasu et al. (U.S. 2023/0281923) hereinafter Gudumasu.
Regarding claim 1, Kammachi discloses a method performed in a reception device of point cloud data (Kammachi [0134]), the method comprising:
identifying a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level; and extracting one or more samples from the identified track set, wherein each track included in the track set includes a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Kammachi [0031], [0125]-[0128]: video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) using tracks; [0103]: samples mapped to level n may depend on any sample of levels m where m<=n. Levels can be specified according to temporal sub-layer (i.e. TemporalId). A feature can be specified through a sample grouping of tracks. Temporal Level sample grouping can be used to indicate a mapping of pictures to temporal levels. Hence, tracks in a track set can be identified based on predetermined temporal level, and tracks includes a temporal level less than or equal to a target temporal level TemporalID. The Level Assignment box provides a mapping from features, such as temporal sub-levels, to levels, wherein the features can be specified through a track or grouping of tracks).
Kammachi does not explicitly disclose determine a target temporal level.
Gudumasu discloses determine a target temporal level; identifying a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level (Gudumasu [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Kammachi, and further incorporate having determine a target temporal level, as taught by Gudumasu, for efficient representation and processing of data (Gudumasu [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Kammachi discloses a reception device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising:
a memory, and at least one processor (Kammachi [0032], [0040], [0209], [0211]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
identify a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level; and extract one or more samples from the identified track set, wherein each track included in the track set includes a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Kammachi [0031], [0125]-[0128]: video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) using tracks; [0103]: samples mapped to level n may depend on any sample of levels m where m<=n. Levels can be specified according to temporal sub-layer (i.e. TemporalId). A feature can be specified through a sample grouping of tracks. Temporal Level sample grouping can be used to indicate a mapping of pictures to temporal levels. Hence, tracks in a track set can be identified based on predetermined temporal level, and tracks includes a temporal level lass than or equal to a target temporal level TemporalID. The Level Assignment box provides a mapping from features, such as temporal sub-levels, to levels, wherein the features can be specified through a track or grouping of tracks).
Kammachi does not explicitly disclose determine a target temporal level.
Gudumasu discloses determine a target temporal level; identifying a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level (Gudumasu [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Kammachi, and further incorporate having determine a target temporal level, as taught by Gudumasu, for efficient representation and processing of data (Gudumasu [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Kammachi discloses a method performed in a transmission device of point cloud data. the method comprising:
partitioning a bitstream including the point cloud data and storing it in a plurality of tracks (Kammachi [0125]-[0128], [0156]: tracks of point cloud PCC data); and
generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file based on the tracks (Kammachi [0125]-[0128], [0156]: video coded point cloud PCC including geometry bitstream and tracks),
wherein the plurality of tracks includes at least one of temporal level tracks or temporal level tile tracks, wherein the temporal level tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level, and wherein the temporal level tile tracks are decapsulated by a the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level and a predetermined target tile identifier list (Kammachi [0031], [0125]-[0128]: video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) using tracks; [0103]: samples mapped to level n may depend on any sample of levels m where m<=n. Levels can be specified according to temporal sub-layer (i.e. TemporalId). A feature can be specified through a sample grouping of tracks. Temporal Level sample grouping can be used to indicate a mapping of pictures to temporal levels. Hence, tracks in a track set can be identified based on predetermined temporal level, and tracks includes a temporal level lass than or equal to a target temporal level TemporalID. The Level Assignment box provides a mapping from features, such as temporal sub-levels, to levels, wherein the features can be specified through a track or grouping of tracks).
Kammachi does not explicitly disclose wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process.
Gudumasu discloses wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process (Gudumasu [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Kammachi, and further incorporate having wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process, as taught by Gudumasu, for efficient representation and processing of data (Gudumasu [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Kammachi discloses a transmission device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising:
a memory, and at least one processor (Kammachi [0032], [0040], [0209], [0211]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
partition a bitstream including the point cloud data and store it in a plurality of tracks (Kammachi [0125]-[0128], [0156]: tracks of point cloud PCC data); and
generate a geometry based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file based on the tracks (Kammachi [0125]-[0128], [0156]: video coded point cloud PCC including geometry bitstream and tracks),
wherein the plurality of tracks includes at least one of temporal level tracks or temporal level tile tracks, wherein the temporal level tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level, and wherein the temporal level tile tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level and a predetermined target tile identifier list (Kammachi [0031], [0125]-[0128]: video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) using tracks; [0103]: samples mapped to level n may depend on any sample of levels m where m<=n. Levels can be specified according to temporal sub-layer (i.e. TemporalId). A feature can be specified through a sample grouping of tracks. Temporal Level sample grouping can be used to indicate a mapping of pictures to temporal levels. Hence, tracks in a track set can be identified based on predetermined temporal level, and tracks includes a temporal level lass than or equal to a target temporal level TemporalID. The Level Assignment box provides a mapping from features, such as temporal sub-levels, to levels, wherein the features can be specified through a track or grouping of tracks).
Kammachi does not explicitly disclose wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process.
Gudumasu discloses wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process (Gudumasu [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Kammachi, and further incorporate having wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process, as taught by Gudumasu, for efficient representation and processing of data (Gudumasu [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Kammachi and Gudumasu disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kammachi discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tracks, each of the extracted samples belongs to a temporal level less than equal to the target temporal level (Kammachi [0031], [0125]-[0128]: video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) using tracks; [0103]: samples mapped to level n may depend on any sample of levels m where m<=n. Levels can be specified according to temporal sub-layer (i.e. TemporalId). A feature can be specified through a sample grouping of tracks. Temporal Level sample grouping can be used to indicate a mapping of pictures to temporal levels. The Level Assignment box provides a mapping from features, such as temporal sub-levels, to levels, wherein the features can be specified through a track or grouping of tracks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gudumasu et al. (U.S. 2023/0281923) hereinafter Gudumasu.
Regarding claim 1, Gudumasu discloses a method performed in a reception device of point cloud data (Gudumasu [0010], [0090]), the method comprising:
determine a target temporal level; identifying a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level: and extracting one or more samples from the identified track set, wherein each track included in the track set includes a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Gudumasu Abstract, [0275]-[0277]: dividing the point cloud PCC frames based on the temporal layers. A PCC streaming application may stream only a specific temporal layer ID frames. Scalability of a sample entry of tracks of PCC data; [0279]-[0290], [0299], [0302]: PCC frames are divided into temporal layers with temporal layer identifiers. PCC tile track with tiles belonging to one or more temporal layers; [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample, hence extracting samples based on temporal level. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, track includes temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level; [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
Regarding claim 12, Gudumasu discloses a reception device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising:
a memory, and at least one processor (Gudumasu [0010], [0045]: transmit/receive unit WTRU include processor and memory) wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a target temporal level; identify a track set including one or more tracks from the point cloud data based on the target temporal level; and extract one or more samples from the identified track set, wherein each track included in the track set includes a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Gudumasu Abstract, [0275]-[0277]: dividing the point cloud PCC frames based on the temporal layers. A PCC streaming application may stream only a specific temporal layer ID frames. Scalability of a sample entry of tracks of PCC data; [0279]-[0290], [0299], [0302]: PCC frames are divided into temporal layers with temporal layer identifiers. PCC tile track with tiles belonging to one or more temporal layers; [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample, hence extracting samples based on temporal level. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, track includes temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level; [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
Regarding claim 14, Gudumasu discloses a method performed in a transmission device of point cloud data. the method comprising:
partitioning a bitstream including the point cloud data and storing it in a plurality of tracks (Gudumasu [0096]-[0102]: tracks of point cloud PCC data): and
generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file based on the tracks (Gudumasu [0090], [0099]-[0102]: geometry-based point cloud compression G-PCC tracks),
wherein the plurality of tracks includes at least one of temporal level tracks or temporal level tile tracks, wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process, wherein the temporal level tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level, and wherein the temporal level tile tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level and a predetermined target tile identifier list (Gudumasu Abstract, [0275]-[0277]: dividing the point cloud PCC frames based on the temporal layers. A PCC streaming application may stream only a specific temporal layer ID frames. Scalability of a sample entry of tracks of PCC data; [0279]-[0290], [0299], [0302]: PCC frames are divided into temporal layers with temporal layer identifiers. PCC tile track with tiles belonging to one or more temporal layers; [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample, hence extracting samples based on temporal level. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, track includes temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level; [0297], [0294]: tile identifier for PCC tile corresponding to samples in a respective track; [0106]-[0111]: PCC tile tracks; [0130]-[0136]: tile identifiers for tile track samples. Samples in a tile track can contain a maximum number of tile with corresponding tile identifiers; [0159]: decoding method comprises obtaining meta data track comprises plurality of tile identifiers, i.e. target tile identifier list. At least one tile is selected from the plurality of tiles. The at least one selected tile corresponds to at least one tile identifier, i.e. target tile identifier; [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
Regarding claim 15, Gudumasu discloses a transmission device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising:
a memory, and at least one processor (Gudumasu [0010], [0045]: transmit/receive unit WTRU include processor and memory), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
partition a bitstream including the point cloud data and store it in a plurality of tracks (Gudumasu [0096]-[0102]: tracks of point cloud PCC data): and
generate a geometry based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file based on the tracks (Gudumasu [0090], [0099]-[0102]: geometry-based point cloud compression G-PCC tracks),
wherein the plurality of tracks includes at least one of temporal level tracks or temporal level tile tracks, wherein a target temporal level is determined by a sample extraction process, wherein the temporal level tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level, and wherein the temporal level tile tracks are decapsulated by the sample extraction process based on the target temporal level and a predetermined target tile identifier list (Gudumasu Abstract, [0275]-[0277]: dividing the point cloud PCC frames based on the temporal layers. A PCC streaming application may stream only a specific temporal layer ID frames. Scalability of a sample entry of tracks of PCC data; [0279]-[0290], [0299], [0302]: PCC frames are divided into temporal layers with temporal layer identifiers. PCC tile track with tiles belonging to one or more temporal layers; [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample, hence extracting samples based on temporal level. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, track includes temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level; [0297], [0294]: tile identifier for PCC tile corresponding to samples in a respective track; [0106]-[0111]: PCC tile tracks; [0130]-[0136]: tile identifiers for tile track samples. Samples in a tile track can contain a maximum number of tile with corresponding tile identifiers; [0159]: decoding method comprises obtaining meta data track comprises plurality of tile identifiers, i.e. target tile identifier list. At least one tile is selected from the plurality of tiles. The at least one selected tile corresponds to at least one tile identifier, i.e. target tile identifier; [0275]: stream specific temporal layer ID frames. Frames of an individual temporal layer can be decoded; [0279], [0308], [0312]: temporal_layer_id).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Gudumasu discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively.
Gudumasu discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tile tracks, each track included in the track set includes a tile identifier included in a predetermined target tile identifier list (Gudumasu [0297], [0294]: tile identifier for PCC tile corresponding to samples in a respective track; [0106]-[0111]: PCC tile tracks; [0130]-[0136]: tile identifiers for tile track samples. Samples in a tile track can contain a maximum number of tiles with corresponding tile identifiers; [0159]: decoding method comprises obtaining meta data track comprises plurality of tile identifiers, i.e. target tile identifier list. At least one tile is selected from the plurality of tiles. The at least one selected tile corresponds to at least one tile identifier, i.e. target tile identifier. Hence, sample includes tile identifier included in target tile identifier list).
Regarding claim 3, Gudumasu discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Gudumasu discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tracks, each of the extracted samples belongs to a temporal level less than equal to the target temporal level (Gudumasu [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, extracted samples belong to temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level).
Regarding claim 4, Gudumasu discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Gudumasu discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tracks, each of the extracted samples belongs to a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Gugumasu [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, extracted samples belong to temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level) and has a presentation time greater than a predetermined first presentation time (Gudumasu [0110], [0144], [0159]: G-PCC base track sample is identified using presentation time of the sample. Utilizing a first track reference type associated with the at least one geometry tile track, a base track including initialization data for the at least one selected tile is identified. Hence, predetermined first presentation time; [0115]: The base track sample’s presentation time, i.e. predetermined first presentation time, is equal to or less than the tile track sample presentation time. Hence, the track sample has presentation time greater than a first presentation time).
Regarding claim 7, Gudumasu discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Gudumasu discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tile tracks, each of the extracted samples belongs to a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Gugumasu [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, extracted samples belong to temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level) and includes a tile identifier included in the target tile identifier list (Gugumasu [0297], [0294]: tile identifier for PCC tile corresponding to samples in a respective track; [0106]-[0111]: PCC tile tracks; [0130]-[0136]: tile identifiers for tile track samples. Samples in a tile track can contain a maximum number of tiles with corresponding tile identifiers; [0159]: decoding method comprises obtaining meta data track comprises plurality of tile identifiers, i.e. target tile identifier list. At least one tile is selected from the plurality of tiles. The at least one selected tile corresponds to at least one tile identifier, i.e. target tile identifier. Hence, sample includes tile identifier included in target tile identifier list).
Regarding claim 8, Gudumasu discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Gudumasu discloses wherein based on the tracks being temporal level tile tracks, each of the extracted samples belongs to a temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level (Gugumasu [0311]-[0312], Claim 12: samples of PCC in a track are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample. The sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1, i.e. target temporal level. Hence, extracted samples belong to temporal level less than or equal to the target temporal level), includes a tile identifier included in the target tile identifier list (Gugumasu [0297], [0294]: tile identifier for PCC tile corresponding to samples in a respective track; [0106]-[0111]: PCC tile tracks; [0130]-[0136]: tile identifiers for tile track samples. Samples in a tile track can contain a maximum number of tiles with corresponding tile identifiers; [0159]: decoding method comprises obtaining meta data track comprises plurality of tile identifiers, i.e. target tile identifier list. At least one tile is selected from the plurality of tiles. The at least one selected tile corresponds to at least one tile identifier, i.e. target tile identifier. Hence, sample includes tile identifier included in target tile identifier list), and has a presentation time greater than a predetermined first presentation time (Gudumasu [0110], [0144], [0159]: G-PCC base track sample is identified using presentation time of the sample. Utilizing a first track reference type associated with the at least one geometry tile track, a base track including initialization data for the at least one selected tile is identified. Hence, predetermined first presentation time; [0115]: The base track sample’s presentation time, i.e. predetermined first presentation time, is equal to or less than the tile track sample presentation time. Hence, the track sample has presentation time greater than a first presentation time).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of the first presentation time is set to a presentation time of a last played sample among the extracted samples as cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of based on extraction of the samples being performed first, the first presentation time is set to a minimum possible presentation time as cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of based on at least one of target parameters including the target temporal level being changed. a target change time is set to a predetermined value, and wherein first samples and second samples having a presentation time greater than the target change time among the extracted samples are discarded as cited in claim 9.
Claims 10-11 are allowable because they depend on allowable parent claim 9 as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486