DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 26 June 2024 has been entered; claims 1-23 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a combination of mental processes and mathematical calculations without significantly more. The claim recites calculating an amount of constituent components in an initial state (before filtration is implied), a change over time which could be selected as a mental process by an ordinary artisan, calculating an accumulated amount of constituent components on a surface of the membrane, and calculating a cleaning effect and condition based on the accumulated amount of constituent components. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no active filtration or cleaning steps.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because an ordinary artisan could meet the limitations of claim 1 by select a membrane with a manufacturer-provided reject rate with recommended membrane lifetime, add NaCl to water at a known (calculated) concentration, pass this NaCl solution through the selected membrane over a certain desired time (“change over time”), measure how much Na and Cl ions are in the reject and permeate, compare these values to the manufacture-provided reject rate, any difference in these values being the amount of NaCl components that have accumulated on the membrane or in its pores, and based on that value, send a cleaning solution of a given type or concentration through the membrane to restore it. All of the steps of claim 1 are therefore considered as mental processes and/or mathematical calculations that could easily be done by hand. Even if filtering and cleaning steps were actively recited, these concepts are conventional in the art (see rejections below).
Claims 2-21 do not resolve these issues, as claims 5-14 and 16-22 all recite further details of how the above constituent components or accumulated constituent components are calculated based on membrane filtration resistance and/or transmembrane pressure difference (claims 5-8) or how cleaning conditions are predicted or calculated (claims 9-14 and 16-21).
Claim 22 recites an initial value acquisition unit, a data acquisition unit, a calculation unit, a unit configured to calculate the restoration degree of an accumulated amount of the constituent components or membrane filtration resistance, and a chemical liquid cleaning condition determination unit which could all be met by an ordinary artisan for the reasons discussed above for claim 1. The Examiner further notes that claim 22 does not even actively require the separation membrane or a membrane that is configured to separate the constituent components from the liquid-to-be-filtrated. As discussed above for claim 1, the limitations of claim 22 could be met by one having ordinary skill in the art that performs data gathering, calculation, and manually doses cleaning solution to the membrane when constituent components accumulate on the membrane based on basic calculations of solution concentration and manufacturer’s guidelines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1-23, the limitations recite numerous “calculations” and “determinations” of vaguely worded operating or cleaning “conditions” associated with separation membrane operation, constituent components within a feed liquid, accumulated constituents on membrane surfaces, and cleaning parameters, all of which build on previous calculations. The Examiner submits that claim 1 is nothing more than a mental process which is met by person having ordinary skill in the art, as it does not even actively recite a separation membrane, a step of filtering, or actual cleaning steps. Most of not all of the dependent claims include limitations which are merely directed to number manipulations of the aforementioned calculations. Claim 22, a purported separation membrane device claim, does not recite any specific components associated with a membrane, and instead recites various “units” which perform calculations which could easily be done by hand by a person skilled in the art.
With specific reference to claim 5, “divided into a plurality of pieces of membrane filtration resistance or amounts of the constituent components…” render the claim indefinite, as it is unclear to what a “plurality of pieces” could possibly be referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanada et al. (U.S. Patent Publication # 2010/0250154), hereinafter “Hanada”.
With respect to claim 23, Hanada teaches a computer 1 (“non-transitory computer-readable recording medium”) storing a program for determining operating conditions of a separation membrane (Paragraph [0147-149]), the program causing a computer to execute:
a step of acquiring an initial value of an amount of constituent components in a liquid-to-be-filtrated accumulated in the separation membrane by determining a time series change in transmembrane pressure and/or membrane filtration resistance (see Paragraphs [0015, 0028, 0029, 0148]);
a step of acquiring data indicating a time-series change in properties of the constituent components in the liquid-to-be-filtrated and an amount of the constituent components and data indicating a time-series change in an operating condition of the separation membrane after the initial value is set (Paragraphs [0148-0150, 0184]);
a step of integrating and calculating an amount of the constituent components in the liquid-to-be-filtrated accumulated on a surface and in pores of the separation membrane after the initial value is set (see Abstract; Paragraphs [0009, 0157, 0162, 0163, 0168, 0184]);
a step of calculating a restoration degree of an accumulated amount of the constituent components or membrane filtration resistance in washing (“chemical liquid cleaning”) based on a calculation result of the accumulated amount (Paragraphs [0060, 0097, 0099, 0102, 0124, 0125, 0258]);
and a step of determining the membrane washing force (“chemical liquid cleaning condition”) based on the calculation result (Paragraphs [0186, 0188, 0206, 0258]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2008-142675 A, hereinafter “JP (‘675)”.
With respect to claims 1, 9, 14, and 22, JP (‘675) (see claims and Paragraphs [0001, 0008-0010, 0015, 0019-0021, 0057-0059, 0074-0093]) teaches a method and device for operating a separation membrane that filters a liquid to be filtered to obtain filtered water from the change over time in the type of constituent components present at an initial value (as modifier is added), the amount of constituent components of the liquid to be filtered (as constituent components get filtered out by the separation membrane) (see Paragraph [0021] for how this is measured, meeting the limitations “initial value acquisition unit”), as well as operation conditions based on adjustment of the injection amount of a modifier (corresponding to the chemical liquid) (Paragraphs [0015-0017]), which comprises chemicals that break down non-membrane-permeable substances (it is considered that the amount of constituent components including suspending solids-inorganic content) includes an inherent initial value: see Paragraphs [0021, 0077]). Regarding the amount of constituent components adhering to the separation membrane, this accumulated amount is calculated based on the amount of change in the membrane resistance (see Paragraphs [0032, 0078]; “a calculation unit configured to calculate an amount of constituent components of the liquid-to-be filtrated accumulated on a surface and in pores of the separation membrane after the initial value is set”) and the adhered amount of constituent components due to the injection of the modifier (Paragraph [0015]); on the basis of the results, the operation conditions for a modifier injection amount and type of cleaning liquid (“chemical liquid cleaning condition”/”physical cleaning condition determination”) adjusting means are determined based on chemical liquid type or amount (Paragraphs [0015, 0084, 0085, 0093]).
With respect to claim 2, JP (‘675) teaches that the separation membrane is a microfiltration membrane or an ultrafiltration membrane (Paragraph [0013]).
With respect to claim 3, JP (‘675) teaches that the liquid to be filtered is activated sludge (see Abstract; Paragraphs [0074]).
With respect to claim 4, JP (‘675) teaches cleaning the surface of the membrane simultaneously or intermittently with filtration (see Claim 1; Paragraphs [0009, 0074]).
The method for operating the separation membrane performs adjustment of the injection amount of a modifier concurrently or sequentially with filtration; and the injection conditions for the modifier are determined by considering the effect on the filterability of the liquid to be filtered. Regarding the modifier, a person skilled in the art could merely, as appropriate, determine conditions such as the concentration, time, temperature, supply flow rate, number of times, type, and interval in addition to the injection amount; as such, the Examiner submits that the claimed invention would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan.
With respect to claims 11-21, JP (‘675) teaches the recited filtrating operation and cleaning operation, as discussed above, as well as a physical cleaning condition determination step associated with the amount of constituent components accumulated on the surface of and within the pores of the separation membrane and chemical liquid cleaning effect calculation, which is used to control the operation of the separation membrane (see Abstract; Paragraphs [0006, 0073]), including prediction steps and cleaning target times and value setpoints (, as well as calculating cleaning costs based on power cost related to operation of the membrane (Paragraphs [0057-0059]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2008-142675 A as applied to claim 1 , and further in view of US 2010/0250154 A1, hereinafter “JP (‘675)” and “US (‘154)”.
With respect to claims 5-7, JP (‘675) does not specifically teach operating the separation membrane or while controlling membrane filtration flow rate/flux or transmembrane pressure difference as recited in claims 6 and 7.
US (‘154) teaches operating a membrane filtration process by predicting time change of membrane filtration resistance and time change of transmembrane pressure difference as a time series which include membrane washing (see Abstract; claims and Paragraphs [0001, 0097, 0099, 0102, 0124, 0125, 0147-0150, 0184, 0186, 0188, 0206, 0258]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to control the membrane process operation according to membrane filtration flow rate/flux or transmembrane pressure difference as taught by US (‘154), in order to optimize separation membrane performance and cleaning.
Conclusion
/CLARE M. PERRIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/CLARE M PERRIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 29 October 2026