DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 07/02/2026 has been considered and entered. The response persuasively argues that Choi et al. (US 2007/0083071) does not particularly recite the IQR of the claim, and thus the previous rejections in view of Choi are withdrawn. The response is not persuasive over the rejections in view of Vapola et al. (WO 2019/197720A1) because Vapola recites light naphtha having boiling point range of 30℃ to 180℃, which according to Table 1 of the instant specification have IQR of about 0.7. The amendment necessitates new grounds of rejections.
The amendment removes the broader and narrower range limitations which overcomes the rejections based on indefiniteness.
Rejections based on obviousness double patenting in view of US 10,844,288 and US 10,793,781 are withdrawn for not particularly providing the IQR of the naphtha composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 – 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vapola et al. (WO 2019/197720A1)
In regard to claim 27, Vapola teaches method for producing a mixture of biohydrocarbons containing propene and ethene and the use of the mixture of biohydrocarbons for producing chemicals and/or polymer (abstract). The biohydrocarbons are produced by thermally cracking a hydrocarbon composition derived from a renewable feedstock (page 1 lines 4 – 7). Thermal cracking of the composition is conducted at a coil outlet temperature of from 780℃ to 890℃ (page 4 lines 23 – 26).
The feed is renewable isomeric paraffinic composition that may comprises at least one of vegetable or animal oil or fat, or may comprise at least one of diesel and/or naphtha having a boiling point of from 30 to 180℃ which comprises light naphtha (i.e., as co-feedstock) which are subjected to thermal cracking to provide propene and ethene (page 5 lines 6 – 21). Light naphtha has an IQR of about 0.7 and isomerized diesel range hydrocarbons have IQR of 2 according to Table 1 of applicant’s specification (see compositions C1 and C3 of pages 55 – 56 of the specification).
The composition can comprise fractions having at least 50%, or at least 90% of C10 to C20 hydrocarbons and at most 1% or at most 0.2% aromatics etc. (page 5 lines 26 – 31). Thermal cracking yields more than 50% of ethylene and propylene followed by separation and/or purification of the cracking products (i.e., effluent) (page 26 lines 1 – 26). The feed is the same as the claimed and thus provides the limitation of stabilized feed as claimed.
Cracking products include hydrogen, methane, ethane, ethene, propane, propene, butane, butylene, isobutene, butadiene, C5+ hydrocarbons such as aromatics, benzene, toluene, xylene and C5 to C18 paraffins and olefins and derivatives (page 28 lines 8 – 11, page 42 & Table 9).
In regard to claim 28, Vapola teaches the process wherein cracking occurs in a steam cracker (page 23 lines 19 – 20).
In regard to claim 29, Vapola teaches the process and process and the reaction temperatures as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 30, Vapola teaches the process wherein the feed may comprise naphtha alone (100%) or in combination with diesel as previously stated.
In regard to claim 31, Vapola teaches the process wherein the product separated include ethylene and propylene and paraffins such as propane, butane etc., butadiene, aromatics, benzene (page 28 lines 1 – 11). Vapola teaches recycling unconverted reactants (i.e., paraffins) to thermal cracking allows a very high overall yield of the process (page 24 lines 10 – 11).
In regard to claim 32, Vapola teaches the process wherein the bio-hydrocarbon products (i.e., bio-monomers) are used for producing other chemicals and/or polymer thus providing the derivatization or polymerization as claimed.
In regard to claim 33, Vapola teaches the biopolymer composition as previously stated.
In regard to claim 34, Vapola teaches the naphtha range and isomerized diesel feed having the IQR as claimed.
In regard to claim 35, Vapola teaches the composition wherein the feed is preferably 90% or high of C10 to C20 hydrocarbons and which does not require the presence C4 and lower carbon numbers.
In regard to claim 36, Vapola teaches the feed which comprise at most 2% or at most 0.5% olefins, and at most 5% or at most 2% naphthenes in one fraction (page 6 lines 1 – 8).
In regard to claim 37, Vapola teaches the feed having the claimed amount of aromatics as previously stated.
In regard to claim 38, Vapola teaches the feed having the carbon range that overlaps the claimed limitation (i.e., fraction A) as previously stated. Fraction B can comprise C5 to C10 hydrocarbon at 90% or more (page 15 lines 13 – 30).
In regard to claim 39, Vapola teaches the naphtha-range feed having similar IQR values as previously discussed.
In regard to claims 40, 41, Vapola teaches the feed (fraction B) which does not require the presence of C11 and higher carbon numbers as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 42, Vapola teaches the feed having the isomeric feed comprising at least 90% or at least 99% paraffins (page 10 lines 14 – 22).
In regard to claims 43, 44, Vapola teaches the feed having at least 10% and at most 89% of n-paraffin in the isoparaffin composition, and thus overlaps the claimed ranges (page 4 lines 6 – 12).
In regard to claim 45, Vapola teaches the feed having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 46, Vapola teaches the composition having the benzene, ethylene and propylene content as previously stated, and which does not require the presence of carbon monoxide in the product (Table 9). For instance, the feedstock undergoes hydrotreatment and isomerization which removes light gases such as carbon monoxide (page 22 lines 11 – 15).
In regard to claim 47, Vapola teaches the composition which may optionally comprise benzene in the effluent and provides the claimed amount (i.e., 0%).
In regard to claim 48, Vapola teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regard to claims 49, 50, Vapola teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regard to claim 51, Vapola teaches the composition having the butadiene in the claimed amount (Table 9).
In regards to claim 52, Vapola teaches the composition which does not comprise pyrolysis oil (Table 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vapola does not recite the IQR of the composition and merely reciting naphtha having boiling point of 30℃ does not guarantee that the composition would have the IQR of the claim. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant provides no evidence for the assertion. Vapola teaches naphtha (i.e., in the light naphtha boiling point range) which is understood as having similar or identical composition as those of the instant claims and would be expected to have similar properties. Since IQR is calculated based on the ingredients present in the naphtha, it is unclear why the IQR would not be similar or identical.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771