DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/9/ is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-14 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 appears to improperly depend upon two dependent claims. It is unclear which claims or limitations are being dependent upon. Claims are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wijning (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0059007).
Regarding claim 1, Wijning discloses a method of handling an auxiliary nacelle unit of a wind turbine, the wind turbine including a tower and a main nacelle unit (202) attached to the tower (Figs. 1-38), the method comprising providing at least one temporary hoist (670, Fig. 5) formed from a plurality of hoist components, including a winch (676), a hoist cable (678) operatively coupled to the winch, and a support frame (673, 675) defining a hoist cable locator (679) configured to engage the hoist cable, the hoist cable locator being movable between a retracted position and an extended position (Para [0231]), the support frame further comprising a boom (675) carrying the hoist cable locator (679); a mast (600); and an actuator (672) assembling the at least one temporary hoist (670) on the main nacelle unit, comprising pivotally connecting the boom to the main nacelle unit pivotally connecting the mast to the main nacelle unit connecting the actuator between the mast and the boom; and routing the hoist cable from the winch to the hoist cable locator connecting the hoist cable to the auxiliary nacelle unit; (Para [0214]) activating the winch to move the auxiliary nacelle unit from a first position to a second position; and activating the actuator (672) to move the hoist cable locator between the retracted position and the extended position ( Figs. 1-33).
Regarding claim 11, Wijning discloses further comprises locating the winch (676) of the at least one temporary hoist adjacent a base of the tower (Figs. 1-38).
Regarding claim 12, Wijning discloses disconnecting the at least one temporary hoist (670) from the main nacelle unit (Figs. 1-38).
Regarding claim 13, Wijning discloses providing the at least one temporary hoist (670) includes providing two or more temporary hoists (670, and 300).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a method of handling an auxiliary nacelle unit of a wind turbine, the wind turbine including a tower and a main nacelle unit, at least one temporary hoist, a winch, a hoist cable, a support frame, a hoist cable movable between a retracted and extended position, the support frame comprising a boom, a mast, an actuator, assembling the at least one temporary hoist on the main nacelle unit, connecting the hoist cable to the auxiliary nacelle unit, activating the winch and the actuator, where the auxiliary nacelle unit is assembled to the main nacelle unit, where the auxiliary nacelle unit is in abutting relation to the main nacelle unit as recited in claim 2 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety; or wherein the auxiliary nacelle unit is being disassembled from the main nacelle unit and laterally spaced from the main nacelle unit as recited in claim 4 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety; providing a temporary jib hoist on the main nacelle unit as recited in claim 6 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety; or the support fame comprises one or more mounting brackets, connecting the one or more mounting brackets to the main nacelle unit adjacent a first side edge, connecting the boom to one or more mounting brackets and connecting the mast to the one or more mounting brackets as recited in claim 7 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety; or support; or the support frame further comprises a tension member wherein the at least one temporary hoist further comprises connecting the tension member to the mast as recited in claim 9 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety; or the two or more temporary hoists includes a first and second temporary hoist connected to a portion of the auxiliary nacelle and the other hoist adjacent a rear end of the main nacelle unit as recited in claim 14 in combination with claim 1 in its entirety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633