DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiro (JP2009076514A) in view of Xu et al. (CN105161313A).
In re claim 1, Masahiro discloses a composite comprising a defect-induced carbon body (¶14). Masahiro does not disclose a metal oxide coupled to the carbon body.
Xu discloses a metal oxide coupled to a carbon body in which the final product is a metal oxide-CNT composite (Summary of the Invention ¶1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nanoelectrode material of Xu to improve the specific capacitance and cycle charge and discharge stability in a supercapacitor (Xu: Summary of the Invention ¶1).
In re claim 2, Masahiro in view of Xu discloses the composite of claim 1, as explained above. Masahiro does not disclose characterized in that the metal oxide is a nickel-cobalt oxide.
Xu discloses that the metal oxide is a nickel-cobalt oxide (Summary of the Invention ¶1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nanoelectrode material of Xu to improve the specific capacitance and cycle charge and discharge stability in a supercapacitor (Xu: Summary of the Invention ¶1).
In re claim 3, Masahiro in view of Xu discloses the composite of claim 1, as explained above. Masahiro does not disclose that the metal oxide is NiCo204.
Xu discloses that the metal oxide is NiCo204 (Summary of the Invention ¶1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nanoelectrode material of Xu to improve the specific capacitance and cycle charge and discharge stability in a supercapacitor (Xu: Summary of the Invention ¶1).
In re claim 7, Masahiro an energy storage device (¶1) comprising, as an electrode (¶1), a composite including a defect-induced carbon body (¶14).
Masahiro does not disclose a metal oxide coupled to the carbon body.
Xu discloses a metal oxide coupled to a carbon body in which the final product is a metal oxide-CNT composite (Summary of the Invention ¶1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nanoelectrode material of Xu to improve the specific capacitance and cycle charge and discharge stability in a supercapacitor (Xu: Summary of the Invention ¶1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the contact angle of a precursor solvent of the metal oxide with respect to the surface of the carbon body is about 25 degrees to about 35 degrees due to the induced defect.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the carbon body has a dimple or spherical protrusion formed on the surface thereof.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the metal oxide is coupled in the form of a protrusion formed by aggregation of a plurality of particle phases on the surface of the carbon body.
Claims 8-11 are allowed. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) inducing defects in a carbon body through a Joule- heating process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moilanen et al. (US Publication 2013/0130049) [¶128]
Yang et al. (US Publication 2010/0181200) [¶54]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848