Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-26 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed non-elected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “ soybeans having a high protein content” is vague and indefinite because the term high is relative. It’s unclear what would be considered as “ high”.
Claim 3 is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what is intended. The claim sets a series of comparative conditions because it’s unclear what they meant. The method has not set forth any measurable amounts of water, electricity or CO2; thus, it’s unclear what would be considered as less. It’s unclear what would be considered as commodity soybeans. It’s unclear what “ the same protein content” indicated. Is it the protein content of the soybeans or the protein content of the protein-enriched soy protein composition. It’s unclear what the comparison mean because it’s not known what the process encompassed in the preparation using commodity soybeans.
In claim 12, the recitation of “ the soy protein composition” is vague and indefinite because it’s not clear which composition the claim is referring to. Is it the composition of steps b, c, d, or e? The limitation “ low molecular weight” is vague and indefinite because the term “ low” is relative. What would be considered as “ low”. The recitation “ the total dietary fiber” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 13, the limitation “ compared to produced from commodity soybeans” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what is considered as commodity soybeans. There is no parameter defining commodity soybeans.
Claim 14 has the same problem as claim 13. The repetitive recitation of “ as compared as compared” is believed to be typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang ( 2009/0041887).
For claim 1, Liang discloses a method of producing protein-enriched soy composition. The method comprises the steps of providing a high protein soybeans, defatting the soybeans by solvent extraction, desolventizing the defatted soybean to remove residual solvent to produce soy bean composition comprising at least 60% protein on dry weight basis, contacting the soybean composition with aqueous alcohol extraction to remove soluble carbohydrate to produce soybean concentrate having at least 65% protein. ( see paragraphs 0006,0013,0036-0037,0051,0053,0056)
For claim 4, Liang discloses growing the soybeans, harvesting the soybeans and transporting to processing facility. ( see paragraph 0071
For claims 2,8,9, Liang discloses the soybean has a protein content of at least 45%. ( see paragraphs 0036,0037)
For claims 5-6, Liang discloses extraction to produce soybean concentration using aqueous alcohol ( 60-80% ethanol). ( see paragraph 0056)
For claim 10, Liang discloses dehulling the soybeans before defatting. ( see paragraph 0046)
For claim 11, Liang discloses flaking the soybeans before defatting. ( see paragraph 0050)
For claim 12, Liang discloses removing the oil to a content of less than about 1% by weight. ( see paragraph 0051)
Liang does not disclose step (e) as in claim 1, the properties as in claim 3, the feature as in claim 7, the properties as in claims 13-14).
Liang discloses to remove the solvent after the soybeans are extracted to remove the oil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also remove the solvent after the alcohol extraction to obtain soybean protein concentrate to obtain a pure protein product without any residual solvent. Liang discloses the soybean protein concentrate has at least 65% protein which means the protein content can be higher including the amount as claimed. Claim 3 is vague and indefinite as explained in the 112 rejection above. In any event, Liang discloses processing high protein content soybeans through substantially the same processing steps as in the claimed method. Thus, its obvious the properties in claims 3, 13, 14 are present in the Liang product. It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. in re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), in re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 ( Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to use just water or other solvent for extraction when the use of alcohol is not desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang ( 2009/0041887) in view of Kijima ( 4152465).
Liang does not disclose extruding.
Kijima discloses a method of making textured soy protein. The textured protein is made by extrusion. ( see col. 4)
Liang discloses further processing can be used to make other food products from the soybean protein concentrate including texturized concentrates in processed foods. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use extrusion as taught in Kijima when desiring to make textured protein.
Claim(s) 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang ( 2009/0041887) in view of Liu ( 2007/0054031), Prevost ( 2002/0090418).
Liang does not disclose hydrothermal cooking and the PDI .
Liu discloses processing of soybeans by hydrothermal cooking is known. ( see paragraph 0023)
Prevost disclose soy protein products. Prevost teaches soy protein concentrate having high protein dispersibility index gives better quality for human consumption. ( see paragraph 0041)
Liang discloses further processing can be used to make other food products from the soybean protein concentrate. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use hydrothermal cooking as disclosed in Prevost when desiring to make cooked protein product. The PDI measures the amount of dispersible protein in the protein product. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to obtain product having high PDI to give better quality product as shown in Prevost. Since the protein composition disclosed in Liang is obtained from high protein soybeans, it’s obviously inherent the claimed PDI can be obtained.
Conclusion
August 19, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793