DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-21are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one through-hole” of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “composed of at least one selected from” should read –composed of at least one material selected from–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
“suction means” in claim 1 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f), finding support as a “suction pump” in paragraph 0080 of Applicant’s published application. The use of “suction means” in claim 15 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) because claim 15 provides additional structure to define the suction means as a suction pump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoru (JP2019186509A – previously of record).
In reference to claim 1:
Satoru discloses a sheet fixing apparatus for fixing a multilayer sheet (para 0013), comprising: a support stage for supporting the multilayer sheet (Fig. 2 numeral 21 and 21a-c), the support stage having a plate-shaped member having a flat surface on which the multilayer sheet is placeable (Fig. 2 numeral 21c), a suction hole provided at a position corresponding to an outer peripheral portion of the multilayer sheet in the plate-shaped member (Fig. 2 peripheral suction 23), and a step portion provided along an outside of the suction hole in the plate-shaped member (Fig. 2 numeral 21b); and suction means capable of sucking the multilayer sheet toward the support stage via the suction hole (para 0034). Satoru further discloses the substrate suction device corrects for warpage and flattens the substrate (para 0025) and the flat state of substrate suction device and warped workpiece improves the precision of grinding and polishing (para 0060). Satoru does not explicitly disclose wherein the flat surface has a flatness of 0.30 mm or less as defined by JIS B0621-1984. However, it is the Examiner’s position that as the object if Satoru is to obtain a flat workpiece it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the stage as flat as practicable, including the claimed 0.30 mm or less as defined by JIS B0621-1984, in order to have the most precision grinding and polishing.
In reference to claim 2:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the suction hole and the step portion is 30 mm or less. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
In reference to claim 3:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the suction hole has a recessed portion , and the recessed portion is provided with at least one through-hole penetrating through the plate-shaped member (Fig. 2; see para 0064 of Applicant’s Specification as published disclosing “A shape of the through-hole may coincide with or may not coincide with the surface shape of the suction hole 24. In other words, the surface size (hole diameter) of the through-hole provided in the recessed portion may be smaller than the surface size of the suction hole 24.”).
In reference to claim 12:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the support stage further comprises a plurality of auxiliary suction holes, separately from the suction hole (Fig. 2).
In reference to claim 13:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the suction means comprises a lower stage disposed on a side opposite to the flat surface of the plate-shaped member, and the lower stage comprises a gas flow path communicating with the suction hole (Fig. 2).
In reference to claim 14:
In addition to the discussion of claim 12, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the suction means comprises a lower stage disposed on a side opposite to the flat surface of the plate-shaped member, and the lower stage comprises a gas flow path communicating with the suction hole and the auxiliary suction holes (Fig. 2).
In reference to claim 15:
In addition to the discussion of claim 13, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the suction means further comprises a suction pump connected to the gas flow path (section 0034, it is the Examiner’s position that “suction device” would disclose a “suction pump” within the broadest reasonable interpretation to a person having ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2111).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoru as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Nakaya (JP2014216440A).
In reference to claim 3:
Alternatively, in the event it is determined Satoru does not disclose wherein the suction hole has a recessed portion , and the recessed portion is provided with at least one through-hole penetrating through the plate-shaped member, this would have been obvious in view of Nakaya. Nakaya teaches an adsorption plate for wafer processing (para 0001). Nakaya further teaches that providing the vacuum holes with a chamfer in order to prevent scratches (para 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Satoru with the chamfered vacuum holes of Nakaya in order to prevent scratches.
In reference to claim 5:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not explicitly disclose wherein when the support stage is seen in plan view, a shape of the suction hole is at least one selected from a group consisting of a circular shape or an arc shape. However, the selection of a known shape, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). As applied to the instant application, Nakaya teaches a vacuum adsorption plate for wafer processing (para 0001). Nakaya further teaches wherein the suction hole is a circular or arc shape (para 0024, Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a suction hole having a circular or an arc shape because each shape is known in the art as suitable for the intended use.
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses wherein the support stage has a plurality of suction holes but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of suction holes are configured as an aggregate that brings about a circle or an arc. However, the selection of a known shape/design, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). As applied to the instant application, Nakaya teaches a vacuum adsorption plate for wafer processing (para 0001). Nakaya further teaches wherein the plurality of suction holes are configured as an aggregate that brings about a circle or an arc (para 0024, Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the suction holes to bring about a circular or an arc shape because each shape is known in the art as suitable for the intended use.
In reference to claim 11:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not explicitly disclose wherein at least an end portion on the suction hole side of the step portion is rounded. However, this would have been obvious in view of Nakaya. Nakaya teaches an adsorption plate for wafer processing (para 0001). Nakaya further teaches that providing the vacuum holes with a chamfer in order to prevent scratches (para 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Satoru with the chamfered vacuum holes of Nakaya in order to prevent scratches.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoru as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Shigeru (JPH03282472A).
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses wherein when the support stage is seen in plan view, the suction hole has a shape along a contour of the multilayer sheet but does not disclose in the suction hole, a partition wall provided parallel to the contour of the multilayer sheet is present to divide the suction hole into a plurality of suction regions. However, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). As applied to the instant application, Shigeru teaches an apparatus for holding a flat substrate, such as a wafer or printed circuit board, using vacuum (page 3 ln 1-7). Shigeru further teaches wherein in the suction hole a partition wall is provided parallel to the contour of the multilayer sheet to divide the suction hole into a plurality of suction regions (page 4 ln 14-21). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the suction hole of Satoru with the partitioned suction hole of Shigeru because each element is known in the art for providing vacuum suction and the combination yields predictable results, i.e. the object is held using a known suction hole.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoru as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Suhara (US20020154491A1).
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not disclose wherein the support stage has a positioning pin for positioning the outer peripheral portion of the multilayer sheet onto the suction hole, on a top surface side of the flat surface. However, this would have been obvious in view of Suhara. Suhara teaches an apparatus for holding a flat object such as a printed circuit board (abstract). Suhara further teaches using positioning pins in order to position the flat object on the support stage (para 0089). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Satoru with the positioning pins of Suhara in order to obtain an apparatus which correctly positions the flat object.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoru as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Nakamura (US20200113066A1).
In reference to claim 8:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru further discloses that the roughness of the plate-like member can require the use of an seal (para 0035) but does not disclose wherein the flat surface has an arithmetic average roughness Ra of 0.01 μm or more and 0.50 μm or less. However, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (See MPEP 2143 and 2143.02). As applied to the instant application, Nakamura teaches a vacuum adsorption plate for producing a laminate, specifically a multilayered circuit board (paras 0008-0012). Nakamura further teaches using a surface with an arithmetic average roughness RA of 0.1 to 70 nm (.0001-.07 μm). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plate-like member having an arithmetic average roughness of 0.1-70 nm in the apparatus of Satoru because all of the claimed elements are known in the art and the combination yields predictable results, i.e. the object is held by a plate-like member having a roughness known as suitable for holding flat objects.
In reference to claim 9:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not disclose wherein the plate-shaped member has a Vickers hardness of 10 HV or more and 3000 HV or less. However, this would have been obvious in view of Nakamura. Nakamura teaches a vacuum adsorption plate for producing a laminate, specifically a multilayered circuit board (paras 0008-0012). Nakamura further teaches that in order to ensure flatness when the object is mounted the support has a Vickers hardness of 500-3000 HV (para 0045). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the apparatus of Satoru with a support having a hardness of 500-3000 HV in order to ensure flatness when the object is mounted.
In reference to claim 10:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Satoru does not disclose wherein the plate-shaped member is composed of stainless steel. However, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). As applied to the instant application, Nakamura teaches a vacuum adsorption plate for producing a laminate, specifically a multilayered circuit board (paras 0008-0012). Nakamura further teaches using a plate-shaped member composed of stainless steel (para 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select stainless steel for the plate-shaped member based on its suitability for the intended use of a vacuum suction stage.
Conclusion
/ANDREW L SWANSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745