DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-7, 9-13, and 15-17 are pending. Claims 1-7, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected herein. This is a Final Rejection as necessitated by the amendment and arguments (hereinafter “the Response”) dated 28 Aug 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-7, 9, 11-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANADA (US 6087796) in view of KLIMAN (US 6208132).
Regarding claim 1: CANADA discloses: A device to detect a rotational run speed of a piece of rotating machinery (abstract), the device comprising: a magnetic flux sensor (40 in FIG. 1); a vibration sensor (30); a processor (70 in FIG. 2); and a memory (80), said memory including instructions; said processor being in communication with said magnetic flux sensor (40 in FIG. 1; said processor through line 42), said vibration sensor (30 with communication through line 32), and said memory (FIG. 2), said processor being configured to: receive magnetic flux data from said magnetic flux sensor (data is represented by the arrow above step 134 in FIG. 3C); execute said instructions in said memory to apply a fast Fourier transform to said magnetic flux data to generate transformed magnetic flux data (step 134 in FIG. 3C; done by Fast Fourier Transform [FFT] in col. 4 lines 38-59); execute said instructions in said memory to determine a prominent fundamental frequency in said transformed magnetic flux data that falls within a predetermined range of the rotating machinery (peaks of the flux spectrum in col. 7 lines 32-49); receive vibration data (arrow going into step 104 in FIG. 3A) from the vibration sensor (30 in FIG. 1); execute the instructions in the memory to apply a fast Fourier transform to the vibration data to generate transformed vibration data (acquire spectrum in step 104; col. 4 lines 38-59) having multiple peaks, each peak corresponding to a frequency (steps 134, 136 in FIG. 3C; col. 7 lines 32-49); and execute the instructions in the memory to determine the rotational run speed of the piece of rotating machinery based on the transformed magnetic flux data and the transformed vibration data (The algorithm is detailed in col. 7 line 32-col. 9 line 4.).
CANADA discloses using the data from both sensors (col. 2 line 22-col. 3 line 27), and also narrowing the search to a probable band of frequencies (col. 5 lines 11-29). However CANADA does not disclose that this probable band of frequencies is determined from the prominent fundamental frequency of the flux data.
KLIMAN however does teach using flux data (10 in FIG. 1) and then determining a spectrum using a Fourier transform (col. 2 lines 52-67), then using the peaks in the flux spectrum to determine a range in which to search for potential rotor frequencies (equivalent to rotational run speed; “Derived rotor frequency candidates are derived from analysis of the vicinity of the specified frequency of the stator” in col. 3 lines 7-20). KLIMAN then goes on to add additional steps to the algorithm when there is more than one candidate for rotor frequency/rotational run speed.
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the more adaptive way of finding a probable band of frequencies to search in (based on the flux spectrum as opposed to the predetermined band taught by CANADA) so that the technique can be used on variable speed motors (col. 3 line 65-col. 4 line 3 of KLIMAN) as opposed the motors of CANADA which have a fixed speed with rated slip as predetermined by its operational specifications and printed on its nameplate (col. 5 lines 11-29 of CANADA).
Regarding claim 2: CANADA discloses: the device is not wired to the piece of rotating machinery (sensors are in “sensory contact” but no wired connection is disclosed. Col. 4 lines 5-11; Unit can be completely self-contained including sensors, data acquisition, and power, so as not to interfere with the operation of the motor. Col. 9 lines 5-17).
Regarding claims 6 and 12: CANADA discloses: the prominent fundamental frequency is determined from a peak in the transformed magnetic flux data that falls within the typical range of the rotating machinery (peaks of the flux spectrum in col. 7 lines 32-49).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 13, and 15: CANADA discloses: the processor is further configured to execute instructions in the memory to perform a peak detection algorithm on the transformed magnetic flux data to determine the prominent fundamental frequency that falls within the typical range of the rotating machinery (It is inherent that when a processor such as 220 in FIG. 5 detects peaks in a data set as described in col. 7 lines 32-49 that it is executing a “peak detection algorithm.” Also, a peak determination threshold is explicitly disclosed in col. 5 lines 50-64.).
Regarding claim 11: CANADA discloses: A method for wirelessly (“self-contained” unit in col. 9 lines 5-17; rf data transmission in col. 9 lines 50-55) detecting a rotational run speed of a piece of rotating machinery (abstract), the method comprising a processor (70 in FIG. 2): receiving magnetic flux data (data is represented by the arrow above step 134 in FIG. 3C) from a magnetic flux sensor (40 in FIG. 1); executing instructions in a memory (80 in FIG. 2) to apply a fast Fourier transform to the magnetic flux data (step 134 in FIG. 3C; done by Fast Fourier Transform [FFT] in col. 4 lines 38-59) to generate transformed magnetic flux data (spectrum in step 134); executing instructions in the memory to determine a prominent fundamental frequency in the transformed magnetic flux data that falls within a typical range of the rotating machinery (peaks of the flux spectrum in col. 7 lines 32-49); receiving vibration data (arrow going down into step 104 in FIG. 3A) from a vibration sensor (30 in FIG. 1); executing instructions in the memory to apply a fast Fourier transform to the vibration data to generate transformed vibration data (acquire spectrum in step 104; col. 4 lines 38-59); and executing the instructions in the memory to determine the rotational run speed of the piece of rotating machinery based on the transformed magnetic flux data and the transformed vibration data (The algorithm is detailed in col. 7 line 32-col. 9 line 4.).
CANADA discloses using the data from both sensors (col. 2 line 22-col. 3 line 27), and also narrowing the search to a probable band of frequencies (col. 5 lines 11-29). However CANADA does not disclose that this band of frequencies is determined from the prominent fundamental frequency of the flux data.
KLIMAN however does teach using flux data (10 in FIG. 1) and then determining a spectrum using a Fourier transform (col. 2 lines 52-67), then using the peaks in the flux spectrum to determine a range in which to search for potential rotor frequencies (equivalent to rotational run speed; “Derived rotor frequency candidates are derived from analysis of the vicinity of the specified frequency of the stator” in col. 3 lines 7-20). KLIMAN then goes on to add additional steps to the algorithm when there is more than one candidate for rotor frequency/rotational run speed.
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the more adaptive way of finding a band of frequencies to search in (based on the flux spectrum as opposed to the predetermined band taught by CANADA) so that the technique can be used on variable speed motors (col. 3 line 65-col. 4 line 3 of KLIMAN) as opposed the motor of CANADA which has a fixed speed with rated slip that is predetermined by its operational specifications and printed on its nameplate (col. 5 lines 11-29 of CANADA).
Regarding claim 17: CANADA discloses: the processor sending the rotational run speed of the piece of rotating machinery to another device for analytics and machine monitoring (data link in col. 9 lines 50-55).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANADA and KLIMAN in view of JONES (US 6876167).
Regarding claim 3: CANADA does not specify that the vibration sensor is an accelerometer.
JONES however does teach an accelerometer (col. 5 lines 22-47) in their invention for determining rotational run speed (abstract), which collects vibrational data (col. 2 lines 35-40), and combines it with other data (col. 3 lines 7-18).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the accelerometer of JONES as the vibration sensor of CANADA because it can be mounted unobtrusively outside the motor housing (col. 5 lines 22-47 of JONES).
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANADA, KLIMAN, and JONES in view of CARTER et al. (US 20170066464).
Regarding claim 4: CANADA as modified by KLIMAN and JONES does not specify the underlying technology that the acceleration sensor is based on. It is just taken as a given that accelerometers exist.
CARTER however does teach different types of accelerometers such as MEMS (para. 67) and piezoelectric (para. 67), on their device to detect rotational run speed (para. 69), using signals from a vibration sensor (para. 69) and an accelerometer (para. 67).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use an accelerometer based on MEMS or piezoelectric technology because they are the most common and readily available accelerometers on the market today.
Regarding claim 10: CANADA discloses: the device further comprises a transmitter (RF data link in col. 9 lines 50-55), and the processor is further configured to send the rotational run speed of the piece of rotating machinery to another device by the transmitter for analytics and machine monitoring (col. 9 lines 50-55).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANADA and KLIMAN in view of NIE et al. (CN 111579812). Please note that a machine translation of NIE was included with the office action dated 30 June 2026. All references to text in NIE are to that machine translation.
Regarding claim 5: As best understood, CANADA does not disclose the underlying technology in their magnetic flux sensor. It is just taken as a given that magnetic flux sensors exist.
NIE however does teach a magnetic flux sensor based on the magnetoresistance effect (page 1 lines 55-60). NIE also teaches that their sensor is used to determine rotational speed (page 1 lines 10-15).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the magnetoresistance sensor of NIE as the magnetic flux sensor of CANADA as modified by KLIMAN because it “is insensitive to oil mist, vibration, environmental airflow, etc.” (page 1 lines 55-60 of NIE).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANADA and KLIMAN in view of JONES and NIE.
Regarding claim 16: As best understood, CANADA discloses: the processor (70 in FIG. 2) is part of a hybrid rotational detector device (10 in FIG. 1).
CANADA does not disclose non-contact sensors.
However it is known in the art to have both non-contact vibrometers (col. 5 lines 33-42 of JONES) and non-contact magnetic flux sensors (page 3 lines 16-17 of NIE).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use non-contact sensors so that they do not interfere with the operation of the motor (page 6 lines 38-41 of NIE).
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment to claim 5 to overcome the previous objection is acknowledged and said objection is accordingly withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1 and 11 to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are acknowledged and said rejections are accordingly withdrawn.
The Applicant has argued (page 7 of the Response) that CANADA does not disclose determining the rotational run speed of a piece of rotating machinery based on a single peak in an isolated frequency band. The Examiner agrees with this statement as CANADA is not relied upon to teach this limitation as stated in the rejections of claims 1 and 11.
The Applicant has argued (page 8 of the Response) that KLIMAN does not teach determining the rotational run speed of a piece of rotating machinery based on a single peak in an isolated frequency band. This argument has been fully considered and is not persuasive. The Examiner cited col. 3 lines 7-20 of KLIMAN which state (emphasis added):
Derived rotor frequency candidates are derived from analysis of the vicinity of the specified frequency of the stator. One method for deriving rotor frequency candidates can be by determining stator fundamentals and sidebands in section 18 and estimating the rotor frequency as one half the frequency difference between the fundamental and a sideband. Stator frequency side bands, which can be obtained by conventional techniques, should be equidistant from the fundamental stator frequency. If the peaks around the fundamental stator frequency are such that the stator side bands are clearly identified, then a single rotor frequency candidate can be derived. In many spectra, there may be extraneous peaks that make determination of the actual stator sidebands difficult. In such situations, multiple candidates are derived.
Therefore KLIMAN teaches identifying the single peak within an isolated focal band. KLIMAN also goes on to teach additional techniques for determining the rotational run speed if there are multiple candidates, but the algorithm stops if there is only one candidate, which is the limitation contained in claims 1 and 11. Therefore the combination of CANADA and KLIMAN teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11.
The Applicant makes this same argument with respect to claim 11 on page 9 of the Response. This argument has been fully considered and is not persuasive for the same reasons as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855