DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0045, “basic unit” should read “basic unit U” where the item identifier is next to the definition.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1—2, 5,7,10, and 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 12, “92 wt %-to “should read “92 wt % to”.
In claim 1, line 13, “0 wt %-to” should read “0 wt % to”.
In claim 2, line 2, “1 wt %-to” should read “1 wt % to”.
In claim 5, line 2, “surface of the at least one of the separator” should read “surface of at least one of the separator”.
In claim 7, line 2, “93 wt %-to” should read “93 wt % to”.
In claim 10, line 2, “0.1 μm to −10 μm” should read “0.1 μm to 10 μm”.
In claim 11, line 2, “1 μm-to” should read “1 μm to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
In claim 6, line 1, the dependency is on itself and renders it unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3—8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, et al. (US 2021/0167392 A1) in view of Hyeong, et al. (WO 2019/160305 A1), and further in view of Annaka, et al. (US 2021/0351479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin, et al. teach a method for manufacturing a secondary battery (paragraph 0002), the method comprising: accommodating the electrode assembly in a battery case (paragraph 0106—00109); injecting a gel polymer electrolyte composition into the battery case to impregnate the electrode assembly with the gel polymer electrolyte composition (paragraph 0106 and 0110—0111); and curing the gel polymer electrolyte composition (paragraph 0111), wherein a separator comprises a porous substrate (paragraph 0036—0037) and coating layers disposed on surface of the porous substrate (paragraph 0034; examiner notes Shin, et al. does not limit which side the coating layer is located), the coating layers comprises from 92 wt % to less than 100 wt % of inorganic particles (paragraph 0065; examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the inorganic particles may be 20 parts by weight to 99 parts by weight).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2131.03.
Shin, et al. further teach the coating layers comprise from more than 0 wt % to 8 wt % of a binder (paragraph 0061; examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the binder may be 5 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the coating layer).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2131.03.
Shin, et al further teach the gel polymer electrolyte composition comprises a lithium salt (paragraph 0024 and 0082), an organic solvent (paragraph 0024 and 0082), an oligomer compound (paragraph 0024 and 0082) and does not include a polymerization initiator (paragraph 0023 and 0070).
Shin, et al. further teach a gel polymer electrolyte comprising lithium salt including LiPF6, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAlO4, LiAlCl4, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiN(C2F5SO2)2, LiN(CF3SO2)2, LiCl, LiI, and LiB(C2O4)2 in a concentration range of 0.8 M to 2.0 M (paragraph 0083), a non-aqueous organic solvent including ether compound, ester compound, amide compound, linear carbonates or cyclic carbonate compound (paragraph 0084), and an oligomer including epoxy group or a functional group capable of undergoing a ring-opening reaction with an epoxy group (paragraph 0024). Turning to applicant’s specification the gel polymer electrolyte comprises lithium salt including LiPF6, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAlO4, LiAlCl4, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiN(C2F5SO2)2, LiN(CF3SO2)2, LiCl, LiI, and LiB(C2O4)2 in a concentration range of 0.1 M to 5.0 M (paragraph 0118), a non-aqueous organic solvent including ethers, esters (acetates and propionates), amides, linear carbonates or cyclic carbonates (paragraph 0126), and an oligomer including epoxy-based oligomers (paragraph 0119). Thus, the examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the same gel polymer electrolyte species as applicant.
Shin, et al. further teach a coating layer comprising of inorganic particles including Al2O3, BaTiO3, MgO, CaO, CeO2, SiO2, SnO2, TiO2, Y2O3, ZnO, ZrO2, Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 (PZT); PLZT; PB(Mg3Nb2/3)O3—PbTiO3 (PMN-PT); hafnia (HfO2) and more specifically, may include Al2O3 (paragraph 0064) and binder including poly(vinylidene fluoride) (PVdF) or PVdF-co-HFP (paragraph 0048). Turning to applicant’s specification recites a coating layer comprising of inorganic particles including Al2O3, BaTiO3, MgO, CaO, CeO2, SiO2, SnO2, TiO2, Y2O3, ZnO, ZrO2, Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 (PZT); PLZT; PB(Mg3Nb2/3)O3—PbTiO3 (PMN-PT); hafnia (HfO2) and more specifically, may include Al2O3 (paragraph 0053) and binder including polyvinylidene fluoride, polyvinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene (paragraph 0059). Because Shin, et al. teach the same coating layer species as applicant’s ceramic coating layer, thus examiner contents they are the same.
However, Shin, et al. does not teach preparing an electrode assembly in which electrodes and a separator are alternately laminated; an adhesive composition with polymerization initiator that is dissolved by the gel polymer electrolyte composition wherein the gel polymer electrolyte composition is cured by the dissolved polymerization initiator.
Hyeong, et al. teach a method for manufacturing a secondary battery (paragraph 0001) wherein the method comprise preparing an electrode assembly in which electrodes (item—1 and 2, paragraph 0006; examiner notes Hyeong, et al. teach a negative plate as item—1 and positive plate as item—2) and a separator (item—3, paragraph 006) are alternately laminated (figure 1; examiner notes Hyeong, et al. refers the laminate tray as stack base in paragraph 0012). Hyeong, et al. motivation for stacking operation of the secondary battery is to shorten working time and improve productivity (paragraph 0023).
Figure 1 Hyeong, et al.
Annaka, et al. teach a method for manufacturing a secondary battery (paragraph 0001) wherein the method comprises an adhesive composition is applied to a surface that is either or both of a separator or an electrode (paragraph 0010), thereby allowing the electrodes and the separator to adhere to each other (paragraph 0074); and the adhesive composition comprises an adhesive (paragraph 0060 and 0228) and a polymerization initiator (paragraph 0124 and 0228).
Annaka, et al. teach the adhesive composition has an acrylate based adhesive polymer including methyl acrylate (paragraph 0083), 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (paragraph 0083), hydroxyethyl acrylate (paragraph 0098) and a polymer initiator including cumene peroxide (paragraph 0124). Annaka, et al. further teach the adhesion can be dissolved by organic solvent or mixture without any specific limitation (paragraph 0068) and cured by heat (paragraph 0228). Annaka, et al. teach organic solvents including ethyl acetate, γ-butyrolactone, ε-caprolactone, acetonitrile (paragraph 0068). Turning to applicant’s specification the adhesive composition has an acrylate based adhesive polymer including methyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate (paragraph 0069—0070) and a polymer initiator including cumyl hydroperoxide [paragraph 0078]. The applicant’s specification further recites the gel polymer electrolyte comprises an organic solvent including γ-butyrolactone, and ε-caprolactone (paragraph 0130), acetonitrile (paragraph 0126). Because Annaka, et al. teach the same species of adhesive composition and organic solvent as applicant, thus the examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the adhesive and the polymerization initiator are dissolved by the injection of the gel polymer electrolyte composition, and the gel polymer electrolyte composition is cured by the dissolved polymerization initiator (the examiner notes the Annaka, et al. teach the electrode assembly is heat-press in paragraph 0257 to bind the separator and electrodes). Annaka, et al. motivation for adhesive composition in this invention is to improve the binding strength of the separator to the cathode and anode (paragraph 0015) and improve permeability of the electrolyte injected into a secondary battery (paragraph 0008).
Shin, et al., Hyeong, et al. and Annaka, et al. teach a method to manufacture a secondary battery involving laminated/stack method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a method of manufacturing a secondary battery taught by Shin with the alternating lamination method taught by Hyeong, et al., with the adhesive composition taught by Annaka, et al. to configure the stacked battery assembly with reinforced binding as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Annaka, et al. further teach the adhesive is an acrylate-based adhesive (paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 4, Annaka, et al. further teach the adhesive composition is applied in the form of a plurality of patterns spaced apart from each other (figure 7, paragraph 0142; examiner notes Annaka, et al. teach in paragraph 0142 droplets [item—50} of an adhesive material are applied onto a substrate [item—60] via nozzles [item—55] of a coating machine item—55—54 and in paragraph 0071 the dotted adhesive material is disposed (formed) in a striped array ).
Figure 7 Annaka et al.
Regarding claim 5, the amount of adhesive dissolved is a property. Because the references teach the same species as the applicant, the examiner contends that the traces of the adhesive applied are present on the surface of the separator is expected.
Regarding claim 6, Annaka, et al. teaches an overlapping area range of the adhesive composition applied is from more than 0% to 1% with respect to an area of the surface on which the separator and the electrodes are in contact with each other (paragraph 0051; examiner notes Annaka, et al. teaches a ratio of coverage of the adhesive material in the inner region P [area covered by adhesive material in inner region P/area of entire inner region P] is preferably 1.0%—50% wherein the ratio of coverage of the adhesive material in the inner region P is not less than the lower limit set forth above, sufficient adhesive strength of an electrode and a separator can be ensured). Annaka, et al. motivation is to have adhesive with a dotted shape for a method producing a secondary battery that can improve permeability of electrolyte solution to a central part of a positive electrode or a negative electrode. (paragraph 0018—0019).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 7, Shin, et al. further teach the ceramic coating layers comprise from 93 wt % to 98 wt % of inorganic particles (paragraph 0065; examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the inorganic particles may be 20 parts by weight to 99 parts by weight)
Prior art teaches a range which encompasses the narrower range which is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Shin, et al. further teach the ceramic coating layers comprise from 2 wt % to 7 wt % of a binder (paragraph 0061; examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the binder may be 5 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the coating layer).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 8, Annaka, et al. further teach the coating layer may include a binder comprises an acrylic binder (paragraph 0231).
Regarding claim 10, Shin, et al. further teach the ceramic coating layers has a thickness of from 0.1 μm to 10 μm (paragraph 0039; examiner notes Shin, et al. teach the coating layer may have a thickness of 0.1 μm to 20 μm).
Prior art teaches a range which encompasses the narrower range which is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 2, 9, 11 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, et al. (US 2021/0167392 A1) in view of Hyeong, et al. (WO 2019/160305 A1), in further view of Annaka, et al. (US 2021/0351479 A1), and further in view Kim, et al. (EP 3605650 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shin, et al., Hyeong, et al. and Annaka, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but does not teach the adhesive composition wt% of adhesive and polymerization initiator.
Kim et al. teach the adhesive composition comprises from 90 wt % to 99 wt % of the adhesive and from 1 wt % to 10 wt % of the polymerization initiator (paragraph 0050; examiner notes Kim, et al. teach the polymerization initiator may be in a range of about 0.01 parts to about 10 parts by weight, based on 100 pats by weight of a total weight of the monomer/adhesive). Kim, et al. motivation for adhesive composition with the electrolyte in this invention is to improve the binding strength of the separator to the cathode and anode of a secondary battery (paragraph 0004).
Prior art teaches a range which encompasses the narrower range which is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Kim et al. further teaches the adhesive composition has an acrylate based adhesive polymer including methyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, hydroxyethyl acrylate (paragraph 0036) and a polymer initiator including hydrogen peroxide, organic peroxides, benzoyl peroxide, cumene hydroperoxide, 2,2'-azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN), 2,2'-azobis(2,4-dimethylvaleronitrile) [paragraph 0050]. Kim, et al. further teaches the separator impregnate with organic electrolyte that will improve the separator adhesion to an electrode (paragraph 0033). The organic electrolyte composition comprises an organic solvent including ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, butylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dipropyl carbonate, ethylmethyl carbonate, methylpropyl carbonate, and ethylpropyl carbonate (paragraph 0106) and lithium salts including LiPF6, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiN(CxF2x+1SO2)(CyF2y+1SO2) (where x and y are natural numbers), LiCl, or LiI (paragraph 0107). Turning to applicant’s specification the adhesive composition has an acrylate based adhesive polymer including methyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate (paragraph 0069—0070) and a polymer initiator including benzoyl peroxide, acetyl peroxide, dilauryl peroxide, di-tert-butyl peroxide, cumyl hydroperoxide, hydrogen peroxide, 2,2′-azobis(iso-butyronitrile) (AIBN), and 2,2′-azobisdimethyl-valeronitrile (AMVN) [paragraph 0078]. The applicant’s specification further recites the gel polymer electrolyte comprises an organic solvent including ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), 1,2-butylene carbonate, 2,3-butylene carbonate, 1,2-pentylene carbonate, 2,3-pentylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dipropyl carbonate (DPC), ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC), methylpropyl carbonate (MPC), and ethylpropyl carbonate (EPC) [paragraph 0128] and lithium salts including LiPF6, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiBF4, LiSbF6, LiAlCl4, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiN(C2F5SO3)2, LiN(C2F5SO2)2, LiN(CF3SO2)2, LiCl, or LiI (paragraph 0118).
Shin, et al., Hyeong, et al., Annaka, et al., and Kim, et al. teach a method to manufacture a secondary battery involving laminated/stack method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a method of manufacturing a secondary battery taught by Shin, Hyeong, et al., and Annaka, et al. with the adhesive composition wt % taught by Kim, et al. to configure the stacked battery assembly with reinforced binding as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, et al. further teach the coating layer may include an acrylic binder comprises polymethylmethacrylate (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, et al. further teach the separator has an overlapping thickness range from 1 μm to 20 μm (paragraph 0067; examiner notes Kim, et al. teach the separator may have a thickness of about 10 µm to about 25 µm).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 13, Hyeong, et al. further teach electrodes comprising a first electrode (item—1, paragraph 0006; examiner notes Hyeong, et al. teach a negative plate as item—1) and a second electrode (item—2, paragraph 0006; examiner notes Hyeong, et al. teach a positive plate as item—2), and the electrode assembly (figure 2) is prepared by a method comprising: folding one side of the separator to cover the first electrode (figure 2); folding the other side of the separator to cover the second electrode. Hyeong, et al. motivation for stacking operation of the secondary battery is to shorten working time and improve productivity (paragraph 0023).
Modified Figure 2A Hyeong, et al.
Kim, et al. further teach an electrode assembly is prepared by a method comprising: applying the adhesive composition to a portion of the separator; bonding the separator and the first electrode through the applied adhesive composition; and bonding the separator and the second electrode through the applied adhesive composition (examiner notes Kim, et al. teach adhesive composition is applied to a surface of a separator [paragraph 0020—0021] and the bonding of the separator with the electrodes when the curing temperature is within range [paragraph 0112]). Kim, et al. motivation for adhesive composition with the electrolyte in this invention is to improve the binding strength of the separator to the cathode and anode of a secondary battery (paragraph 0004).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, et al. (US 2021/0167392 A1) in view of Hyeong, et al. (WO 2019/160305 A1), in further view of Annaka, et al. (US 2021/0351479 A1), and further in view Ahn, et al. (US 2020/0220212 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Shin, et al. further teach the oligomer compound limitation is that the oligomer includes an epoxy group or a functional group capable of undergoing a ring-opening reaction with the epoxy group (paragraph 0018, claim 7). Shin, et al., Hyeong, et al. and Annaka, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but does not teach specifically the oligomer having fluorine, polycarbonate, nor polysiloxane.
Ahn, et al. further teach a secondary battery with an oligomer compound comprising an epoxy group and a polycarbonate-based oligomer (paragraph 0033 and 0082—0083). Ahn, et al. motivation to have a gel polymer electrolyte is to improved conductivity and adhesion to an electrode (paragraph 0002). Ahn, et al. motivation for the oligomer compound to have an epoxy group is to increase mechanical properties (paragraph 0082) and a polycarbonate-based oligomer to have a polycarbonate group has high affinity with a metal wherein the adhesion to an electrode which uses a metal oxide may increase, and the cycle performance and stability of a battery may be improved (paragraph 0047).
Shin, et al., Hyeong, et al., Annaka, et al., and Ahn, et al. teach a method to manufacture a secondary battery involving laminated/stack method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a method of manufacturing a secondary battery taught by Shin, Hyeong, et al., and Annaka, et al. with the oligomer composition taught by Ahn, et al. to configure the stacked battery assembly with reinforced binding and improved cycle performance as claimed.
Conclusion
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783