DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami et al. (US 2008/0137024), with Ju et al. (US 2023/0324728) serving as an English translation of WO2022/050746A1.
As to claim 1, WO2022/050746A1 discloses in figure 1, an optical path control member comprising: a first substrate 110; a first electrode 210 disposed on the first substrate; a second substrate 120 disposed on the first substrate; a second electrode 220 disposed under the second substrate; a light conversion unit 300 including a plurality of accommodating parts 320 disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and in which a light conversion material is disposed; a first sealing part 510 (away from dam 600) and a second sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) extending in a first direction 1A; and a third sealing part 520 (left side) and a fourth sealing part 520 (right side) extending in a second direction 2A different from the first direction, wherein the first sealing part and the second sealing part are disposed to face each other in the second direction, wherein the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part are disposed to face each other in the first direction, and wherein thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are different from thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
WO2022/050746A1 does not disclose wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less. However, this was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less because conventional structures were known to be cost effective and reliable.
WO2022/050746A1 does not disclose that the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part are formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit. However, it was well known to form the display panel by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 such that the display panel is formed by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. In such a display panel, the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part would be formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit.
As to claim 2, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 3, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.5 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 4, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 3. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 1.0 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 5, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 6, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 5. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 7, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 6. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 8, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses wherein the widths of the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part in the first direction are equal to widths of the first sealing part and the second sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 9, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Alternatively, the sealing part 510 disposed close to the dam 600 can be interpreted as the first sealing part. This sealing part is spaced apart from an end of the second substrate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the first sealing part and the end of the second substrate is 0.7 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 10, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 9. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) are disposed to be spaced apart from the end of the second substrate 120, and wherein a distance in the second direction 2A between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is different from at least one of a distance in the first direction 1A between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and a distance in the first direction 1A between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 11, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 10. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the distance between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is greater than the distance between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and the distance between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 12, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A is different from a length of the second sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A.
As to claim 13, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 12. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part in the first direction is greater than the length of the second sealing part in the first direction.
As to claim 14, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses wherein the first sealing part is in contact with the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 15, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 14. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the second sealing part contacts the third sealing part and does not contact the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 17, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are greater than the thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
As to claim 18, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the third sealing part in the second direction is different from a length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 19, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 18. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction is greater than the length of the third sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 20, WO2022/050746A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 19. WO2022/050746A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed on the second substrate and connected to an external substrate, and wherein the fourth sealing part is closer to the connection region than to the third sealing part.
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 2023/0324728) in view of Nagami et al. (US 2008/0137024).
As to claim 1, Ju discloses in figure 1, an optical path control member comprising: a first substrate 110; a first electrode 210 disposed on the first substrate; a second substrate 120 disposed on the first substrate; a second electrode 220 disposed under the second substrate; a light conversion unit 300 including a plurality of accommodating parts 320 disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and in which a light conversion material is disposed; a first sealing part 510 (away from dam 600) and a second sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) extending in a first direction 1A; and a third sealing part 520 (left side) and a fourth sealing part 520 (right side) extending in a second direction 2A different from the first direction, wherein the first sealing part and the second sealing part are disposed to face each other in the second direction, wherein the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part are disposed to face each other in the first direction, and wherein thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are different from thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
Ju does not disclose wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less. However, this was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less because conventional structures were known to be cost effective and reliable.
Ju does not disclose that the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part are formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit. However, it was well known to form the display panel by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju such that the display panel is formed by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. In such a display panel, the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part would be formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit.
As to claim 2, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 3, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.5 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 4, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 3. Ju further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 1.0 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 5, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 6, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 5. Ju further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 7, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 6. Ju further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 8, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses wherein the widths of the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part in the first direction are equal to widths of the first sealing part and the second sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 9, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Alternatively, the sealing part 510 disposed close to the dam 600 can be interpreted as the first sealing part. This sealing part is spaced apart from an end of the second substrate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ju wherein a distance in the second direction between the first sealing part and the end of the second substrate is 0.7 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 10, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 9. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) are disposed to be spaced apart from the end of the second substrate 120, and wherein a distance in the second direction 2A between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is different from at least one of a distance in the first direction 1A between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and a distance in the first direction 1A between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 11, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 10. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein the distance between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is greater than the distance between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and the distance between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 12, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A is different from a length of the second sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A.
As to claim 13, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 12. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part in the first direction is greater than the length of the second sealing part in the first direction.
As to claim 14, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses wherein the first sealing part is in contact with the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 15, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 14. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein the second sealing part contacts the third sealing part and does not contact the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 17, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein the thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are greater than the thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
As to claim 18, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the third sealing part in the second direction is different from a length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 19, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 18. Ju further discloses in figure 1, wherein the length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction is greater than the length of the third sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 20, Ju in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 19. Ju further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed on the second substrate and connected to an external substrate, and wherein the fourth sealing part is closer to the connection region than to the third sealing part.
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami et al. (US 2008/0137024), with Lee et al. (US 2023/0341742) serving as an English translation of WO2022/050745A1.
As to claim 1, WO2022/050745A1 discloses in figure 1, an optical path control member comprising: a first substrate 110; a first electrode 210 disposed on the first substrate; a second substrate 120 disposed on the first substrate; a second electrode 220 disposed under the second substrate; a light conversion unit 300 including a plurality of accommodating parts 320 disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and in which a light conversion material is disposed; a first sealing part 510 (away from dam 600) and a second sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) extending in a first direction 1A; and a third sealing part 520 (left side) and a fourth sealing part 520 (right side) extending in a second direction 2A different from the first direction, wherein the first sealing part and the second sealing part are disposed to face each other in the second direction, wherein the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part are disposed to face each other in the first direction, and wherein thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are different from thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
WO2022/050745A1 does not disclose wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less. However, this was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less because conventional structures were known to be cost effective and reliable.
WO2022/050745A1 does not disclose that the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part are formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit. However, it was well known to form the display panel by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050746A1 such that the display panel is formed by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. In such a display panel, the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part would be formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit.
As to claim 2, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 3, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.5 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 4, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 3. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 1.0 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 5, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 6, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 5. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 7, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 6. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 8, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses wherein the widths of the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part in the first direction are equal to widths of the first sealing part and the second sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 9, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Alternatively, the sealing part 510 disposed close to the dam 600 can be interpreted as the first sealing part. This sealing part is spaced apart from an end of the second substrate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WO2022/050745A1 wherein a distance in the second direction between the first sealing part and the end of the second substrate is 0.7 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 10, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 9. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) are disposed to be spaced apart from the end of the second substrate 120, and wherein a distance in the second direction 2A between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is different from at least one of a distance in the first direction 1A between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and a distance in the first direction 1A between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 11, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 10. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the distance between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is greater than the distance between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and the distance between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 12, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A is different from a length of the second sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A.
As to claim 13, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 12. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part in the first direction is greater than the length of the second sealing part in the first direction.
As to claim 14, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses wherein the first sealing part is in contact with the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 15, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 14. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the second sealing part contacts the third sealing part and does not contact the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 17, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are greater than the thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
As to claim 18, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the third sealing part in the second direction is different from a length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 19, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 18. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, wherein the length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction is greater than the length of the third sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 20, WO2022/050745A1 in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 19. WO2022/050745A1 further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed on the second substrate and connected to an external substrate, and wherein the fourth sealing part is closer to the connection region than to the third sealing part.
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0341742) in view of Nagami et al. (US 2008/0137024).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses in figure 1, an optical path control member comprising: a first substrate 110; a first electrode 210 disposed on the first substrate; a second substrate 120 disposed on the first substrate; a second electrode 220 disposed under the second substrate; a light conversion unit 300 including a plurality of accommodating parts 320 disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and in which a light conversion material is disposed; a first sealing part 510 (away from dam 600) and a second sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) extending in a first direction 1A; and a third sealing part 520 (left side) and a fourth sealing part 520 (right side) extending in a second direction 2A different from the first direction, wherein the first sealing part and the second sealing part are disposed to face each other in the second direction, wherein the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part are disposed to face each other in the first direction, and wherein thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are different from thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
Lee does not disclose wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less. However, this was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a width of the first sealing part in the second direction is 0.2 mm or less because conventional structures were known to be cost effective and reliable.
Lee does not disclose that the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part are formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit. However, it was well known to form the display panel by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee such that the display panel is formed by cutting individual display panels from a mother panel in order to improve the manufacturing efficiency. In such a display panel, the first sealing part, second sealing part, third sealing part and fourth sealing part would be formed in a cutting region formed by cutting the second substrate, the second electrode, and the light conversion unit.
As to claim 2, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 3, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.5 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 4, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 3. Lee further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 1.0 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 5, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above regarding claim 1, making the width of a sealing part 0.2 mm or less was conventional as evidenced by paragraph [0064] of Nagami.
As to claim 6, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 5. Lee further discloses in figure 1, a dam part 600 disposed closer to an outer surface of the second substrate than to the second sealing part 510. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a distance in the second direction between the second sealing part and the dam part is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 7, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 6. Lee further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed closer to the outer surface of the second substrate than to the dam part 600. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a distance in the second direction between the dam part and the connection region is 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 8, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the widths of the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part in the first direction are equal to widths of the first sealing part and the second sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 9, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Alternatively, the sealing part 510 disposed close to the dam 600 can be interpreted as the first sealing part. This sealing part is spaced apart from an end of the second substrate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee wherein a distance in the second direction between the first sealing part and the end of the second substrate is 0.7 mm or less in order to maximize the size of the display area and minimize the size of the peripheral area.
As to claim 10, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 9. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) are disposed to be spaced apart from the end of the second substrate 120, and wherein a distance in the second direction 2A between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is different from at least one of a distance in the first direction 1A between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and a distance in the first direction 1A between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 11, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 10. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein the distance between the first sealing part 510 (close to dam 600) and the end of the second substrate 120 (adjacent to CA2) is greater than the distance between the third sealing part 520 (left side) and the end of the second substrate 120 and the distance between the fourth sealing part 520 (right side) and the end of the second substrate 120.
As to claim 12, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A is different from a length of the second sealing part 510 in the first direction 1A.
As to claim 13, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 12. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the first sealing part in the first direction is greater than the length of the second sealing part in the first direction.
As to claim 14, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the first sealing part is in contact with the third sealing part and the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 15, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 14. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein the second sealing part contacts the third sealing part and does not contact the fourth sealing part.
As to claim 17, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein the thicknesses of the first and second sealing parts are greater than the thicknesses of the third and fourth sealing parts.
As to claim 18, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein a length of the third sealing part in the second direction is different from a length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 19, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 18. Lee further discloses in figure 1, wherein the length of the fourth sealing part in the second direction is greater than the length of the third sealing part in the second direction.
As to claim 20, Lee in view of Nagami discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 19. Lee further discloses in figure 1, a connection region CA2 disposed on the second substrate and connected to an external substrate, and wherein the fourth sealing part is closer to the connection region than to the third sealing part.
Conclusion
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2871