DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MOTOR COMPRISING SUBSTRATE COMPRISING HOLE WITH LINE PATTERN, PATHS AND NON-CONDUCTIVE REGIONS”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda et al. (US20180201302, “Sonoda”) in view of Lau et al. (US20210251068, “Lau”).
Re claim 1, Sonoda discloses a motor 2 comprising:
a stator 22 (fig 2, [0043]);
a rotor 23 disposed inside the stator (fig 2);
a shaft 21 coupled to the rotor (fig 2);
busbar 27 disposed on the stator (fig 2, [0044]);
a substrate 4 in which a plurality of holes are formed and having end portions of terminals 28u-w of the busbar disposed therein, respectively (figs 5-6, [0079]); and
a soldering member disposed in each hole to electrically connect each terminal 28u-w and the substrate 4 (figs 5-6, [0080]),
wherein the substrate 4 includes a body in which each hole is formed (figs 4-6, [0062] & [0064], body is insulation between conducting layers 4b, 14d-e), a line pattern formed around each hole (figs 1, 4-5 & below, [0063] & [0079-0082], fig 5 shows line pattern around 28w and between 28w & 34w-same for 28u-v & 34u-v; [0082] discloses high current line patterns are on the front & back surfaces; since line pattern connecting 28w & 34w is high current it is on the front or back surface of 4),
wherein the line pattern is disposed on one surface of the body are exposed (figs 4 & 6, [0082] & [0087], doesn’t disclose or show any covering on outer line patterns).
Sonoda discloses claim 1 except for:
a plurality of paths extending from the line pattern to the respective holes;
the line pattern and the paths disposed on one surface of the body are exposed, and
a non-conductive region formed of an insulating material is disposed between the paths.
Lau discloses a plurality of paths 224 extending from the line pattern 220 to the hole 202 (figs 2a-b, [0030] & [0033], shows & discloses 214 connected to 220);
the line pattern 220 and the paths 224 disposed on one surface of the body 212 are exposed (fig 2a, [0032]), and
a non-conductive region 222 formed of an insulating material is disposed between the paths 224 (fig 2b, [0032-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the line pattern of Sonoda to comprise a plurality of paths extending from the line pattern to the respective holes; the line pattern and the paths disposed on one surface of the body are exposed, and a non-conductive region formed of an insulating material is disposed between the paths, as disclosed by Lau, in order to allow heat dissipation away from the hole, as taught by Lau ([0032]).
Re claim 4, Sonoda in view of Lau disclose claim as discussed above and further discloses a thermal conductivity of the non-conductive region 222 is lower than a thermal conductivity of the paths 224 ([0034]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda in view of Lau and in further view of Tomioka et al. (US20240136894, “Tomioka”).
Re claim 2, Sonoda in view of Lau discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Sonoda further discloses the busbar 27 includes a busbar holder formed of an insulation material and the terminal 28 formed of a metal material (figs 2 & 6, [0044] & [0079], 27 inherently has busbar holder made of insulation material so that metal busbars do not short out).
Sonoda in view of Lau disclose claim 2 except for the insulation material is a synthetic resin material.
Tomioka discloses the busbar 28 includes the busbar holder made of an synthetic resin material (fig 2, [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the busbar holder of Sonoda in view of Lau from a synthetic resin material, as disclosed by Tomioka, in order to form the busbar holder from a known insulation material, as demonstrated by Tomioka.
Re claim 3, Sonoda in view of Lau and Tomioka disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the plurality of paths 224 are formed to have the same size (fig 2b, [00]).
Claims 5-7, 9-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi (JP2933729, “Kurihashi”, using machine translation).
Re claim 5, Sonoda discloses a motor 2 comprising:
a stator 22 (fig 2, [0043] & [0098], note: employing embodiment of figs 9-10 for rejection but is similar to fig 2 except for how 4 is configured);
a rotor 23 disposed inside the stator (fig 2);
a shaft 21 coupled to the rotor (fig 2);
busbar 27 disposed on the stator (fig 2, [0044]);
a substrate 4 in which a plurality of holes 28b are formed and having end portions of terminals 28u-w of the busbar disposed therein, respectively (figs 9-10, [0108]); and
a soldering member disposed in each hole 28b to electrically connect each terminal 28u-w and the substrate 4 (figs 5-6, [0080]),
wherein the substrate 4 includes a first substrate and a second substrate (figs 9-10 & below, [0103], 1st sub includes 4e & insulation between 4e & 4h; 2nd sub includes 4h & insulation between 4h & 4g),
wherein the first substrate includes a first body in which a first hole is formed (figs 10 & below, insulation layer of 1st sub), a first line pattern formed around the first hole (figs 9-10, in a similar manner as shown in fig 5 & above for claim 1), and
wherein the second substrate includes a second body in which a second hole is formed (figs 10 & below, insulation layer of 2nd sub), a second line pattern disposed around the second hole (figs 9-10, in a similar manner as shown in fig 5 & above for claim 1, discloses 28b is connected to layer 4e and 4h so that line pattern inherently around 28b connecting 28b to 4h).
Sonoda discloses claim 5 except for:
the first line pattern spaced apart from the first hole;
a plurality of first paths extending from the first line pattern to the first hole;
the second line pattern spaced apart from the second hole; and
a plurality of second paths extending from the second line pattern to the second hole.
Lau discloses the first substrate with a first line pattern 220 spaced apart from the first hole 202 (figs 2a-b & below, [0030], shows & discloses 214 connected to 220; 1st substrate includes top conductive pad 220 & top conductor 214 & insulation layer 212 between top pad 220/top conductor 214 & 2nd layer of 214); and
a plurality of first paths 224 extending from the first line pattern 220 to the first hole 202 (figs 2a-b & below, [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first line patterns of Sonoda so the first line pattern spaced apart from the first hole; a plurality of first paths extending from the first line pattern to the first hole, as disclosed by Lau, in order to allow heat dissipation away from the hole, as taught by Lau ([0032]).
Sonoda in view of Lau disclose claim 5 except with respect to the second substrate. Lau only discusses 220 being on the top layer.
Kurihashi discloses the second line pattern 5 spaced apart from the second hole 2 (figs 2-3, [0002], discloses 5 is for an inner layer); and
a plurality of second paths 6 extending from the second line pattern 5 to the second hole 3 (fig 3, [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second line patterns of Sonoda in view of Lau to include the second line pattern spaced apart from the second hole; and a plurality of second paths extending from the second line pattern to the second hole, as disclosed by Kurihashi, in order to prevent problems of poor soldering, as taught by Kurihashi ([0002]).
Re claim 6, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 5 as discussed above. Sonoda further discloses the first substrate and the second substrate are alternately stacked to form the substrate 4 (figs 10 & above for claim 5).
Re claim 7, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 6 as discussed above and further discloses the first paths disposed on the first substrate and the second paths disposed on the second substrate are alternately disposed (Sonoda, figs 9 & above for claim 4 discloses 1st & 2nd line patterns; Lau & Kurihashi disclose 1st & 2nd paths alternately disposed between 222 or 7, respectively).
Re claim 9, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 6 as discussed above and further discloses the number of the first paths disposed on the first substrate and the number of the second paths disposed on the second substrate are different (Lau shows two first paths & Kurihashi shows four second paths).
Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi are silent with the number of first and second paths are the same.
Lau further discloses the number of first paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of first paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the number of the first paths disposed on the first substrate and the number of the second paths disposed on the second substrate are the same, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Re claim 10, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Sonoda further discloses the first hole is formed in a polygonal shape (Sonoda, fig 9, rectangular).
Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi are silent with respect to the number of first paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the first hole is an odd number.
Lau further discloses the number of first paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of first paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the number of first paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the first hole is an odd number, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]). Lau discloses two first paths and by increasing the number to four each side of the first hole will have one path.
Re claim 11, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 10 as discussed above but are silent with respect to a total number of the first paths is two times the number of the surfaces.
Lau further discloses the number of first paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of first paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so a total number of the first paths is two times the number of the surfaces, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Re claim 12, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Sonoda further discloses the second hole and the first hole are formed in a same shape (figs 9-10, discloses rectangular hole).
Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi are silent with respect to the number of the second paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the second hole is an even number.
Lau further discloses the number of paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of second paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the number of second paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the second hole is an even number, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Re claim 13, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 12 as discussed above but is silent with respect to a total number of the second paths is two times the number of the surfaces.
Lau further discloses the number of paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of second paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so a total number of the second paths is two times the number of the surfaces, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Re claim 15, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 10 as discussed above. Sonoda further discloses the second hole and the first hole are formed in a same shape (figs 9-10, discloses rectangular hole).
Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi are silent with respect to the number of the second paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the second hole is an even number.
Lau further discloses the number of paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of second paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the number of second paths disposed to correspond to each surface of the second hole is an even number, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Re claim 16, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 15 as discussed above but is silent with respect to a total number of the second paths is two times the number of the surfaces.
Lau further discloses the number of paths 224 can be increased ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of second paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so a total number of the second paths is two times the number of the surfaces, in order to provide different thermal configurations, as taught by Lau ([0033]).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi and in further view of Kawai (US20110000707, “Kawai”).
Re claim 8, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 6 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the first paths disposed on the first substrate and the second paths disposed on the second substrate do not overlap in a stacking direction.
Kawai discloses the first paths 6a disposed on the first substrate and the second paths 6a disposed on the second substrate do not overlap in a stacking direction (figs 1a-2, [0014-0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second paths of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the first paths disposed on the first substrate and the second paths disposed on the second substrate do not overlap in a stacking direction, as disclosed by Kawai, in order to prevent the probability of a high frequency signal passing between the substrates, as taught by Kawai ([0018]).
Re claim 14, Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 6 as discussed above and further disclose the first substrate includes a first non-conductive region 222 disposed between the first paths 224 (Lau, fig 2b, [0032]);
the second substrate includes a second non-conductive region 7 disposed between the second paths 6 (Kurihashi, fig 3, [0002]).
Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi disclose claim 14 except for the first paths overlap the second non-conductive region in a stacking direction.
Kawai discloses the first paths 6a overlap the second non-conductive region 9 in a stacking direction (figs 1a-2, [0014-0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first paths and second non-conductive regions of Sonoda in view of Lau and Kurihashi so the first paths overlap the second non-conductive region in a stacking direction, as disclosed by Kawai, in order to prevent the probability of a high frequency signal passing between the substrates, as taught by Kawai ([0018]).
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834