Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)s 2-3, 5-8, 10, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019124264A1(US20210090881A1 cited for convenience).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 10, US20210090881A1 disclose a surface treatment agent for surface treatment of a workpiece, comprising the following components:
(I) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of silicon compounds represented by the general formulas [1], [2] and [3];
(II) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the following general formula [4], a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the following general formula [5], and imidazole; and
(III) an organic aprotic solvent. See claims 1 and 9.
The concentration of the component (II)(catalyst) is 0.05 to 10 mass% based on the total amount of the components (I) to (III). The concentration of the component (I) ( silylating agent) is 0.1 to 35 mass % based on the total amount of the components (I) to (III). See claims 2 and 6.
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing
identical ranges (catalyst content, silylating agent/ catalyst, ratio, total content of the silylating agent and catalyst). However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
For example, the silylating agent content is %, the catalyst content is 5% and the solvent content can be 80%.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a composition difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art compositions capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the concentration of the component (II)(catalyst) is 0.05 to 10 mass % based on the total amount of the components (I) to (III).
Regarding claim 6, (I) is at least one kind selected from the group consisting of silicon compounds represented by the general formulas [1], [2] and [3]. See claim 1.
Regarding claims 16- 17, No water contained in the above compositions.
Regarding claims 2-3, and 18-19, the Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the prior art composition, since the prior teaches an invention with a substantially similar chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claims 7-8, (I) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of silicon compounds represented by the general formulas [1], [2] and [3]; The silicon compound of the general formula [2] can be commercially available. For instance, trimethylsilyltrifluoroacetate ((CH3)3Si—OC(═O)CF3). The concentration of the component (I) is 0.1 to 35 mass % based on the total amount of the components (I) to (III). See claims 2 and 6. Thus, it is reasonable to use silicon compounds from formula (I) 17.5%) and trimethylsilyltrifluoroacetate (17.5%). When faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.'" In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-9,14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018193841.
Regarding claims 14-15 and 7-9, WO2018193841 disclose a surface composition comprising only a silylating agent, the fluorine-containing ether (aprotic solvent, Novec 7200), and an acid(catalyst). See pages 2 and 4.
The amount of the silylating agent relative to the total amount of the silylating agent and the solvent is 2 to 30% by mass. See page 4
The amount of the acid relative to the total amount of the silylating agent, the solvent and the acid is 0.01 to 30% by mass preferable. See page 6
The silylating agent and the solvent contained in the above composition do not contain much water. See page 7.
Specific examples of the acid include trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, trimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, dimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, dimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, butyldimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, butyldimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, hexyldimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, hexyldimethylsilyl . S
trifluoroacetate, Hexyldimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, octyldimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, octyldimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, decyldimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate, and decyldimethylsilyl trifluoromethanesulfonate, and the like can be mentioned. See page 6.
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing
identical ranges (silylating agent/ catalyst ratio, total content of the silylating agent and catalyst). However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima.
For example , the silylating agent amount is %, the acid content is 5% and the solvent content can be 80%.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a composition difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art compositions capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claims 16-17, WO2018193841 disclose a surface composition comprising only a silylating agent, the fluorine-containing ether (aprotic solvent, Novec 7200,), and an acid(catalyst). See page 4.
Regarding claims 2-3, and 18-19, the Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the prior art composition, since the prior teaches an invention with a substantially similar chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 5, the amount of the silylating agent relative to the total amount of the silylating agent and the solvent is 2 to 30% by mass. The amount of the acid relative to the total amount of the silylating agent, the solvent and the acid is 0.01 to 30% by mass preferable. See page 6, Thus, the silylating agent content encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, the silylating agent represented by the following general formula [1].
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 6, 10,14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No.11670498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent discloses a composition comprising: a silylating agent (silicon compound I with general formula [1],[2], and [3]) of a content of 0.1-35%; a catalytic compound (compound II); and an aprotic solvent, wherein a content of the catalytic compound is 0.05-10% by mass or more with respect to 100% by mass of the composition for film formation. The patent differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges (catalyst content, silylating agent/ catalyst ratio, the total content of the silylating agent and catalyst). However, the patent discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20200350176A1(US'176) is withdrawn based on the amendment.
The applicant argues that WO2019124264A1 or US20210090881A1 or US11670498 fails to tech the contents of the catalyst, silylating agent, the total amount of the catalyst and silylating agent and the ratio of silylating agent/catalyst.
WO2019124264A1 or US20210090881A1 or US11670498 discloses a silylating agent (silicon compound I with general formula [1],[2], and [3]) of a content of 0.1-35%; a catalytic compound (compound II); and an aprotic solvent, wherein a content of the catalytic compound is 0.05-10% by mass or more with respect to 100% by mass of the composition for film formation. The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges (catalyst content, silylating agent/ catalyst, ratio, the total content of the silylating agent and catalyst). However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731