Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 09/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20200350176A1(US’176),
Regarding claim 1, US’176 discloses a Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing 1.5 % trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate (TMS-TFA: (CH3)3Si—OC(═O)CF3) read on catalytic compound, hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS: (CH3)3Si—NH—Si(CH3)3) read on silylating agent and propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) as an aprotic solvent. See [0152] and Table 1.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, the Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the prior art composition, since the prior teaches an invention with a substantially similar chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 4, US’176 discloses that TMS-TFA content is 1.5% and HMDS content is 3.8%. Thus HMDS/TMS-TFA is 1.69. See Table 1, Ex1-1, 1-4.
Regarding claim 5, US’176 discloses a Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing 1.5 % trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate (TMS-TFA: (CH3)3Si—OC(═O)CF3) read on catalytic compound. See Table 1, Ex1-1, 1-4.
Regarding claim 6, US’176 discloses the Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS: (CH3)3Si—NH—Si(CH3)3) read on silylating agent. See [0152] and Table 1.
Regarding claims 7-8, US’176 discloses a Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing 1.5 % trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate (TMS-TFA: (CH3)3Si—OC(═O)CF3) read on catalytic compound. See Table 1, Ex1-1, 1-4.
Regarding claim 9, US’176 discloses a Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing 1.1% TMS-TFMSA (trimethylsilyl trifuoromethanesulfonate (CH3)3Si—OS(═O)2CF3) read on catalytic compound, 6.4 % hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS: (CH3)3Si—NH—Si(CH3)3) read on silylating agent and propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) as an aprotic solvent. See [0148]; Table 3, EX 3-6
Regarding claim 11, US’176 discloses a Protective Film-Forming Liquid Chemical containing 1.5 % trimethylsilyl trifluoroacetate (TMS-TFA: (CH3)3Si—OC(═O)CF3) read on catalytic compound, 6.8 % hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS: (CH3)3Si—NH—Si(CH3)3) read on silylating agent and propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) as an aprotic solvent. See Table 1, EX 1-3. Thus, total content of the silylating agent and the catalytic compound contained in 100% by mass of the composition for film formation is 8.3% by mass.
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2019124264A1(US20210090881A1, US’881, is cited for convenience).
Regarding claim 1, US’881 discloses a surface treatment agent includes the following components: (I) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of silicon compounds represented by formulas [1], [2] and [3]; (II) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the general formula [4], a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the general formula [5], and imidazole; and (III) an organic solvent. US’881 discloses the Surface Treatment Agent comprising N-methyl-N-trimethylsilyltrifluoroacetamide ((CH3)3SiN(CH3)C(═O)CF3; MSTFA) as the component (I), which is read on the silylating agent, 1.2% of the component (II), which is read on the catalyzing agent, and propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) as the organic solvent (III), which is read on aprotic solvent See abstract; claim 1, table 4 and example 2-1.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, The Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the prior art composition, since the prior teaches an invention with a substantially similar chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise. Regarding claim 10, US’881 discloses component II) at least one kind selected from the group consisting of a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the following general formula [4], a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic compound represented by the following general formula [5], and imidazole. See abstract; claim 1, table 4 and example 2-1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6,10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No.11670498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent disclose a composition comprising: a silylating agent (silicon compound I with general formula [1],[2], and [3]) of a content of 0.1-35%; a catalytic compound (compound II); and an aprotic solvent, wherein a content of the catalytic compound is 0.05-10% by mass or more with respect to 100% by mass of the composition for film formation.
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731