DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto [WO2020/203346] in view of Ushijima [WO2021059815].
Enomoto discloses a method of manufacturing a laminated body, the method including a polysand step of overlaying a first laminated body (coated paper) and a second laminated body (coated paper) on top of each other and integrating them via a heat seal layer (emulsion resin) (claims 1-6, 9-10, paragraph 0020-22); wherein the first laminated body comprises a first paper layer (claims 1-6, 9-10); wherein the second laminated body comprises a second paper layer (claims 1-6, 9-10); wherein at least one of the first laminated body and the second laminated body comprises a heat seal layer (emulsion resin) (paragraph 0020-22); wherein the polysand step is a step of integrating the first laminated body and the second laminated body via the heat seal layer (paragraph 0050-54), and wherein the heat seal layer contains an acrylic resin (paragraph 0020-22).
Enomoto discloses a coated paper but fails to disclose an anchor coat and gas barrier layer in each of the coated paper laminates.
Ushijima coated paper material including a paper layer, a barrier layer and an anchor coating layer (claims 1 and 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Enomoto by including a gas barrier layer and anchor coating layer in each of the coated paper layers as taught by Ushijima in order to improve the moisture permeability properties of the paper and to improve the mechanical stability of the coated paper.
With respect to claim 2, Enomoto discloses the first and the second laminated body comprises a first and second heat seal layer respectively, each containing an acrylic resin, and wherein the heat seal layer is a layer in which the first heat seal layer and the second heat seal layer are overlayed on top of each other and integrated in the polysand step (paragraph 0047, 0053).
With respect to claim 3, Enomoto discloses the acrylic resin with a glass transition temperature within the range of -250C to 200C (paragraph 0031).
With respect to claim 4, Enomoto discloses the first heat seal layer and the second heat seal layer comprise paraffin wax (paragraph 0039-42).
With respect to claim 5, Enomoto discloses the acrylic resin comprises an acrylic emulsion having a core-shell structure (paragraph 0029).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Enomoto discloses the core of the acrylic emulsion having the core-shell structure comprises styrene and 2-ethylhexyl acrylate as monomers, and the shell of the acrylic emulsion having the core-shell structure comprises styrene/acryl-based resin (paragraph 0020-22, 0029).
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
August 8, 2026