DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 12 recites “fluid path having a distal opening with a longitudinal axis”. It is not clear if the distal opening or the fluid path have a longitudinal axis. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted “fluid path having a distal opening and a longitudinal axis”. Claims 2-15 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1. Claim 16 line 7 is similarly rejected and interpreted. Claims 18-20 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 16.
Claims 1 and 16 recite the limitation "the fluid path distal opening" in lines 18 and 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the fluid path”. Claims 2-15 and 17-20 are rejected at least because they depend from claims 1 and 16.
Claim 1 lines 21-22 recite “and when the bottom surface of the hub housing is placed upon the patient’s body.”. It is not clear if a method step is being claimed. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “, the bottom surface of the hub housing configured to be placed upon the patient’s body in the second position”. Claims 2-15 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “…wherein the retaining member acts…”. It is not clear if this is a method step. MPEP 2173.05(p)II. recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “…wherein the retaining member is configured to act…”
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the catheter" in line 5 and in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the catheter shaft”.
Claim 8 lines 5-6 recite “…when connected…”. It is not clear what is being connected. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “…when connected to the proximal port…”.
Claim 17 lines 1-2 recite “…wherein the external surface of the catheter hub and the wall of the cavity movably interact and maintain a fluid tight seal therebetween…”. It is not clear what is meant by the “maintain” a fluid tight seal since claim 16 does not recite a fluid tight seal. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted to mean that fluid is prevented from flowing through the space between the external surface of the catheter hub and the wall of the cavity and into the claimed fluid path and flow path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 12-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hillstead US 4,874,378.
Regarding claim 1, Hillstead discloses a catheter system for conforming to a patient's body following insertion therein (via a ball and socket arrangement of the device shown in Fig. 2 and described in c 2 ln 15-20), the catheter system comprising: a catheter hub (ball 76, c 4 ln 31-32) having a proximal end (proximal end of catheter hub, see annotated Fig. 2 below), a distal end (distal end of catheter hub, see annotated Fig. 2 below), an exterior surface (exterior surface of catheter hub, see annotated Fig. 2 below), and an internal flow path (internal flow path, see annotated Fig. 2 below) extending from an opening at the distal end (opening at the distal end, see annotated Fig. 2 below) to an inlet at the proximal end (inlet at the proximal end, see annotated Fig. 2 below), the flow path configured to allow fluid to flow between the distal end and the proximal end of the catheter hub; a catheter shaft (cannula 78) having a lumen (lumen, see annotated Fig. 2 below) with a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis positioned at the center of the lumen), the lumen in fluid communication with the opening at the distal end of the catheter hub; and a hub housing (housing 50, c 4 ln 8) having a bottom surface (bottom surface, see annotated Fig. 2 below), an internal fluid path (internal fluid path, see annotated Fig. 2 below) extending through at least a portion of the hub housing, and a cavity (socket 74, c 4 ln 30-31) located distal to the fluid path and having a wall (tapered protrusion 70c 4 ln 28) with an opening (opening 84, c 4 ln 44), the wall of the cavity configured to movably retain the catheter hub, the fluid path having a distal opening (distal opening, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of the internal fluid path, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and being fluidly connected to the inlet of the flow path in the catheter hub when the catheter hub is retained within the cavity of the hub housing, the opening at the distal end of the catheter hub located proximate the opening of the cavity wall (Fig. 2), wherein the external surface of the catheter hub and the wall of the cavity are configured to movably interact and maintain a fluid tight seal therebetween (via an o-ring or gasket, c 5 ln 14-19) from a first position (first position 78 of Fig. 2) to at least a second position (second position 78’ of Fig. 2), the longitudinal axis of the fluid path being parallel with the longitudinal axis of the catheter shaft lumen when in the first position, the longitudinal axis of the fluid path forming an angle with the longitudinal axis of the catheter shaft lumen when in the second position, the bottom surface of the hub housing configured to be placed upon the patient’s body in the second position (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1, wherein the hub housing further includes: a proximal port (cap 52, c 4 ln 8) located at a proximal end of the hub housing.
Regarding claim 6, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 5, wherein the proximal port includes a seal member (hemostasis valve 56, c 4 ln 10-11) located within the proximal port, the seal member sealing the proximal port.
Regarding claim 12, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1, wherein the exterior surface of the catheter hub is aligned with the wall of the cavity (ball and socket arrangement shown in Fig. 2), thereby maintaining the fluid tight seal (via the o-ring or gasket, c 5 ln 14-19).
Regarding claim 13, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1, wherein the hub housing includes a side port (boss 60, c 4 ln 22), the side port fluidly connected to an extension tubing system (tube 36 shown in Fig. 3 of US Patent 4,000,739 which is incorporated by Hillstead at c 2 ln 55).
Regarding claim 15, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1, wherein the opening is shaped to receive the catheter hub such that the catheter hub may be connected and/or disconnected from the hub housing (c 4 ln 59-64).
Regarding claim 16, Hillstead discloses a method for connecting a catheter to a patient's vasculature (Figs. 1-2) comprising: providing a catheter system (Fig. 2), the catheter system including (claim limitations mapped as above for claim 1): a catheter hub having a proximal end, a distal end, an exterior surface, and an internal flow path extending from an opening at the distal end to an inlet at the proximal end, the flow path configured to allow fluid to flow between the distal end and the proximal end of the catheter hub, a catheter shaft having a lumen and a longitudinal axis, the lumen in fluid communication with the opening at the distal end of the catheter hub, and a hub housing having a bottom surface, an internal fluid path extending through at least a portion of the hub housing, and a cavity located distal to the fluid path and having a wall with an opening, the wall of the cavity configured to movably retain the catheter hub, the fluid path having a distal opening with a longitudinal axis and being fluidly connected to the inlet of the flow path in the catheter hub when the catheter hub is retained within the cavity of the hub housing, the opening at the distal end of the catheter hub located proximate the opening of the cavity wall; inserting the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature (Fig. 1); and rotating the catheter hub with respect to the hub housing from a first position (position 78 of Fig. 2) to a second position (position 78’ of Fig. 2), the longitudinal axis of the fluid path being parallel with the longitudinal axis of the catheter shaft lumen when in the first position, the longitudinal axis of the fluid path forming an angle with the longitudinal axis of the catheter shaft lumen when in the second position and when the bottom surface of the hub housing is placed upon the patient's body (c 5 ln 20-42).
Regarding claim 17, Hillstead discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein the external surface of the catheter hub and the wall of the cavity movably interact (Fig. 2) and maintain a fluid tight seal therebetween (via the o-ring or gasket) during rotation from the first position to the at least a second position.
Regarding claim 18, Hillstead discloses a method according to claim 16, wherein hub housing includes a proximal port (cap 52, c 4 ln 8) located at a proximal end of the hub housing (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillstead in view of Ferrara US 4,809,694.
Regarding claim 2, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1.
Hillstead does not teach the catheter system further comprising: a retaining member extending at least partially through the hub housing and configured to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, the retaining member configured to selectively lock the catheter hub in the first or second position when in the locked position.
However, Ferrara teaches a biopsy guide comprising: a retaining member (threaded member 22, c 2 ln 57) for securing a ball within a socket, the threaded member extending at least partially through a housing passageway 74 as shown in Fig. 1, and configured to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, the retaining member configured to selectively lock the socket in a first or second position when in the locked position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hub housing of Hillstead with an passageway and threaded member as taught by Ferrara for the purpose of locking the hub in a desired orientation to properly position an instrument therein, Ferrara c 2 ln 57-60.
Regarding claim 3, Hillstead in view of Ferrara teaches the catheter system according to claim 2, wherein the retaining member is configured to act on the catheter hub when in the locked position to press the catheter hub against a retaining surface (Hillstead, socket 74, c 4 ln 30-31), thereby locking the catheter hub (the threaded member 22 acts directly on the ball element of the ball and socket arrangement of Hillstead, pushing the hub against the cavity wall to lock the catheter hub from rotation).
Regarding claim 4, Hillstead in view of Ferrara teaches the catheter system according to claim 3, wherein the retaining surface is an internal surface within the hub housing (Hillstead, socket 74, c 4 ln 30-31).
Regarding claim 20, Hillstead discloses a method according to claim 16.
Hillstead does not teach the method further comprising: transitioning a retaining member from an unlocked position to a locked position, the retaining member extending at least partially through the hub housing and locking the catheter hub in the second position when in the locked position.
However, Ferrara teaches a method comprising: transitioning a retaining member (threaded member 22, c 2 ln 57) from an unlocked position to a locked position (by screwing the threaded member toward the ball), the retaining member extending at least partially through the hub housing (via passageway 74 as shown in Fig. 1) and locking the ball component in the second position when in a locked position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Hillstead in view of Ferrara as claimed for the purpose of locking the hub in a desired orientation to properly position the instrument therein, Ferrara c 2 ln 57-60.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillstead in view of Hillstead et al. (Hillstead ‘702) US 5,755,702.
Regarding claim 7, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 5.
Hillstead does not teach wherein the proximal port includes a luer connector.
However, Hillstead ‘702 teaches an adjustable angular sheath introducer wherein the proximal port 50 shown in Fig. 1 includes a luer connector (an exterior luer fitting 56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the proximal port of Hillstead to include a luer connector for the purpose of securing a connection, such as with an introducer needle.
Regarding claim 14, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 13.
Hillstead does not teach wherein the extension tubing system includes: a needle free connector having an inlet, an outlet and a priming port; and a tube having a first end fluidly connected to the outlet of the needle free connector and a second end connected to the side port of the hub housing.
However, Hillstead ‘702 teaches an adjustable angular sheath introducer wherein the extension tubing system includes: a needle free connector (stopcock 98, c 6 ln 3) having an inlet (inlet, see annotated Fig. 1 below), an outlet (outlet, see annotated Fig. 1 below) and a priming port (priming port, see annotated Fig. 1 below); and a tube (tube, see annotated Fig. 1 below) having a first end fluidly connected to the outlet of the needle free connector and a second end connected to the side port of the hub housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the extension tubing system of Hillstead as taught by Hillstead ‘702 for the purpose of introducing fluids to a patient.
Claims 8-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillstead in view of Abitabilo et al. (Abitabilo) US 2017/0239443 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 5.
Hillstead does not teach the catheter system further comprising: an introducer configured to connect to the proximal port of the hub housing, the introducer having a needle extending through the internal fluid path, the internal flow path, and the lumen of the catheter shaft when the introducer is connected to the proximal port, the introducer configured to allow the catheter shaft to be inserted into a patient's vasculature when connected to the proximal port and configured to be disconnected from the proximal port after insertion of the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature.
However, Abitabilo teaches a catheter system (Fig. 1A-1B) further comprising: an introducer (needle assembly 50, P0005) configured to connect to the proximal port of the hub housing (catheter tube 54, P0005), the introducer having a needle (needle 62, P0005) extending through the internal fluid path, the internal flow path, and the lumen of the catheter shaft when the introducer is connected to the proximal port (Fig. 1A showing that the needle 62 is designed to extend distally of catheter tube 54 distal end 56 to facilitate insertion into a patient’s blood vessel), the introducer configured to allow the catheter shaft to be inserted into a patient's vasculature when connected to the proximal port and configured to be disconnected from the proximal port after insertion of the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature (P0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the catheter system of Hillstead with the introducer of Abitabilo for the purpose of positioning the catheter system within a patients vein.
Regarding claim 9, Hillstead in view of Abitabilo teaches the catheter system according to claim 8 wherein the hub housing includes at least one retention element (Abitabilo, retention element, see annotated Fig. 9B below) extending from an exterior surface of the hub housing, the at least one retention element configured to engage the introducer to secure the introducer to the hub housing when connected (Fig. 9A and P0120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling of the hub housing to the inserter as claimed for the purpose of ensuring that the needle extends distally of the catheter shaft during insertion.
Regarding claim 19, Hillstead discloses a method according to claim 18.
Hillstead does not teach wherein inserting the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature includes: using an introducer to insert the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature, the introducer connected to the proximal port of the hub housing and having a needle extending through the internal fluid path, the internal flow path, and the lumen of the catheter shaft when the introducer is connected to the proximal port; inserting the needle and catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature; and disconnecting the introducer from the proximal port of the hub housing after the catheter is inserted into the patient's vasculature.
However, Abitabilo teaches a catheter system (Fig. 1A-1B and P0005) wherein inserting the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature includes: using an introducer (needle assembly 50, P0005) to insert the catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature, the introducer connected to the proximal port of the hub housing (Fig. 1A) and having a needle (needle 62, P0005) extending through the internal fluid path, the internal flow path, and the lumen of the catheter shaft when the introducer is connected to the proximal port (Fig. 1A shows the needle extending as claimed passed the distal end 56); inserting the needle and catheter shaft into the patient's vasculature; and disconnecting the introducer from the proximal port of the hub housing after the catheter is inserted into the patient's vasculature (P0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Hillstead with the introducer of Abitabilo for the purpose of inserting the catheter system within a patients vasculature.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillstead in view of Lanigan et al. (Lanigan) US 2010/0198183 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Hillstead discloses a catheter system according to claim 1.
Hillstead teaches an o-ring or a gasket which is mounted in the interior walls of the housing and positioned to hold the ball 76 in place in the socket, c 5 ln 14-19.
Hillstead does not teach wherein the external surface of the catheter hub includes at least one interacting surface extending from the external surface, the at least one interacting surface configured to contact the wall of the cavity to maintain the fluid tight seal.
However, Lanigan teaches an apparatus for fluid delivery wherein overmolding is taught to provide a waterproof seal for a movable part, in addition to an o-ring, P00364.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the external surface of Hillstead with overmolding for the purpose of ensuring a waterproof seal.
Regarding claim 11, Hillstead in view of Lanigan teaches the catheter system according to claim 10, wherein the at least one interacting surface is a resilient material (Lanigan, rubber, P00364) overmolded on the catheter hub.
Conclusion
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783