DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national phase application from, and claims priority to, International Application No. PCT/US2022/082197, filed October 22, 2022, and published under PCT Article 21(2) in English, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/293,874, filed December 27, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are pending and under examination. Claims 4 and 5 are canceled.
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on September 03, 2026.
Action Summary
The objection to claims 1-2 is withdrawn in view of insertion of selective α1A-adrenergic receptor antagonist in claim 2.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for claim 5 is withdrawn in view of the cancelation of claim 5.
The previous rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of enablement and under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments and arguments filed on 09/03/2023.
Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the limitation of previously recited in claim 4, requiring that the stress-related disorder comprise stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction and to delete the prevention alternative. Upon reconsideration, the Examiner determines that the previous enablement rejection did not adequately address the curative therapeutic embodiment encompassed by the specification’s express definition of “treating” in paragraph [0046]. Accordingly, the previous enablement rejection is withdrawn and replaced with a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. ¶112(a), as set forth below.
Furthermore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 based on Thompson et al (EP07999618 A2), McElligot et al, and Ford et al. is withdrawn and replaced with a new rejection of Khan et al. (WO2012/074561 A2) and Arnsten, and Thompson, as set forth below. The newly applied references provide additional teaching concerning the therapeutic use of adrenergic receptor antagonists for stress-related disorders symptoms and the involvement of alpha1A-adrenergic receptors in prefrontal cortical function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the amelioration of stress-induced spatial working memory-impairment, does not reasonably provide enablement for curative embodiment of “treating” a stress-related disorder comprising stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction without undue experimentation.
I. Claim Interpretation and Scope of the Rejection
Amended claim 1 recites a method of treating or ameliorating a stress-related disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a selective α1A-adrenergic receptor antagonist compound, wherein the compound has a larger pKi for the α1A-adrenergic receptor subtype than for the α1B- and α1D-adrenergic receptor subtypes, and wherein the stress-related disorder comprising stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction.
The specification expressly defines “treatment” or “treating” as administration for purposes including “cure, heal, alleviate, relieve, alter, remedy, ameliorate, improve, or affect” the disease, disorder and/or symptoms. See ¶[0046]. On that express definition, “treating” encompasses an asserted curative outcome, distinguishable from amelioration. The Examiner does not interpret every administration as necessarily producing a cure, rather, the concern is whether the full scope of the claim includes a distinct curative embodiment. Because the claim also expressly permits amelioration, the claim-construction premise is the principal legal issue Applicant may contest.
The specification at 00B6[0002]-[0004] describe PFC (prefrontal cortical) top-down control, stress-related norepinephrine signaling and α1-activation; ¶¶[0005]-[0006] recognize variable clinical response to prazosin and limitations of doxazosin. Appliant’s example 1 and figs. 1-4 reportedly show that RS-07053, silodosin, and tamsulosin improve performance in a stress-induced spatial working-memory paradigm. These results support amelioration effect in the model, but do not disclose a regiment, endpoint, duration, or evidence showing elimination of an established stress-related disorder or durable cure. The rejection does not equate failure to provide clinical trials with nonenablement.
II. Applicable Legal Standard
The enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. §112(a) requires the specification to teach a person of ordinary skill in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. See in re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737 (Fed. Cir. 1988); Amgen Inc v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594 (2023); MPEP §§2164.01 (a), 2164.04, and 2164.08.
The determination of whether experimentation is undue requires consideration of the relevant Wands factors in view of the evidence as a whole.
III. Analysis Under the Wands Factors
Factor 1 – Breadth of the claims
Claim 1 embraces the asserted curative outcome for a stress-related disorder comprising stress-induced PFC dysfunction using a broad genus of α1A-adrenergic receptor antagonist compounds defined principally by their pharmacological binding characteristics. The limitation requiring a greater pKi for α1A receptors than α1B and α1D receptors identifies a receptor-affinity relationship but does not impose structural limitations on the compounds. Consequently, compounds having substantially different molecular structures, physiochemical properties, pharmacokinetic characteristics, tissue distribution, and receptor-binding profiles may fall within the claims.
Claim 2 further specifies a minimum pKi difference of 0.3 units, while claim 3 identifies particular compounds. Nevertheless, because claim 3 depends from claim 1 and uses the expression “at least one selected from, “the claim is not restricted to a single administered compound.
Claims 6-10 further specify routes of administration, dosage limitations, and subject populations, but do not otherwise restrict the administered antagonist to the compounds experimentally evaluated in the specification.
None expressly restricts “treating” to symptom improvement rather than the curative meaning supplied by paragraph [0046]. The curative embodiment thus differs materially in outcome from the exemplified temporary improvement in working memory performance.
Factor 2-Nature of the invention
The claimed method is therapeutic, addressing stress-related disorders with PFC dysfunction component. Inhibiting a pathway contributing to an impairment, is not necessarily equivalent to curing the underlying disorder, which may involve additional mechanisms and persistence or recurrence of symptoms. Spec ¶¶[0002]-[0005].
Factor 3- State of the Prior art
Applicant’s ¶[0005] acknowledges that prazosin does not always work and the clinical trials have yielded varied outcomes. ¶[0006] states that doxazosin shares some shortcomings. Wadhawan et al. (Current Psychopharmacology, 2014, 3, 158-183) reviews stress-associated α1 signaling and symptomatic psychiatric treatment but does not report a definitive cure of PTSD by α1A-selective antagonist. Matthew Tull (“How PTSD is treated”, updated June 30, 2021, medically reviewed) states not definitive cure was recognized while symptom-relieving treatment existed. This consumer-facing secondary source is corroborative, not primary scientific proof that cure is impossible. These sources distinguish relief from cure, not establish that every stress-related disorder is incurable.
Factor 4- Level of Ordinary Skill
A skilled pharmacologist or neuropsychiatric researcher would understand adrenergic receptor pharmacology, behavioral models, dose finding and clinical outcomes. Such knowledge could support routine optimization for symptom improvement. It does not supply an identified general method for establishing durable elimination of the underlying disorder α1Athrough α1A antagonism.
Factor 5- Predictability
The three disclosed compounds provide evidence that selective α1A antagonism can improve a stress-related functional endpoint. However, a reasonable predication of such improvement is different from predicting cure of an established multifactorial disorder. Wadhawan’s discussion of multiple receptor subtypes and stress pathways, together with the variable response recognized in the spec. ¶¶[0005]-[0006], supports caution in extrapolating symptomatic response to cure. The Examiner does not assert that the α1A- antagonism is generally ineffective.
Factor 6- Amount of Direction
The disclosure explains how to select α1A-preferring antagonism and reports a spatial working memory experiment, but the cited portions do not identify what administration regimen, treatment duration, patient selection, disease-modifying endpoint or follow-up would establish a cure, not a predictive criterion for identifying compounds that accomplish it.
Factor 7- Working Examples
Example 1 and figures 1-4 are credited as positive experimental for RS-17053, silodosin, and tamsulosin in the disclosed model. They do not show durable resolution of an established clinical disorder. Lack of a clinical cure example alone is not dispositive; the question is whether the disclosure and ordinary knowledge nevertheless teach the curative embodiment.
Factor 8- Quantity of Experimentation
To establish a curative embodiment, a skilled artisan would need to identify an effective compound and exposure, determine whether benefits persist after treatment, distinguish transient cognitive improvement from elimination of the underlying disorder, and assess generalizability across the disorder states embraced by the claim. In view of the absence of a disclosed curative protocol, or validated predictive endpoint, the Examiner preliminary finds that this would involve developing and validating a therapeutic strategy, rather than merely optimizing the exemplified behavioral assay.
Conclusion
Considering the Wands factors collectively, the Examiner finds that the disclosure does not teach the asserted curative embodiment of “treating” encompassed by ¶[0046] without undue experimentation, notwithstanding adequate evidence of amelioration in the tested model. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 6-10 are rejected under §112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan et al. (WO2012/074561 A2), with Arnsten et al. (Neurobiology of Stress 1 (2015) 89-99) relied upon as extrinsic evidence.
Claim interpretation
Claim 1 recites a method of “treating or ameliorating a stress-related disorder” wherein the stress-related disorder comprising stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the recitation of “treating or ameliorating” encompasses therapeutic administration directed to improving or alleviating one or more symptoms associated with the stress-related disorder and does not require complete elimination or cure of the underlying disorder.
Specifically, paragraph [0046] of the specification expressly defines “treatment” or “treating” to include administration of a therapeutic agent for purposes including curing, healing, alleviating, relieving, improving, or otherwise affecting a disease or disorder and/or its associated symptoms.
Furthermore, paragraph [0002] identifies reduced prefrontal cortical top-down control as a feature associated with PDSD, anxiety disorders, and agitation/disruptive behaviors associated with dementia. Paragraph [0003] further explains that stress-induced norepinephrine release and stimulation of α-adrenergic receptors contribute to impaired prefrontal cortical function and working memory.
Accordingly, the claimed method encompasses therapeutic administration directed to ameliorating symptoms of a stress-related disorder associated with stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction. The claim does not require complete resolution of the underlying disorder provided that the claimed therapeutic improvement is achieved.
Claim 1
Kahn teaches a method for preventing, ameliorating or alleviating symptoms of an anxiety disorder in a female human subject suffering from or at risk for the anxiety disorder comprising administering to a female human in need of such treatment a composition comprising an α-blocker and a β-blocker in an amount effective to prevent, ameliorate or alleviate one or more symptoms of said anxiety disorder. See claims 101.
Khan expressly identifies PTSD as the anxiety disorder being treated. See claim 102.
Kahn further teaches administration after a traumatic even and after development of PTSD symptoms. See claims 105-106. Thus, Kahn contemplates therapeutic administration to subject having an established stress-related disorder rather than being limited to prophylactic administration before the development of the disorder.
Kahn additionally identifies tamsulosin and silodosin as suitable α-adrenergic receptor blockers. See claims 108-109.
With respect to the recited selective α1A-adrenergic receptor antagonist compound, the Examiner notes that tamsulosin and silodosin identified by Khan are the same chemical compounds identified in the instant specification as selective α1A-adrenergic receptor antagonists. See ¶[0013] and the corresponding receptor binding disclosures. Accordingly, the receptor-binding characteristics necessarily possessed by these compounds are inherent properties of the identical compounds disclosed by Khan, irrespective of whether Khan expressly reports their numerical pKi values. See MPEP §2112.
The Examiner further notes that Khan contemplates administration of α and β blockers as different compounds as recited in claim 108 and as the same compound recited in claim 110. The present claim employs the open-ended transitional phrase “comprising” and does not exclude administration of additional β blocker. Accordingly, the embodiment in which tamsulosin or silodosin is administrated with a β blocker falls within the scope of the positively recited administering step.
Stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction
Claim 1 further requires that the stressed-induced disorder comprising stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction.
Khan expressly identifies PTSD as the stress-related disorder treated by the disclosed method. See claim 102.
Arnsten is relied upon as extrinsic evidence establish the recognized physiological relationship between stress-induced α1-adrenergic receptor stimulation and prefrontal cortical dysfunction associated with PTSD, rather than Khan’s therapeutic method.
Specifically, Arnsten teaches stressed-induced elevation in norepinephrine stimulate α1-adrenergic receptors and impair prefrontal cortical function and further identifies impaired prefrontal cortical regulation as a feature of PTSD. See pages 89-93
The instant specification similarly acknowledges that reduced prefrontal cortical top-down control occurs in PTSD and that α1-adrenergic receptor stimulation contributes to stress-induced impairment of prefrontal cortical function. See ¶¶[0002]-[0004].
Accordingly, the recited stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction is a recognized pathophysiological feature associated with PTSD expressly identified by Khan, rather than a newly identified disease or a separately required affirmative treatment step.
To establish anticipation on this basis, the Examiner must determine that the stress-related disorder treated by Khan’s disclosed embodiment necessarily comprises the claimed stress-induced prefrontal cortical dysfunction. See MPEP §§2112 and 2131.01(III).
Claims 2 and 3
With respect to claim 2, Khan identifies the same tamsulosin and silodosin compounds disclosed in the instant specification. To the extent that the record establishes that these identical compounds necessarily possess a pKi for α1A that is at least 0.3 units higher than the recited comparator receptor subtypes, the additional numerical limitation is inherently satisfied.
With respect to claim 3, Khan expressly identifies tamsulosin and silodosin which are among the compounds recited in claim 3. See claims 109. The disclosure of either recited alternative is sufficient to satisfy the compound-selection limitation.
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, Khan expressly teaches administration of therapeutic agents by various routes, including oral, nasal, rectal, parenteral. See ¶¶[0085]-[0089].
Claims 9 and 10
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Khan expressly teaches mammalian subjects, including human subjects. See claims 101-102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (WO012/074561 A1), with Arnsten et al. (Neurobiology of Stress 1 (2015) 89-99) relied upon as extrinsic evidence as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 9-10, in view of Thompson et al. (EP0799618 A2).
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Khan teaches dose regimen and adjustment of administered amounts based on the subject and therapeutic response. See ¶[0078]-[0081], pages 26-29.
However, Khan does not expressly teach the α1A-receptor antagonist is administered to the subject is about 0.001 mg/kg or higher for claim 7 and about 1 mg/kg or lower for claim 8.
Thompson teaches a method for treating or preventing a cancer in a mammal which comprises administering to said mammal an amount of a drug, comprising an α1-adrenoreceptor antagonist or pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt thereof, effective for treating or preventing the cancer. (See Abstract.) Thompson teaches the α1-adrenoreceptor antagonist is selected from the group comprising alfuzosin, indoramin, terazosin, bunazosin, doxazosin and its 6'- and 7'- hydoxy metabolites, prazosin, tamsulosin, abanoquil, Recordati 15/2739, RS-17053 and SL 89.0591. (See claim 2.) Thompson additionally teaches the active compounds are most desirably administered in doses ranging from about 0.01 to about 2.0 mg/kg per day for the prevention or the treatment of cancer in a patient via oral, parenteral. (See paragraph [0015].)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer the α1-adrenergic receptor taught by Khan, particularly tamsulosin, at a dosage with the ranges taught by Thompson, because Thompson expressly identifies tamsulosin among the α1-adrenergic receptor antagonists suitable for therapeutic administration and teaches that such antagonists are desirably administered at doses ranging from about 0.01 to about 20.0 mg/kg per day. See ¶[0015].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the known dosage teachings of Thompson when carrying out Khan’s method of treating or ameliorating PTSD symptoms because Khan teaches administration of therapeutically effective amounts of α-adrenergic receptor antagonists and adjustments of the administered amounts according to the subject therapeutic response. See ¶¶[0078]-[0081].
Thompson provides a known weight-based dosage framework for administering the same class of therapeutic agents, including the expressly identified compound tamsulosin. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have had reason to select a dosage within Thompson’s disclosed range when administering tamsulosin according to Khan’s therapeutic method.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering tamsulosin within the known dosage range because Khan expressly identifies tamsulosin as a suitable α-adrenergic receptor antagonist for the disclosed therapeutic method, while Thompson teaches administration of α1-adernergic receptor antagonists, including tamsulosin, at therapeutically effective weight-based dosages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claimed objection and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b), have been considered but are moot in view of the claim amendments
Applicant’s arguments concerning the previously applied rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(a) and 103 have been fully considered. However, the previous rejections are withdrawn and replaced with new rejections as set forth above. Specifically, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) for lack of enablement has been withdrawn and replaced with a revised rejection directed to curative therapeutic embodiment encompassed by the specification’s express definition of “treating” in paragraph [0046]. Furthermore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 based on Thompson et al. McElligott et al., and Ford et al., has been withdrawn and replaced with new prior art rejections based on Khan et al. with Arnsten et al. relied upon as extrinsic evidence, and Thompson et al. applied to the additional dosage limitations of claims 1 and 8. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to the previously applied rejections are moot to the extent that they address grounds and factual findings no longer relied upon by the Examiner. The pending claims have been reconsidered in light of Applicant’s amendments and arguments, and the bases for the present rejection are fully set fory above.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are not allowed.
/JEAN P CORNET/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628