Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/26/2024 was filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) (see IDS) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) (see IDS) in view of Zhou (US 2018/0374729).
RE claim 1, the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) discloses a wafer transferring device and a method for a Bernoulli manipulator (16) with a gas path for providing gas to the Bernoulli manipulator to transfer thin wafer between a wafer cassette (24) and a processing chamber, comprising the following steps:
identifying the thickness of the wafers in the wafer cassette (24);
The Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) discloses from first to third paragraphs on page 6 in the specification (see the attached Machine Translation)
The control unit 32 monitors the distance A between the probe of the sensor 22 and the wafer 11 in real time by monitoring the electrostatic capacitance of the sensor 22. When the distance A has not reached the predetermined length, the control unit 32 determines that the wafer 11 is not held by suction (NO in S20), and continues to increase the flow rate of air.
In contrast, when the sensor 22 detects that the distance A has reached a predetermined length, the control unit 32 determines that the wafer 11 is sucked and held (YES in S20). In addition, the predetermined length of the distance A varies according to the diameter, thickness, material, and the like of the wafer 11.
For example, if the wafer 11 is a silicon wafer with a diameter of 300 mm, a thickness of the outer peripheral portion corresponding to the remaining area of the outer periphery is 100 μm, and a thickness of the portion corresponding to the device area of 30 μm, the predetermined length of the distance A is 0.5 mm .
providing or obtaining gas flow parameters matched with the wafers' thickness, each gas flow parameter including two gas flow rates as a first gas flow rate and a second gas flow rate, the first gas flow rate being lower than the second gas flow rate;
In addition, when the distance A becomes a predetermined length, the wafer 11 is sucked and held with the smallest attractive force, and there is a possibility that the wafer 11 may fall from the hand 16 for some reason. However, when the air flow rate is increased excessively, there is still a possibility that the wafer 11 may be damaged. (para [006] of page 6)
Next, the input signal to the electric air pressure regulator 30 is controlled so that the flow rate of the air supplied from the electric air pressure regulator 30 to the Bernoulli pads 18a, 18b is gradually increased from zero (air flow increase step S10). (para [10 and 12] of page 6) (also see Fig. 3)
providing the gas with the first gas flow rate matching the thickness of the transferred wafer to the Bernoulli manipulator through the gas path, the Bernoulli manipulator moving the wafer out of the wafer cassette at the first gas flow rate, then,
Next, the flow rate of air is increased, and when the sensor 22 detects that the amplitude becomes a predetermined amount, the control unit 32 determines that the wafer 11 is sucked and held (YES in S20). The predetermined amount of amplitude varies according to the diameter, thickness, material, and the like of the wafer 11. (para [002] of page 7)
For example, when the wafer 11 is a silicon wafer with a diameter of 300 mm, a thickness of an outer peripheral portion corresponding to the remaining outer peripheral area of 100 μm, and a thickness of a portion corresponding to the device area of 30 μm, the amplitude of the predetermined amount is 1.0 μm.
(para [003] of page 7)
When the amplitude of the wafer 11 reaches a predetermined amount, the control unit 32 determines that the wafer 11 is appropriately sucked and held by the Bernoulli pads 18a and 18b, and fixes the air flow rate (air flow rate fixing step S30). (para [004] of page 7)
providing the gas with the second gas flow rate matching the thickness of the transferred wafer to the Bernoulli manipulator through the gas path, the Bernoulli manipulator transferring the wafer to the processing chamber at the second flow rate.
Next, the flow rate of air is increased, and when the sensor 22 detects that the amplitude becomes a predetermined amount, the control unit 32 determines that the wafer 11 is sucked and held (YES in S20). The predetermined amount of amplitude varies according to the diameter, thickness, material, and the like of the wafer 11. (para [002] of page 7)
Exhibit A
Exhibit B
RE claims 1 and 9, If the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) does not specifically teach identifying the thickness of the wafers in the wafer cassette,
Zhou (US 2018/0374729) teaches identification marks such as bar codes to identify the thickness of wafer to indicate the processing condition (see paragraph [0002] of specification). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art or a semiconductor manufacturing art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide identification marks such as bar codes on the cassettes (24) of by the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) as taught by Zhou (US 2018/0374729) to monitor and execute the processing condition to a user.
RE claim 2, the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) appears to apply the thickness of the wafer as at least 30 µm, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art or a semiconductor manufacturing art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the user’s preferred wafer thickness on the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) to execute the user’s preference depending on the application of the device.
RE claim 3, the provided Fig. 3 of the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) shows the main gas path is configured with a main flow regulating valve, a main switch value and a main mass flow controller sequentially arranged along the gas flow direction, and the method comprises adjusting the gas flow rate in the main gas path through the main mass controller.
RE claim 5, the provided Fig. 3 of the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) teaches the gas path configured by the Bernoulli manipulator further comprises a branch gas path, one end of which connected to the downstream side of the main switch valve and the other end connected to the upstream side of the main mass flow controller, and the branch gas path is provided with a branch flow regulating valve for regulating the gas flow rate in the branch gas path.
RE claim 10, the provided Fig. 1 of the Chinese Publication (CN 113666089A) discloses
the Bernoulli manipulator (16) flips to make the front side of the wafer facing down and the back side of the wafer facing up; before the Bernoulli manipulator flips, the gas flow rate provided by the gas path to the Bernoulli manipulator increases from the first gas flow rate matching the thickness of the transferred wafer to the second gas flow rate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MARUYAMA; Koji, Sekiya; Kazuma, and Mollenkopf; Kelly C. disclose the devices to identify the thickness of a wafer.
Kakinuma; Yoshinori, Wang; Gang, and Yo; Seikai show a wafer gripping blade or chuck.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654