DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-18, 23, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu (U.S. 2023/0047684).
With respect to Claim 1, Hu teaches a method for configuring a measurement gap, performed by a terminal device (figure 2, #102), comprising:
receiving measurement configuration information from a network device, wherein the measurement configuration information comprises a plurality of configuration parameters for the measurement gap and a measurement gap sharing configuration (¶ 0117, “The measurement configuration information includes a measurement gap, gap sharing information, and at least one measurement object. The gap sharing information indicates a proportion of measurement gap occupied by the at least one measurement object in relation to the measurement gap.); and
determining a usage mode of the measurement gap sharing configuration (¶ 0160, “when the gap sharing information is 100, the measurement objects of the first group, the second group and the third group equally divide the measurement GAP resources; when the gap sharing information is 101, the measurement objects of the first group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources, the measurement objects of the second group occupy 50% of the measurement GAP resources, and the measurement objects of the third group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources”)
With respect to Claim 5, Hu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the usage mode of the measurement gap sharing configuration comprises: de
determining one of a specific measurement frequency layer from a plurality of frequency layers corresponding to the measurement gap, or a specific measurement frequency point from a plurality of frequency points corresponding to the measurement gap (¶ 0051, “the measurement objects may be in units of frequency points, and each configured measurement object is an individual frequency point, and has an individual measurement object identification.); and
determining, based on the measurement gap sharing configuration, one of a measurement opportunity percentage of the specific measurement frequency layer relative to other measurement frequency layer among the plurality of frequency layers, or a measurement opportunity percentage of the specific measurement frequency point relative to other measurement frequency point among the plurality of frequency points (¶ 0160, “when the gap sharing information is 100, the measurement objects of the first group, the second group and the third group equally divide the measurement GAP resources; when the gap sharing information is 101, the measurement objects of the first group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources, the measurement objects of the second group occupy 50% of the measurement GAP resources, and the measurement objects of the third group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources”)
With respect to Claim 6, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein determining one of the specific measurement frequency layer from the plurality of frequency layers corresponding to the measurement gap, or the specific measurement frequency point from the plurality of frequency points corresponding to the measurement gap, comprises one of:
determining a frequency layer having an intra-frequency point among the plurality of frequency layers as the specific measurement frequency layer, or determining an intra-frequency point among the plurality of frequency points as the specific measurement frequency point; receiving configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information indicates the specific measurement frequency layer among the plurality of frequency layers, or the specific measurement frequency point among the plurality of frequency points; or wherein the configuration information indicates priorities of the plurality of frequency layers, or priorities of the plurality of frequency points; or determining priorities of the plurality of frequency layers, or priorities of the plurality of frequency points; and determining the specific measurement frequency layer based on the priorities of the plurality of frequency layers, or determining the specific measurement frequency point based on the priorities of the plurality of frequency points.
With respect to Claim 9, Hu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each measurement gap or each measurement gap group has an independent measurement gap sharing configuration (¶ 0160, “when the gap sharing information is 100, the measurement objects of the first group, the second group and the third group equally divide the measurement GAP resources; when the gap sharing information is 101, the measurement objects of the first group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources, the measurement objects of the second group occupy 50% of the measurement GAP resources, and the measurement objects of the third group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources”)
With respect to Claim 10, Hu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each measurement gap comprises a plurality of frequency layers or a plurality of points (¶ 0051, “the measurement objects may be in units of frequency points, and each configured measurement object is an individual frequency point, and has an individual measurement object identification”.), the measurement gap sharing configuration indicates one of a measurement opportunity percentage of each frequency layer of each measurement gap, or a measurement opportunity percentage of each frequency point of each measurement gap. (¶ 0160, “when the gap sharing information is 100, the measurement objects of the first group, the second group and the third group equally divide the measurement GAP resources; when the gap sharing information is 101, the measurement objects of the first group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources, the measurement objects of the second group occupy 50% of the measurement GAP resources, and the measurement objects of the third group occupy 25% of the measurement GAP resources”)
With respect to Claim 11, Hu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of configuration parameters for the measurement gap further comprise a measurement gap configuration list (¶ 0048, “the terminal device 110 may receive a set of measurement configurations from the serving cell 130, and the terminal device 110 performs the measurement procedure to measure the serving cell 130 and the neighboring cells 121 to 124, and transmits the measurement report to the network device 120.”)
With respect to Claim 12, Hu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the measurement gap configuration list is stored in terminal device variables (¶ 0236, “the program instructions stored in the memory to cause the terminal device 140 to implement any of the communication methods described above.”)
With respect to Claim 24, Hu teaches the method of claim 9, wherein a measurement gap sharing configuration corresponding to the measurement gap is comprised in a gap configuration corresponding to the measurement gap (¶ 0048, “the terminal device 110 may receive a set of measurement configurations from the serving cell 130, and the terminal device 110 performs the measurement procedure to measure the serving cell 130 and the neighboring cells 121 to 124, and transmits the measurement report to the network device 120.”)
With respect to Claim 13-18 and 25, the method performed by a network device, corresponds to the method performed by at terminal of Claim 1, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 25, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claim 21, the terminal corresponds to the method of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claim 23, the computer-readable storage medium corresponds to the method of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446