DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0143942 A1) in view of Mondet et al. (US 2023/0292237 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method performed by a Central Unit (CU) (e.g. 172) of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (104A) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a Distributed Unit (DU) of the RAN node, a first message including information on a first Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration for eXtended Reality (XR) traffic (fig. 3A; paragraph [0089]-[0090]; and etc., illustrating transmitting DRX configuration for assistance information to DU); receiving, from the DU, a second message including information on a second DRX configuration preferred for the DU, (fig. 3A; paragraph [0091]; and so on, explaining receiving a preferred DRX configuration from DU, generated by the DU); and transmitting, to the DU, a third message in response to the second message, wherein the third message includes (i) an accept indication and (ii) a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration including the second DRX configuration, based on determining that the second DRX configuration is acceptable (fig. 3A; paragraph [0092]-[0095]; and etc., describing the transmission of RRC reconfiguration message including satisfying or accepting of the preferred configuration to DU).
Wu does not disclose wherein the first DRX configuration for the XR traffic includes a first set of periodicities for the XR traffic, and wherein the second DRX configuration includes a second set of periodicities for the XR traffic.
Mondet teaches wherein the first DRX configuration for the XR traffic includes a first set of periodicities for the XR traffic, and wherein the second DRX configuration includes a second set of periodicities for the XR traffic (paragraph [0020]-[0023]; [0077]-[0083]; [0089]; [0094]-[0097]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the first DRX configuration for the XR traffic includes a first set of periodicities for the XR traffic, and wherein the second DRX configuration includes a second set of periodicities for the XR traffic as taught by Mondet into Wu in order to improve resource and power consumption.
Regarding claim 15, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding Central Unit (CU), and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 16, Wu discloses wherein the third message includes (i) a reject indication and (ii) information on a third DRX configuration, based on determining that the preferred DRX configuration is not acceptable (fig. 3A; paragraph [0096]-[0101]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3 and 17, Wu discloses wherein the method further comprises, wherein the third message only includes a reject indication, based on determining that the preferred DRX configuration is not acceptable (paragraph [0083]; [0100]; [0102]-[0104]; [0120]-[0123]; [0134]-[0137]; and so on).
Regarding claim 4 and 18, Wu discloses wherein the information on the third DRX configuration includes an indication indicating the first DRX configuration (fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 5 and 19, wherein the CU is a logical node hosting RRC, Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols of the RAN node that controls operations of the DU (paragraph [0086]; [0092]; [0095]; [0098]-[0107]; [0109]-[0112]; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses wherein the DU is a logical node hosting Radio Link Control (RLC), Medium Access Control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the RAN node.
Regarding claim 7, as applied above, Wu discloses first and second configurations. However, Wu does not disclose wherein the first set of periodicities is different from the second set of periodicities.
Mondet teaches wherein the first set of periodicities is different from the second set of periodicities (paragraph [0020]-[0023]; [0077]; [0081]; [0089]; [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the first set of periodicities is different from the second set of periodicities as taught by Mondet into Wu in order to improve resource and power consumption.
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses wherein the first message includes multiple DRX configurations for XR traffic (paragraph [0089]; [0126]; and so on).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses wherein the information on a second DRX configuration preferred for the DU includes an index of the second DRX configuration, wherein the second DRX configuration is one of multiple DRX configurations included in the first message (fig. 3A; paragraph [0092]-[0112]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses wherein the first message is a UE Context Setup Request message (paragraph [0089]; [0145]; [0158]; [0167]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses wherein the second message is a UE Context Modification Required message (paragraph [0091]; [0128]; [0181]; [0266]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses wherein the third message is a UE Context Modification Confirm message (paragraph [0091]; [0128]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses wherein the RRC reconfiguration included in the second message is transmitted to a wireless device (fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses wherein the DU is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (e.g. fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 32, Wu discloses a wireless device (102) in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1A; paragraph [0057]); a memory (paragraph [0057]); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (paragraph [0057]), and adapted to: receive, from a distributed unit (DU) of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including a first Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration for eXtended Reality (XR) traffic (e.g. fig. 3A), wherein the first DRX configuration includes a first set of periodicities for the XR traffic (paragraph [0086]-[0089]; and so on); receive, from the DU, the XR traffic based on the first DRX configuration (such as fig. 3A; paragraph [0086]-[0089]; and so on); receive, from the DU, a second RRC message including a second DRX configuration for the XR traffic, wherein the second DRX configuration is preferred by the DU (paragraph [0086]-[0091]; [0094]-[0099]; [0101]; [0103]-[0106]; [0129]; [0133]; and etc.), and wherein the second DRX configuration includes a second set of periodicities for the XR traffic different from the first set; and receive, from the DU, the XR traffic based on the second DRX configuration (figs. 3A-3B, 4A-4B; paragraph [0086]-[0091]; [0094]-[0099]; [0101]; [0103]-[0106]; [0129]; [0133]; and so on).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461