DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025, 04/22/2025 and 08/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202111649196.3, filed on 12/29/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21,33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo Jungwoo et al [Miniaturized Dual-Band Broadside/Endfire Antenna-in-Package for 5G Smartphone Vol.69 IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON ANTENNAS AND PROPAGATION VOL. 69, NO. 12. DECEMBER 2021 Pages 8100-8114 (06/16/2021)]
In regards to claim 21. Seo Jungwoo discloses an antenna-in-module (abstract: this is article proposes a miniaturized antenna in package for 5G mmW smartphones), comprising:
a ground plate (Page 8101, last paragraph of the second column: the ground place is on layer 7: Fig. 2c);
a first feed stub (Fig. 2c shows a first feed stub for feeding the patch with a first polarization: X-pol, the sub is arranged in layer 2),
a second feed stub (Fig. 2c: patch antenna feed stub for the Y-pol in layer 2),
the first radiating element, the second radiating element, and the third radiating element are separately in a coupling connection to the ground plate (Fig. 2c, all antennas are at the proximity of the ground plane, they are therefore coupled to some extent to said ground plane)
wherein at least a part of the first feed stub is disposed in a first aperture, and the first aperture comprises space between the first gap and the ground plate (Fig. 2c, all antennas are at the proximity of the ground plane, the antennas are therefore coupled to some extent to ground plane)
wherein at least a part of the second feed stub is disposed in a second aperture, and the second aperture comprises space between the second radiating element and the third radiating element (Fig. 2c, the second feed stub is in layer 2 which is above the layers of the dipoles and bloew the layer of the patch it feeds, it is therefore in an aperture between the second and third radiating elementl Fig. 2d shows the aperture along the Z-axis)
Seo Jungwoo does not specify a first radiating element wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; a second radiating element, wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, and a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; a third radiating element, wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other.
Seo Jungwoo discloses
a first radiating element (Fig. 2a: 1st patch on left of the figure)
wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; (Fig. 2a shows the axes, the interval between the 7th layer and the 1 st layer is also along z-axis)
a second radiating element, (Fig. 2a: second patch next to the first patch)
wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, (Fig. 2a, the 4 patch antennas of the array extend along the X-axis shown in Fig. 2a) and
a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; (Fig. 2a, There is a gap each antenna element and the gap extends in the Y-axis)
a third radiating element (Fig. 2a, first dipole)
wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, (Table III shows that depending on the type of dipole used, they are disposed either in layers 3 to 10 or 4 to 9, since the patches are disposed in layer 1(last paragraph of second column of page 8101 there is an interval in the Z-axis between the dipole and the patch))
wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other (see Fig. 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Seo Jungwoo Fig. 2c with Fig. 2a to discloses a first radiating element wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; a second radiating element, wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, and a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; a third radiating element, wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other for purpose of improve the antenna bandwidth with dual band antenna as disclosed by Seo (Abstract).
In regards to claim 33. Seo Jungwoo discloses the antenna-in-module according to claim 21, wherein the third radiating element reuses a partial structure of the ground plate (Page 8102 second column: strip lines are connected to the 16 channel RF chip)
In regards to claim 37. Seo Jungwoo discloses an electronic device (abstract: this is article proposes a miniaturized antenna in package for 5G mmW smartphones), comprising an antenna-in-module, the antenna-in-module comprising: a ground plate (Page 8101, last paragraph of the second column: the ground place is on layer 7: Fig. 2c);
a first feed stub (Fig. 2c shows a first feed stub for feeding the patch with a first polarization: X-pol, the sub is arranged in layer 2),
a second feed stub (Fig. 2c: patch antenna feed stub for the Y-pol in layer 2),
the first radiating element, the second radiating element, and the third radiating element are separately in a coupling connection to the ground plate (Fig. 2c, all antennas are at the proximity of the ground plane, they are therefore coupled to some extent to said ground plane)
wherein at least a part of the first feed stub is disposed in a first aperture, and the first aperture comprises space between the first gap and the ground plate (Fig. 2c, all antennas are at the proximity of the ground plane, the antennas are therefore coupled to some extent to ground plane)
wherein at least a part of the second feed stub is disposed in a second aperture, and the second aperture comprises space between the second radiating element and the third radiating element (Fig. 2c, the second feed stub is in layer 2 which is above the layers of the dipoles and bloew the layer of the patch it feeds, it is therefore in an aperture between the second and third radiating elementl Fig. 2d shows the aperture along the Z-axis)
Seo Jungwoo does not specify a first radiating element wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; a second radiating element, wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, and a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; a third radiating element, wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other.
Seo Jungwoo discloses
a first radiating element (Fig. 2a: 1st patch on left of the figure)
wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; (Fig. 2a shows the axes, the interval between the 7th layer and the 1 st layer is also along z-axis)
a second radiating element, (Fig. 2a: second patch next to the first patch)
wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, (Fig. 2a, the 4 patch antennas of the array extend along the X-axis shown in Fig. 2a) and
a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; (Fig. 2a, There is a gap each antenna element and the gap extends in the Y-axis)
a third radiating element (Fig. 2a, first dipole)
wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, (Table III shows that depending on the type of dipole used, they are disposed either in layers 3 to 10 or 4 to 9, since the patches are disposed in layer 1(last paragraph of second column of page 8101 there is an interval in the Z-axis between the dipole and the patch))
wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other (see Fig. 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Seo Jungwoo Fig. 2c with Fig. 2a to discloses a first radiating element wherein the first radiating element and the ground plate are arranged at an interval along a virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other; a second radiating element, wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along a virtual X-axis, and a first gap between the first radiating element and the second radiating element extends along a virtual Y-axis; a third radiating element, wherein the third radiating element and the second radiating element are arranged at an interval along the virtual Z-axis and are disposed opposite to each other, and wherein the virtual X-axis, the virtual Y-axis, and the virtual Z-axis are perpendicular to each other for purpose of improve the antenna bandwidth with dual band antenna as disclosed by Seo (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-32, 34-36 and 38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“wherein the first radiating element comprises a first radiator and a second radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a second gap between the first radiator and the second radiator extends along the virtual X-axis; wherein the second radiating element comprises a third radiator and a fourth radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a third gap between the third radiator and the fourth radiator extends along the virtual X-axis; and wherein the third radiating element comprises a fifth radiator and a sixth radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a fourth gap between the fifth radiator and the sixth radiator extends along the virtual X-axis.” as shown in claim 22
“wherein the first radiating element comprises a first radiator and a second radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a second gap between the first radiator and the second radiator extends along the virtual X-axis; wherein the second radiating element comprises a virtual third radiator and a virtual fourth radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a third gap between the virtual third radiator and the virtual fourth radiator extends along the virtual X-axis; and wherein the third radiating element comprises a fifth radiator and a sixth radiator that are arranged at an interval along the virtual Y-axis, and a fourth gap between the fifth radiator and the sixth radiator extends along the virtual X-axis.” as shown in claim 38.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844