DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 8, the term “comparting” appears to be misspelled. Examiner believes the term “comparting” should be corrected to be –comparing--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chauhan et al., “Fault detection and classification in automated assembly machines using machine vision”.
Regarding claim 1, Chauhan discloses an operation monitoring method of monitoring an operation of a processing unit (Abstract; Section 5.2; methods of fault detection optical flow in automated assembly machines),
the operation monitoring method comprising:
a) acquiring a plurality of moving images by shooting, a plurality of times, a specific operation of the processing unit (Abstract; Introduction, Third paragraph; Section 5; These systems use industrial grade cameras to acquire data in the form of images and videos. A camera can be used for continuous video acquisition of the machine’s operation);
b) calculating a motion vector for each pixel by an optical flow for a plurality of frame images included in the plurality of moving images (Fig. 13; Section 5.2; Optical
flow was introduced …for computing motion between two video frames. Optical flow for a pixel between two video frames is shown in Fig. 13. It is a 2D vector that represents motion in horizontal and vertical directions. For each pixel, it is plotted as a line joining the pixels current position with its previous position. The optical flow density (OFD) (i.e., motion vector) is computed from the optical flow of the video. The OFD, the sum of the absolute values of optical flow vectors, is a single number that represents the motion in a frame);
c) calculating an evaluation value based on the motion vector for each pixel by comparting the motion vectors calculated for the same pixel at the same time in the plurality of moving images (Fig. 13; Section 5.2; Optical flow for a pixel between two video frames is shown in Fig. 13. It is a 2D vector that represents motion in horizontal and vertical directions. For each pixel, it is plotted as a line joining the pixels current position with its previous position. During a normal operation sequence, the OFD stays within limits (between zero and the threshold). The OFD of the normal operation sequence is considered as the threshold (reference value). For each frame, the OFD is determined and compared with the threshold. If the current frame OFD exceeds the threshold and keeps on increasing with respect to time, then that is the indication of more number of objects in the frame. The method then keeps track of the OFD for next few frames, and if the trend continues, the machine condition is considered as a fault); and
d) evaluating the specific operation of the processing unit in accordance with the evaluation value (Fig. 14; Section 5.2; During a normal operation sequence, the OFD stays within limits (between zero and the threshold). The OFD of the normal operation sequence is considered as the threshold (reference value). For each frame, the OFD is determined and compared with the threshold. If the current frame OFD exceeds the threshold and keeps on increasing with respect to time, then that is the indication of more number of objects in the frame. The method then keeps track of the OFD for next few frames, and if the trend continues, the machine condition is considered as a fault. The OFD is the absolute value of optical flow as determined for each frame. The OFD is used as a feature to detect and classify faults from videos).
Regarding claim 2, the operation monitoring method according to claim 1, Chauhan discloses wherein the evaluation value is a standard deviation of the motion vector obtained by using, as a population, the motion vectors calculated for the same pixel at the same time in the plurality of moving images (Section 5.1.3).
Regarding claim 3, the operation monitoring method according to claim 2, Chauhan discloses wherein
the plurality of frame images are two-dimensional images defined by an x axis and a y axis (Fig. 13; Section 5.2),
the operation c) includes calculating a standard deviation of an x-axis component of the motion vector and a standard deviation of a y-axis component of the motion vector (Fig. 13; Sections 5.1.3 and 5.2), and
in the operation d), the specific operation of the processing unit is evaluated in accordance with an average value of the standard deviation of the x-axis component and the standard deviation of the y-axis component (Fig. 13; Sections 5.1.3 and 5.2).
Regarding claim 4, the operation monitoring method according to claim 1, Chauhan discloses further comprising:
x) calculating a feature based on the motion vector for each of the plurality of frame images in each of the plurality of moving images (Figs. 13-14; Section 5.2); and
y) synchronizing timing of the plurality of moving images with one another in accordance with a time-varying waveform of the feature (Figs. 13-14; Section 5.2),
the operation x) and the operation y) being performed after the operation b) and before the operation c) (Fig. 14; Section 5.2).
Regarding claim 5, the operation monitoring method according to claim 4, Chauhan discloses wherein
the feature is an average value of lengths of the motion vectors for a plurality of pixels included in the plurality of frame images (Sections 5.2 and 6.2).
Regarding claim 6, the operation monitoring method according to claim 1, Chauhan discloses wherein
the operation d) includes, when the evaluation value deviates from a preset tolerance, outputting an evaluation result indicating that the specific operation exhibits a wide range of variations (Section 5.2).
Regarding claim 7, the operation monitoring method according to claim 1, Chauhan discloses wherein
in the operation a), the plurality of moving images are acquired by shooting, the plurality of times, the specific operation for each of a processing unit that serves as a reference and a different processing unit (Section 5, Second paragraph), and
the operation d) includes, when a difference between the evaluation value calculated for the processing unit serving as the reference and the evaluation value calculated for the different processing unit deviates from a preset tolerance, outputting an evaluation result indicating that the specific operation of the different processing unit exhibits a wide range of variations (Section 5, Second paragraph and Section 5.2).
Regarding claim 8, the operation monitoring method according to claim 6, Chauhan discloses wherein
in the outputting of the evaluation result, a pixel whose evaluation value deviates from the preset tolerance in the plurality of frame images is displayed with a color, a character, or a graphic overlaid on the pixel (Figs. 14-15; Section 5.2; output feature plots and frames).
Regarding claim 10, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 8 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al., “Fault detection and classification in automated assembly machines using machine vision” in view of Choi et al., US 2020/0122165.
Regarding claim 9, the operation monitoring method according to claim 1, Chauhan discloses wherein the processing unit is a unit that supplies a substrate (Abstract; Section 3; O-ring).
Chauhan discloses claim 9 as enumerated above, but Chauhan does not explicitly disclose supplies a processing liquid to a surface of a substrate as claimed.
However, Choi discloses the first nozzle may dispense the first processing liquid onto a top side of the substrate (para 0023).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Chauhan and Choi as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first nozzle may dispense the first processing liquid onto a top side of the substrate as taught by Choi into the invention of Chauhan for the benefit of treating a substrate (Choi: Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toyoda, US 2019/0104313 discloses a motion vector calculation method for calculating a motion vector of a pixel between image frames included in a moving image or a still image group photographed continuously.
Wang et al., US 2017/0261264 discloses a fault diagnosis method for an electrical fused magnesia furnace.
Jones et al., US 2017/0255832 discloses a method and system detects actions of an object in a scene by first acquiring a video of the scene as a sequence of images, wherein each image includes pixels, wherein the video is partitioned into chunks.
Liu et al., US 2019/0209113 discloses a method, storage medium, and system for analyzing an image sequence of a periodic physiological activity.
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665