DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘cutter head’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7, please change “a control assembly” to “the control assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the other side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stad et al. (US 2008/0086157A1, “Stad”).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Stad discloses a resection apparatus including a catheter (112; Fig. 2), a handle body (138) and a cutter head assembly (119) disposed at a distal end of the catheter. A steering assembly includes a first steering point is disposed on catheter distal to joint (128; [0037, 0038]). A second steering point is disposed on the catheter proximal to the joint within the lumens through which pull wires enter (Fig. 2). A steering connector (pull wires; 130, 132) is capable of connecting the first steering point and the second steering point. A control assembly [0038] is disposed on the handle body and is capable of controlling the steering assembly. A torque shaft (actuation member; [0037]) is connected to the cutter head assembly via the catheter end cap (122) and a driving mechanism (140) on the handle body is capable of rotating the torque shaft [0039].
Regarding claim 2, Stad discloses that the steering connector is fixedly connected to the first steering point and movably connected to the second steering point. The distance between the first steering point and the distal end of the catheter is smaller than that between the second steering point and the distal end of the catheter. The first steering point is disposed on the other side opposite to the second steering point. Please see annotated figure below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stad et al. (US 2008/0086157A1, “Stad”) in view of Ando et al. (US 2024/0024636A1, “Ando”).
Regarding claim 1, Stad discloses a resection apparatus including a catheter (12; Fig. 1) and a cutter head assembly (19) disposed at a distal end of the catheter. A steering assembly includes a first steering point is disposed on end cap (22; [0036]) of the cutter head assembly. However, Stad does not disclose a handle body, a second steering point, a steering connector and a control assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, steering catheters, Ando teaches a catheter (1; [0034]) in communication with a handle body (7; Fig. 2), a first steering point disposed on the catheter (1L; [0034]; Fig. 2), a second steering point disposed on the catheter in the form of shuttle pieces (13; [0034]). A steering connector (pull wires, 11; [0034]) connects the first and second steering points. A control assembly (9; [0034]) is capable of controlling the steering connector and is disposed on the handle body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the steering mechanism of the device of Stad with the handle body, the second steering point, steering connector and control assembly, as taught by Ando, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one steering mechanism for another for the predictable result of providing a user with means to facilitate the movement of the cutter head assembly.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Stad and Ando discloses that the steering connector is fixedly connected to the first steering point and movably connected to the second steering point. The distance between the first steering point and the distal end of the catheter is smaller than that between the second steering point and the distal end of the catheter. The first steering point is disposed on the other side opposite to the second steering point (Fig. 1, Stad, Fig. 2, Ando).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Stad discloses a resection apparatus including a handle body (138) communicating with a catheter (112; Fig. 2) and a cutter head assembly (119) disposed at a distal end of the catheter. A steering assembly includes a reset fixing piece is disposed on a proximal end of the cutter head assembly wherein pull wires/steering connector (130, 132) are connected thereto (Fig. 2).
However, Stad does not disclose a steering fixing piece disposed on the catheter and a control assembly capable of controlling the steering connector and disposed on the handle body.
In the same field of endeavor, steering catheters, Ando teaches a catheter (1; [0034]) in communication with a handle body (7; Fig. 2), steering fixing piece disposed on the catheter (1L; [0034]; Fig. 2), a reset fixing piece disposed on the catheter in the form of shuttle pieces (13; [0034]). A steering connector (pull wires, 11; [0034]) connects the steering fixing piece and the reset fixing piece. A control assembly (9; [0034]) is capable of controlling the steering connector and is disposed on the handle body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the steering mechanism of the device of Stad with the handle body, the steering fixing piece, steering connector and control assembly, as taught by Ando, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one steering mechanism for another for the predictable result of providing a user with means to facilitate the movement of the cutter head assembly. With this modification, the reset fixing piece is disposed at a proximal end of the cutter head assembly, the steering fixing piece is disposed on the other end of the catheter, opposite to the reset fixing piece .
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Stad and Ando discloses that the steering connector includes a steering connecting wire (11R) and a reset connecting wire (11L), a steering wire cavity (45R) through which the steering connecting wire extends and a reset wire cavity (45L) through which the reset connecting wire extends are disposed on the catheter. The steering connecting wire is used for connecting the control assembly and the steering fixing piece. The reset connecting wire is used to connect the control assembly and the reset fixing piece ([0034]; Fig. 2, Ando).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,4, 6-10, and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sevensma (US 2014/0276612A1) discloses a steering catheter including a steering connector, handle body and a catheter.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771