DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose in the independent claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Bieselt discloses in response to a first trigger operation, displaying a perspective navigation window during a process of playing a first video stream associated with a video in a video playing window. For example, Bieselt discloses when triggered, a list of available angles will be displayed in section 302; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0046. It is also noted that when a user selects a stream with Angle A, for example, and the stream starts playing in full window, the user can trigger the displaying of available angles again and selects another angle during the playing of angle A and so on . Further, Bieselt discloses displaying a second video stream in the perspective navigation window, wherein the second video stream comprises navigation video frames that are obtained by extracting video frames from a plurality of different video streams associated with the video and wherein each of the plurality of different video streams is associated with display of the video from a different perspective. For example, Bieselt discloses when triggered, a list of available angles will be displayed in section 302; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0046, wherein a producer to select streams from plurality of real-time video input stream and assigned angles; see at least paragraphs 0007, 0033, 0035, 0037-00438 and 0046. Further, Bieselt discloses in response to a second trigger operation, determining a navigation frame of the second video stream being displayed in the perspective navigation window when the second triggered operation is received. For example, Bieselt discloses when selecting an angle to view, the main video display will change accordingly; see at least paragraphs 0029, 0039-0040 and 004.Furthermore, Bieselt discloses determining a different video stream of the plurality of different video streams that corresponds to the navigation frame of the second video stream and playing the different video stream in the video playing window, wherein the second trigger operation is used to instruct switching from playing the first video stream in the video playing window to playing the different video stream in the video playing window. For example, Bieselt discloses when selecting an angle to view, the main video display will change accordingly; see at least paragraphs 0029, 0039-0040 and 0046.
Bieselt is cited to disclose displaying a second video stream in the perspective navigation window, but is not clear about playing a second video stream in the window. Heusser is cited to show the missing limitation. For example, Heusser discloses simultaneous playback of multiple sources/angles of video content; see at least Fig. 2A and paragraphs 0085-0093.
For at least the above reasons, the present claimed invention is not patentable over the cited reference(s).
Claims 1-3, 6,9, 13-14 and 20-21 have been amended. Claims 12 and 15 have been previously canceled. The amendment to claim 14 overcome the previous 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-14, 16-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bieselt (US 2014/0101227) in view of Heusser (US 2018/0255332).
Regarding claim 1, Bieselt discloses a perspective switching method, comprising:
in response to a first trigger operation, displaying a perspective navigation window during a process of playing a first video stream associated with a video in a video playing window (when triggered, a list of available angles will be displayed; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0046);
displaying a second video stream in the perspective navigation window (when triggered, a list of available angles will be displayed in section 302; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0046), wherein the second video stream comprises navigation video frames that are obtained by extracting video frames from a plurality of different video streams associated with the video and wherein each of the plurality of different video streams is associated with display of the video from a different perspective (displaying a list of available angles with respective preview images wherein a producer to select streams from plurality of real-time video input stream and assigned angles; see at least paragraphs 0007, 0033, 0035, 0037-00438 and 0046);
in response to a second trigger operation, determining a navigation frame of the second video stream being displayed in the perspective navigation window when the second triggered operation is received (when selecting an angle to view, the main video display will change accordingly; see at least paragraphs 0029, 0039-0040 and 004);
determining a different video stream of the plurality of different video streams that corresponds to the navigation frame of the second video stream (when selecting an angle to view, the main video display will change accordingly; see at least paragraphs 0029, 0039-0040 and 004); and
playing the different video stream in the video playing window, wherein the second trigger operation is used to instruct switching from playing the first video stream in the video playing window to playing the different video stream in the video playing window (when selecting an angle to view, the main video display will change accordingly; see at least paragraphs 0029, 0039-0040 and 004).
Bieselt discloses displaying a second video stream in the perspective navigation window, but is not clear about playing a second video stream in the window.
Heusser discloses similar invention and discloses the above missing limitation; simultaneous playback of multiple sources/angles of video content; see at least Fig. 2A and paragraphs 0085-0093.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bieselt by the teachings of Heusser by having the above limitations so to be able to provide multi-angle synchronization and multi-angle interface; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the playing the second video stream in the perspective navigation window comprises:
playing the second video stream in the perspective navigation window with a same progress as a current playback progress of the first video stream (Heusser; simultaneous playback of multiple sources/angles of video content; see at least Fig. 2A and paragraphs 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 4, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 1, after playing the second video stream in the perspective navigation window, further comprising: in response to a third trigger operation, determining a first target playback progress corresponding to the third trigger operation, displaying a navigation video frame corresponding to the first target playback progress in the second video stream within the perspective navigation window, and stopping the playing of the second video stream, wherein the third trigger operation is used to instruct switching of a playback progress of the second video stream (Heusser; the user can pause, stop, fast forward, rewind, slow forward or slow rewind the content in available angles; see at least paragraphs 0090-0091).
Regarding claim 5, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein the third trigger operation comprises a position adjustment operation for a progress slider of the second video stream, and the method further comprises:
displaying a playback progress bar of the second video stream, wherein the playback progress bar is provided with the progress slider (Heusser; the user can pause, stop, fast forward, rewind, slow forward or slow rewind the content in available angles; see at least paragraphs 0090-0091).
Regarding claim 6, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 4, after stopping the playing of the second video stream, further comprising:
in response to a fourth trigger operation, determining a current playback progress of the first video stream, adjusting the playback progress of the second video stream to the current playback progress, and continuing to play the second video stream in the perspective navigation window, wherein the fourth trigger operation is used to instruct playing of the second video stream (Heusser; the user can pause, stop, fast forward, rewind, slow forward or slow rewind the content in available angles; see at least paragraphs 0090-0091).
Regarding claim 7, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein the first trigger operation comprises a trigger operation acting on a perspective navigation control (the trigger of Bieselt and the controls of Heusser; as above).
Regarding claim 8, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 1, after playing the second video stream in the perspective navigation window, further comprising:
in response to a fifth trigger operation, determining a target navigation video frame in the second video stream, and displaying the target navigation video frame in the perspective navigation window, wherein the fifth trigger operation is used to instruct a target navigation perspective, and a perspective of the target navigation video frame is identical to the target navigation perspective (the trigger of Bieselt and the controls of Heusser; as above).
Regarding claim 9, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying the target navigation video frame in the perspective navigation window comprises:
acquiring a current target navigation video frame according to a current playback progress of the first video stream, and displaying the current target navigation video frame in the perspective navigation window, wherein the current target navigation video frame is a target navigation video frame, whose corresponding second target playback progress is less than or equal to the current playback progress, having a minimum absolute value of a difference in progress from the current playback progress (Heusser; simultaneous playback of multiple sources/angles of video content; see at least Fig. 2A and paragraphs 0085-0093).
Regarding claim 10, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein the fifth trigger operation comprises a position adjustment operation for a perspective navigation slider (the trigger of Bieselt and the controls of Heusser; as above), and the method further comprises:
displaying a perspective navigation bar, wherein the perspective navigation bar is provided with the perspective navigation slider, and different positions of the perspective navigation bar correspond to different perspectives; before determining the target navigation video frame in the second video stream, the method further comprises: taking a perspective indicated by the perspective navigation slider on the perspective navigation bar as the target navigation perspective (the trigger of Bieselt and the controls of Heusser; as above).
Regarding claim 11, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein at least one as follows is satisfied:
the first trigger operation comprises a trigger operation acting on the perspective navigation bar;
the second trigger operation comprises a click operation acting on the perspective navigation bar (the trigger of Bieselt and the controls of Heusser; as above).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 16 and 17 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 18 and 19 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bieselt in view of Heusser and further in view of Chen (US 2009/0244378).
Regarding claim 3, Bieselt in view of Heusser disclose the method according to claim 1, and playing the different video stream in the video playing window, but are not clear about closing the window.
Chen discloses the above missing limitation; closing a PIP window; see at least paragraphs 0021 and 0031.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bieselt in view of Heusser by the teachings of Chen by having the above limitations so to be able to close a PIP window; see at least paragraph 0021.
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426