DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “wherein when Y represents a polymeric group, said polymeric group is the conductive polymer comprised in the solid polymer electrolyte.” should be modified to read “wherein when Y represents a polymeric group, and said polymeric group is the conductive polymer comprised in the solid polymer electrolyte.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Zhang, Heng, et al. Journal of Power Sources 296 (2015): 142-149) in view of Zhang CSR (Zhang, Heng, et al. Chemical Society Reviews 46.3 (2017): 797-815).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a solid polymer electrolyte (Li metal-polymer battery, which comprises a polymer electrolyte, see Zhang: pg. 142, col. 1, para 2) comprising a compound that is the conducting salt lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI, see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2). LiTFSI is different from the instantly-claimed compound of Formula I, and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the compound of Formula I.
Zhang further teaches that the compound lithium super TFSI (Li[sTFSI]) is a conducting salt that is more stable toward aluminum metal than LiTFSI, leading to less corrosion of aluminum-metal electrodes (see Zhang: pg. 147, col. 1, paras 2-3 and Figs. 5-6). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang by replacing the LiTFSI conducting salt with the Li[sTFSI] taught by Zhang. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution because Zhang teaches that Li[sTFSI] is less corrosive toward aluminum metal electrodes than LiTFSI.
Further regarding claim 1, the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang as modified above comprises a compound (Li[sTFSI], see Zhang: Abstract and Illustration 1 below) that reads on the instantly-claimed Formula I wherein
Illustration 1: Chemical structure of Li[sTFSI] (left) and Formula I (right). Li[sTFSI] would read on Formula I, except it does not have the claimed feature that at least one of R1, R2, or R3 is F.
M is:
- a proton;
- a metal cation having a valency equal to 1, 2 or 3, chosen from ions of alkali metals, of alkaline earth metals, of transition metals or of rare-earth metals;
- an organic onium or polyonium cation;
- an organometallic cation; m is an integer positive number (M is Li+, which reads on a metal cation having a valency of 1, see Illustration 1 above);
and the groups R1, R2 or R3 are each independently selected from:
-Y, wherein Y represents:
- an organic radical chosen from alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, alkylaryl, arylalkyl, alkylene oxide or alkylene imine, optionally substituted with at least a substituent selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, I, -CN, -OR', -SR', -NR'2, wherein R' is H, alkyl, alkylene oxide or
alkylene imine; or
- a polymeric group comprising repeating units selected from alkylene oxide, alkylene imine, styrene, acrylate, maleimide, phosphazene, siloxane, vinyl alcohol, vinyl amine or mixtures thereof;
-OY, -SY, -NY2, wherein Y represents:- H or an organic radical chosen from alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, alkylaryl, arylalkyl, alkylene oxide or alkylene imine, optionally substituted with at least a substituent selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, I, -CN, -OR', -SR', -NR'2, wherein R' is H, alkyl, alkylene oxide or alkylene imine; or
- a polymeric group comprising repeating units selected from alkylene oxide, alkylene imine, styrene, acrylate, maleimide, phosphazene, siloxane, vinyl alcohol, vinyl amine or mixtures thereof (i.e., R1, R2, and R3 are all -CF3, which reads on an organic radical alkyl substituted with F, see Zhang, Abstract).
However, the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang as modified above differs from the instantly-claimed solid polymer electrolyte in that the Li[sTFSI] compound does not have the claimed feature that at least one of the groups R1, R2 or R3 is F.
Zhang CSR, also working on the problem of sulfonylimide electrolytes for polymer electrolytes teaches a set of analogous sulfonylimide electrolytes wherein a -CF3 radical is replaced with an -F radical (see Zhang CSR: pg. 806, col. 2, para 1 to pg. 807, col.1, para 1, Figs. 9f-9g, and Illustration 2 below). Zhang CSR further teaches that this substitution increases the ionic conductivity of the electrolyte (Zhang CSR: pg. 806, col. 2, para 1, the structure of Fig. 9f has an ionic conductivity of 10-7 S/cm, the structure of Fig. 9g has an ionic conductivity of 10-6 S/cm).
Illustration 2: Reproduction of Figs. 9f and 9g of Zhang CSR.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang as modified above by replacing one or more of the R1, R2, or R3 -CF3 groups with an -F group in the manner suggested by Zhang CSR. Said artisan would have been motivated to modify the solid polymer electrolyte in this way because Zhang CSR teaches that substituting a -CF3 radicals with an -F radical improves the ionic conductivity of an analogous sulfonylimide electrolyte.
As to claim 2, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein M is Li+ (Zhang: Abstract and Illustration 1 above).
As to claim 4, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte of claim 1, wherein at least one of the groups R1, R2 or R3 is F and the remainder is independently selected from -Y (i.e., Zhang discloses that R1, R2, and R3 are all -CF3, which reads on an organic radical alkyl substituted with F, which is a member of -Y. As set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the substitution of one of these R groups with F).
As to claim 5, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein Y represents an organic radical chosen from fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl (see Zhang: Abstract and Illustration 1 above, the -CF3 groups read on a fluorinated alkyl radical).
As to claim 7, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein Y is alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl or alkylene oxide (see Zhang: Abstract and Illustration 1 above, the -CF3 groups read on a fluorinated alkyl).
As to claim 10, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein R2 is F (as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the substitution of one of R1, R2, and R3 groups with F. The prior art does not particularly limit which R group to substitute with F, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select R2 as the R group to replace with F).
As to claim 11, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, where the solid polymer electrolyte comprises a conductive polymer (see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2, Zhang discloses a Li metal-polymer battery, which necessarily comprises an ion-conducting polymer that reads on a conductive polymer).
As to claim 12, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 11, including a conductive polymer (see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2, Zhang discloses a Li metal-polymer battery, which necessarily comprises an ion-conducting polymer that reads on a conductive polymer).
Zhang in view of Zhang CSR as applied above does not particularly limit this conductive polymer, and does not teach that the conductive polymer is poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO).
However, Zhang CSR teaches that PEO is usually used as a conducting polymer in polymer electrolyte systems (see Zhang CSR: pg. 799, col. 2, para 1).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR by selecting PEO as the conducting polymer. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Zhang CSR teaches that this is a common, conventional choice for a polymer material in a polymer electrolyte. Further, the use of PEO as the polymer in the polymer electrolyte of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR would fail to produce any new benefit or effect that would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 14, Zhang discloses a secondary electrochemical cell or secondary battery comprising a solid polymer electrolyte (Li metal-polymer battery, which necessarily comprises a solid polymer electrolyte, see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2). As set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, the combined references of Zhang and Zhang CSR render obvious the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1.
As to claim 15, Zhang discloses a vehicle, an electronic device, or an electrical grid (electric car, see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2) comprising a secondary battery (Li metal-polymer battery, see Zhang: pg. 143, col. 1, para 2). As set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above, the combined references of Zhang and Zhang CSR render obvious the secondary battery according to claim 14.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Zhang, Heng, et al. Journal of Power Sources 296 (2015): 142-149) in view of Zhang CSR (Zhang, Heng, et al. Chemical Society Reviews 46.3 (2017): 797-815) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogata (US 2018/0340061).
As to claim 3, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teaches the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein M is lithium cation (Zhang: Abstract and Illustration 1 above).
However, Zhang in view of Zhang CSR does not teach an onium cation selected from the group consisting of ammonium, guanidinium, amidinium, pyridinium, imidazolium, imidazolinium, triazolium, phosphonium, sulfonium and iodonium ions, or a polyonium cation selected from the group consisting of polyammonium, polyphosphonium, polypyridinium, polypyrrolidonium, polyimidazolium, polyimidazolinium and polysulfonium cations.
Ogata, also working in the field of solid polymer electrolytes, teaches a solid polymer electrolyte (polymer electrolyte composition, Ogata: Abstract and [0008]) comprising an analogous electrolyte salt (molten salt) comprising an anion and a cation (Ogata: [0008]-[0009]) wherein the cation may be a member of an ammonium cation group comprising ammonium, pyridinium, and imidazolium (Ogata: [0049] and [0053], note that alkylammonium reads on ammonium). Ogata further teaches that the use of a cation from this ammonium group enhances the thermal stability of a lithium-ion battery (Ogata: [0053]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid polymer electrolyte of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR by replacing the lithium cation with ammonium, pyridinium, or imidazolium. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution because Ogata teaches that an ammonium, pyridinium, or imidazolium cation improves the thermal stability of a lithium-ion battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 6, the prior art references of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teach the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the groups R1, R2 or R3 is F, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, the prior art of record does not teach or disclose the solid polymer electrolyte of claim 1 wherein the remainder of the group R1, R2, or R3 is selected from -OY and/or -NY2.
As to claim 8, the prior art references of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teach the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the polymer electrolyte according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the groups R1, R2 or Ri is F and Y is a polymeric group comprising repeating units selected from alkylene oxide, alkylene imine, acrylate, maleimide, phosphazene, siloxane, vinyl alcohol, vinyl amine or mixtures thereof.
As to claim 9, the prior art references of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teach the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 1 wherein Y represents the group CF3, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the polymer electrolyte according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the groups R1, R2 or Ri is F and Y is a polymeric group comprising repeating units selected from alkylene oxide, acrylate or maleimide repeating units or mixtures thereof.
As to claim 13, the prior art references of Zhang in view of Zhang CSR teach the solid polymer electrolyte according to claim 11 wherein Y represents the group CF3, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the polymer electrolyte according to claim 11 wherein when Y represents a polymeric group, and said polymeric group is the conductive polymer comprised in the solid polymer electrolyte.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Qiang (Ma, Qiang, et al. "Impact of the functional group in the polyanion of single lithium-ion conducting polymer electrolytes on the stability of lithium metal electrodes." RSC advances 6.39 (2016): 32454-32461) teaches a related solid polymer electrolyte comprising a LiPSFSI electrolyte and a PEO polymer.
Feng (Feng, Shaowei, et al. "Single lithium-ion conducting polymer electrolytes based on poly [(4-styrenesulfonyl)(trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide] anions." Electrochimica Acta 93 (2013): 254-263) teaches a related solid polymer electrolyte comprising a LiPSTFSI electrolyte and a PEO polymer.
Morita (US 2019/0165417) teaches a related sulfonyl electrolyte salt (see Morita: Abstract).
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723