DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 and 13 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 101 rejection(s) set forth in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for claims 1-11 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed towards amended claim language, addressed on new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20170374369) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of Kim (US 20210006778) (hereinafter Kim), further in view of Deng et al. (US 20220248025) (hereinafter Deng), further in view of Vanam et al. (US 20190373285) (hereinafter Vanam).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches An image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block based on a derivation mode, wherein the derivation mode includes at least one of a first derivation mode and a second derivation mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second derivation mode represents a mode for deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost calculated from difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples in a template region adjacent to the current block; determining a reference sample of the current block; and based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block based on a difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach a first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first derivation mode represents a mode for deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
However, Chuang and Kim does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Deng, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches [deriving an intra prediction mode] based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Deng paragraph 169 regarding deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang and Kim to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Deng paragraph 169).
However, Chuang, Kim, and Deng does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Vanam, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein based on an intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode or the second derivation mode being a planar mode, parsing for a flag indicating whether the planar mode is used is skipped (see Vanam paragraph 104 regarding skipping the signaling of a planar mode being used based on particular modes being used, and the decoder deriving the mode being used rather than parsing for signaling- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang, Kim, and Deng to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Vanam paragraph 104).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block includes: configuring a first candidate list including a plurality of MPM candidates (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, and configuring a candidate list including a plurality of MPM candidates); and
configuring a second candidate list including remaining intra prediction modes excluding the plurality of MPM candidates (see Kim paragraphs 251, 268, and 278 regarding a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: an intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list based on whether a predefined condition is satisfied (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 10, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding performing redundancy test before adding mode to candidate list- in combination with Kim, the redundancy test can be performed before adding a candidate to second list from the first mode).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated, the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated and only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the first derivation mode, the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: an intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list based on whether a predefined condition is satisfied (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 10, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding performing redundancy test before adding mode to candidate list- in combination with Kim, the redundancy test can be performed before adding a candidate to second list from the second mode).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated, the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated and only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the second derivation mode, the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 11, Chuang teaches An image encoding method, the method comprising:
determining an intra prediction mode of a current block, wherein the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined based on a determination mode, wherein the determination mode includes at least one of a first determination mode and a second determination mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost calculated from difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples in a template region adjacent to the current block; determining a reference sample of the current block; and based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block based on a difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach a first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 11.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
However, Chuang and Kim does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 11.
Deng, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches [deriving an intra prediction mode] based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Deng paragraph 169 regarding deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang and Kim to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Deng paragraph 169).
However, Chuang, Kim, and Deng does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 11.
Vanam, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein based on an intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode or the second derivation mode being a planar mode, parsing for a flag indicating whether the planar mode is used is skipped (see Vanam paragraph 104 regarding skipping the signaling of a planar mode being used based on particular modes being used, and the decoder deriving the mode being used rather than parsing for signaling- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang, Kim, and Deng to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Vanam paragraph 104).
Regarding claim 13, Chuang teaches A method for transmitting data for image information, the method comprising:
determining an intra prediction mode of a current block, wherein the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined based on a determination mode, wherein the determination mode includes at least one of a first determination mode and a second determination mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost calculated from difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples in a template region adjacent to the current block; determining a reference sample of the current block; based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block; generating a bitstream by encoding the current block based on the prediction sample; and transmitting data including the bitstream (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block based on a difference between prediction samples and reconstructed samples, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach an first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 13.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
However, Chuang and Kim does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 13.
Deng, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches [deriving an intra prediction mode] based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Deng paragraph 169 regarding deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block based on a gradient calculated from a reconstructed neighboring sample- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang and Kim to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the deriving of the intra prediction mode may be based on a gradient from a reconstructed neighboring sample.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Deng paragraph 169).
However, Chuang, Kim, and Deng does not explicitly teach a gradient as needed for the limitations of claim 13.
Vanam, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein based on an intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode or the second derivation mode being a planar mode, parsing for a flag indicating whether the planar mode is used is skipped (see Vanam paragraph 104 regarding skipping the signaling of a planar mode being used based on particular modes being used, and the decoder deriving the mode being used rather than parsing for signaling- in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang, Kim, and Deng to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, the method may skip parsing for a flag indicating planar mode based on the first or second derivation mode being used.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction derivation techniques (see Vanam paragraph 104).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20170374369) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of Kim (US 20210006778) (hereinafter Kim), further in view of Deng et al. (US 20220248025) (hereinafter Deng), further in view of Vanam et al. (US 20190373285) (hereinafter Vanam), further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20200112722) (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated, only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the first derivation mode (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode) and
the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode).
However, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao does not explicitly teach a reference line as needed for the limitations of claim 6.
Zhao, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a reference line adjacent to the current block is used for an intra prediction of the current block (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30 regarding using a reference line adjacent to the current block for intra prediction of the current block- in combination with Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao to include the teaching of Zhao so that in combination with Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the efficiency of intra coding techniques (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated, only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the second derivation mode (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode) and
the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode).
However, the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao does not explicitly teach a reference line as needed for the limitations of claim 10.
Zhao, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a reference line adjacent to the current block is used for an intra prediction of the current block (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30 regarding using a reference line adjacent to the current block for intra prediction of the current block- in combination with Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao to include the teaching of Zhao so that in combination with Chuang, Kim, Vanam, and Zhao, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the efficiency of intra coding techniques (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483