DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 and 02/18/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20210006778) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 12, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by a method. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is not implementing any method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a method. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by an method).
Applicant seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream with video content) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, this claim is directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by the recited method) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, this claim is anticipated by Kim, as Kim paragraph 33 discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20170374369) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of Kim (US 20210006778) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches An image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a current block based on a derivation mode, wherein the derivation mode includes at least one of a first derivation mode and a second derivation mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second derivation mode represents a mode for deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost of a template region adjacent to the current block ;determining a reference sample of the current block; and based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream).
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach a first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first derivation mode represents a mode for deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein deriving the intra prediction mode of the current block includes: configuring a first candidate list including a plurality of MPM candidates (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, and configuring a candidate list including a plurality of MPM candidates); and
configuring a second candidate list including remaining intra prediction modes excluding the plurality of MPM candidates (see Kim paragraphs 251, 268, and 278 regarding a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: an intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list based on whether a predefined condition is satisfied (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 10, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding performing redundancy test before adding mode to candidate list- in combination with Kim, the redundancy test can be performed before adding a candidate to second list from the first mode).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated, the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated and only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the first derivation mode, the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: an intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list based on whether a predefined condition is satisfied (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 10, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding performing redundancy test before adding mode to candidate list- in combination with Kim, the redundancy test can be performed before adding a candidate to second list from the second mode).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated, the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated and only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the second derivation mode, the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 11, Chuang teaches An image encoding method, the method comprising:
determining an intra prediction mode of a current block, wherein the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined based on a determination mode, wherein the determination mode includes at least one of a first determination mode and a second determination mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost of a template region adjacent to the current block; determining a reference sample of the current block; and based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream).
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach a first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 11.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches 12. A computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method according to claim 11 (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 28, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream, and CRM that may store a bitstream).
Regarding claim 13, Chuang teaches A method for transmitting data for image information, the method comprising:
determining an intra prediction mode of a current block, wherein the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined based on a determination mode, wherein the determination mode includes at least one of a first determination mode and a second determination mode (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream),
the second determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a cost of a template region adjacent to the current block; determining a reference sample of the current block; based on the intra prediction mode and the reference sample, generating a prediction sample of the current block; generating a bitstream by encoding the current block based on the prediction sample; and transmitting data including the bitstream (see Chuang paragraphs 3, 5, 15, 43, 48, 57, 63-65, and 86 regarding deriving based on reconstructed neighboring samples, an intra mode with a DIMD with a plurality of modes that could be derived, including a template region cost calculating mode for template regions around the current block, determining a reference sample, generating a prediction sample, and transmitting it as a bitstream).
However, Chuang does not explicitly teach an first mode as needed for the limitations of claim 13.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first determination mode represents a mode for determining the intra prediction mode of the current block based on a reconstructed neighboring sample of the current block (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block- in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Chuang to include the teaching of Kim so that in combination with Chuang, which derives prediction mode based on reconstructed neighboring samples, the prediction mode may be derived from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block for a first mode in addition to Chuang's second mode.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance coding efficiency through prediction techniques (see Kim paragraph 237 and 305).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20170374369) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of Kim (US 20210006778) (hereinafter Kim), further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20200112722) (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 3, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the first derivation mode is activated, only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the first derivation mode (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode) and
the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the first derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index, including case where only one mode is derived using the first derivation mode).
However, the combination of Chuang and Kim does not explicitly teach a reference line as needed for the limitations of claim 6.
Zhao, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a reference line adjacent to the current block is used for an intra prediction of the current block (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30 regarding using a reference line adjacent to the current block for intra prediction of the current block- in combination with Chuang and Kim, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Chuang and Kim to include the teaching of Zhao so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the efficiency of intra coding techniques (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Chuang and Kim teaches wherein: when the second derivation mode is activated, only one intra prediction mode is derived by using the second derivation mode (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode) and
the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode is added to the second candidate list, a largest index is allocated to the intra prediction mode derived by using the second derivation mode among intra prediction modes included in the second candidate list (see Kim paragraph 237, 251, 268, 278, and 305 regarding deriving prediction mode from reconstructed neighboring samples of current block, a second candidate list of non-MPM candidates in addition to MPM list, and assigning index based on adaptive priority, in broadly, a largest, most prominent index- this may also be for modes derived be second derivation mode including case where only one mode is derived using the second derivation mode).
However, the combination of Chuang and Kim does not explicitly teach a reference line as needed for the limitations of claim 10.
Zhao, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a reference line adjacent to the current block is used for an intra prediction of the current block (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30 regarding using a reference line adjacent to the current block for intra prediction of the current block- in combination with Chuang and Kim, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Chuang and Kim to include the teaching of Zhao so that in combination with Chuang and Kim, a reference line adjacent to the current block may be used for an intra prediction of the current block.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the efficiency of intra coding techniques (see Zhao paragraph figure 2 and paragraphs 25 and 30).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483