DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/06/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valdivia et al. (US 20180096507 A1, published 04/05/2018), hereinafter Valdivia.
Regarding claim 1, Valdivia teaches the claim comprising:
A virtual reality-based control method, comprising (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; abs. a method includes sending information configured to render a virtual space on a display device; [0224], computer system 5600 includes a processor 5602, memory 5604, storage 5606; [0225], processor 5602 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program; [0106], FIGS. 3A-3B illustrate a headset display device of a virtual reality system; [0231], a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium):
monitoring image information captured by a camera for a user (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands). In particular embodiments, the virtual reality system may make use of inverse kinematics to continuously determine the movements, angles, and locations of the various body parts and joints. As an example and not by way of limitation, inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the controller system may include a detection mechanism that determines the motion and/or location of one or more of the controllers. In particular embodiments, the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers. The camera or other sensor may be positioned in a location remote from the controllers; the detection mechanism may also track the pitch, yaw, and roll of the controllers (e.g., tracking two or more infrared LED markers on each controller) to determine its orientation in six degrees of freedom; the controllers may be held by or otherwise affixed to the person of the user (e.g., attached to the hands));
identifying movement information of a first object in the image information; and in response to a first condition of displaying an interactive component model being satisfied, displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space, and performing an interaction function event corresponding to an interactive component model selected by the user; wherein whether the first condition is satisfied is determined based on at least one of virtual reality (VR) scenario information of a location of the user and region information of a focus of the user (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the headset device may include a gaze-tracking mechanism; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; the menu of items that appear in the panel may be based on a current context, such as a property of a particular tool that the user may be holding or about to hold (or otherwise select), information associated with the user, a property associated with the current virtual space, any other contextual factors described herein, etc. As an example and not by way of limitation, if the user is holding a paintbrush tool (e.g., in association with a rendering of the user's right hand associated with a second controller, in association with a reticle), the menu of items may be a menu of different colors. Similarly, the manner in which the panel of items appears may be based on a current context. Building on the previous example and not by way of limitation, if the user is holding a paintbrush tool, the menu of different colors may appear on a rendering of an artist's palette that appears to be resting on a rendering of the hand associated with the first controller (e.g., the left hand). As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may determine that the user is reaching for a paintbrush tool and may pre-emptively display the menu of items associated with the paintbrush tool (including, for example, a virtual palette of colors) in a suitable area. As another example and not by way of limitation, if the user is in a virtual space associated with a particular interactive game, the virtual reality system may determine that based on the context (as determined by a property associated with the virtual space), the menu of items should include one or more items related to the particular interactive game; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claims 14 and 15, claims 14 and 15 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 14 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first object comprises a hand of the user; and displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space comprises: identifying user gesture information in the image information; determining whether the user gesture information matches first gesture information; and
displaying, in response to the user gesture information matching the first gesture information, the at least one interactive component model in the virtual reality space (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands); inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein determining whether the user gesture information matches first gesture information comprises: in response to a raising range of the hand of the user being greater than a first range threshold, determining that the user gesture information matches the first gesture information (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; see also [0167-0170])
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first object comprises: a handheld device of the user; and displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space comprises: identifying position information of the handheld device in the image information; determining whether the position information of the handheld device complies with a first position change rule; and in response to the position information of the handheld device complying with the first position change rule, displaying the at least one interactive component model in the virtual reality space (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands); inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein determining whether the position information of the handheld device complies with a first position change rule comprises: in response to a lifting amplitude of the handheld device being greater than a first amplitude threshold, determining that the position information of the handheld device complies with the first position change rule (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; see also [0167-0170])
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space comprises: displaying a virtual object model corresponding to the first object while displaying the interactive component model in the virtual reality space, wherein the virtual object model is dynamically displayed following the movement of the first object (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein by identifying the first object in the image information, displaying a virtual object model corresponding to the first object while displaying the interactive component model in the virtual reality space comprises: dynamically adjusting a spatial display position of the interactive component model based on a change in a spatial position of the virtual object model, such that the interactive component model follows the virtual object model to move and be displayed (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands); inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein by identifying the first object in the image information, displaying a virtual object model corresponding to the first object while displaying the interactive component model in the virtual reality space comprises: displaying the interactive component model in a first range of the virtual object model (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0132], tools may not always be visible, but may be triggered by a particular input of the user. As an example and not by way of limitation, a particular gaze input (e.g., a gesture traced by the reticle, a gaze downward) or another suitable input (e.g., a tap on a touch-sensitive location on a headset device, a gesture made with a hand) may cause the tools to appear; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; these notification elements may include the image element 3030 (e.g., a profile picture/video of the user who is sending the communication request, a live-streaming video or other representation of the user who is sending the communication request, etc.) and the text-notification element 3030. In this example, along with the notification elements, the “Decline” interactive element 3040 and the “Accept” interactive element 3050 may be presented to allow the user associated with the virtual watch to either decline or accept the communication request; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand)
Regarding claim 9, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space, and performing an interaction function event corresponding to an interactive component model selected by the user comprise: determining, by identifying a position of the first object and mapping the position into the virtual reality space, a spatial position of a corresponding first click sign; in response to the spatial position of the first click sign matching a spatial position of a first interactive component model among the interactive component models, determining that the first interactive component model is the interactive component model selected by the user; and performing the interaction function event corresponding to the first interactive component model (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; the user may move, in the virtual space, a rendering of a hand associated with the second controller (e.g., referencing FIG. 26B, the rendering of the right hand 2610) by correspondingly moving the second controller to a desired item and select it by simply “pointing” a finger or a tool held by the rendering of the hand associated with the second controller at the desired item with the rendering of the hand (e.g., for a threshold period of time) or by pointing and then performing a suitable gesture (e.g., with the controller, with the reticle, etc.). In this example, the user may press a button on the associated controller (e.g., the second controller) to initiate pointing. Alternatively or additionally, the user may simply raise a finger that was in contact with a button on the controller such that it is no longer in contact with the button (e.g., as may happen naturally and intuitively if the user attempts to point in real life), the detection of which may initiate pointing of the corresponding rendering. Referencing FIGS. 26B-26C, the user may have selected the interactive element corresponding to a color adjuster in FIG. 26B, which may trigger the display of the color palette 2660 in FIG. 26C; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; when the user chooses the element for accepting a communication session, other elements may appear that allow the user to specify the types of communication that are to be streamed or rendered to the other users in the communication session and the types of communication that are to be received. As an example and not by way of limitation, the user may wish to reduce bandwidth and may opt to not receive video streams)
Regarding claim 11, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises, after displaying at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space: determining, according to the first object in the image information, whether a second condition of canceling displaying of the interactive component model is satisfied; and in response to the second condition of canceling displaying of the interactive component model being satisfied, canceling the displaying of the at least one interactive component model in the virtual reality space (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands); inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; the user may move, in the virtual space, a rendering of a hand associated with the second controller (e.g., referencing FIG. 26B, the rendering of the right hand 2610) by correspondingly moving the second controller to a desired item and select it by simply “pointing” a finger or a tool held by the rendering of the hand associated with the second controller at the desired item with the rendering of the hand (e.g., for a threshold period of time) or by pointing and then performing a suitable gesture (e.g., with the controller, with the reticle, etc.). In this example, the user may press a button on the associated controller (e.g., the second controller) to initiate pointing. Alternatively or additionally, the user may simply raise a finger that was in contact with a button on the controller such that it is no longer in contact with the button (e.g., as may happen naturally and intuitively if the user attempts to point in real life), the detection of which may initiate pointing of the corresponding rendering. Referencing FIGS. 26B-26C, the user may have selected the interactive element corresponding to a color adjuster in FIG. 26B, which may trigger the display of the color palette 2660 in FIG. 26C; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; when the user chooses the element for accepting a communication session, other elements may appear that allow the user to specify the types of communication that are to be streamed or rendered to the other users in the communication session and the types of communication that are to be received. As an example and not by way of limitation, the user may wish to reduce bandwidth and may opt to not receive video streams)
Regarding claim 12, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein determining, according to the first object in the image information, whether a second condition of canceling the displaying of the interactive component model is satisfied comprises: determining, based on user gesture information or position information of the handheld device in the image information, whether the second condition of canceling the displaying of the interactive component model is satisfied (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], the virtual reality system may continuously capture images of the real world (e.g., using a camera on the headset of the user) and overlay virtual objects or avatars of other users on these images; [0150], the virtual reality system may include a camera that may track the movement of the user and the user's various body parts. As another example and not by way of limitation, the virtual reality system may include controllers that may be held or secured to one or more limbs of the user (e.g., tied to the user's feet or knees, held in or secured on the user's hands); inverse kinematics equations may define the relationships between joint angles and positions of the avatar and input data (e.g., data from cameras tracking the user, data from controllers describing the position of the user's hands and feet), and may use these relationships to determine the locations and orientations of the avatar's joints; [0164], the detection mechanism may include a camera or other sensor that detects the location of the one or more controllers; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; the user may move, in the virtual space, a rendering of a hand associated with the second controller (e.g., referencing FIG. 26B, the rendering of the right hand 2610) by correspondingly moving the second controller to a desired item and select it by simply “pointing” a finger or a tool held by the rendering of the hand associated with the second controller at the desired item with the rendering of the hand (e.g., for a threshold period of time) or by pointing and then performing a suitable gesture (e.g., with the controller, with the reticle, etc.). In this example, the user may press a button on the associated controller (e.g., the second controller) to initiate pointing. Alternatively or additionally, the user may simply raise a finger that was in contact with a button on the controller such that it is no longer in contact with the button (e.g., as may happen naturally and intuitively if the user attempts to point in real life), the detection of which may initiate pointing of the corresponding rendering. Referencing FIGS. 26B-26C, the user may have selected the interactive element corresponding to a color adjuster in FIG. 26B, which may trigger the display of the color palette 2660 in FIG. 26C; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; when the user chooses the element for accepting a communication session, other elements may appear that allow the user to specify the types of communication that are to be streamed or rendered to the other users in the communication session and the types of communication that are to be received. As an example and not by way of limitation, the user may wish to reduce bandwidth and may opt to not receive video streams)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valdivia.
Regarding claim 10, Valdivia teaches all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising:
wherein performing the interaction function event corresponding to the first interactive component model comprises: displaying an option panel model corresponding to the first interactive component model in the virtual reality space (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0167], one or more interactive elements (e.g., the size-adjustor element 2630) may be presented at a location in association with the rendering of the first hand 2610 (e.g., whenever the marker tool 2620 is held by the first hand, or following a trigger gesture). In this example, the user may, using a second controller associated with a rendering of a second hand, select one or more of the interactive elements to alter the size or color of the marker tool 2620. As another example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 26B, a first controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the left hand of the user, corresponding to the rendering of the left hand 2640) may be used to perform a trigger gesture (which may involve, for example, rotating the forearm of the left hand to display the underside of the wrist), upon which the panel (or menu) of items 2650 may be displayed in the virtual space; referencing FIG. 26B, the panel of items may be positioned on the rendering of the left hand 2640 of the user, such that in the virtual place, the panel may follow the motions of the rendering of the left hand 2640; [0168], the second controller (e.g., held by or positioned on the right hand of the user) may be used to select an item among the panel of items; the user may move, in the virtual space, a rendering of a hand associated with the second controller (e.g., referencing FIG. 26B, the rendering of the right hand 2610) by correspondingly moving the second controller to a desired item and select it by simply “pointing” a finger or a tool held by the rendering of the hand associated with the second controller at the desired item with the rendering of the hand (e.g., for a threshold period of time) or by pointing and then performing a suitable gesture (e.g., with the controller, with the reticle, etc.). In this example, the user may press a button on the associated controller (e.g., the second controller) to initiate pointing. Alternatively or additionally, the user may simply raise a finger that was in contact with a button on the controller such that it is no longer in contact with the button (e.g., as may happen naturally and intuitively if the user attempts to point in real life), the detection of which may initiate pointing of the corresponding rendering. Referencing FIGS. 26B-26C, the user may have selected the interactive element corresponding to a color adjuster in FIG. 26B, which may trigger the display of the color palette 2660 in FIG. 26C; [0170], it may appear floating above a forearm or hand of the user and may be associated with that forearm or hand such that it follows the motions of the forearm or hand to remain hovering over it; [0179], FIGS. 30A-30B illustrate an example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch. FIGS. 31A-31B illustrate another example of the receipt of an incoming communication on a virtual watch; raising an associated controller to be in the user's line of sight in the virtual space; the user may check the virtual watch by raising the associated controller to the field of the view of the user, thereby causing the display of a rendering of the hand and the watch. In particular embodiments, displayed on or adjacent to the watch may be menu-option elements for accepting or refusing the communication session. As an example and not by way of limitation, referencing FIG. 30A, when a user raises a controller associated with a rendered hand wearing the virtual watch 3010, one or more notification elements may be presented in association with the virtual watch; [0180], the user may bring a rendering of the user's other hand (i.e., the hand that is not “wearing” the virtual watch) and select the desired element by pointing at it for a threshold period of time or by pointing at it and pressing a button on a controller associated with the other hand; when the user chooses the element for accepting a communication session, other elements may appear that allow the user to specify the types of communication that are to be streamed or rendered to the other users in the communication session and the types of communication that are to be received. As an example and not by way of limitation, the user may wish to reduce bandwidth and may opt to not receive video streams)
Valdivia does not expressly disclose determining, by identifying a position of the first object and mapping the position into the virtual reality space, a spatial position of a corresponding second click sign; and in response to the spatial position of the second click sign matching a spatial position of a first option in the option panel, determining that the first option is an option selected by the user in the option panel, and triggering performing of a corresponding event. However, Valdivia does disclose displaying an option panel model including a plurality of selectable options (Figs. 26, 30-32). Valdivia discloses a user may select the interactive element corresponding to a color adjuster in FIG. 26B, which may trigger the display of the color palette 2660 in FIG. 26C ([0168]). Valdivia also discloses when the user chooses the element for accepting a communication session, other elements may appear that allow the user to specify the types of communication that are to be streamed or rendered to the other users in the communication session and the types of communication that are to be received, such as an element to opt to not receive video streams ([0180]). Valdivia further discloses that options may be selected by click signs ([0168], [0180]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated determining, by identifying a position of the first object and mapping the position into the virtual reality space, a spatial position of a corresponding second click sign; and in response to the spatial position of the second click sign matching a spatial position of a first option in the option panel, determining that the first option is an option selected by the user in the option panel, and triggering performing of a corresponding event ([0167-0170], [0179-0180]) as suggested Valdivia. Doing so would be desirable because Valdivia’s disclosure relates to controls and interfaces for user interactions and experiences in a virtual reality environment (see Valdivia [0002]). Disclosed herein are a variety of different ways of rendering and interactive with a virtual (or augmented) reality environment. A virtual reality system may render a virtual environment, which may include a virtual space that is rendered for display to one or more users. The users may view and interact within this virtual space and the broader virtual environment through any suitable means (see Valdivia [0005]). Accepting multiple second click signs to determine the target option and trigger performing of a corresponding event would enable users to easily select desired options for implementing desired functions. Allowing users to make desired selections using an input method with which they are already familiar would simplify user interactions and increase the useability of the system.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-12 and 14-21. The corrections to claims 2-12 are approved and the objections to claims 2-12 are respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Valdivia as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection above, Valdivia is considered to teach monitoring image information captured by a camera for a user (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], [0150], [0164]); identifying movement information of a first object in the image information; and in response to a first condition of displaying an interactive component model being satisfied, displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space, and performing an interaction function event corresponding to an interactive component model selected by the user; wherein whether the first condition is satisfied is determined based on at least one of virtual reality (VR) scenario information of a location of the user and region information of a focus of the user (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], [0132], [0167-0168], [0170], [0179-0180]). Thus, Valdivia is considered to teach claim 1.
Specifically, Applicant alleges Valdivia does not disclose or suggest the step of determining whether a display condition is satisfied based on scenario information and focus region information. In Valdivia, interactive operations are triggered directly in response to user inputs such as gaze, gestures, or controller movements, without any consideration of VR scenario information or user focus region information as a precondition for displaying interactive elements. Valdivia' s interactive elements appear automatically in response to user inputs (e.g., downward gaze, clicking a touch-sensitive location, hand gestures, controller activation), without any preliminary conditional check based on scenario or focus information. Second, amended claim 1 further specifies controlling display of the interactive component model based on the satisfaction of the display condition. This stands in stark contrast to Valdivia, where interactive elements are directly displayed or modified in response to detected user inputs or predicted intent, rather than being subject to a conditional control mechanism (see remarks p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above Valdivia discloses a virtual reality system that monitors movement of the user’s various body parts captured with a camera ([0106], [0150]). The system can display tools in response to a particular inputs, such as with movement gesture tracking or gaze tracking ([0106], [0132]). Valdivia discloses that a trigger gesture of rotating the forearm may cause a panel of items to be displayed in virtual space on the rendering of the user’s left. The menu of items is context dependent, with different tools displayed based on information about the user, a property associated with the current virtual space (such as a game setting or a painting setting), and the location of the user’s arms ([0167]). Thus, Valdivia is considered to teach the first condition is satisfied is determined based on at least one of virtual reality (VR) scenario information of a location of the user. Valdivia further discloses the display of tools is dependent on a gesture comprising the raising of the user’s arm such that controller is in the user’s line of sight in the virtual space or field of view ([0179]). Thus, Valdivia is considered to teach wherein whether the first condition is satisfied is determined based region information of a focus of the user.
Examiner notes the claim places no limitations on what virtual reality scenario information of the location of the user or the region information of a focus of the user must comprise. Thus, Valdivia’s disclosure of identifying movement information of a first object in the image information; and in response to a first condition of displaying an interactive component model being satisfied, displaying, according to the movement information of the first object, at least one interactive component model in a virtual reality space, and performing an interaction function event corresponding to an interactive component model selected by the user; wherein whether the first condition is satisfied is determined based on at least one of virtual reality (VR) scenario information of a location of the user and region information of a focus of the user (Valdivia Figs. 1-56; [0106], [0132], [0167-0168], [0170], [0179-0180]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 14 and 15 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Valdivia is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang (US 20200005539 A1) see Figs. 1-7 and [0015-0025], [0032-0038], [0053-0055].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143