CTNF 18/724,635 CTNF 83269 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 6/27/2024. Claims 2-3 are pending and have been considered below. Claim construction/interpretation : Claim 3 [method claim] recites the following limitation; “ in a case that a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode of an existing first Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session is SSC mode 3 and a first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of the first PDU session needs to be replaced , receiving a PDU SESSION MODIFICATION COMMAND message including a second S-NSSAI” This is contingent/conditional limitation(s). The contingent/conditional limitations are not positively recited in the claim(s) and are thus only executed [or performed or implemented], when the condition is true/met. [See, (MPEP 2111.04) II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.] In present claim 3, for instance first the step of, “receiving a PDU SESSION MODIFICATION COMMAND message including a second S-NSSAI, storing the second S-NSSAI in the UE, transmitting the second S-NSSAI” is/are only performed when/in a case the condition as above is met/true; otherwise, this step(s) is/are not performed, and the prior art is not required to teach this elements when the condition is not met. Therefore, [transmitting a PDU session establishment request] is the positively recited step/element in claim 3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foti et al. (US 2025/0220534) . Regarding claim 2: Foti discloses a system and method for a User Equipment (UE) (figures; see abstract) comprising: transmission and reception circuitry (figs 1-6,11; fig 10 [blocks 1006,1008,1010]); controlling circuitry (figure 10 [processors 1002]); and storage circuitry (figure 10 [memory 1004]), wherein in a case that a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode of an existing first Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session is SSC mode 3 and a first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of the first PDU session needs to be replaced (para 13,18 [SSC mode 3]; see figures 5-6; para 37, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {update command further comprises an indication that the UE can apply SSC mode 3 logic for the PDU Session transfer …}; fig 6), the transmission and reception circuitry is configured to receive a PDU SESSION MODIFICATION COMMAND message including a second S-NSSAI (para 38 {…configuration update command further comprises information that adds the second network slice ..}; para 89 { S-NSS AI from the Allowed NSSAI…}; para 114 {… PDU Session Modification Command extended (e.g., with target S-NSS AI ) to inform the UE 112 of a PDU Session Transfer} [target S-NSS AI is equivalent to claimed second S-NSS AI]), the controlling circuitry is configured to store the second S-NSSAI in the storage circuitry (para 38 {.. add s the second network slice to the set of allowed network slices} [adding is equivalent to storing the second slice]; para 39 [target network slice is add ed]; para 84,91 { add ed to the Allowed NSSAI}; para 97-100), the transmission and reception circuitry is configured to transmit the second S-NSSAI and a PDU session establishment request, in order to establish a second PDU session (para 91 {NSSAI by the UE Configuration Update procedure, the UE then initiates a new PDU session using the target network slice ... requests the network slice by issuing a registration request and including the target network slice in the Requested NSSAI, and then when the target NSSAI is in the Allowed NSSAI, the UE 112 establishes a PDU Session(s) using the target network slice.}; para 92 {initiate a new PDU session towards the target slice} [here new is second session, and target is second slice or NSSAI]; para 104; para 105,168 and see throughout the disclosure). Regarding claim 3: Foti discloses communication control method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (see abstract; figures), the communication control method comprising: in a case that a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode of an existing first Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session is SSC mode 3 and a first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of the first PDU session needs to be replaced, receiving a PDU SESSION MODIFICATION COMMAND message including a second S-NSSAI ([ Note : see Claim construction/interpretation above about contingent limitation, this step is not required in method claim]; see Foti figures 5-6; para 13,18,37,38,89), storing the second S-NSSAI in the UE ([Note: this step of second slice relates to contingent limitation, and is also not required]; see Foti para 38,39; para 84,91-100), transmitting the second S-NSSAI and a PDU session establishment request, in order to establish a second PDU session (para 91 {NSSAI by the UE Configuration Update procedure, the UE then initiates a new PDU session using the target network slice ... requests the network slice by issuing a registration request and including the target network slice in the Requested NSSAI, and then when the target NSSAI is in the Allowed NSSAI, the UE 112 establishes a PDU Session(s) using the target network slice}; para 92 {initiate a new PDU session towards the target slice} [here new is second session, and target is second slice or NSSAI]; para 104; para 105,168 and see throughout the disclosure) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Starsinic et al. (US 2025/0031171) discloses a system and method for preservation of session context in communication networks. Zhu et al. (US 2025/0024307) discloses a system and method for establishing a session with second network slice. Ianev et al. (US 2023/0362766) discloses a system and method for access network node redirecting PDU with second network slice. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HIRDEPAL SINGH whose telephone number is (571)270-1688. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00-5:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S Wang can be reached on (571) 272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/724,635 Page 8 Art Unit: 2631