DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressure-exerting device” in claim 1.
Regarding the pressure-exerting device, this limitation includes a generic placeholder (“pressure-exerting device”) modified by functional language (“a pressing pressure can be built up on an inner surface of the at least one first endless band”) and is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as pressure-exerting device 10 which is described as a pressing means including nozzles to adjust the pressure of the fluid (Figs. 1-9; P. 8, Lns. 13-20 and P. 14, Lns. 7-12) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,711,168 to Held in view of US 2019/0358851 A1 to Babini.
Regarding claim 1, Held teaches a device for pressing material (Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one first endless band 7, which first endless band 7 forms a first pressing means (Figs. 1-4; Col. 2, Lns. 49-68);
at least one second pressing means 8 (Fig. 1; Col. 2, Lns. 49-68);
wherein a pressing zone for pressing material is formed between the first endless band 7 and the second pressing means 8 (Figs. 1-3; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55), and the pressing zone has a longitudinal direction (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55; the area under pressure chamber 17 is the pressing zone between the bands 7 and 8), wherein the longitudinal direction is arranged parallel to the first endless band 7 and in a direction with respect to the pressing zone, starting from a beginning of the pressing zone to an end of the pressing zone (Figs. 1-4 show the pressing zone has a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the first band 7 through the pressing zone);
at least one pressure-exerting device 11, wherein by means of the pressure-exerting device 11 a pressing pressure can be built up on an inner surface of the at least one first endless band 7 in the direction of the pressing zone, which inner surface is directed away with respect to the pressing zone (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lns. 15-27; plate 11 exerts pressure on a fluid in chamber 17 to press the band 7);
wherein the pressure-exerting device 11 is designed in such a way that at least one liquid fluid can be applied onto the inner surface of the at least one first endless band 7 in the direction of the pressing zone (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lns. 15-27; oil may be used as the fluid in the pressure chamber), by means of which liquid fluid the pressing pressure can be built up (Figs. 1-3; Col. 3, Lns. 15-27);
wherein at least one spacer element 21, 22, 24, 25 is provided, wherein the spacer element is located downstream of a fluid outlet 36 of the pressure-exerting device with respect to a flow direction of the liquid fluid (Fig. 4; Col. 5, Lns. 3-22; at least one of the spacers is located downstream of the fluid outlet 36 as they are positioned on either side of it, as shown in Fig. 4), by means of which spacer element a lubrication gap can be formed on the inner surface of the endless band 7 for the liquid fluid (Examiner Annotated Fig. 2; Figs. 2-3; Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; the spacer element includes body 21, base 22 and the layers 24 and 25, which the base defining a gap lubrication gap between the edges of the base and the band 7, as shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 4 below, and the fluid is introduced into the chamber 17 which is downstream of the spacer element).
Held fails to explicitly teach a control device for controlling the device.
Babini teaches a device for pressing material (Fig. 1), comprising:
a control device 90 for controlling the device (Para. [0080]);
at least one first endless band 22, which first endless band 22 forms a first pressing means (Fig. 1; Paras. [0045]-[0047]);
at least one second pressing means 21, in particular a second endless band (Fig. 1; Paras. [0045]-[0047]); and
at least one pressure-exerting device 80, wherein by means of the pressure-exerting device 80 a pressing pressure can be built up via a fluid on an inner surface of the at least one first endless band 22 in the direction of the pressing zone, which inner surface is directed away with respect to the pressing zone (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0067]-[0070]; the device 80 exerts a pressure on the band 22 to direct it away from the device 80 and press against the material).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Held to include a control device as taught by Babini so that the pressing conditions may be controlled to be optimal for the material being pressed.
Regarding claim 3, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the at least one spacer element 21, 22, 24, 25 comprises a frame arrangement 16, 19, the frame arrangement being arranged between the pressure-exerting device 11 and the inner surface of the endless band 7 and provided with at least one fluid passage 16, the fluid passage being formed in the direction, starting from the pressure-exerting device 11, towards the inner surface 7 (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55; the spacer element includes a frame arrangement 16, 19 that positions the body 21 and allows for fluid to enter the channel 16).
Regarding claim 4, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 3 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the frame arrangement 16, 19 is provided with at least one further fluid passage 18, the at least one further fluid passage 18 being formed in at least one frame segment (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55; the frame arrangement includes an additional fluid passage 18 that extends into the space of ring 19, i.e., is formed in the space of the frame segment).
Regarding claim 5, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the spacer element 21, 22, 24, 25 is formed at least partially from a porous material 25, the porous material being penetrable by the liquid fluid in at least one direction (Fig. 2; Col. 4, Lns. 13-25; the spacer includes layer 25, which is a porous material that the liquid fluid is capable of penetrating).
Regarding claim 6, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the at least one spacer element is wedge-shaped with respect to the longitudinal direction (Examiner Annotated Fig. 2 shows the wedge shape of the spacer element at the edge of body 21 by layer 25), wherein a gap width between the spacer element and the inner surface of the first endless band 7 decreases with respect to the longitudinal direction (Examiner Annotated Fig. 2 shows that the gap between the body 21 of the spacer element and the band 7 decreases in the longitudinal direction, i.e., the wedge is at its closest point to the band in the direction of chamber 17 which is in the longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 8, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3).
Held fails to explicitly teach an adjustment device is provided, a distance between the inner surface of the first endless band and the pressure-exerting device being adjustable by means of the adjustment device.
Babini teaches in the pressing device an adjustment device 83 is provided, a distance between the inner surface of the first endless band 22 and the pressure-exerting device 80 being adjustable by means of the adjustment device 83 (Figs. 1 and 3; Paras. [0073]-[0076]; a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the adjustment device to be any of the known devices for moving a member, such as a hydraulic cylinder, and Babini teaches a hydraulic cylinder adjustment device 83 that moves the pressure-exerting device relative to the band).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressing device of Held to include an adjustment device as taught by Babini so that the pressure exerted on the band may be adjusted without having to use more fluid, thus requiring less fluid in the system and providing an alternative manner to create pressure if extra fluid is not available.
Regarding claim 9, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the spacer element 21, 22, 24, 25 is height-adjustable, wherein a distance between the spacer element and the inner surface of the first endless band 7 is adjustable (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55 and Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; the spacer elements 21, 22, 24, 25 are part of the seal 16 which is height adjustable by the elastic ring 19 such that the “seal is arranged to be displaced vertically relative to the inside surface of the press belt 7 towards the pressure plate”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the pressure-exerting device 11 is arranged over the entire pressing zone (Figs. 1-3; Col. 3, Lns. 15-27; the pressing zone is defined by the pressure chamber defined by the pressure-exerting device 11, and therefore the pressure-exerting device extends over the entire pressing zone).
Regarding claim 12, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3), wherein at least one sealing body arrangement 24 is provided at least in the pressing zone and is arranged at least on the inner surface of the endless band 7 (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 27-55 and Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; the layer 24 is part of the seal 16, and layer 16 presses against the band 7 to seal the pressing zone).
Regarding claim 13, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 12 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the at least one sealing body arrangement 24 is arranged in the pressing zone at least on the inner surface of the first endless band 7 with respect to a direction transverse to the longitudinal direction on a first edge section and an opposite second edge section of the first endless band 7, the sealing body arrangement 24 being arranged with respect to the longitudinal direction at least over a length of the pressing zone (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-38 and Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; as shown in Fig. 2, the layer 24 is arranged transverse to the longitudinal direction at the edges of the pressing zone in at least a portion of the pressing zone, and Col. 2, Lns. 28-38 states that the seal 16 which includes layer 24 extends around the border of the pressing plate 11 thus it would extend around the edge sections of the belt transverse to the longitudinal direction in the regions of the pressing zones located there).
Regarding claim 14, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 12 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the at least one sealing body arrangement 24 comprises a pushing device 19, wherein the sealing body arrangement 24 can be pressed against the at least one first endless band by means of the pushing device 19 (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55 and Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; the layer 24 is part of the seal 16 which is height adjustable by the elastic ring 19 such that the “seal is arranged to be displaced vertically relative to the inside surface of the press belt 7 towards the pressure plate” and the ring 19 presses the layer 24 against the belt 7).
Regarding claim 15, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 12 (Figs. 1-3), wherein the spacer element and/or the frame arrangement comprises the at least one sealing body arrangement 24 (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lns. 28-55 and Col. 4, Lns. 3-12; layer 24 is part of the spacer element).
Regarding claim 18, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the control device is configured to control a pushing pressure of the pushing device on the sealing body arrangement depending on the pressing pressure of the pressure-exerting device and/or a quantity of fluid introduced into the lubrication gap and serving as lubricant (Babini, Para. [0080]; modified Held includes the control device of Babini, and Babini teaches that the control device controls the pushing pressure depending on the pressing pressure, i.e., “precise pressures,” and this pressure would also be exerted on the sealing body arrangement on the ends of the pressing zone).
Regarding claim 19, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1). Wherein the at least one second pressing means 8 comprises a second endless band 8 (Fig. 1; Col. 2, Lns. 49-68) and the at least one liquid fluid comprises water or oil (Col 3, Lns. 22-25; the liquid may be an oil).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held in view of Babini in further view of US 3620158 A to Torelli.
Regarding claim 7, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3).
Held fails to explicitly teach the spacer element comprises a rolling body which rolling body is rotatably mounted with respect to an axis of rotation, which axis of rotation is orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and substantially parallel to the inner surface of the first endless band.
Torelli teaches a device for pressing material (Abstract) including an endless band 1, a pressure-exerting device 6 (Fig. 1; Col. 2, Lns. 26-35), and a spacer element 14 comprises a rolling body 38 wherein rolling body 38 is rotatably mounted with respect to an axis of rotation, wherein the axis of rotation is orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and parallel to the inner surface of the first endless band 1 (Fig. 8; Col. 3, Lns. 11-25; the roller 38 rotates about an axis that is orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and parallel to the inner surface of the band 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the spacer in the pressing device of Held with the spacer of Torelli as those components and their functions were well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted each of these known elements for another with the predictable result of sealing and assisting in controlling the pressure of the fluid chamber.
Regarding claim 20, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 7 (Fig. 1), wherein the rolling body comprises a cylindrical roller (Torelli, Fig. 8; Col. 3, Lns. 11-25; modified Held includes the rolling body of Torelli, which teaches the rolling body comprises a cylindrical roller).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held in view of Babini in further view of DE 10149464 A1 to Heymanns.
Regarding claim 16, modified Held teaches the device (1) according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3).
Held fails to explicitly teach the control device is configured to adjust the pressing pressure of the pressure-exerting device depending on a rotational speed of the first endless band. Modified Held includes the control device of Babini (Babini, Para. [0080]), however the references are silent about controlling the pressure depending on the rotational speed of the band.
Heymanns teaches a pressing device (Abstract) comprising a pressure-exerting device 40 and a first band 1 and controlling the pressing pressure of the pressure-exerting device 40 depending on the rotational speed of the first endless band 1 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “Each of the forming belt assemblies;” the pressure exerted on the moving belts is dependent on the speed of rotation of the belts).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressing device of Held to include controlling the pressing pressure depending on the speed of the band as taught by Heymanns so that the material being pressed is subjected to enough pressure while moving through the pressing zone that it is fully formed.
Regarding claim 17, modified Held teaches the device according to claim 8 (Figs. 1-3).
Held fails to explicitly teach the control device is configured to adjust the distance between the inner surface of the at least one first endless band and the pressure-exerting device depending on a rotational speed of the first endless band.
Heymanns teaches a pressing device (Abstract) comprising a pressure-exerting device 40 and a first band 1 and controlling the pressing pressure of the pressure-exerting device 40 depending on the rotational speed of the first endless band 1 (Fig. 1; P. 3, Paragraph starting “Each of the forming belt assemblies;” the pressure exerted on the moving belts is dependent on the speed of rotation of the belts).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressing device of Held to include controlling the pressing pressure depending on the speed of the band as taught by Heymanns so that the material being pressed is subjected to enough pressure while moving through the pressing zone that it is fully formed. It is noted that modified Held includes the adjustment device of Babini which is used to adjust the pressure exerted (Babini, Figs. 1 and 3; Paras. [0073]-[0076]; see rejection of claim 8 above), and thus modified Held includes adjusting the distance between the inner surface of the at least one first endless band and the pressure-exerting device depending on a rotational speed of the first endless band because adjusting the distance would adjust the pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks dated June 12, 2026, with respect to the objections and rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and rejections under 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and remarks regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, it is noted that some arguments discuss features of the invention described in the specification and shown in the drawings (e.g., on pages 9-11 there is quotations from the specification and references to the figures). These arguments are not persuasive as they are not commensurate in scope with the claim language. The arguments directed to the claims are addressed below.
Regarding Held, Applicant argues that the reference only discusses the function of the device and liquid fluid to apply pressure and there is no discussion of lubrication. Remarks, PP. 12-16. In particular, Applicant argues that Held “does not refer to a lubrication gap as defined by Applicant’s invention as set forth in amended claim 1” (Id. at 13) and further argues that the spacer elements in Held function as seals which is different than the claimed spacer elements. Id. at 13-16. These arguments have been carefully considered and they are not persuasive because they are not commensurate in scope with the claim language. Claim 1 recites a device for pressing material “wherein the pressure-exerting device is designed in such a way that at least one liquid fluid can be applied onto the inner surface of the at least one first endless band” and “the spacer element is located downstream of a fluid outlet of the pressure-exerting device with respect to a flow direction of the liquid fluid, by means of which spacer element a lubrication gap can be formed on the inner surface of the endless band for the liquid fluid.” The claimed device is configured to apply a liquid fluid onto the inner surface of the band, i.e., the liquid fluid is not part of the device. Further, the lubrication gap “can be formed” on the inner surface of the band, i.e., the lubrication gap does not have to be formed. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding the features of the lubrication gap are not persuasive as they rely on functions and features not recited in the claims. It is noted that Held teaches a pressure-exerting device that is configured to receive a synthetic oil (Col. 3, Lns. 21-24), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a synthetic oil provides lubrication benefits, i.e., the area between the spacer element and the band shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 2 would be a lubrication gap when the synthetic oil is provided in that space. While Applicant asserts that the claimed lubrication gap is designed differently, they have relied upon drawings and functions described in the specification rather than pointing to claim language regarding the lubrication gap that is different than the device in Held.
Applicant further argues that the secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of Held (Remarks, PP. 17-23), and these arguments are not persuasive because they do not address the rejection of record which relies upon Held to teach a lubrication gap that can be formed between the spacer element and the inner surface of the endless band.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725