DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizukami et al. (20200049168) hereinafter Mizukami.
Regarding claim 9, Mizukami discloses, an exterior body of an accumulator (Title, Abstract, paragraph [0074]: “accumulator 201” and Figure 7: 201), the exterior body (paragraph [0075]: “pressure vessel 210” and Figure 7: 210) comprising:
an exterior body including a bottom (paragraph [0074]: “second section 230” and Figure 7: 230),
a shell (paragraph [0076]: “external cylinder portion 221” and Figure 7: 221),
and a port (paragraph [0078]: “port 223” and Figure 7: 223);
a bellows (paragraph [0079]: “bellows 241” and Figure 7: 241) provided inside the exterior body (paragraph [0078]: “port 223” and Figure 7: 223);
and a cap (paragraph [0085]: “bellows cap 242” and Figure 7: 242) bellows assembly (paragraph [0085]: “bellows mechanism 240” and Figure: 240) configured to seal one end of the bellows (paragraph [0085]: explains how bellows mechanism 240 consisting different components seals one end of the bellows),
wherein a welded portion (paragraph [0075]: “weld line 214” and Figure 7: 214) formed by melting and solidifying a part of the bottom (paragraph [0074]: “second section 230” and Figure 7: 230) and the shell (paragraph [0076]: “external cylinder portion 221” and Figure 7: 221) is formed at a connection portion between the bottom and the shell (Figure 7: refer to 214 joining 221 and 236),
and a connection surface of the bottom (paragraph [0082]: mating portion 239 for fitting the first section 220 and Figure 9: 239) and a connection surface of the shell (paragraph [0084]: mating portion 229 at the other end of the external cylinder portion 221 and Figure 9: 229), which are continuous with the welded portion, are in a state of being in pressure contact with each other (paragraph [0075]: explains how pressure vessel 210 is formed by welding section 220 and section 230; Figure: 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizukami et al. (20200049168) hereinafter Mizukami in view of Yuda et al. (20040056530) hereinafter Yuda.
Regarding claim 5, Mizukami discloses a manufacturing method for manufacturing an exterior body (paragraph [0075]: “pressure vessel 210” and Figure 7: 210) of an accumulator (paragraph [0074]: “accumulator 201” and ”Figure 7: 201) including a bottom (paragraph [0074]: “second section 230” and Figure 7: 230), a shell (paragraph [0076]: “external cylinder portion 221” and Figure 7: 221), and a port (paragraph [0078]: “port 223” and Figure 7: 223), the method comprising:
melting and solidifying a region including a part of a connection portion (paragraph [0075]: “weld line 214” and Figure 7: 214) between the bottom and the shell (paragraph [0075]: explains how second section 230 and external cylinder portion 221 are welded for joining together).
Mizukami does not disclose press fitting the bottom into the shell.
Yuda teaches about forming accumulator chamber (Abstract, Figure 1: 8) by press-fitting (paragraph [0015]: explains components of accumulator chamber being connected by non-welding means such as press-fitting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Mizukami to add a press-fitting step taught by Yuda prior to welding to make the manufacturing process easier and to reduce debris resulting from a longer welding operation.
Annotated Figure 7
Regarding claim 6, Mizukami in view of Yuda discloses a manufacturing method according to claim 5 as set forth above.
Mizukami further discloses melting and solidifying (welding) a region including a connection portion between the port and the shell (paragraph [0078]: described port 223 being welded to bottom plate portion 222 of shell 220; Annotated figure 7: “weld line interface between shell and port”).
Mizukami does not disclose press-fitting the port into the shell.
Yuda teaches about forming accumulator chamber (Abstract, Figure 1: 8) by press-fitting [paragraph [0015]: explains components of accumulator chamber being connected by non-welding means such as press-fitting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Mizukami to add a press-fitting step taught by Yuda prior to welding to make the manufacturing process easier and to reduce debris resulting from a longer welding process.
Regarding claim 7, Mizukami in view of Yuda discloses a manufacturing method according to claim 5 as set forth above.
Mizukami in view of Yuda also discloses the bellows is in a compressed state in a state where the bottom is press-fitted into the shell (Figure 7: shows bellows 241 being in compressed state when second section 230 is fitted with the cylinder 210 and the bellows mechanism 240 expanded most and the volume ratio of the liquid chamber 216 is minimized).
Mizukami in view of Yuda does not explicitly disclose the bottom is press-fitted into the shell after a bellows is disposed in the shell. However, Mizukami discloses configurations where one end of bellows (Figures 7 – 10: 241) is connected to the bottom ([paragraph 0079]: describes bellows 241 being fixed to cover plate 236 which is a part of the bottom 230; Figure 7). The sequence of press-fitting the bottom to the shell after bellows is disposed within the shell is an obvious process step of manufacturing.
Mizukami in view of Yuda does not explicitly disclose natural length of the bellows being longer than a length of the shell in a longitudinal axis direction. Mizukami discloses configuration with length of bellows enough to cover the entire length of the shell (paragraph [0087], Figure 7). The applicant is silent about presenting criticality of the length of bellows being longer than the length of the shell to the design, manufacturing and function of the accumulator and in fact discloses options for natural length of bellows being shorter or equal the length of the shell (Instant application specification, paragraph 0018, line 7 -9). Regarding natural length of bellows being longer than the length of shell in a longitudinal direction, the courts have held that a where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A. Hence, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have expected the applicant’s invention to perform the same function equally well with the bellows having natural length disclosed by Mizukami in view of Yuda.
Regarding claim 8, Mizukami in view of Yuda discloses a manufacturing method according to claim 6 as set forth above.
Mizukami in view of Yuda also discloses the bellows is in a compressed state in a state where the bottom is press-fitted into the shell (Figure 7: shows bellows 241 being in compressed state when second section 230 is fitted with the cylinder 210 and the bellows mechanism 240 expanded most and the volume ratio of the liquid chamber 216 is minimized).
Mizukami in view of Yuda does not explicitly disclose the bottom is press-fitted into the shell after a bellows is disposed in the shell. However, Mizukami discloses configurations where one end of bellows (Figures 7 – 10: 241) is connected to the bottom ([paragraph 0079]: describes bellows 241 being fixed to cover plate 236 which is a part of the bottom 230; Figure 7). The sequence of press-fitting the bottom to the shell after bellows is disposed within the shell is an obvious process step of manufacturing.
Mizukami in view of Yuda does not explicitly disclose natural length of the bellows being longer than a length of the shell in a longitudinal axis direction. Mizukami discloses configuration with length of bellows enough to cover the entire length of the shell (paragraph [0087], Figure 7). The applicant is silent about presenting criticality of the length of bellows being longer than the length of the shell to the design, manufacturing and function of the accumulator and in fact discloses options for natural length of bellows being shorter or equal the length of the shell (Instant application specification, paragraph 0018, line 7 -9). Regarding natural length of bellows being longer than the length of shell in a longitudinal direction, the courts have held that a where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A. Hence, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have expected the applicant’s invention to perform the same function equally well with the bellows having natural length disclosed by Mizukami in view of Yuda.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20180245606A1 discloses an acc US20010037834A1 discloses an accumulator manufacturing process.
/FAISAL AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753