DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the temperature control door 40 in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 14-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation of “...wherein the center vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion at the same height as the defrost vent,” renders the claim unclear. This representation of the invention does not appear to be fully corroborated by the applications papers, and it is therefore unclear if the claims meet the minimum threshold requirements clarity and precision [MPEP 2173.02]. Specifically, none of the drawings appear to demonstrate this variation, providing the vents at the same height. Therefore the drawings must be considered so broadly that the difference disclosed in the figures may be considered having equal to and different elevations, and should also be considered when viewing the prior art. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of “...wherein the front seat vent includes the defrost vent, the center vent and the floor vent, the defrost vent, the center vent and the floor vent are formed in a portion of the air conditioning case on the seat side in the passenger room…,” renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how the vent may be formed on the air conditioning case on the seat side as well as being in the passenger room. The construction of the claims may appear to indicate, under broadest reasonable interpretation, that the seat vents as claimed include structure of the vents for discharging the air all the way up to the passenger room. Therefore, it is not entirely clear as to whether or not Applicant is intending to claim the immediate vent, disposed directly on the outside of the case, or a final output end vent, that would necessarily be disposed in the passenger room as claimed. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 22, the recitation of “...wherein the floor vent is formed at a position where the floor vent at least partially overlaps with the heating heat exchanger,” renders the claim unclear. For example, it is unclear as to what spatial direction Applicant is intending the components to overlap in. The limitation may be so broadly interpreted such that they overlap in any arbitrary desired direction. Thus, the claims do not appear to meet the minimum threshold requirements clarity and precision [MPEP 2173.02]. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 25, the recitation of “...wherein the partition wall is configured to minimize flow resistance of the air fed along the cold air flow path portion…,” renders the claim unclear. For example, it is unclear as to what structure performs the recited function. MPEP 2173.05(g) requires the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish a function be recited to indicate the scope of the subject matter claimed. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 27, the recitation of “…having a shape tapered at a specific angle to minimize resistance…” renders the claim unclear. For example, it is unclear as to what structure performs the recited function. MPEP 2173.05(g) requires the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish a function be recited to indicate the scope of the subject matter claimed. When claims merely recite a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Specifically, it is not clear as to how a curved or tapered structure with an arbitrary specific angle may minimize resistance. Therefore, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kako et al. (US 6,427,771 B1, hereinafter “Kako”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kako teaches a vehicular air conditioning system [Figs. 1-6], comprising:
an air conditioning case [2] including an internal flow path [entering through 8] configured to introduce air discharged from a blower [1] and feed the air into a passenger room [Col. 3, 65 - Col. 4, 38; unit is configured for a passenger compartment, wherein air enters through passage 8 to expel conditioned air to a variety of locations], a cooling heat exchanger [6] and a heating heat exchanger [7] configured to cool and heat the air flowing along the internal flow path [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 39-56; apparent from inspection], and a plurality of vents configured to discharge cold air and hot air passed through the cooling heat exchanger and the heating heat exchanger into the passenger room [Col. 5, 13-44; Fig. 1; at least openings 15, 16, 25/26 and 27 provide air to the passenger cabin], wherein the internal flow path of the air conditioning case is formed in an up-down direction so that an air flow path extends from a lower side to an upper side in a direction of gravity [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], the cooling heat exchanger and the heating heat exchanger on the internal flow path are installed sequentially from the lower side to the upper side in the direction of gravity so as to correspond to the air flow path extending from the lower side to the upper side in the direction of gravity [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection heat exchanger 6 is disposed below heat exchanger 7], and
the vents are configured to discharge the cold air and the hot air passed through the cooling heat exchanger and the heating heat exchanger into the passenger room while distributing the cold air and the hot air in a front-rear direction of a vehicle [Col. 5, 13-44; Col. 5, 54 – Col. 6, 34; at least duct 27 provides airflow to the vehicle in the front-rear direction].
Regarding Claim 2, Kako teaches the system of claim 1 above and Kako teaches wherein the internal flow path of the air conditioning case includes an inlet [8] formed on the lowest side in the direction of gravity [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 22-38; air passage 8 is formed below the evaporator, apparently at the bottom at the case], a main flow path portion configured to feed the air introduced through the inlet vertically upward [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], a cold air flow path portion [b; see arrows in Fig. 1] and a hot air flow path portion [a] branched to both sides from the main flow path portion so as to extend vertically upward [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 13; at least door 10 directs air from the evaporator either towards or away from heater exchanger 7], and an uppermost air mixing flow path portion [14] where downstream ends of the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion are merged [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 13; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 3, Kako teaches the system of claim 2 above and Kako teaches wherein the cooling heat exchanger is installed in the main flow path portion to face from the lower side to the upper side and configured to cool the air flowing from the lower side to the upper side in the direction of gravity along the main flow path portion [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 23-45; air flows upwards through heat exchanger 6, from passage 8], and
the heating heat exchanger is installed in the hot air flow path portion to face from the lower side to the upper side and configured to heat the air flowing from the lower side to the upper side in the direction of gravity along the hot air flow path portion [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 13; air may flow from 6 through heat exchanger 7, i.e. warm air “a”].
Regarding Claim 4, Kako teaches the system of claim 3 above and Kako teaches wherein the heating heat exchanger includes at least one of an indoor condenser configured to heat the air with a refrigerant, a heater core configured to heat the air with cooling water, and an electric heater configured to heat the air with electricity [Col. 4, 22-56; heat exchanger 7 may be a heater core using hot water].
Regarding Claim 5, Kako teaches the system of claim 4 above and Kako teaches wherein the cooling heat exchanger and the heating heat exchanger are installed sequentially along air flow direction from the lower side to the upper side in the direction of gravity, and are arranged so as to at least partially overlap with each other in the up-down direction [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, an airflow enter 8, flows through 6, then may flow through 7, wherein the heat exchangers are overlapping relative to the up-down axis].
Regarding Claim 13, Kako teaches the system of claim 1 above and Kako teaches wherein the air conditioning case includes a front seat vent [at least opening 15] configured to discharge the air to a front seat area [Col. 5; 13-34], and a rear vent [at least 18] configured to discharge the air to a rear seat area [Col. 6, 12-24; duct 27 provides an airflow to the rear end of the vehicle], and
the rear vent is arranged closer to a dash panel than the front seat vent [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, the axis legends shows the vent opening 18a being disposed at a front end of the case].
Regarding Claim 14, Kako teaches he system of claim 13 above and Kako teaches wherein the front seat vent includes the defrost vent, the center vent and the floor vent [Col. 5 14 – Col. 6, 4; at least openings 15, 16, and foot openings 25 and 26 are provided to the front passenger],
the defrost vent, the center vent and the floor vent are formed in a portion of the air conditioning case on the seat side in the passenger room to discharge the cold or the hot air from the cooling heat exchanger or the heating heat exchanger toward the passenger room on the rear side of the vehicle [Col. 5, 13-34; Col. 5, 56 – Col. 6, 4; openings 15, 16 and 18a are configured to provide airflow towards the passenger room, in the rear direction, and therefore necessarily comprise vents in the passenger room to convey said airflow] and
the rear vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case on the dash panel side to discharge the cold or the hot air from the cooling heat exchanger or the heating heat exchanger toward the passenger room on the front side of the vehicle [Col. 5, 56 – Col. 6, 4; rear passage 18 is formed in a channel provided on the front side of the case; also see Fig. 1 axis legend].
Regarding Claim 15, Kako teaches the system of claim 14 above and Kako teaches wherein the rear vent is formed on a rear surface portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the dash panel [Col. 5, 56 – Col. 6, 4; rear passage 18 is formed in a channel provided on the front side of the case; also see Fig. 1 axis legend].
Regarding Claim 16, Kako teaches the system of claim 15 above and Kako teaches wherein the rear vent has an air flow path bent from the air mixing flow path portion toward the dash panel so that an outlet portion thereof faces the floor of the passenger room [Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 44; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, air may flow from mixing portion 14, through opening 17, and bending around wall portion 13 to flow directly downwards in at least ducts 18 and 24].
Regarding Claim 17, Kako teaches the system of claim 14 above and Kako teaches wherein the rear vent is formed on one side surface or both side surfaces of the air conditioning case corresponding to the dash panel [Figs. 1-3; Col. 6, 25-34; apparent from inspection that duct 24, provided on the front side of the case, disposes an airflow to two sides of the case via ducts 27a and 27b].
Regarding Claim 18, Kako teaches the system of claim 17 above and Kako teaches wherein the rear vent has an air flow path bent from the air mixing flow path portion toward the dash panel so that an outlet portion thereof faces from one side surface or both side surfaces of the air conditioning case to the floor of the passenger room [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection that air may flow from mixing portion 14, through opening 17, and bending around wall portion 13 to flow directly downwards].
Regarding Claim 19, Kako teaches the system of claim 18 above and Kako further teaches comprising:
a rear duct [at least 24] connected to the rear vent so that the air discharged from the rear vent can be fed to the rear seat area in the passenger room [Col. 7, 19-37; Fig. 1; air may flow from 18a directly downwards into duct 24 to be blown to the rear seat via duct 27],
wherein the rear duct is connected to the rear vent and arranged to extend from a floor on the dash panel side in the passenger room to a rear seat area through a floor in a front seat area.
Regarding Claim 20, Kako teaches the system of claim 19 above further comprising: a rear vent door [20] configured to adjust an opening degree of the rear vent [Col. 7, 8-18; Col. 8, 35-48; the opening degree of door 20, which determines the opening of space 17, may be controlled depending on the type of mode in operation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kako as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20200127282 A, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kako teaches the system of claim 3 above and Kako teaches wherein a temperature control door [10] is installed at a branching point of the hot air flow path portion and the cold air flow path portion to adjust opening degrees of the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion [Fig. 1; Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 13; the door 10 may adjust the ratio of air flowing through paths a and b], and
while Kako teaches that the control door 10 serves to mix the ratios of cold/warm air [Col. 4, 66 – Col. 5, 13], Kako does not explicitly teach wherein the temperature control door is composed of a sliding door and configured to slide between the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion to adjust the opening degrees of the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion.
However, Lee teaches an air conditioning case [110] [Fig. 3] comprising an evaporator [102], a heater core [103], and a plurality of doors and ducts [at least defrost vent 116, face vent 117, and floor vent 118] configured to provide conditioned air to the spaces through the respective ducts [¶ 0001-0012; Figs. 1-3]. Lee further teaches temp doors [111, 112] configured to control the amount of air bypassed around the heater core [¶ 0036], wherein the temp doors appear to necessarily be sliding doors as the figures depict them in a rail-like configuration. The prior art distinguishes the temp doors from other known door configurations in text and figures, such as the face door [122], defrost door [121] and console door [124]. Furthermore, sliding doors are well-known in the art and may be considered an obvious replacement known to fulfill the same function (as evidence, see Lee et al. (US 20200130460 A1)). Lee teaches that this door configuration provides a means to adjust the amount of air bypassing the heater core, thereby providing a means to control the system in a plurality of modes [¶ 0028, 0046-0048; Figs. 8-9]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the sliding doors as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the sliding doors would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means to adjust the amount of air bypassing the heater core, thereby providing a means to control the system in a plurality of modes, thus improving the system [¶ 0028, 0046-0048].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kako to have wherein the temperature control door is composed of a sliding door and configured to slide between the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion to adjust the opening degrees of the cold air flow path portion and the hot air flow path portion, in view of the teachings of Lee, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means to adjust the amount of air bypassing the heater core, thereby providing a means to control the system in a plurality of modes, thus improving the system.
Regarding Claim 7, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 6 above and Kako teaches wherein the air conditioning case includes a defrost vent [16] configured to discharge the air in the internal flow path to a window glass in the passenger room [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 13-34], a center vent [15] configured to discharge the air in the internal flow path to a face of a passenger [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 13-34], and a floor vent [at least foot opening 17] configured to discharge the air in the internal flow path to a floor in the passenger room [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 13-34], the defrost vent and the center vent are formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion of the internal flow path [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, openings 15 and 16 are formed proximate to the mixing portion 14], and
Lee further teaches wherein the floor vent [118] is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the cold air flow path portion of the internal flow path [Figs. 3-4; ¶ 0033-0036; Lee teaches a configuration wherein doors 111 and 112 may block airflow through heater core 103, such that airflow from path 114a may bypass the heater and flow upwards towards a floor vent 118, wherein floor door [123] may providing the airflow from 114a to 118, before mixing with airflow from 114b]
Regarding Claim 8, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 7 above and Kako teaches wherein the defrost vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion on the uppermost side in the direction of gravity [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection that opening 16 is at the uppermost portion of the mixing portion 14].
Regarding Claim 9, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 8 above and Kako teaches wherein the center vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion at a lower height than the defrost vent [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection opening 15 is at the uppermost portion of mixing portion 14, below opening 16].
Regarding Claim 10, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 8 above and Kako teaches wherein the center vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion at the same height as the defrost vent [Fig. 1; The prior art figures display a similarly slanted orientation of the defrost and center vents, similar to that of the disclosed drawings (i.e. Figs. 3, 5, 6, 8), that the similar figures may necessarily also be considered to have the same height elevation as represented in the application drawings].
Regarding Claim 11, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 8 above and Kako teaches wherein the center vent is formed in a portion of the air conditioning case corresponding to the air mixing flow path portion at a position closer to the cold air flow path portion than the hot air flow path portion [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection that opening 15 is on the rightmost side of the unit, same as cold air path “b”; furthermore, the warm path “a” is provided in a serpentine shape in order to flow around 7b and through 7c, before bending around a wall portion 13 in order to reach opening 15].
Regarding Claim 22, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 7 above and Kako teaches wherein the floor vent is formed at a position where the floor vent at least partially overlaps with the heating heat exchanger [Fig. 1; at least foot opening 17 appears to be overlapping with the heat exchanger 7 in the height direction].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kako and Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tokunaga et al. (US 20090025905 A1, hereinafter “Tokunaga”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 7 above and Kako further teaches comprising:
a defrost door [20] configured to adjust an opening degree of the defrost vent [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 35-55]; and
a vent door [19] configured to adjust an opening degree of the center vent [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 35-55],
wherein the defrost door is configured to adjust the opening degree of the defrost vent [Col. 5, 35-55], and the vent door is a flat door and configured to rotate to adjust the opening degree of the center vent [Fig. 1; Col. 5, 35-55].
Kako does not explicitly teach wherein the defrost door is a sliding door and is configured to slide.
However, Tokunaga teaches and air conditioning system [Fig. 1] comprising an evaporator [13], a heater core [15] and a plurality of air outlets [at least 35, 36] wherein an airflow is configured to flow through said components to provide conditioned air [¶ 0021, 0028-0029, 0043]. Tokunaga further teaches a plurality of gear-operated sliding doors [at least 17, 35], wherein the doors may be operated to change the flow depending on the desired operation [¶ 0044-0045], wherein sliding door 37 may operate as a means to limit/regulate flow through the outlet port 35 serving as a defroster opening, thereby providing a known means to control the system [¶ 0044-0045]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the sliding door as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the sliding door would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a known means to limit/regulate flow through the defroster opening, thereby providing a means to control the system according to predetermined modes, thus improving the system [¶ 0044-0045].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kako to have wherein the defrost door is a sliding door and is configured to slide, in view of the teachings of Tokunaga, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a known means to limit/regulate flow through the defroster opening, thereby providing a means to control the system according to predetermined modes, thus improving the system.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kako as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 20210178852 A1, hereinafter “Kwak”).
Regarding Claim 21, Kako teaches the system of claim 20 above but Kako does explicitly further teach comprising: a rear cold air flow path configured to bring a main flow path portion on the downstream side of the cooling heat exchanger with direct communication with the rear vent to feed a part of the cold air passed through the cooling heat exchanger toward the rear vent; and a rear temperature control door configured to adjust an opening degree of the rear cold air flow path.
However, Kwak teaches an air conditioner for a vehicle [Fig. 4A], comprising a cooler [102], a heater [104], and a plurality of vent openings controlled by a respective plurality of doors [Fig. 4A; apparent from inspection], including a rear vent [130] controlled by a rear door [138], wherein an airflow may flow over the cooler and be directed towards the rear vent [¶ 0062; Fig. 6; see bottom arrow indicating airflow through duct 130]. Kwak teaches that the rear door controlling the rear duct provides a means to control the system by operating the door with varying degrees depending on the operation mode [¶ 0074-0077]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the cold air flowpath and door as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the cold air flowpath and door would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means to control the system by operating the door with varying degrees depending on the operation mode, thereby increasing control over and improving the system [¶ 0074-0077].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kako to have a rear cold air flow path configured to bring a main flow path portion on the downstream side of the cooling heat exchanger with direct communication with the rear vent to feed a part of the cold air passed through the cooling heat exchanger toward the rear vent; and a rear temperature control door configured to adjust an opening degree of the rear cold air flow path, in view of the teachings of Kwak, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means to control the system by operating the door with varying degrees depending on the operation mode, thereby increasing control over and improving the system.
Claims 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kako and Lee as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190375272 A1 “hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 23, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 22 above and Kako teaches wherein floor vents are formed on both side surfaces of the air conditioning case to discharge the air in the internal flow path from both sides of the air conditioning case to the floor in the passenger room [Col. 6, 12-24; Figs. 1 and 3; rear seat foot duct 27 provides an air flow path on either side of the conditioning case].
Kako does not explicitly disclose wherein a partition wall is formed in each of inlets of the floor vents to partially prevent communication between the cold air flow path portion and the inlets of the floor vents.
However, Kim teaches an air conditioner for a vehicle [Figs. 1 and 3] comprising an evaporator [120], a heater core [130] [¶ 0041], a plurality of openings including defrost vent [112], a face vent [114] and floor vents [at least 114 and 116] with corresponding doors configured to control the flow of air through said openings [¶ 0040; Fig. 3; apparent from inspection]. Kim further teaches wherein at least the floor vent [114] is disposed between a baffle wall of the case and an outer wall of the case, wherein the baffle wall provides additional blocking means for door a door [155] [¶ 0044], wherein it is apparent from inspection that the baffle aids in separating the vent 114 from the air passageways P1 and P2. Kim further teaches that the combination of the baffle plate, in conjunction with the door 155, provide a means for adjusting the degree of opening of the floor vent, thereby providing more control over the system [¶ 0044].One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the partition walls as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the partition walls would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means for adjusting the degree of opening of the floor vent, thereby providing more control over the system [¶ 0044].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kako to have wherein a partition wall is formed in each of inlets of the floor vents to partially prevent communication between the cold air flow path portion and the inlets of the floor vents, in view of the teachings of Kim, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means for adjusting the degree of opening of the floor vent, thereby providing more control over the system.
Regarding Claim 24, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 23 above and Kim teaches wherein the partition wall is configured to guide the cold air flowing along the cold air flow path toward the air mixing flow path [Fig. 8; apparent from inspection that air flow paths bend around at least portions of the baffle plate before meeting at the top of the case].
Regarding Claim 25, Kako, as modified, teaches he system of claim 24 above and Kim wherein the partition wall is configured to minimize flow resistance of the air fed along the cold air flow path portion [See 112(b) above, it is unclear how to interpret the claims with no structure cited to support the claimed function; Regardless, the limitation may be considered an obvious design modification regarding routine optimization, wherein one of ordinary skill would have ample reason to design an air conditioning case with ample flow resistance to commonsensically reduce blower energy requirements].
Regarding Claim 26, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 25 above and Kim teaches wherein the partition wall is formed around each of the inlets of the floor vents and configured to three-dimensionally protrude inward from the inner wall surfaces of the air conditioning case on both sides of the internal flow path [Fig. 3; apparent from inspections that the baffle between door 171, door 155 and vent 114 is formed from an extrusion of the wall, connecting from the outer wall on the right side].
Regarding Claim 27, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 26 above and Kim teaches wherein the partition wall includes a three- dimensional bent portion having a curved structure to minimize resistance to the air in the cold air flow path portion, and a three-dimensional portion corresponding to the air flow on the cold air flow path portion and having a shape tapered at a specific angle to minimize resistance to the air on the cold air flow path portion side [Figs. 4-10; apparent from inspection that the baffle plate is curved; therefore, because the baffle plate of the prior art meets the structural limitations as claimed, the element of the prior art necessarily fulfils the claimed function of deflecting airflow].
Regarding Claim 28, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 27 above and Kim teaches wherein the partition wall is formed to have a height equal to or smaller than the height of the heating heat exchanger [Figs. 4-10; apparent from inspection that the height of the baffle plate, does not exceed the height of the heater 104 in the up-down direction, in the up-down direction]].
Regarding Claim 29, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 25 above and Kim teaches wherein the partition wall is formed around each of the inlets of the floor vents, and is formed on the same plane as the inner wall surfaces of the air conditioning case on both sides of the internal flow path [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection that the baffle plate is extruded from another curved plate there-below, further extruded from a wall on the rightmost side of the case].
Regarding Claim 30, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 23 above and Kim further teaches comprising:
a floor vent door [155, 158] configured to adjust an opening degree of the floor vent [¶ 0044].
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kako, Lee and Kim as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Natsume et al. (US 20020139513 A1, hereinafter “Natsume”).
Regarding Claim 31, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 30 above and Kim teaches wherein the floor vent door is a flat door [¶ 0044; floor door 155; Fig. 3; apparent from inspection] installed on the inlets of the floor vents,
While Kim discloses the claimed door configuration in at least elements 171, 158, 159 and 300, having two separate flat door portions connected by a central rotating shaft, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein specifically the floor vent door includes a central rotation center shaft and a first flat door portion and a second flat door portion extending to both sides from the rotation center shaft to directly control the opening degree of the floor vents.
However, Natsume teaches a vehicle air conditioner [Fig. 1] comprising an evaporator [12] a heater core [13] a defrost opening [24], central face openings [20, 21] and foot openings [27], wherein a plurality of corresponding doors cover said openings, including foot doors [28], having two separate portions connected to a rotation shaft [29] [¶ 0033-0046; Figs. 1 and 5B]. Natsume further teaches that the foot doors provide a means to fully control the foot openings to vary control depending on the desired mode of operation, thereby providing mixing configuration and isolated configurations to achieve desired results, thereby improving control over the system [¶ 0057-0067]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the doors as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the doors would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to provide a means to fully control the foot openings to vary control depending on the desired mode of operation, thereby providing mixing configuration and isolated configurations to achieve desired results, thereby improving control over the system [¶ 0057-0067].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kako to have wherein specifically the floor vent door includes a central rotation center shaft and a first flat door portion and a second flat door portion extending to both sides from the rotation center shaft to directly control the opening degree of the floor vents, in view of the teachings of Natsume where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. to provide a means to fully control the foot openings to vary control depending on the desired mode of operation, thereby providing mixing configuration and isolated configurations to achieve desired results, thereby improving control over the system.
Regarding Claim 32, Kako, as modified, teaches the system of claim 31 above and Natsume teaches wherein the first flat door portion [right side of 28; see Fig. 6] corresponds to the air mixing flow path portion, the second flat door portion [left side of 28; see Fig. 6] corresponds to the downstream side of the cold air flow path portion [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection that the leftmost portion of door 28 first interacts with an airstream directly from evaporator 12, while the rightmost portion of door 28 first interacts with air stream from the heater core 13 to be mixed before openings 20, 21 and 24], and the first flat door portion and the second flat door portion are configured to guide the air in the air mixing flow path portion and the air on the downstream side of the cold air flow path portion toward the floor vent when the floor vent is opened [¶ 0062-0065; in certain configurations, the door 28 may allow an airflow to flow through a fully open foot opening, or it may partially allow airflows in other modes disclosed modes].
Conclusion
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763