DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I (claims 6, and 9-18) and SEQ ID NO: 8 in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 6, 9-18, 23, 29, and 44-52 are pending.
Claims 23, 29, and 44-52 have been withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected invention(s).
Claim 10 has been withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected species.
Claims 6, 9, and 11-18 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Initialed and dated copy of applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 11/08/2024, 12/30/2024, 08/29/2025, 12/23/2025, 01/02/2026, 02/20/2026, 03/06/2026, 03/16/2026, 04/23/2026, 04/29/2026, 05/04/2026, 05/08/2026, 05/14/2026, and 06/10/2026 are attached to the instant Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 14, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, it is suggested to amend “the Zein promoter” to read ---a Zein promoter---, “the amy797E coding region” to read ---an amy797E coding region---, “the CaMV 35S terminator element” to read ---a CaMV 35S terminator element---, and “the nopaline synthase terminator element” to read ---a nopaline synthase terminator element--- for proper antecedence.
In regard to claim 14, it is suggested to delete the recitation of “wherein” in part (ii), as the preamble of the claim previously states “wherein”.
In regard to claims 17 and 18, it is suggested to insert the words ---, the method--- between the words “seed” and “comprising” in line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For claim 15, phrases that are “optional” within the claim are non-limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Indefiniteness
Claims 6, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 14, the recitation of term “variant” renders the claims indefinite since the metes and bounds of “variant” cannot be determined. Applicant defines the phrase “allelic variant” as “a polynucleotide or polypeptide sequence variant that occurs in a different strain, variety, or isolate of a given organism” (page 7, paragraph 0021). The definition does not provide any metes and/or bounds for the actual structure of the “variant”, but instead just points to where the polynucleotide could occur. Since the Specification does not expressly define the term “variant”, it is not clear how much variation or deviation is allowed or tolerated for a DNA molecule of SEQ ID NO: 8, 9, and 10 to be considered as a variant.
For example, SYN-E3272-5 shares with instant INOT1824 a Zein promoter, amy797E, CaMV35S terminator, and a NOS terminator. Can an “allelic variant” of SYN-E3272-5 replace the CaMV35S terminator or the NOS terminator with a different terminator element and still be considered INOT1824? Similarly, can the Zein promoter be replaced with a different promoter and the resultant construct is an “allelic variant” of SYN-E3272-5? It is unclear from the claims as well as the definition of “allelic variant” in the instant Specification exactly what structures are required to remain the same in order to perform the function of INOT1824.
Claims 11, 14(i), and 17-18 recite the limitation "said nucleotide sequence". Claim 6, upon which claims 11, 14(i), and 17-18 depend, does not recite “a nucleotide sequence”. It is unclear to what nucleotide sequence of claim 6, "said nucleotide sequence" of claims 11, 14(i), and 17-18 is referring.
Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 6, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
The claims are broadly drawn to allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof a SYN-E3272-5 transgenic locus (SEQ ID NO: 1), and allelic variants thereof SEQ ID NOs: 8-10. The instant Specification does not provide any description of the genus of allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof a SYN-E3272-5 transgenic locus (SEQ ID NO: 1), or allelic variants thereof SEQ ID NOs: 8-10. Applicant’s provide a very broad definition of allelic variant: a polynucleotide or polypeptide sequence variant that occurs in a different strain, variety, or isolate of a given organism (page 7, paragraph 0021). Applicant further provides an allelic variant as “allelic variants of INOT1824 transgenic loci include sequences having at least 85%, 90%, 95%, 98%, or 99% sequence identity across the entire length or at least 20, 40, 100, 500, 1,000, 2,000, 4,000, 6,000, 8,000, 9,000, or nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 8, 9, 10, or 11. In certain embodiments, such allelic variants of INOT1824 DNA molecules include sequences having at least 85%, 90%, 95%, 98%, or 99% sequence identity across the entire length of SEQ ID NO: 8, 9, 10, or 11” (page 21, paragraph 0070).
Additionally, the specification fails to sufficiently describe the necessary structural features that must be retained by “allelic variants or other variants” as to establish a structure-function relationship, or the structural features required to distinguish members of the claimed genus from other chemical structures.
Applicant has described SEQ ID NO: 1 as a SYN-E3272-5 transgenic locus; and examples of an INOT1824 transgenic locus comprising an amy797E expression cassette and tandemly arrayed CaMV35S and a NOS terminators include the INOT1824 transgenic loci comprising the DNA sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8, SEQ ID NO: 9, and SEQ ID NO: 10.
In Example 1, Applicant describes the insertion of a CgRRS element (SEQ ID NOs: 15 and 16) in the 3’ junction of the SYN-E3272-5 event (pages 67-69). Example 2 describes the deletion of the SYN-E3272-5 ZmUbiInt::PMI fragment (page 69). And, Example 3 describes the introduction of a CgRRS into an INOT1824 maize plant comprising a deletion of the SYN-E3272-5 ZmUbiInt::PMI fragment (SEQ ID NO: 10) (page 70).
Applicant has claimed an extremely large and structurally variable genus of molecules as “allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof” SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 8-10. Applicant has reduced to practice the insertion of a CgRRS element (SEQ ID NOs: 15 and 16) into the full-length sequence of SYN-E3272-5 (SEQ ID NO: 1), the deletion of the SYN-E3272-5 ZmUbiInt::PMI fragment, and the insertion of a CgRRS into an INOT1824 maize plant comprising a deletion of the SYN-E3272-5 ZmUbiInt::PMI fragment resulting in SEQ ID NO: 10. Given that there have not been an adequate number of species reduced to practice to be representative of the broad genus of “allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof” SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 8-10, there is not adequate description to support the breadth of the claims.
One of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize that Applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the genus in view of the disclosed species. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is both vast and highly diverse, SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 8-10 are insufficient to describe the claimed genus.
The number of species described by Applicant is insufficient to describe the recited genus by virtue of example, given the vast size of the recited genus and the lack of written description in the instant specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions.
Hence, Applicant has not, in fact, described the claimed compositions within the full scope of the claims, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Failure to Further Limit
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites “wherein said CgRRS comprises the DNA molecule set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15 or 16”. Claim 12, upon which claim 13 depends, recites “wherein said CgRRS comprises SEQ ID NO: 16. Thus, claim 13 fails to further limit claim 12.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOHNSON (Johnson et al., Patent No.: US 7,635,799 B2, Date of Patent: Dec. 22, 2009) in view of DU (Du et al., 2019, Genes, Vol. 10(5), pages 1-17; included on IDS dated 12/30/2024).
Claim 6 recites “a transgenic maize plant cell comprising an INOT1824 transgenic locus comprising the Zein promoter, the amy797E coding region which is operably linked to said promoter, the CaMV 35S terminator element which is operably linked to said amy797E coding region, and the nopaline synthase terminator element of a SYN-E3272-5 transgenic locus, allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof, wherein DNA of said original SYN- E3272-5 transgenic locus, allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof comprising a ZmUbiInt promoter and an operably linked phosphomannose isomerase coding region is absent”.
JOHNSON teaches a novel transgenic corn event designated 3272. The invention relates to DNA sequences of the recombinant constructs inserted into the corn genome that resulted in the 3272 event and of genomic sequences flanking the insertion sites as well as to assays for detecting the presence of the 3272 event based on these novel sequences. The invention further relates to seeds of corn plants comprising the 3272 genotype, to corn plants comprising the genotype of 3272 and to methods for producing a corn plant by crossing a corn plant comprising the 3272 genotype with itself or another corn variety (Johnson, Abstract).
JOHNSON teaches that the 3272 event was produced by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation of a proprietary inbred corn (Zea mays) line. Immature embryos were transformed using a DNA fragment from plasmid pNOV7013. Plasmid pNOV7013 comprises tandem expression cassettes. The first expression cassette is comprised of a γ-Zein promoter sequence operably linked to an amy797 α-amylase gene, which is further operably linked to the Zea mays Intron No. 9 from the phosphoenolpyruvate carboxylase gene, which is further operably linked to a 35S 3′ end transcription termination and polyadenylation sequence. The second expression cassette is comprised of a ZmUbilnt promoter from Zea mays operably linked to a pmi coding sequence, further operably linked to a terminator sequence from the nopaline synthase gene of Agrobacterium tumefaciens (Johnson, Example 1, column 20, lines 14-34).
JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NO: 37 as the heterologous DNA inserted into 3272 (Johnson, column 6, line 14). SEQ ID NO: 37 as taught by JOHNSON shares 99.9% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 from 1410-3889bp (see alignment below), and includes a Zein promoter, an amy797E, and a 35S terminator (i.e., comprising the Zein promoter, the amy797E coding region which is operably linked to said promoter, the CaMV 35S terminator element which is operably linked to said amy797E coding region, and the nopaline synthase terminator element of a SYN-E3272-5 transgenic locus, allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof).
RESULT 8
US-11-370-799-37
Sequence 37, US/11370799
Publication No. US20060230473A1
SEQ ID NO 37
LENGTH: 6100
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Zea mays
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (1)..(2)
OTHER INFORMATION: Right border
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (203)..(879)
OTHER INFORMATION: GZein promoter
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (889)..(2271)
OTHER INFORMATION: amy797E
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (2413)..(2482)
OTHER INFORMATION: 35S terminator
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (2501)..(4493)
OTHER INFORMATION: ZmUbiInt promoter
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (4506)..(5681)
OTHER INFORMATION: pmi
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (5742)..(5994)
OTHER INFORMATION: NOS terminator
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (6083)..(6100)
OTHER INFORMATION: Left boder
Best Local Similarity 99.9%;
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:8 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 37
Qy 1410 CAAACACTGATAGTTTAAACTGAAGGCGGGAAACGACAATCTGATCATGAGCGGAGAATT 1469
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CAAACACTGATAGTTTAAACTGAAGGCGGGAAACGACAATCTGATCATGAGCGGAGAATT 60
Qy 1470 AAGGGAGTCACGTTATGACCCCCGCCGATGACGCGGGACAAGCCGTTTTACGTTTGGAAC 1529
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AAGGGAGTCACGTTATGACCCCCGCCGATGACGCGGGACAAGCCGTTTTACGTTTGGAAC 120
Qy 1530 TGACAGAACCGCAACGCTGCAGGAATTGGCCGCAGCGGCCATTTAAATCAATTGGGCGCG 1589
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TGACAGAACCGCAACGCTGCAGGAATTGGCCGCAGCGGCCATTTAAATCAATTGGGCGCG 180
Qy 1590 CCGAATTCGAGCTCGGTACAAGCTTCGATCATCCAGGTGCAACCGTATAAGTCCTAAAGT 1649
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CCGAATTCGAGCTCGGTACAAGCTTCGATCATCCAGGTGCAACCGTATAAGTCCTAAAGT 240
Qy 1650 GGTGAGGAACACGAAACAACCATGCATTGGCATGTAAAGCTCCAAGAATTTGTTGTATCC 1709
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GGTGAGGAACACGAAACAACCATGCATTGGCATGTAAAGCTCCAAGAATTTGTTGTATCC 300
Qy 1710 TTAACAACTCACAGAACATCAACCAAAATTGCACGTCAAGGGTATTGGGTAAGAAACAAT 1769
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 TTAACAACTCACAGAACATCAACCAAAATTGCACGTCAAGGGTATTGGGTAAGAAACAAT 360
Qy 1770 CAAACAAATCCTCTCTGTGTGCAAAGAAACACGGTGAGTCATGCCGAGATCATACTCATC 1829
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CAAACAAATCCTCTCTGTGTGCAAAGAAACACGGTGAGTCATGCCGAGATCATACTCATC 420
Qy 1830 TGATATACATGCTTACAGCTCACAAGACATTACAAACAACTCATATTGCATTACAAAGAT 1889
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 TGATATACATGCTTACAGCTCACAAGACATTACAAACAACTCATATTGCATTACAAAGAT 480
Qy 1890 CGTTTCATGAAAAATAAAATAGGCCGGACAGGACAAAAATCCTTGACGTGTAAAGTAAAT 1949
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 CGTTTCATGAAAAATAAAATAGGCCGGACAGGACAAAAATCCTTGACGTGTAAAGTAAAT 540
Qy 1950 TTACAACAAAAAAAAAGCCATATGTCAAGCTAAATCTAATTCGTTTTACGTAGATCAACA 2009
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 TTACAACAAAAAAAAAGCCATATGTCAAGCTAAATCTAATTCGTTTTACGTAGATCAACA 600
Qy 2010 ACCTGTAGAAGGCAACAAAACTGAGCCACGCAGAAGTACAGAATGATTCCAGATGAACCA 2069
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 ACCTGTAGAAGGCAACAAAACTGAGCCACGCAGAAGTACAGAATGATTCCAGATGAACCA 660
Qy 2070 TCGACGTGCTACGTAAAGAGAGTGACGAGTCATATACATTTGGCAAGAAACCATGAAGCT 2129
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TCGACGTGCTACGTAAAGAGAGTGACGAGTCATATACATTTGGCAAGAAACCATGAAGCT 720
Qy 2130 GCCTACAGCCGTCTCGGTGGCATAAGAACACAAGAAATTGTGTTAATTAATCAAAGCTAT 2189
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 GCCTACAGCCGTCTCGGTGGCATAAGAACACAAGAAATTGTGTTAATTAATCAAAGCTAT 780
Qy 2190 AAATAACGCTCGCATGCCTGTGCACTTCTCCATCACCACCACTGGGTCTTCAGACCATTA 2249
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 AAATAACGCTCGCATGCCTGTGCACTTCTCCATCACCACCACTGGGTCTTCAGACCATTA 840
Qy 2250 GCTTTATCTACTCCAGAGCGCAGAAGAACCCGATCGACAGGATCCACCATGAGGGTGTTG 2309
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 GCTTTATCTACTCCAGAGCGCAGAAGAACCCGATCGACAGGATCCACCATGAGGGTGTTG 900
Qy 2310 CTCGTTGCCCTCGCTCTCCTGGCTCTCGCTGCGAGCGCCACCAGCGCTAAGTACCTGGAG 2369
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 CTCGTTGCCCTCGCTCTCCTGGCTCTCGCTGCGAGCGCCACCAGCGCTAAGTACCTGGAG 960
Qy 2370 CTGGAGGAGGGCGGCGTGATCATGCAGGCGTTCTACTGGGACGTCCCGAGCGGAGGCATC 2429
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CTGGAGGAGGGCGGCGTGATCATGCAGGCGTTCTACTGGGACGTCCCGAGCGGAGGCATC 1020
Qy 2430 TGGTGGGACACCATCCGCCAGAAGATCCCCGAGTGGTACGACGCCGGCATCTCCGCGATC 2489
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 TGGTGGGACACCATCCGCCAGAAGATCCCCGAGTGGTACGACGCCGGCATCTCCGCGATC 1080
Qy 2490 TGGATACCGCCAGCTTCCAAGGGCATGTCCGGGGGCTACTCGATGGGCTACGACCCGTAC 2549
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGGATACCGCCAGCTTCCAAGGGCATGTCCGGGGGCTACTCGATGGGCTACGACCCGTAC 1140
Qy 2550 GACTACTTCGACCTCGGCGAGTACTACCAGAAGGGCACGGTGGAGACGCGCTTCGGGTCC 2609
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GACTACTTCGACCTCGGCGAGTACTACCAGAAGGGCACGGTGGAGACGCGCTTCGGGTCC 1200
Qy 2610 AAGCAGGAGCTCATCAACATGATCAACACGGCGCACGCCTACGGCATCAAGGTCATCGCG 2669
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 AAGCAGGAGCTCATCAACATGATCAACACGGCGCACGCCTACGGCATCAAGGTCATCGCG 1260
Qy 2670 GACATCGTGATCAACCACAGGGCCGGCGGCGACCTGGAGTGGAACCCGTTCGTCGGCGAC 2729
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 GACATCGTGATCAACCACAGGGCCGGCGGCGACCTGGAGTGGAACCCGTTCGTCGGCGAC 1320
Qy 2730 TACACCTGGACGGACTTCTCCAAGGTCGCCTCCGGCAAGTACACCGCCAACTACCTCGAC 2789
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 TACACCTGGACGGACTTCTCCAAGGTCGCCTCCGGCAAGTACACCGCCAACTACCTCGAC 1380
Qy 2790 TTCCACCCCAACGAGCTGCACGCGGGCGACTCCGGCACGTTCGGCGGCTACCCGGACATC 2849
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 TTCCACCCCAACGAGCTGCACGCGGGCGACTCCGGCACGTTCGGCGGCTACCCGGACATC 1440
Qy 2850 TGCCACGACAAGTCCTGGGACCAGTACTGGCTCTGGGCCTCGCAGGAGTCCTACGCGGCC 2909
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 TGCCACGACAAGTCCTGGGACCAGTACTGGCTCTGGGCCTCGCAGGAGTCCTACGCGGCC 1500
Qy 2910 TACCTGCGCTCCATCGGCATCGACGCGTGGCGCTTCGACTACGTCAAGGGCTACGGGGCC 2969
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 TACCTGCGCTCCATCGGCATCGACGCGTGGCGCTTCGACTACGTCAAGGGCTACGGGGCC 1560
Qy 2970 TGGGTGGTCAAGGACTGGCTCAACTGGTGGGGCGGCTGGGCGGTGGGCGAGTACTGGGAC 3029
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 TGGGTGGTCAAGGACTGGCTCAACTGGTGGGGCGGCTGGGCGGTGGGCGAGTACTGGGAC 1620
Qy 3030 ACCAACGTCGACGCGCTGCTCAACTGGGCCTACTCCTCCGGCGCCAAGGTGTTCGACTTC 3089
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1621 ACCAACGTCGACGCGCTGCTCAACTGGGCCTACTCCTCCGGCGCCAAGGTGTTCGACTTC 1680
Qy 3090 CCCCTGTACTACAAGATGGACGCGGCCTTCGACAACAAGAACATCCCGGCGCTCGTCGAG 3149
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1681 CCCCTGTACTACAAGATGGACGCGGCCTTCGACAACAAGAACATCCCGGCGCTCGTCGAG 1740
Qy 3150 GCCCTGAAGAACGGCGGCACGGTGGTCTCCCGCGACCCGTTCAAGGCCGTGACCTTCGTC 3209
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1741 GCCCTGAAGAACGGCGGCACGGTGGTCTCCCGCGACCCGTTCAAGGCCGTGACCTTCGTC 1800
Qy 3210 GCCAACCACGACACGGACATCATCTGGAACAAGTACCCGGCGTACGCCTTCATCCTCACC 3269
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1801 GCCAACCACGACACGGACATCATCTGGAACAAGTACCCGGCGTACGCCTTCATCCTCACC 1860
Qy 3270 TACGAGGGCCAGCCCACGATCTTCTACCGCGACTACGAGGAGTGGCTGAACAAGGACAAG 3329
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 TACGAGGGCCAGCCCACGATCTTCTACCGCGACTACGAGGAGTGGCTGAACAAGGACAAG 1920
Qy 3330 CTCAAGAACCTGATCTGGATTCACGACAACCTCGCGGGCGGCTCCACTAGTATCGTGTAC 3389
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 CTCAAGAACCTGATCTGGATTCACGACAACCTCGCGGGCGGCTCCACTAGTATCGTGTAC 1980
Qy 3390 TACGACTCCGACGAGATGATCTTCGTCCGCAACGGCTACGGCTCCAAGCCCGGCCTGATC 3449
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1981 TACGACTCCGACGAGATGATCTTCGTCCGCAACGGCTACGGCTCCAAGCCCGGCCTGATC 2040
Qy 3450 ACGTACATCAACCTGGGCTCCTCCAAGGTGGGCCGCTGGGTGTACGTCCCGAAGTTCGCC 3509
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2041 ACGTACATCAACCTGGGCTCCTCCAAGGTGGGCCGCTGGGTGTACGTCCCGAAGTTCGCC 2100
Qy 3510 GGCGCGTGCATCCACGAGTACACCGGCAACCTCGGCGGCTGGGTGGACAAGTACGTGTAC 3569
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2101 GGCGCGTGCATCCACGAGTACACCGGCAACCTCGGCGGCTGGGTGGACAAGTACGTGTAC 2160
Qy 3570 TCCTCCGGCTGGGTCTACCTGGAGGCCCCGGCCTACGACCCCGCCAACGGCCAGTACGGC 3629
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2161 TCCTCCGGCTGGGTCTACCTGGAGGCCCCGGCCTACGACCCCGCCAACGGCCAGTACGGC 2220
Qy 3630 TACTCCGTGTGGTCCTACTGCGGCGTCGGCTCCGAGAAGGACGAGCTGTGATAGGTAACG 3689
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2221 TACTCCGTGTGGTCCTACTGCGGCGTCGGCTCCGAGAAGGACGAGCTGTGATAGGTAACG 2280
Qy 3690 AAACTAGAGCTCTAGATCTGTTCTGCACAAAGTGGAGTAGTCAGTCATCGATCAGGAACC 3749
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2281 AAACTAGAGCTCTAGATCTGTTCTGCACAAAGTGGAGTAGTCAGTCATCGATCAGGAACC 2340
Qy 3750 AGACACCAGACTTTTATTCATACAGTGAAGTGAAGTGAAGTGCAGTGCAGTGAGTTGCTG 3809
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2341 AGACACCAGACTTTTATTCATACAGTGAAGTGAAGTGAAGTGCAGTGCAGTGAGTTGCTG 2400
Qy 3810 GTTTTTGTACAACTTAGTATGTATTTGTATTTGTAAAATACTTCTATCAATAAAATTTCT 3869
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2401 GTTTTTGTACAACTTAGTATGTATTTGTATTTGTAAAATACTTCTATCAATAAAATTTCT 2460
Qy 3870 AATTCCTAAAACCAAAATTC 3889
|||||||||||||||||| |
Db 2461 AATTCCTAAAACCAAAATCC 2480
JOHNSON does not explicitly teach wherein DNA of said original SYN- E3272-5 transgenic locus, allelic variants thereof, or other variants thereof comprising a ZmUbiInt promoter and an operably linked phosphomannose isomerase coding region is absent.
However, the method of removing a selectable marker gene in a transgenic insertion site, or the method of selectable marker free transformation in maize is routine practice in the prior art, admittedly by applicant (instant Specification, page 2, paragraph 0005).
DU teaches that production of marker-free transgenic crops is crucial to avoid potential risks and promote commercial deployment of GM plants by hastening public acceptance (Du, page 2, second paragraph), teaching a crucial motivation of production of a marker-free maize plant. Figure 1 (page 3) further provides a summary of three different art recognized approaches for removing the selectable marker.
DU teaches and successfully demonstrates a detailed method and concept of site-specific removal of a promoter and a selectable marker gene from transgenic maize (Du, page 1, Abstract; page 3, Figure 1; and pages 4-9). The resultant maize plant comprises a marker-free transgenic locus (page 10, last paragraph).
Referencing the figure below, DU teaches that PCaMV35S::egfp is the egfp gene as a visual marker for selection driven by the CaMV35S (35S) promoter (Du, Figure 2, page 5).
DU teaches that both the egfp marker gene and the CaMV35S promoter driving the marker gene are deleted successfully (i.e., a promoter and an operably linked selectable marker is absent) (Du, Figure 4a, page 9) (see figure below).
At the time the instant application was filed, it would have been obvious and within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the transgenic corn event designated 3272 as taught by JOHNSON, and eliminate the promoter and selectable marker as taught by DU. Based on the teachings of JOHNSON and DU, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to eliminate the promoter and selectable marker as taught by DU, from transgenic corn event designated 3272 as taught by JOHNSON, knowing that production of marker-free transgenic crops is crucial to avoid potential risks and promote commercial deployment of GM plants by hastening public acceptance, as taught by DU. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success by following the teachings of JOHNSON and DU.
In regard to claims 9 and 14, JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NOs: 37 and 3-6. As outlined in the claim 6 rejection above, instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 shares 99.9% sequence identity with JOHNSON sequence SEQ ID NO: 37 from 1410-3889bp.
Additionally, JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NO: 3, the 5′ genome+insert sequence, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 from 1-1600bp (see alignment below).
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:8 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 3
Qy 1 AGCCAATCACGGCAAAATACGCAAGCATAACGCGCGGCTCACGTCTCCCCACCCGATCCC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AGCCAATCACGGCAAAATACGCAAGCATAACGCGCGGCTCACGTCTCCCCACCCGATCCC 60
Qy 61 CGGCCCCACGCTACCATTTATGAAGCTCTTTCATTCATGTTACGTATGCATAAACGCCGG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 CGGCCCCACGCTACCATTTATGAAGCTCTTTCATTCATGTTACGTATGCATAAACGCCGG 120
Qy 121 TACCTGCGCGCGGTATACCCACCACCTGCCACGTCGACCCGCGGCCCGCACACCTAGCCA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TACCTGCGCGCGGTATACCCACCACCTGCCACGTCGACCCGCGGCCCGCACACCTAGCCA 180
Qy 181 CGCCGGGGGCCGGGGCTCTCTCTAGTAATGGAAGCCCTGGGCTTCCATTACCTCGTCCCT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CGCCGGGGGCCGGGGCTCTCTCTAGTAATGGAAGCCCTGGGCTTCCATTACCTCGTCCCT 240
Qy 241 GCGTGCAGCTCTCTTCTGTACTAAGATTTCATCCCTGATCCTGCGCGGGTCATCATCAAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GCGTGCAGCTCTCTTCTGTACTAAGATTTCATCCCTGATCCTGCGCGGGTCATCATCAAT 300
Qy 301 ACGAGACGGCCATCTCATGCATCCGTCCTCCTCTCCGATCCCTGATCTGATGGATCATTC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ACGAGACGGCCATCTCATGCATCCGTCCTCCTCTCCGATCCCTGATCTGATGGATCATTC 360
Qy 361 CAACAATATTTAATATACTACTCTACTAGCGTCGTGTGTACATGTGCCTTGTAGTACTGT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CAACAATATTTAATATACTACTCTACTAGCGTCGTGTGTACATGTGCCTTGTAGTACTGT 420
Qy 421 ACTGTACAGCTAGCTAGCTAGCTCCGAGCAGCAAAGCAGGCTACAGGCTAGGCAGGGCTT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 ACTGTACAGCTAGCTAGCTAGCTCCGAGCAGCAAAGCAGGCTACAGGCTAGGCAGGGCTT 480
Qy 481 GAAGTCGCATTGCATTGCATCGCATGCGCATCGCAGCATGCATCAATTCCTGCCCAGAGA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 GAAGTCGCATTGCATTGCATCGCATGCGCATCGCAGCATGCATCAATTCCTGCCCAGAGA 540
Qy 541 GCGAAGTGGATTAATTAATTAGCACCAAGGACTGTGGTACGTACTGCTGCTAAAAACTAA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 GCGAAGTGGATTAATTAATTAGCACCAAGGACTGTGGTACGTACTGCTGCTAAAAACTAA 600
Qy 601 AAAGGTTTGAAATGCTGAGAGAGAGAGAAAGAGAGAGAGTACATGCATGCAATGCAATGC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 AAAGGTTTGAAATGCTGAGAGAGAGAGAAAGAGAGAGAGTACATGCATGCAATGCAATGC 660
Qy 661 ACCATGCATCTTTCAATTCCATGGCGCCGTAGCATCTCTCTCTCTCTATAGCCTTCTCTT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 ACCATGCATCTTTCAATTCCATGGCGCCGTAGCATCTCTCTCTCTCTATAGCCTTCTCTT 720
Qy 721 TCCATCAACCTGAGCAAAAGAAAGCTGGTTTCCTGCAGGCTGCGTGCGCCCGGCGGCCGT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 TCCATCAACCTGAGCAAAAGAAAGCTGGTTTCCTGCAGGCTGCGTGCGCCCGGCGGCCGT 780
Qy 781 CTCTGCTGCGTGCATGCATCAGCATGCGCGCAGTAACTCCACACAGCCAGCCTCTCCTAC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 CTCTGCTGCGTGCATGCATCAGCATGCGCGCAGTAACTCCACACAGCCAGCCTCTCCTAC 840
Qy 841 AAAAGACATGTACTACAGTACCGCTACCGAGCTAGTACTAGGTACACACAGTGTGTGTGT 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 AAAAGACATGTACTACAGTACCGCTACCGAGCTAGTACTAGGTACACACAGTGTGTGTGT 900
Qy 901 GTGGCTGGCTACTAGTGTTTCTTCTTGAACGATGAATATACAGCACAATCCTCCTGCTCT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 GTGGCTGGCTACTAGTGTTTCTTCTTGAACGATGAATATACAGCACAATCCTCCTGCTCT 960
Qy 961 CTTGCTCTTGCTCTTGCGCTGCATGCTCTTCCTTCCCCGCACTCCCTAATAGCTAGGCAT 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CTTGCTCTTGCTCTTGCGCTGCATGCTCTTCCTTCCCCGCACTCCCTAATAGCTAGGCAT 1020
Qy 1021 GCATTGTCCATTGAATTGAAGCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTC 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 GCATTGTCCATTGAATTGAAGCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTC 1080
Qy 1081 TGCCAAGCCATGCCCATGCAAGTCGTCGTCTCTGTTCCAGCTGAATTCATGCCCATGCAA 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGCCAAGCCATGCCCATGCAAGTCGTCGTCTCTGTTCCAGCTGAATTCATGCCCATGCAA 1140
Qy 1141 ATGCAAGTCGTACGTCTCTCTTTCCAGAATTCAGCAGCAGTACTCTCCACGCACTGATCG 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 ATGCAAGTCGTACGTCTCTCTTTCCAGAATTCAGCAGCAGTACTCTCCACGCACTGATCG 1200
Qy 1201 CCGTCAGAGAGCTAGGTCAGTGGCTGCAGTGAGTGGGCATGATGAGTGCGTGATGAGGGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 CCGTCAGAGAGCTAGGTCAGTGGCTGCAGTGAGTGGGCATGATGAGTGCGTGATGAGGGC 1260
Qy 1261 TCTTTTGGAGCTACTACTACTAGCGTGTGTATTCATTCACTCTCACTGGCCGATAAACTG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TCTTTTGGAGCTACTACTACTAGCGTGTGTATTCATTCACTCTCACTGGCCGATAAACTG 1320
Qy 1321 ACCATCTATTTATCTCCAATCGATCGAATTCATCAGACCAGATTCTCTTTTATGGCCGGC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 ACCATCTATTTATCTCCAATCGATCGAATTCATCAGACCAGATTCTCTTTTATGGCCGGC 1380
Qy 1381 CGGCCGGCCCTGCTGACTGCTGACGCGGCCAAACACTGATAGTTTAAACTGAAGGCGGGA 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 CGGCCGGCCCTGCTGACTGCTGACGCGGCCAAACACTGATAGTTTAAACTGAAGGCGGGA 1440
Qy 1441 AACGACAATCTGATCATGAGCGGAGAATTAAGGGAGTCACGTTATGACCCCCGCCGATGA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 AACGACAATCTGATCATGAGCGGAGAATTAAGGGAGTCACGTTATGACCCCCGCCGATGA 1500
Qy 1501 CGCGGGACAAGCCGTTTTACGTTTGGAACTGACAGAACCGCAACGCTGCAGGAATTGGCC 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 CGCGGGACAAGCCGTTTTACGTTTGGAACTGACAGAACCGCAACGCTGCAGGAATTGGCC 1560
Qy 1561 GCAGCGGCCATTTAAATCAATTGGGCGCGCCGAATTCGAG 1600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 GCAGCGGCCATTTAAATCAATTGGGCGCGCCGAATTCGAG 1600
JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, the 3′ insert+genome sequence, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 from 3924-5801bp (see alignment below).
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:8 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 4
Qy 3924 GAATCCTGTTGCCGGTCTTGCGATGATTATCATATAATTTCTGTTGAATTACGTTAAGCA 3983
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAATCCTGTTGCCGGTCTTGCGATGATTATCATATAATTTCTGTTGAATTACGTTAAGCA 60
Qy 3984 TGTAATAATTAACATGTAATGCATGACGTTATTTATGAGATGGGTTTTTATGATTAGAGT 4043
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 TGTAATAATTAACATGTAATGCATGACGTTATTTATGAGATGGGTTTTTATGATTAGAGT 120
Qy 4044 CCCGCAATTATACATTTAATACGCGATAGAAAACAAAATATAGCGCGCAAACTAGGATAA 4103
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 CCCGCAATTATACATTTAATACGCGATAGAAAACAAAATATAGCGCGCAAACTAGGATAA 180
Qy 4104 ATTATCGCGCGCGGTGTCATCTATGTTACTAGATCTGCTAGCCCTGCAGGAAATTTACCG 4163
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ATTATCGCGCGCGGTGTCATCTATGTTACTAGATCTGCTAGCCCTGCAGGAAATTTACCG 240
Qy 4164 GTGCCCGGGCGGCCAGCATGGCCGTATCCGCAATGTGTTATTAAGTTGTCTAAGCGTCAA 4223
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GTGCCCGGGCGGCCAGCATGGCCGTATCCGCAATGTGTTATTAAGTTGTCTAAGCGTCAA 300
Qy 4224 TTTGTTTACACCACAATATATTCAAGTCATCTGCATGTGAAATAAACATCTTGTCCCTCC 4283
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 TTTGTTTACACCACAATATATTCAAGTCATCTGCATGTGAAATAAACATCTTGTCCCTCC 360
Qy 4284 TCGATGATCCACCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCA 4343
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 TCGATGATCCACCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCA 420
Qy 4344 TGCTCAATTGCTCATGCATATGCACGCGCGCGTTTGCTCGCCCATTGTTTGTTTGCTTTT 4403
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 TGCTCAATTGCTCATGCATATGCACGCGCGCGTTTGCTCGCCCATTGTTTGTTTGCTTTT 480
Qy 4404 GCTTTTATGTTCGATCGATGGATGTATGTGTATATAGGCGAGAAGGGGCACCAGCTGCTG 4463
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 GCTTTTATGTTCGATCGATGGATGTATGTGTATATAGGCGAGAAGGGGCACCAGCTGCTG 540
Qy 4464 CATGCCTGTTTCTTACAGTCTTGTATTGTATGCATGCAAAAGAGAGAAGCTAGACTAGAC 4523
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 CATGCCTGTTTCTTACAGTCTTGTATTGTATGCATGCAAAAGAGAGAAGCTAGACTAGAC 600
Qy 4524 CAGACAACACTAGCGATTCTGACAGGCTGACTTTTGAGCAGTTGACTACTCGCTCTACAT 4583
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 CAGACAACACTAGCGATTCTGACAGGCTGACTTTTGAGCAGTTGACTACTCGCTCTACAT 660
Qy 4584 ACAGCCTTGTATTATTGTATAGTTTTCTTTAATGCCTGACGTTCACGTGTTCCTATGCAT 4643
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 ACAGCCTTGTATTATTGTATAGTTTTCTTTAATGCCTGACGTTCACGTGTTCCTATGCAT 720
Qy 4644 TGCAGTGTATAGCGACCTGCCTATCGTGGACCTTTGTTTTTTTTCAATTCTATTTGTTTA 4703
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 TGCAGTGTATAGCGACCTGCCTATCGTGGACCTTTGTTTTTTTTCAATTCTATTTGTTTA 780
Qy 4704 ATCAGATACTGTACAGTAAAGATGCAGACTCACAAATAAACACGCATGAAAAAAAAGGTG 4763
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 ATCAGATACTGTACAGTAAAGATGCAGACTCACAAATAAACACGCATGAAAAAAAAGGTG 840
Qy 4764 CTATCCGTCTGAACTTCTGATCTACACTAGTACACAGAAGCTCTATAGTGGCAGTTGAAA 4823
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 CTATCCGTCTGAACTTCTGATCTACACTAGTACACAGAAGCTCTATAGTGGCAGTTGAAA 900
Qy 4824 ACGTATTTACACTGGCGTTTTTCAGTTCCGCCAGTGCTAGGGGCCAGTGGAAATCAGCAT 4883
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 ACGTATTTACACTGGCGTTTTTCAGTTCCGCCAGTGCTAGGGGCCAGTGGAAATCAGCAT 960
Qy 4884 TTCCACTGGCGGTTATTTTGGAACCGCCAGTGGAAAGTGCATTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCT 4943
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 TTCCACTGGCGGTTATTTTGGAACCGCCAGTGGAAAGTGCATTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCT 1020
Qy 4944 TAAGGAAACCGCCAGTGAAAAGTGCATTTTCAACCGCCAGTGAAAATGCACTTTACACTG 5003
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 TAAGGAAACCGCCAGTGAAAAGTGCATTTTCAACCGCCAGTGAAAATGCACTTTACACTG 1080
Qy 5004 GCGGTTTCCTTTATAAAACCGCCAGTGGAAATGCACTTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTTATT 5063
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 GCGGTTTCCTTTATAAAACCGCCAGTGGAAATGCACTTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTTATT 1140
Qy 5064 TAGCCGCCAGTGGAAGTTTTCCCGCCTTTTTTCAAAATTTCAAACAATACTGAATTATAG 5123
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 TAGCCGCCAGTGGAAGTTTTCCCGCCTTTTTTCAAAATTTCAAACAATACTGAATTATAG 1200
Qy 5124 ATATATTTATTTACACACACACAAACATATATATATATAGATCTATATTGATATTGAAAG 5183
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 ATATATTTATTTACACACACACAAACATATATATATATAGATCTATATTGATATTGAAAG 1260
Qy 5184 CAACATGGAATTAAATTCTATCATACATTTATATACATCAAAGTATTCTGTTTACAACCA 5243
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 CAACATGGAATTAAATTCTATCATACATTTATATACATCAAAGTATTCTGTTTACAACCA 1320
Qy 5244 TATATGCTTCATGCATTCTATACATCAAAAGTTTTCACCTAAGTTCTAATAACTATCTCG 5303
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 TATATGCTTCATGCATTCTATACATCAAAAGTTTTCACCTAAGTTCTAATAACTATCTCG 1380
Qy 5304 GCTAAGAGATAATCTACTAATTTTTGTTAGTATTCTAAACTCTGGCAAAGCTAATGTTCC 5363
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 GCTAAGAGATAATCTACTAATTTTTGTTAGTATTCTAAACTCTGGCAAAGCTAATGTTCC 1440
Qy 5364 GGAAGCATCGTGATATTTTCCTTCTCCGGGAATGACCTCTTTCAATATGAATGTGCAGAG 5423
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 GGAAGCATCGTGATATTTTCCTTCTCCGGGAATGACCTCTTTCAATATGAATGTGCAGAG 1500
Qy 5424 GTCCTCGACTATGCCATACAATGCAGCTTCGGTCAAGTTCTCCGGGTTTCCTCGTTGAAA 5483
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 GTCCTCGACTATGCCATACAATGCAGCTTCGGTCAAGTTCTCCGGGTTTCCTCGTTGAAA 1560
Qy 5484 TTGCTGTAAAGGAATTTTATAAACATCATCTATTTATACTCAATAATAACACATTTGCAT 5543
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 TTGCTGTAAAGGAATTTTATAAACATCATCTATTTATACTCAATAATAACACATTTGCAT 1620
Qy 5544 CTTTAATGACATAAATACATACTTGACTATTACTAATAATACCTTGTCAGGGTTCGTGAT 5603
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1621 CTTTAATGACATAAATACATACTTGACTATTACTAATAATACCTTGTCAGGGTTCGTGAT 1680
Qy 5604 GTATCGTCCGTTCACTCTCATGAACTCGCACGCATAGAATCCACATAGGACCGATCCTTG 5663
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1681 GTATCGTCCGTTCACTCTCATGAACTCGCACGCATAGAATCCACATAGGACCGATCCTTG 1740
Qy 5664 TGGTTGCTTGTGGCACTACATAACGGGAGATTGGTTATTTAGTTGCAACATTGTGTATGA 5723
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1741 TGGTTGCTTGTGGCACTACATAACGGGAGATTGGTTATTTAGTTGCAACATTGTGTATGA 1800
Qy 5724 TATGTATTCATAAAATCACATACTTACCGGCCAGTGATGATGGATGTCTAGTGGCACGCG 5783
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1801 TATGTATTCATAAAATCACATACTTACCGGCCAGTGATGATGGATGTCTAGTGGCACGCG 1860
Qy 5784 TTGTTTCGACAGGTCGTA 5801
||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 TTGTTTCGACAGGTCGTA 1878
JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NO: 5, the corn genome flanking 5′ to insert sequence, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 from 1-1409bp (see alignment below).
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:8 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 5
Qy 1 AGCCAATCACGGCAAAATACGCAAGCATAACGCGCGGCTCACGTCTCCCCACCCGATCCC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AGCCAATCACGGCAAAATACGCAAGCATAACGCGCGGCTCACGTCTCCCCACCCGATCCC 60
Qy 61 CGGCCCCACGCTACCATTTATGAAGCTCTTTCATTCATGTTACGTATGCATAAACGCCGG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 CGGCCCCACGCTACCATTTATGAAGCTCTTTCATTCATGTTACGTATGCATAAACGCCGG 120
Qy 121 TACCTGCGCGCGGTATACCCACCACCTGCCACGTCGACCCGCGGCCCGCACACCTAGCCA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TACCTGCGCGCGGTATACCCACCACCTGCCACGTCGACCCGCGGCCCGCACACCTAGCCA 180
Qy 181 CGCCGGGGGCCGGGGCTCTCTCTAGTAATGGAAGCCCTGGGCTTCCATTACCTCGTCCCT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CGCCGGGGGCCGGGGCTCTCTCTAGTAATGGAAGCCCTGGGCTTCCATTACCTCGTCCCT 240
Qy 241 GCGTGCAGCTCTCTTCTGTACTAAGATTTCATCCCTGATCCTGCGCGGGTCATCATCAAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GCGTGCAGCTCTCTTCTGTACTAAGATTTCATCCCTGATCCTGCGCGGGTCATCATCAAT 300
Qy 301 ACGAGACGGCCATCTCATGCATCCGTCCTCCTCTCCGATCCCTGATCTGATGGATCATTC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ACGAGACGGCCATCTCATGCATCCGTCCTCCTCTCCGATCCCTGATCTGATGGATCATTC 360
Qy 361 CAACAATATTTAATATACTACTCTACTAGCGTCGTGTGTACATGTGCCTTGTAGTACTGT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CAACAATATTTAATATACTACTCTACTAGCGTCGTGTGTACATGTGCCTTGTAGTACTGT 420
Qy 421 ACTGTACAGCTAGCTAGCTAGCTCCGAGCAGCAAAGCAGGCTACAGGCTAGGCAGGGCTT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 ACTGTACAGCTAGCTAGCTAGCTCCGAGCAGCAAAGCAGGCTACAGGCTAGGCAGGGCTT 480
Qy 481 GAAGTCGCATTGCATTGCATCGCATGCGCATCGCAGCATGCATCAATTCCTGCCCAGAGA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 GAAGTCGCATTGCATTGCATCGCATGCGCATCGCAGCATGCATCAATTCCTGCCCAGAGA 540
Qy 541 GCGAAGTGGATTAATTAATTAGCACCAAGGACTGTGGTACGTACTGCTGCTAAAAACTAA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 GCGAAGTGGATTAATTAATTAGCACCAAGGACTGTGGTACGTACTGCTGCTAAAAACTAA 600
Qy 601 AAAGGTTTGAAATGCTGAGAGAGAGAGAAAGAGAGAGAGTACATGCATGCAATGCAATGC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 AAAGGTTTGAAATGCTGAGAGAGAGAGAAAGAGAGAGAGTACATGCATGCAATGCAATGC 660
Qy 661 ACCATGCATCTTTCAATTCCATGGCGCCGTAGCATCTCTCTCTCTCTATAGCCTTCTCTT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 ACCATGCATCTTTCAATTCCATGGCGCCGTAGCATCTCTCTCTCTCTATAGCCTTCTCTT 720
Qy 721 TCCATCAACCTGAGCAAAAGAAAGCTGGTTTCCTGCAGGCTGCGTGCGCCCGGCGGCCGT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 TCCATCAACCTGAGCAAAAGAAAGCTGGTTTCCTGCAGGCTGCGTGCGCCCGGCGGCCGT 780
Qy 781 CTCTGCTGCGTGCATGCATCAGCATGCGCGCAGTAACTCCACACAGCCAGCCTCTCCTAC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 CTCTGCTGCGTGCATGCATCAGCATGCGCGCAGTAACTCCACACAGCCAGCCTCTCCTAC 840
Qy 841 AAAAGACATGTACTACAGTACCGCTACCGAGCTAGTACTAGGTACACACAGTGTGTGTGT 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 AAAAGACATGTACTACAGTACCGCTACCGAGCTAGTACTAGGTACACACAGTGTGTGTGT 900
Qy 901 GTGGCTGGCTACTAGTGTTTCTTCTTGAACGATGAATATACAGCACAATCCTCCTGCTCT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 GTGGCTGGCTACTAGTGTTTCTTCTTGAACGATGAATATACAGCACAATCCTCCTGCTCT 960
Qy 961 CTTGCTCTTGCTCTTGCGCTGCATGCTCTTCCTTCCCCGCACTCCCTAATAGCTAGGCAT 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CTTGCTCTTGCTCTTGCGCTGCATGCTCTTCCTTCCCCGCACTCCCTAATAGCTAGGCAT 1020
Qy 1021 GCATTGTCCATTGAATTGAAGCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTC 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 GCATTGTCCATTGAATTGAAGCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTC 1080
Qy 1081 TGCCAAGCCATGCCCATGCAAGTCGTCGTCTCTGTTCCAGCTGAATTCATGCCCATGCAA 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGCCAAGCCATGCCCATGCAAGTCGTCGTCTCTGTTCCAGCTGAATTCATGCCCATGCAA 1140
Qy 1141 ATGCAAGTCGTACGTCTCTCTTTCCAGAATTCAGCAGCAGTACTCTCCACGCACTGATCG 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 ATGCAAGTCGTACGTCTCTCTTTCCAGAATTCAGCAGCAGTACTCTCCACGCACTGATCG 1200
Qy 1201 CCGTCAGAGAGCTAGGTCAGTGGCTGCAGTGAGTGGGCATGATGAGTGCGTGATGAGGGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 CCGTCAGAGAGCTAGGTCAGTGGCTGCAGTGAGTGGGCATGATGAGTGCGTGATGAGGGC 1260
Qy 1261 TCTTTTGGAGCTACTACTACTAGCGTGTGTATTCATTCACTCTCACTGGCCGATAAACTG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TCTTTTGGAGCTACTACTACTAGCGTGTGTATTCATTCACTCTCACTGGCCGATAAACTG 1320
Qy 1321 ACCATCTATTTATCTCCAATCGATCGAATTCATCAGACCAGATTCTCTTTTATGGCCGGC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 ACCATCTATTTATCTCCAATCGATCGAATTCATCAGACCAGATTCTCTTTTATGGCCGGC 1380
Qy 1381 CGGCCGGCCCTGCTGACTGCTGACGCGGC 1409
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 CGGCCGGCCCTGCTGACTGCTGACGCGGC 1409
JOHNSON teaches SEQ ID NO: 6, the corn genome flanking 3′ to insert sequence, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 from 4245-5801bp (see alignment below).
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:8 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 6
Qy 4245 TCAAGTCATCTGCATGTGAAATAAACATCTTGTCCCTCCTCGATGATCCACCTCTCTCTC 4304
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 TCAAGTCATCTGCATGTGAAATAAACATCTTGTCCCTCCTCGATGATCCACCTCTCTCTC 60
Qy 4305 TCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCATGCTCAATTGCTCATGCATAT 4364
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 TCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCATGCTCAATTGCTCATGCATAT 120
Qy 4365 GCACGCGCGCGTTTGCTCGCCCATTGTTTGTTTGCTTTTGCTTTTATGTTCGATCGATGG 4424
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GCACGCGCGCGTTTGCTCGCCCATTGTTTGTTTGCTTTTGCTTTTATGTTCGATCGATGG 180
Qy 4425 ATGTATGTGTATATAGGCGAGAAGGGGCACCAGCTGCTGCATGCCTGTTTCTTACAGTCT 4484
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ATGTATGTGTATATAGGCGAGAAGGGGCACCAGCTGCTGCATGCCTGTTTCTTACAGTCT 240
Qy 4485 TGTATTGTATGCATGCAAAAGAGAGAAGCTAGACTAGACCAGACAACACTAGCGATTCTG 4544
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 TGTATTGTATGCATGCAAAAGAGAGAAGCTAGACTAGACCAGACAACACTAGCGATTCTG 300
Qy 4545 ACAGGCTGACTTTTGAGCAGTTGACTACTCGCTCTACATACAGCCTTGTATTATTGTATA 4604
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ACAGGCTGACTTTTGAGCAGTTGACTACTCGCTCTACATACAGCCTTGTATTATTGTATA 360
Qy 4605 GTTTTCTTTAATGCCTGACGTTCACGTGTTCCTATGCATTGCAGTGTATAGCGACCTGCC 4664
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 GTTTTCTTTAATGCCTGACGTTCACGTGTTCCTATGCATTGCAGTGTATAGCGACCTGCC 420
Qy 4665 TATCGTGGACCTTTGTTTTTTTTCAATTCTATTTGTTTAATCAGATACTGTACAGTAAAG 4724
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 TATCGTGGACCTTTGTTTTTTTTCAATTCTATTTGTTTAATCAGATACTGTACAGTAAAG 480
Qy 4725 ATGCAGACTCACAAATAAACACGCATGAAAAAAAAGGTGCTATCCGTCTGAACTTCTGAT 4784
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 ATGCAGACTCACAAATAAACACGCATGAAAAAAAAGGTGCTATCCGTCTGAACTTCTGAT 540
Qy 4785 CTACACTAGTACACAGAAGCTCTATAGTGGCAGTTGAAAACGTATTTACACTGGCGTTTT 4844
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 CTACACTAGTACACAGAAGCTCTATAGTGGCAGTTGAAAACGTATTTACACTGGCGTTTT 600
Qy 4845 TCAGTTCCGCCAGTGCTAGGGGCCAGTGGAAATCAGCATTTCCACTGGCGGTTATTTTGG 4904
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TCAGTTCCGCCAGTGCTAGGGGCCAGTGGAAATCAGCATTTCCACTGGCGGTTATTTTGG 660
Qy 4905 AACCGCCAGTGGAAAGTGCATTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTAAGGAAACCGCCAGTGAAAA 4964
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 AACCGCCAGTGGAAAGTGCATTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTAAGGAAACCGCCAGTGAAAA 720
Qy 4965 GTGCATTTTCAACCGCCAGTGAAAATGCACTTTACACTGGCGGTTTCCTTTATAAAACCG 5024
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 GTGCATTTTCAACCGCCAGTGAAAATGCACTTTACACTGGCGGTTTCCTTTATAAAACCG 780
Qy 5025 CCAGTGGAAATGCACTTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTTATTTAGCCGCCAGTGGAAGTTTTC 5084
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 CCAGTGGAAATGCACTTTTCACTGGCGGTTTTCTTTATTTAGCCGCCAGTGGAAGTTTTC 840
Qy 5085 CCGCCTTTTTTCAAAATTTCAAACAATACTGAATTATAGATATATTTATTTACACACACA 5144
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 CCGCCTTTTTTCAAAATTTCAAACAATACTGAATTATAGATATATTTATTTACACACACA 900
Qy 5145 CAAACATATATATATATAGATCTATATTGATATTGAAAGCAACATGGAATTAAATTCTAT 5204
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 CAAACATATATATATATAGATCTATATTGATATTGAAAGCAACATGGAATTAAATTCTAT 960
Qy 5205 CATACATTTATATACATCAAAGTATTCTGTTTACAACCATATATGCTTCATGCATTCTAT 5264
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CATACATTTATATACATCAAAGTATTCTGTTTACAACCATATATGCTTCATGCATTCTAT 1020
Qy 5265 ACATCAAAAGTTTTCACCTAAGTTCTAATAACTATCTCGGCTAAGAGATAATCTACTAAT 5324
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 ACATCAAAAGTTTTCACCTAAGTTCTAATAACTATCTCGGCTAAGAGATAATCTACTAAT 1080
Qy 5325 TTTTGTTAGTATTCTAAACTCTGGCAAAGCTAATGTTCCGGAAGCATCGTGATATTTTCC 5384
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TTTTGTTAGTATTCTAAACTCTGGCAAAGCTAATGTTCCGGAAGCATCGTGATATTTTCC 1140
Qy 5385 TTCTCCGGGAATGACCTCTTTCAATATGAATGTGCAGAGGTCCTCGACTATGCCATACAA 5444
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 TTCTCCGGGAATGACCTCTTTCAATATGAATGTGCAGAGGTCCTCGACTATGCCATACAA 1200
Qy 5445 TGCAGCTTCGGTCAAGTTCTCCGGGTTTCCTCGTTGAAATTGCTGTAAAGGAATTTTATA 5504
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 TGCAGCTTCGGTCAAGTTCTCCGGGTTTCCTCGTTGAAATTGCTGTAAAGGAATTTTATA 1260
Qy 5505 AACATCATCTATTTATACTCAATAATAACACATTTGCATCTTTAATGACATAAATACATA 5564
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 AACATCATCTATTTATACTCAATAATAACACATTTGCATCTTTAATGACATAAATACATA 1320
Qy 5565 CTTGACTATTACTAATAATACCTTGTCAGGGTTCGTGATGTATCGTCCGTTCACTCTCAT 5624
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 CTTGACTATTACTAATAATACCTTGTCAGGGTTCGTGATGTATCGTCCGTTCACTCTCAT 1380
Qy 5625 GAACTCGCACGCATAGAATCCACATAGGACCGATCCTTGTGGTTGCTTGTGGCACTACAT 5684
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 GAACTCGCACGCATAGAATCCACATAGGACCGATCCTTGTGGTTGCTTGTGGCACTACAT 1440
Qy 5685 AACGGGAGATTGGTTATTTAGTTGCAACATTGTGTATGATATGTATTCATAAAATCACAT 5744
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 AACGGGAGATTGGTTATTTAGTTGCAACATTGTGTATGATATGTATTCATAAAATCACAT 1500
Qy 5745 ACTTACCGGCCAGTGATGATGGATGTCTAGTGGCACGCGTTGTTTCGACAGGTCGTA 5801
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 ACTTACCGGCCAGTGATGATGGATGTCTAGTGGCACGCGTTGTTTCGACAGGTCGTA 1557
Thus, JOHNSON teaches the entirety of instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 8.
In regard to claims 11 and 13, JOHNSON teaches sequence SEQ ID NO: 3, which shares 100% sequence identity with instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 16 from 1413-1387bp (see alignment below). Thus, JOHNSON teaches a DNA element comprising a cognate guide RNA recognition site (CgRRS).
INSTANT SEQUENCE SEQ ID NO:16 ALIGNED WITH JOHNSON SEQ ID NO: 3
Qy 1 TTTGGCCGCGTCAGCAGTCAGCAGGGC 27
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1413 TTTGGCCGCGTCAGCAGTCAGCAGGGC 1387
In regard to claims 15 and 16, JOHNSON teaches corn plants comprising the 3272 genotype, to transgenic seed from the corn plants (i.e., a transgenic maize plant part comprising the maize plant cell of claim 6, wherein said maize plant part is a seed (instant claim 15); a transgenic maize plant comprising the maize plant cell of claim 6 (instant claim 16) (Johnson, column 10, lines 62-64).
In regard to claim 17, JOHNSON teaches transgenic corn plants comprising the genotype of the invention, seed from transgenic corn plants comprising the genotype of the invention, and to methods for producing a transgenic corn plant comprising the genotype of the invention by crossing a corn inbred comprising the genotype of the invention with itself (i.e., a method for obtaining a bulked population of inbred seed comprising selfing the transgenic maize plant and harvesting seed comprising the transgenic locus from the selfed maize plant or another corn line of a different genotype) (Johnson, column 3, lines 9-15).
In regard to claim 18, JOHNSON teaches and claims a method of producing hybrid corn seeds (i.e., a method for obtaining hybrid maize seed) comprising:
a) planting seeds of a first inbred corn line comprising a nucleotide sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 2. and seeds of a second inbred line having a different genotype;
b) cultivating corn plants resulting from said planting until time of flowering;
c) emasculating said flowers of plants of one of the corn inbred lines;
d) sexually crossing the two different inbred lines with each other (i.e., crossing the transgenic maize plant to a second maize plant which is genetically distinct from the first maize plant); and
e) harvesting the hybrid seed produced thereby (i.e., harvesting the seed comprising the transgenic locus from the cross) (Johnson, column 16, lines 20-35; claim 8).
Summary
Claim 12 is free of the prior art, due to the failure of the prior art to teach or suggest an INOT1824 transgenic locus comprising an insertion and/or substitution of a DNA element comprising a CgRRS in a DNA junction polynucleotide of said INOT1824 transgenic locus and wherein said cognate guide RNA recognition site (CgRRS) comprises SEQ ID NO: 16, wherein the insertion and/or substitution is in a 3' junction polynucleotide of said INOT1824 transgenic locus. Accordingly, claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
CHRISTINA MEADOWS
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/CHRISTINA L MEADOWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663