DETAILED ACTION
Claims 36-37, 49, 52 and 55-67 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant's Information Disclosure Statements filed on 07/29/2024, 10/09/2024, 12/06/2024, 03/10/2025, 05/28/2025, 07/24/2025, 11/14/2025 and 12/12/2025 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc), the Federal Circuit noted the importance of an application's disclosure and stated, “the hallmark of written description is disclosure.” A disclosure adequately describes an invention when it “reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1351. “A ‘mere wish or plan' for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description.” Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs, 636 F.3d 1341, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
What is required to meet the written description requirement “varies with the nature and scope of the invention at issue, and with the scientific and technologic knowledge already in existence.” Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The Federal Circuit explained what is required to meet the written description requirement in Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co.:
This inquiry, as we have long held, is a question of fact. Ralston Purina, 772 F.2d at 575. Thus, we have recognized that determining whether a patent complies with the written description requirement will necessarily vary depending on the context. Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357-58 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Specifically, the level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology. Id. For generic claims, we have set forth a number of factors for evaluating the adequacy of the disclosure, including “the existing knowledge in the particular field, the extent and content of the prior art, the maturity of the science or technology, [and] the predictability of the aspect at issue.” Id. at 1359.
A written description of a chemical genus “requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name” of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials. Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 199 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Federal Circuit reflected on Eli Lilly in Ariad while explaining how to sufficiently describe of a genus of compounds:
We held that a sufficient description of a genus instead requires the disclosure of
either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or
structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus. Id. at 1568-69. We explained that an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id. at 1568 (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1993)). We have also held that functional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function. See Enzo, 323 F.3d at 964 (quoting 66 Fed. Reg. 1099 (Jan. 5, 2001)). But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species.
A "representative number of species" must typify the entire claimed genus and account for variation between the species of the genus.
[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated. Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In the instant case, a monoacylglycerol lipase (MAGL) inhibitor encompasses any known and unknown molecule (e.g. compound, siRNA, antibody, etc) that can inhibit monoacylglycerol lipase. Applicants only describe compounds of formula (I-A), formula (I-B), formula (I-B-1), Formula (I-B-2), Formula (II) and Formula (III) as MAGL inhibitors. This is not adequate description to allow one skilled in the art to ascertain that Applicant is in possession of the entire scope of that genus. Applicants have not described this genus in a manner that would allow once skilled in the art to immediately envisage any MAGL inhibitor contemplated for use, especially given the wide variance among MAGL inhibitors.
Chemistry is generally considered to be unpredictable and/or have unpredictable factors. See, e.g.,In re Carleton, 599 F.2d 1021, 202 USPQ 165, 170 (CCPA 1979) ("Although there is a vast amount of knowledge about general relationships in the chemical arts, chemistry is still largely empirical, and there is often great difficulty in predicting precisely how a given compound will behave.”). The pharmaceutical art, that is the use of a chemical compound to affect a desired physiological activity, is generally considered to be unpredictable and/or have unpredictable factors. See, e.g., In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839 (CCPA 1970) (“In cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved (emphasis added); In re Bowden, 183 F.2d 115, 86 USPQ 419, 423 (“chemical reactions frequently are unpredictable”).
Seven species are not a “representative number of species” for an unpredictable art such as a MAGL inhibitor. See, e.g., Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1354-55 (claiming that the inventor has an obligation to disclose examples when the art is unpredictable). The specification, then, is considered devoid of sufficiently detailed, relevant, identifying characteristics demonstrating that Applicant was in possession of the entirety of the genus now claimed, i.e., additional complete or partial structures, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination thereof demonstrating possession of the entirety of the claimed genus. Stating that a compound selectively inhibits MAGL with an IC50 does not provide adequate information as to what chemical structures or functional groups need to be present in order to cause inhibition of MAGL.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by limiting the scope of the claimed genus in accord with the claimed species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Amoussa et al (see WIPO Pub No. 2022/223750, pub. 10/27/2022 and filed 04/22/2022 which claims priority to 21170090.0, filed 04/23/2021, cited in IDS filed 07/29/2024) as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Anxiety Guide (retrieved from https://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety-guide/main-types on 05/26/2026).
Amoussa et al teaches that MAGL inhibitors of formula
may be used for the treatment of anxiety (see p. 1). According to Anxiety Guide (retrieved from https://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety-guide/main-types on 05/26/2026), there are 7 categories of anxiety disorders, which includes Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD) and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Since Amoussa teaches MAGL inhibitors for treating anxiety and there are only 7 categories of anxiety disorders, it would be obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the MAGL inhibitors of Amoussa in treating GAD or/or PTSD. When a person of ordinary skill is faced with “a finite number of identified, predictable solutions” to a problem and pursues “the known options within his or her technical grasp,” the resulting discovery “is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1742. So too, “[g]ranting patent protection to advances that would occur in the ordinary course without real innovation retards progress.” Id. at 1741.
Double Patenting
Claim 36-37, 49, 52, 55-67 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 63-69 of copending Application No. 18/724,744, (hereafter referred to as ‘744) in view of Mulvihill et al (see Life Sciences, 2013, Vol. 92, p. 492-497) and Anxiety Guide (retrieved from https://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety-guide/main-types on 05/26/2026).
‘744 is drawn to a method of treating reversibly inhibiting monoacylglycerol lipase (MAGL) in a human subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering a compound such as
as well as other overlapping compounds as the instant application. The instant claims are drawn to a method of using the same compounds for treating an anxiety disorder.
Mulvihill teaches that MAGL inhibitors exert anxiolytic responses and chronic MAGL blockade prevented chronic stress-induced anxiety-like behavior. MAGL inhibitors show promise in reducing anxiety (see p. 495). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the instant compounds which are taught to reduce anxiety to inhibit MAGL given that Mulvhill teaches that MAGL inhibitors may reduce anxiety. Further regarding Anxiety, different types of anxiety are taught to be generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/KAREN CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623