DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the printed ink" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the head array module" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pschenitzka (US 2018/0241007).
With regard to claim 1, Pschenitzka discloses an inkjet printing method [Fig. 4I-4IV] for
forming a thick layer (130) having a thickness on a substrate (110) by using an inkjet printing apparatus [para. 0019] comprising a head module [Para. 0045] configured to eject an ink [Para. 0022], the method comprising:
a primary printing step [Fig. 4I] of forming a dot print layer (120) [Para. 0022] so that an array in
the form of dots with constant spacing is formed to prevent the ink droplets, which are deposited on the substrate, from attracting each other; and
a secondary printing step [Fig. 4II] of forming a thick print layer (127) having the thickness by
ejecting an ink (125) [ink droplets; Para. 0022] in an amount to print a thick coating having a uniform thickness to overlap on the dot print layer [Fig. 4IV].
With regard to claim 2, wherein, in the primary printing step, a distance between the dots is
formed to be less than a size of an ink droplet ejected in the secondary printing step [ink droplets dropped in the secondary step sits between the dots formed in the primary step without falling in between each in droplet; Fig. 4III].
With regard to claim 11, wherein the ink applied in the secondary printing step is the same ink or an ink having the same surface tension as the ink applied in the primary printing step [inks used to form the first and second patterned regions on a substrate may include the same monomers; Para. 0026; claims 6-7].
With regard to claim 12, wherein only the secondary printing step is additionally performed to increase the thickness of the thick layer [Fig. 2IV].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-7, 9, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pschenitzka (US 2018/0241007) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Spezzani (US 2021/0086538).
With regard to claim 3, Pschenitzka’s inkjet printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the primary printing step is performed while the substrate relatively moves in one direction of a substrate printing direction, and the secondary printing step is performed while the substrate relatively moves in an opposite direction to the one direction of the substrate printing direction.
However, Spezzani teaches a substrate moves relative to the head array module in the substrate printing direction and a direction opposite to the substrate printing direction [Para. 0023].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of Pschenitzka to move the substrate relative to one direction of a substrate printing direction in the primary printing step and to move relative to a direction opposite to the substrate printing direction in order to deposit and overlap the complete layer on the same surface of the substrate uniformly.
With regard to claim 4, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Pschenitzka also discloses further comprising an ink curing step of curing the printed ink [Para. 0026], wherein the ink curing step comprises: a dot print layer curing step of curing the dot print layer at a front side in the substrate printing direction in the primary printing step [drying or curing the first ink to form a first pattern; claim 1]; and a thick print layer curing step of curing the thick print layer at a rear side in the substrate printing direction in the primary printing step [drying or curing the second ink to form a second patten; claim 1].
With regard to claim 6, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and Spezzani also discloses wherein the primary printing step and the secondary printing step are performed at positions spaced apart from each other in the substrate printing direction [plurality of printing groups equipped to release a respective ink onto the substrate; Para. 0013].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method to print the primary printing step and the secondary printing step at position spaced apart in order to layer ink in a single pass.
With regard to claim 7, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 6, and Pschenitzka also discloses further comprising an ink curing step of curing the printed ink [drying or curing the ink; claim 1] wherein the ink curing step comprises: a dot print layer curing step of curing the dot print layer in the substrate printing direction in the primary printing step; and a thick print layer curing step of curing the thick print layer at the front side in the substrate printing direction in the secondary printing step drying or curing the first ink and the second ink; claim 1].
Pschenitzka does not disclose curing the dot print layer and the thick print layer at a front side in the substrate printing direction.
However, Spezzani discloses a curing module (38) configured to cure the thick layer, wherein the curing module comprises: a first curing module (38) installed in front of the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the dot print layer [Para. 0109; Fig. 2]; and a second curing module (38) installed behind the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the thick print layer [Para. 0109].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inkjet printing apparatus of Pschenitzka with a first curing module and a second curing module installed in front and behind the head array respectively in order that to preheat the surface of the substrate at the front side in the substrate before the head releases fluid on it and dry the fluid at the front side after the fluid is deposited.
With regard to claim 9, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 6, and Pschenitzka also discloses further comprising an ink curing step [Claim 1] and Spezzani discloses an ink curing step of curing the ink printed at a rear side in the substrate printing direction in the secondary printing step [a curing module (38) installed behind the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the ink ejected from the last printhead [Para. 0109].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inkjet printing apparatus of Pschenitzka with a curing module installed behind the head array dry the fluid after the fluid is deposited.
With regard to claim 13, Pschenitzka discloses an inkjet printing apparatus (100A) [Para. 0015, 0019] for providing a thick layer [composite film layer; Para. 0015] having a thickness on a substrate (110) [variety of substrates; Para. 0015, 0019], the inkjet printing apparatus comprising:
a printhead installed above the substrate to eject an ink [Para. 0016, 0045] on the substrate,
wherein the inkjet printing apparatus is configured to perform:
a primary printing step of forming a dot print layer to form an array in the form of dots with constant spacing so that the dots are sprayed from the head array module to be prevented from attracting each other [Para. 0019; Fig. 2]; and
a secondary printing step of forming a thick print layer having a thickness by allowing the head array module to eject an ink in an amount to print a thick coating having a uniform thickness to overlap on the dot print layer [Fig. 2III; Para. 0019],
Pschenitzka does not disclose the printhead as a head array module wherein the head array module is arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction, and provided so that a plurality of heads overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction, the primary printing step forming a dot print layer while the substrate moves relative to the head array module in the substrate printing direction and the secondary printing step forming a thick layer while the substrate moves relative to the head array module in a direction opposite to the substrate printing direction.
However, Spezzani teaches a head array module (31) installed above a substrate (L1) to eject an ink [Para. 0072] arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction (C) [Para. 0077; Fig. 2], and provided so that a plurality of heads (310) [Para. 0015] overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction [Fig. 2], and the substrate moves relative to the head array module in the substrate printing direction and a direction opposite to the substrate printing direction [Para. 0023].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head of Pschenitzka as an head array module in order to perform the primary printing step of forming a dot layer and a secondary printing step of forming a thick print layer.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure substrate to move relative to the head array module in a direction opposite to the substrate printing direction in order to deposit the complete layer on the same surface of the slab.
With regard to claim 14, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and Pschenitzka also discloses wherein, in the primary printing step, a distance between the dots is formed to be less than a size of an ink droplet ejected in the secondary printing step [ink droplets dropped in the secondary step sits between the dots formed in the primary step without falling in between each in droplet; Fig. 4III].
With regard to claim 15, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 14, and Spezzani also discloses further comprising a curing module (38) configured to cure the thick layer, wherein the curing module comprises:
a first curing module (38) installed in front of the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the dot print layer [Para. 0109; Fig. 2]; and
a second curing module (38) installed behind the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the thick print layer [Para. 0109], wherein the first and second curing modules are provided to be moved simultaneously with the head array module forward and backward in the substrate printing direction by the substrate transfer device [Para. 0104].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inkjet printing apparatus of Pschenitzka with a first curing module and a second curing module installed in front and behind the head array respectively in order to preheat the surface of the substrate before the head releases fluid on it and dry the fluid after the fluid is deposited.
With regard to claim 16, Pschenitzka’s modified inkjet printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and Spezzani also discloses further comprising: a curing module (38) configured to cure the thick layer, the curing module comprising:
a first curing module (38) installed in front of the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the dot print layer [Para. 0109; Fig. 2]; and
a second curing module (38) installed behind the head array module in the substrate printing direction to cure the thick print layer [Para. 0109],
wherein the inkjet printing apparatus comprises first and second curing module transfer devices (351) [pair of flanks; Fig. 2] that are installed to be, respectively, connected to the first curing module and the second curing module to transfer the first and second curing modules forward and backward (BDG) in the substrate printing direction separately from the substrate transfer device [Fig. 2].
With regard to claim 17, Pschenitzka discloses an inkjet printing apparatus (100A) [Para. 0015, 0019] for providing a thick layer [composite film layer; Para. 0015] having a thickness on a substrate (110) [variety of substrates; Para. 0015, 0019], the inkjet printing apparatus comprising:
a printhead installed above the substrate to eject an ink [Para. 0016, 0045] on the substrate,
wherein the inkjet printing apparatus is configured to perform:
a primary printing step of forming a dot print layer to form an array in the form of dots with constant spacing so that the dots are sprayed from the head array module to be prevented from attracting each other while the substrate moves relative to the head array module in the substrate printing direction [Para. 0019; Fig. 2]; and
a secondary printing step of forming a thick print layer having a thickness by allowing the head array module to eject an ink in an amount to print a thick coating having a uniform thickness to overlap on the dot print layer [Fig. 2III; Para. 0019],
Pschenitzka does not disclose the printhead as a two head array modules wherein the head array module is arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction, and provided so that a plurality of heads overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction, wherein the head array modules comprise a first head array module installed at a rear side in the substrate direction , and a second head array module installed behind the first head array module in the substrate printing direction.
However, Spezzani teaches two head array modules (31) [Fig. 2] installed above a substrate (L1) to eject an ink [Para. 0072] on the substrate, wherein the head array module is arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction (C) [Para. 0077; Fig. 2], and provided so that a plurality of heads (310) [Para. 0015] overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction [Fig. 2] and wherein the head array modules comprise a first head array module installed at a rear side in the substrate direction [Fig. 2], and a second head array module installed behind the first head array module in the substrate printing direction [Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head of Pschenitzka as an head array module in order to perform the primary printing step of forming a dot layer and a secondary printing step of forming a thick print layer.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the printing apparatus with a first head array module and a second head array installed at a rear side and a second head behind the first head array module respectively in the substrate printing direction in order to deposit the complete layer on the same surface of the slab.
With regard to claim 18, Pschenitzka’s modified printing apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 17, and Pschenitzka also discloses wherein, in the primary printing step, a distance between the dots is formed to be less than a diameter of an ink droplet ejected in the secondary printing step [ink droplets dropped in the secondary step sits between the dots formed in the primary step without falling in between each in droplet; Fig. 4III].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pschenitzka (US 2018/0241007) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ogawa (US 2015/0224795).
With regard to claim 10, Pschenitzka’s printing method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein a plurality of ink droplets are ejected by one signal at the same time or continuously in the secondary printing step so that the ink is ejected in an amount greater than an amount of the ink ejected in the primary printing step.
However, Ogawa teaches a plurality of ink droplets ejected by one signal at the same time or continuously in the step of discharging a second liquid [para. 0042]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to eject the plurality of ink droplets by one signal at the same time or continuously in the secondary printing so that the print quality is not affected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to because the prior art does not teach or make obvious “wherein, in the thick print layer curing step, at least an edge portion of the thick print layer is cured to prevent non-uniform ink spreading on an edge of the thick print layer when the secondary printing step is performed”.
Claim 8 is objected to because the prior art does not teach or make obvious “wherein, in the thick print layer curing step, at least an edge portion of is cured to prevent non- uniform ink spreading on an edge of the thick print layer during the printing in the secondary printing step.”
Claims 19-23 are objected to because the prior art does not teach or make obvious “wherein the second head array module transfer device adjusts a relative transfer speed of the second head array module to the first head array module so that the secondary printing step is performed after leveling of the ink ejected in the primary printing step is completed.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abe (CN 109641451) discloses a first and second head array module transfer devices (63, 64) that are connected to the first head array module (43) and the second head array module (46) to transfer the first and second head array modules [Fig. 4]. The second head array module transfer device adjusts amount of movement of the head module and so does not adjust a relative transfer speed of the second head array module to the first head array module so that the secondary printing step is performed after leveling of the ink ejected in the primary printing step is completed.
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853