DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pschenitzka (U.S. Pub. 2018/0241007) in view of Yanaka (JP 2020075248)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet printing method for forming a thick film layer having a thickness [t] on a substrate by using an ink jet printing apparatus comprising a head module configured to discharge an ink (Abstract; Paragraphs 0017-0019), the method comprising:
A first printing step of forming a thin film printing layer (132) having a thickness [t1] on the substrate (110) (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0019-0020)
A second printing step of forming a thick film printing layer (130,134) having a thickness [t2=t-t1] by discharging an ink in an amount in which a thick film coating having a uniform thickness is printed to overlap on the thin film printing layer (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 0019-0021)
Pschenitzka does not expressly disclose discharging the ink in an amount to allow ink droplets deposited on the substrate to overlap and attract each other to print a thin film coating having a uniform thickness, however Yanaka discloses it is known in the art to provide a film coated object wherein overlapped and adjacent ink drops are merged to form a uniform and level coating (Figure 7; Paragraphs 0060-0061)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of forming a coating with an excellent image and hardness (Abstract)
Regarding claim 2, wherein the second printing step is performed after a time period of leveling the ink droplets discharged in the first printing step (the second droplets [125] will be formed after the first polymer structure [132] has hardened; Figure 2; Paragraph 0019)
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first printing step and the second printing step are performed at positions spaced apart from each other int eh substrate printing direction (the second droplets [125] will be formed after the first polymer structure [132] has hardened; Figure 2; Paragraph 0019)
Regarding claim 10, wherein a size of each of the ink droplets in the second printing step is greater than or equal to a size of each of the ink droplets in the first printing step (Figure 2; Paragraph 0018)
Regarding claim 11, wherein a plurality of ink droplets are discharged by one signal at the same time or continuously in the second printing step (second ink droplets 125) so that the ink is discharged in an amount greater than an amount of the ink discharged in the first printing step (first ink droplets 120) (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 12, wherein the ink applied in the second printing step is the same ink (the second ink 134 will have a matching polymer matrix as the first ink 132)
Regarding claim 13, wherein only the second printing step is additionally performed to increase the thickness of the thick film layer (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 0019-0021)
Regarding claim 14, Pschenitzka discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the thickness of the thin film printing layer in the first printing step is 0.08t to 0.3t, and the thickness of the thick film printing layer in the second printing step is 0.992t to 0.7t. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the thickness of the thin film printing layer in the first printing step is 0.08t to 0.3t, and the thickness of the thick film printing layer in the second printing step is 0.992t to 0.7t, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed int eh prior art, discovering the optimum or worakable ranges ivnovles only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of the thickness of the thin film printing layer in the first priting step is 0.08t to 0.3t, and the thickness of the thick film printing layer in the second printing step is 0.992t to 0.7t, for the purpose of enhancing the device and apparatus performance (Paragraph 00002)
Regarding claim 15, an ink jet printing apparatus for providing a thick film layer having a thickness on a substrate (Abstract; Paragraphs 0017-0019), the ink jet printing apparatus comprising:
A head array module installed above the substrate to discharge an ink on the substrate (Paragraph 0045)
A first printing step of forming a thin film printing layer (132) having a thickness [t1] on the substrate (110) (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0019-0020)
A second printing step of forming a thick film printing layer (130,134) having a thickness [t2=t-t1] by discharging an ink in an amount in which a thick film coating having a uniform thickness is printed to overlap on the thin film printing layer (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 0019-0021)
Pschenitzka does not expressly disclose a head array module arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction, provided so that a plurality of heads overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction; which are sprayed from the head array module to be deposited on the substrate while the substrate moves relative to the head array module; and discharging the ink in an amount to allow ink droplets deposited on the substrate to overlap and attract each other to print a thin film coating having a uniform thickness
Yanaka discloses a head array module arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction, provided so that a plurality of heads overlap each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction; which are sprayed from the head array module to be deposited on the substrate while the substrate moves relative to the head array module (Paragraphs 0027-0031)
Further, Yanaka discloses it is known in the art to provide a film coated object wherein overlapped and adjacent ink drops are merged to form a uniform and level coating (Figure 7; Paragraphs 0060-0061)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of forming a coating with an excellent image and hardness (Abstract)
Regarding claims 16-17, Pschenitzka discloses the second droplets [125] will be formed after the first polymer structure [132] has hardened; (Figure 2; Paragraph 0019), further the scanning direction and speed of the head units and the substrate will be controlled (Paragraphs 0027-0029, 0038)
Claim(s) 7-9, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pschenitzka (U.S. Pub. 2018/0241007) in view of Yanaka (JP 2020075248) and further in view of Choi (KR 101081702)
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses curing modules (116, 134) installed in front of the head array module (114) in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1) to cure the thin and thick film layer at a front side in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka and Choi into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of providing clear and outstanding color or texture (Choi: Abstract)
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses at least an edge portion of the printing region is cured to prevent non-uniform ink spreading on an edge of the thick film printing layer during the printing in the second printing step (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka and Choi into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of providing clear and outstanding color or texture (Choi: Abstract)
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses a first curing module (116) installed in front of the head array module (114) in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1) to cure the film layer
A second curing module (134) installed behind the head array module (114) in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1) to cure the film layer (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka and Choi into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of providing clear and outstanding color or texture (Choi: Abstract)
Regarding claim 18, Yanaka discloses first and second curing modules (14a, 14b) are provided to be moved simultaneously with the head array module (12) forward and backward in the substrate printing direction by the substrate transfer device (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0028-0029)
Choi discloses a first curing module (116) installed in front of the head array module (114) in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1) to cure the film layer
A second curing module (134) installed behind the head array module (114) in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1) to cure the film layer (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka and Choi into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of forming a coating with an excellent image and hardness (Pschenitzka: Abstract) and providing clear and outstanding color or texture (Choi: Abstract)
Regarding claim 20, Pschenitzka discloses an ink jet printing apparatus for providing a thick film layer having a thickness on a substrate (Abstract; Paragraphs 0017-0019), the ink jet printing apparatus comprising:
Wherein the ink jet printing apparatus is configured to perform: a first printing step of forming a thin film printing layer (132) having a thickness [t1] on the substrate (110) (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0019-0020)
A second printing step of forming a thick film printing layer (130,134) having a thickness [t2=t-t1] by discharging an ink in an amount in which a thick film coating having a uniform thickness is printed to overlap on the thin film printing layer (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 0019-0021)
Yanaka discloses it is known in the art to provide a film coated object wherein overlapped and adjacent ink drops are merged to form a uniform and level coating (Figure 7; Paragraphs 0060-0061)
Choi discloses two head array modules (112, 114), each of which is installed above the substrate to discharge an ink on the substrate, wherein the head array modules are arranged in a direction perpendicular to a substrate printing direction, and provided so that a plurality of heads overlap (113 overlaps) each other to form an array in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1); wherein the head array modules comprises a first head array module installed at a rear side in the substrate printing direction, and a second head array module installed behind the first head array module in the substrate printing direction (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yanaka and Choi into the device of Pschenitzka, for the purpose of forming a coating with an excellent image and hardness (Pschenitzka: Abstract) and providing clear and outstanding color or texture (Choi: Abstract)
Regarding claim 21, Pschenitzka discloses the second droplets [125] will be formed after the first polymer structure [132] has hardened; (Figure 2; Paragraph 0019), further the scanning direction and speed of the head units and the substrate will be controlled (Paragraphs 0027-0029, 0038)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 22-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 June 18, 2026