DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 28 and 48 – 53 are pending in this application. Applicant preliminary amendment, submitted January 29, 2025, is entered, wherein claims 5 – 6, 10, 15 – 16, 18 – 19, 21 – 26, and 48 – 53 are amended and claims 29 – 47 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 28 and 48 – 53 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/US2022/054383, filed December 30, 2022, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/295,290, filed December 30, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 and 05/13/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 50 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 49. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Sequence Compliance
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825.
The sequence disclosures are located in Table 3 of pages 51 – 52, wherein SEQ ID NO: 8, SEQ ID NO: 9, SEQ ID NO: 10, SEQ ID NO: 17, SEQ ID NO: 20, SEQ ID NO: 23, SEQ ID NO: 24, SEQ ID NO: 27, and SEQ ID NO: 28 are not disclosed in the Sequence Listing.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1); as well as
An amendment specifically directing entry of the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure into the application in accordance with 1.825(b)(2);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" includes no new matter in accordance with 1.825(b)(5); and
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(4).
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) a) or b) above, Applicant must also provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter;
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) b), c), or d) above, Applicant must also provide:
A replacement CRF in accordance with 1.825(b)(6); and
Statement according to item 2) a) or b) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 – 6, 10, and 25 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 – 6 recite “Table 2” and “Table 3”. Claim 10 recites “Table 2”. Claims 25 – 26 recite “Table 2” and “Table 1”, respectively. The reference to “Table 1”, “Table 2”, and “Table 3” renders the claims indefinite, as it introduces ambiguity by relying on material outside the claim to define essential aspects of the invention. The claims do not describe the relevant subject matter from “Table 1”, “Table 2”, and “Table 3” (e.g. structural feature), but instead point to the tables in the specification for that information. It is therefore unclear what is actually being claimed. According to MPEP § 2173.05(s), claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to specific figure or table is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. No such exceptional circumstances is evidence here. Rather, the reference to “Table 1”, “Table 2”, and “Table 3” avoids clearly setting forth the claimed subject matter. Because the claims rely on external tables without reciting the relevant subject matter directly, the metes and bounds of the invention cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Therefore, claims 5 – 6, 10, and 25 – 26 are indefinite.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites that the peptide comprises a peptide in Table 1. However, Table 1 of the specification does not appear to identify peptides or peptide sequences. Instead, Table 1 appears to list exemplary compounds of Formula I. The specification separately identifies exemplary peptides and peptide sequences in Table 3. Accordingly, it is unclear which peptide is required by claim 26 because the claim refers to Table 1, while the specification’s peptide disclosure appears to be in Table 3. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 26 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination and application of the prior art, claim 26 is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation as requiring a peptide limitation associated with the recited R9 substituent. However, claim 26 is not interpreted as excluding prior art that teaches the afibrotic compound species disclosed in Table 1, because Table 1 appears to identify exemplary Formula I compounds rather than peptide sequences. Accordingly, notwithstanding the indefiniteness of the peptide limitation, prior art teaching the corresponding afibrotic compound remains applicable to claim 26 to the extent the claim is understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 28, and 48 – 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmona et al. (WO2019/067766A1) in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
Carmona et al. teach a cell composition comprising an active cell or derivatives thereof, as well as compositions, pharmaceutical products, and implantable element comprising an active cell (Abstract). Carmona et al. teach that, in some embodiments, the implantable element contains a polymeric material, wherein the polymeric material is alginate. In some embodiments, the alginate is a high guluronic acid (G), and comprises greater than about 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, or more guluronic acid (G) (page 54, lines 28 – 31). Carmona et al. teach that the implantable element comprising an engineered active cell that produces a therapeutic agent (page 2, lines 3 – 5). Thus, Carmona et al. teach a compositions comprising alginate and engineered active cell that may be an implantable element, wherein alginate is a high guluronic acid alginate and the engineered active cell is capable of producing a therapeutic agent, which reads on the limitations “high guluronic acid (G) alginate” of claim 28, “an implantable element comprising a polysaccharide polymer” of claims 49 – 50, “further comprising a cell” of claim 51, and “the cell produces a therapeutic substance” of claim 52. Carmona et al. teach that the implantable element comprises an active cell, wherein the active cell is entirely or partially disposed within an enclosing component (page 18, lines 2 – 4). In some embodiments, the enclosing component comprises a polymer hydrogel. In some embodiments, the polymer hydrogel comprises an alginate chemically modified with a compound in Compound Table 1 (page 18, lines 20 – 22), such as Compound 101:
,
which corresponds to the afibrotic compound 219 in Table 2 of the specification. In an embodiment, the enclosing component comprises a moiety, which is the compounds in Compound Table 1, will minimize an effect of an immune response, e.g. a fibrotic response, of the subject directed at the implantable element (page 18, lines 15 – 19). The disclosure reads on the limitations “R9 is an afibrotic compound” of claims 1 and 15 and “an afibrotic compound selected from Table 2” of claims 10 and 25. In some embodiments, a pharmaceutical composition comprises active cell and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (page 84, lines 8 – 9), which reads on the limitation of claim 53. Finally, Carmona et al. teach that, in the case of alginate, the alginate carboxylic acid is activated for coupling to one or more amine-functionalized compounds to achieve an alginate modified with an afibrotic compound, e.g. a compound of Formula (I). The alginate polymer is dissolved in water and treated with 2-chloro-4,6-dimethoxy-1,3,5-triazine and N-methylmorpholine (page 141, lines 17 – 21). Thus, Carmona et al. teach the desirability and suitability of covalently attaching afibrotic compounds to alginate for implantable hydrogel materials.
However, Carmona et al. do not teach the modified polysaccharide polymer structures recited in claims 1 – 28. In particular, Carmona et al. do not teach an alginate polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the recited Formula (I-a), Formula (I-c), or related claimed structures in which the saccharide monomer bears an ether-linked sulfone-containing substituent. Carmona et al. also do not teach an alginate polymer having a vinyl sulfone-derived substituent on a saccharide monomer, including a substituent corresponding to -O-C2H4-S(O)2-CH=CH2 or a reaction product thereof. Carmona et al. do not teach modifying alginate through hydroxyl groups to provide a vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate polymer. Carmona et al. further do not teach the sulfone-linked substituent species recited in claims 17 – 24, including a substituent resulting from reaction of a vinyl sulfone group with a nucleophilic group of an afibrotic compound. Carmona et al. also do not teach the hydrogel, implantable element, or pharmaceutical composition of claims 48 – 53 to the extent those claims require the specific modified polysaccharide polymer structure of claim 1.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O))RA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alginate-based implantable hydrogel materials of Carmona et al. to include the vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate in view of Yu because Carmona et al. teach implantable elements and polymer hydrogel materials comprising alginate chemically modified with afibrotic compounds for minimizing an immune or fibrotic response directed to an implantable element and Yu teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers, including alginate, are “clickable” precursors suitable for a wide range of biomedical uses, including forming bioconjugates and in situ hydrogels with thiol-containing counterparts under mild aqueous conditions. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Yu’s DVS/vinyl sulfone modification chemistry as an alternative known covalent attachment strategy for preparing the modified alginate biomaterials of Carmona et al. because Yu explicitly teaches that the resulting vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are useful clickable precursors for biomedical conjugation and hydrogel applications. The proposed combination would have involved using a known technique taught by Yu, which is installing pendant vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing alginate, to improve or further functionalize the alginate-based implantable hydrogel materials of Carmona et al. for the predictable purpose of providing reactive sites for covalent attachment/bioconjugation. Both references concern chemically modified alginate or other biopolymer materials for biomedical applications, and the use of Yu’s vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate would have predictably provide an alginate scaffold having reactive click-functional groups suitable for incorporation of bioactive or afibrotic functionality as taught by Carmona et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu teaches that DVS installs vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers, including alginate, under mild aqueous alkaline conditions, and further teaches that the resulting VS-functionalized polymers are effective clickable precursors for reaction with nucleophilic/thiol-containing counterparts to form bioconjugates and hydrogels. Carmona et al. teach the desirability and suitability of covalently modifying alginate with afibrotic compounds for implantable hydrogel materials. Accordingly, using Yu’s vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate in the alginate hydrogel/implantable material context of Carmona et al. would have been the use of a known functionalization technique to obtain the predictable result of a modified alginate polymer suitable for hydrogel and implantable biomaterials applications.
With respect to claims 5 – 6 and 13 – 14, Carmona et al. teach alginate-based implantable hydrogel materials chemically modified with afibrotic compounds, as discussed above. Carmona et al. further teach that, in the case of alginate, the alginate carboxylic acid is activated for coupling to one or more amine-functionalized compounds to achieve alginate modified with an afibrotic compound, such as Compound 101. Carmona et al. teach treating alginate with 2-chloro-4,6-dimethoxy-1,3,5-triazine and N-methylmorpholine, followed by addition of Compound 101, to provide chemically modified alginate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that coupling an activated alginate carboxylic acid with an amine-functionalized compound forms an amide linkage, thereby providing an alginate substituent of the formula C(O)N(RC)(RD). Accordingly, Carmona et al. teach or suggest the C(O)N(RC)(RD) limitation recited in claims 5 – 6 and the Formula (I-d) carboxamide-modified saccharide monomer recited in claims 13 – 14. In the resulting amide, one of RC and RD is hydrogen and the other corresponds to the residue of the amine-functionalized afibrotic compound. It would have been obvious to further modify the alginate-based hydrogel/implantable material of Carmona et al. using DVS hydroxyl-functionalization chemistry taught by Yu because alginate contains distinct hydroxyl and carboxylic acid functional groups. Carmona et al. teach modification of alginate through carboxylic acid groups using amine-functionalized afibrotic compounds, while Yu teaches modification of alginate through hydroxyl groups using DVS to provide vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate. Thus, the combination would have predictably provided an alginate polymer having both the carboxamide-linked afibrotic substituent taught by Carmona et al. and the DVS-derived sulfone substituent taught by Yu on the alginate backbone. In particular, claim 6 is taught or suggested because Carmona et al. teach coupling activated alginate carboxylic acid groups with one or more amine-functionalized afibrotic compounds, including Compound 101. Compound 101 includes an NH amine functionality. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that coupling the activated alginate carboxylic acid with NH group of Compound 101 forms an amide linkage of the formula Alg-C(O)N(H)-R, wherein R is the residue of Compound 101. Thus, the resulting C(O)N(RC)(RD) group includes one of RC and RD as hydrogen and the other as the residue of the afibrotic compound of Carmona et al., as required by claim 6.
With respect to claims 7 – 9, Yu teaches that DVS reacts with hydroxyl groups of hydroxyl-containing polymers under alkaline conditions and further teaches DVS modification of alginate. Alginate saccharide monomers contain hydroxyl groups corresponding to the claimed R2 and R3 positions. Under Yu’s alkaline DVS-modification conditions, one or more of those alginate hydroxyl groups are converted to an ether-linked vinyl sulfone substituent. Thus, Yu teaches or suggests that R2 or R3 is hydrogen or C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9, as recited in claim 7 – 8. Yu further teaches controlling the degree of VS modification by varying reaction conditions, such as pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Accordingly, Yu teaches or suggests partially modified alginate saccharide units in which one of R2 and R3 bears the sulfone-containing substituent while the other remains unmodified, thereby addressing claim 9.
With respect to claims 17 – 24, Yu teaches DVS-functionalized alginate bearing pendant vinyl sulfone groups of the formula:
,
wherein the polymer is an alginate. Yu further teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are clickable precursors suitable for bioconjugation under mild aqueous conditions. Carmona et al. teach afibrotic Compound 101 for covalent modification of alginate biomaterials to minimize immune or fibrotic response. The Compound 101 of Carmona et al. includes an NH functionality. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the NH functionality of the Compound 101 would react with Yu’s pendant vinyl sulfone group by nucleophilic addition to provide a β-amino sulfone adduct of the formula Alg-O-CH2CH2-S(O)2-CH2CH2-N(R)-Compound 101. Accordingly, modifying the alginate-based hydrogel/implantable materials of Carmona et al. using Yu’s DVS-functionalization chemistry would have predictably provided the sulfone-linked afibrotic substituent species recited in claims 17 – 24.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is indefinite as set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection. However, for the purposes of applying the prior art, claim 26 is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation as requiring that the recited peptide comprises a peptide listed in Table 1. To the extent claim 26 further requires the modified polysaccharide polymer of claim 1, the combination of Carmona et al. and Yu teaches or suggests the modified polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 as discussed above. Accordingly, the combination teaches or suggests the limitations of claim 26 under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 48, Yu teaches VS-functionalized polymers as clickable precursors useful for forming bioconjugates and in situ hydrogels with thiol-containing counterparts. Yu also teaches DVS modification of alginate. Although Yu does not appear to exemplify a hydrogel made specifically form alginate-VS, Carmona et al. teach implantable enclosing components comprising polymer hydrogels, including polymer hydrogels comprising chemically modified alginate. Therefore ,the combination teaches or suggests a hydrogel comprising the modified polysaccharide polymer of claim 1.
With respect to claim 49 – 50, Carmona et al. teach implantable elements comprising polymeric materials, including alginate-containing materials, and further teach implantable elements comprising active cells disposed within an enclosing component. Yu supplies the DVS-functionalized alginate scaffold and Carmona et al. supply the implantable element context for chemically modified alginate hydrogel materials. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests an implantable element comprising the modified polysaccharide polymer of claim 1, as recited in claims 49 – 50.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 9, 11 – 23, 27, 48 – 50, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 13, 17 – 18, 29, 44 – 45, and 48 of copending Application No. 18/725,048 in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
‘048 claims a polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer, wherein the saccharide monomer has a structure of Formula (I-a), Formula (I-b), or Formula (I-d):
,
, or
wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; R2 and R3 are each independently hydrogen and C1-6 alkylene-R9, wherein R9 is an afibrotic compound, and each of R2 and R3 is not both hydrogen; and R5 is C(O)N(RC)(RD), wherein RC and RD are each independently hydrogen or an afibrotic compound (claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, and 13). ‘048 further claims the saccharide monomer having a structure of Formula (I-f) or Formula (I-g):
or
,
wherein n is 2; R12 is hydrogen; p is 3; P1 is heteroaryl; L1 is C1-6 alkylene; and Z1 is heterocyclyl (claims 17 – 18). ‘048 claims an alginate comprising a mannuronate or guluronate monomer, wherein the mannuronate or guluronate monomer has a structure of Formula (I-a) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 29). ‘048 claims a hydrogel comprising a polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 (claim 44). ‘048 claims an implantable element comprising a polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 (claim 45). ‘048 further claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (claim 48).
However, ‘048 does not claim that R2 and R3 are each independently hydrogen or C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9 and each of R2 and R3 is not both hydrogen.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O)ORA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polysaccharide polymers claimed in ‘048 to include the vinyl sulfone/DVS-derived substituent of Yu because ‘048 claims closely related polysaccharide polymers comprising saccharide monomers of Formula (I-a), Formula (I-b), Formula (I-d), Formula (I-f), and Formula (I-g), wherein the polysaccharide may be alginate, the substituents may include an afibrotic compound, and the polymer may be used in hydrogels, implantable elements, and pharmaceutical compositions. Yu teaches that hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers, including alginate, may be modified with divinyl sulfone under mild alkaline conditions to generate pendant vinyl sulfone groups. Thus, Yu supplies the sulfone-containing linker feature not recited in ‘048, while ‘048 already claims the same general polysaccharide/alginate platform, afibrotic compound functionality, hydrogel, implantable element, and pharmaceutical composition subject matter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because both ‘048 and Yu are directed to chemically modified polysaccharide biomaterials, including alginate-based materials, for biomedical uses. ‘048 claims afibrotic-modified polysaccharide polymers and related hydrogels, implantable elements, and pharmaceutical compositions. Yu teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are “clickable” precursors useful for forming bioconjugates and in situ hydrogels with thiol-containing counterparts and Yu explicitly identifies alginate as a hydroxyl-containing polymer suitable for DVS modification. Therefore, a skilled artisan seeking to prepare the modified polysaccharide polymers and alginate biomaterials claimed in ‘048 would have had reason to use Yu’s DVS chemistry to install a vinyl sulfone/sulfone-containing linker on the polysaccharide backbone. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu provides working conditions for DVS modification of alginate and teaches that the degree of vinyl sulfone modification may be controlled by adjusting pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Yu also teaches that the resulting vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are biocompatible and suitable for forming bioconjugates and hydrogels. Accordingly, modifying the closely related polysaccharide polymers claimed in ‘048 with Yu’s DVS-derived vinyl sulfone group would have predictably produced a polysaccharide polymer having an ether-linked alkylene sulfone substituent, including the claimed alginate embodiments, hydrogels, implantable elements, and pharmaceutical compositions. Therefore, the presently claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the claims of ‘048 in view of Yu. The presently claimed polymers merely represent an obvious variant of the ‘048 claimed polysaccharide/alginate polymers, wherein Yu supplies the predictable DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent on the polysaccharide hydroxyl groups. The hydrogel, implantable element, and pharmaceutical composition claims are also not patentably distinct because ‘048 claims the corresponding hydrogel, implantable element, and pharmaceutical composition embodiments, and Yu teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are suitable clickable precursors for hydrogel and bioconjugate formation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 12, 15 – 17, 19 – 28, and 48 – 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 – 10, 21, 24 – 26, 53 – 54, 58, and 66 of copending Application No. 18/880,099 in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
‘099 claims a polysaccharide polymer comprising a photoactive crosslinking moiety and a compound of Formula (I) (claim 1):
,
wherein the compound of Formula (I) has a structure of (claim 21):
.
‘099 claims the polysaccharide polymer, wherein the polysaccharide polymer is alginate, wherein the alginate is a high guluronic acid (G) alginate (claims 9 – 10). ‘099 claims the compound of Formula (I) is Compound 101 (claim 24). ‘099 claims a composition comprising a polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 (claim 25). ‘099 claims a hydrogel capsule comprising a polysaccharide polymer of claim 1 (claim 26), wherein the hydrogel capsule encapsulates a cell (claim 53), wherein the cell produces a therapeutic agent (claim 54). ‘099 claims a composition comprising a hydrogel capsule of claim 26 (claim 58).
However, ‘099 does not claim that the saccharide monomer includes a DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent of the type recited in the claims, wherein one of R2 and R3 is C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or wherein the saccharide monomer has the Formula (I-c)/vinyl sulfone-derived structure with n = 2 and m = 1. ‘099 also does not claim modification of alginate hydroxyl groups with divinyl sulfone to form an ether-linked vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O)ORA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polysaccharide polymers claimed in ‘099 with Yu’s DVS/vinyl sulfone modification because ‘099 and Yu are directed to closely related chemically modified polysaccharide biomaterials. ‘099 claims polysaccharide polymers comprising a compound of Formula (I), including Compound 101, wherein the polysaccharide polymer may be alginate, including high guluronic acid alginate, and further recite related hydrogel capsule, cell-encapsulation, therapeutic agent producing cell, and composition embodiments. Yu teaches that hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers, including alginate, may be modified with divinyl sulfone under alkaline aqueous conditions to generate pendant vinyl sulfone groups on the polymer. Thus, Yu supplies the DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because both ‘099 and Yu concern modified polysaccharide/alginate materials for biomedical hydrogel applications. ‘099 provides alginate polymers modified with Compound 101 and hydrogel capsule/cell-encapsulation compositions, while Yu teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are clickable precursors suitable for forming bioconjugates and in situ hydrogels. A skilled artisan seeking to prepare or further functionalize the modified alginate polymers and hydrogel capsules claimed in ‘099 would have had reason to use Yu’s DVS chemistry to install a reactive vinyl sulfone/sulfone-containing linker on alginate hydroxyl groups. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu provides working reaction conditions for DVS modification of alginate and teaches that the degree of vinyl sulfone modification may be controlled by varying pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Yu also teaches that VS-functionalized polymers are biocompatible and useful as clickable precursors for forming bioconjugates and hydrogels. Therefore, applying Yu’s DVS modification to the alginate polymers claimed in ‘099 would have predictably produced a modified alginate polymer having an ether-linked DVS-derived sulfone substituent, including the Formula (I-a) and Formula (I-c) type structures recited in the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 12, 15 – 17, 19 – 27, and 48 – 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 22, 25 – 27, 49 – 50, 52, and 54 of copending Application No. 18/880,149 in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
‘149 claims an alginate polymer comprising a crosslinking moiety and a compound of Formula (I):
,
wherein the compound of Formula (I) has a structure of (claim 22):
.
‘149 claims the compound of Formula (I) is Compound 101 (claim 25). ‘149 claims a composition comprising an alginate polymer of claim 1 (claim 26). ‘149 claims a hydrogel capsule comprising an alginate polymer of claim 1 (claim 27). ‘149 claims the hydrogen capsule, wherein the hydrogel capsule encapsulates a cell, wherein the cell produces a therapeutic agent (claims 49 – 50). ‘149 claims that the hydrogel capsule is formulated for implantation into a subject (claim 52). ‘149 claims a composition comprising a hydrogel capsule of claim 27 (claim 54).
However, ‘149 does not claim that the alginate saccharide monomer includes a DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent of the type recited in the claims, wherein one of R2 and R3 is C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9, or wherein the saccharide monomer has the Formula (I-c)/vinyl sulfone-derived structure with n = 2 and m = 1. ‘149 also does not claim modification of alginate hydroxyl groups with divinyl sulfone to form an ether-linked vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O)ORA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alginate polymers claimed in ‘149 with Yu’s DVS/vinyl sulfone modification because ‘149 and Yu are directed to closely related chemically modified alginate biomaterials. ‘149 claims alginate polymers comprising a crosslinking moiety and Compound 101, as well as hydrogel capsules, cell-encapsulating capsules, therapeutic agent producing cell embodiments, and compositions. Yu teaches that alginate may be modified with DVS to provide pendant vinyl sulfone groups useful as clickable handles for bioconjugation and hydrogel formation. Thus, Yu supplies a predictable DVS-derived sulfone-containing modification for the same type of alginate biomaterial platform claimed in ‘149. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because ‘149 claims alginate polymers and hydrogel capsules containing bioactive Formula (I) compounds, while Yu teaches a known method for installing reactive vinyl sulfone groups onto alginate and other hydroxyl-containing polymers. A skilled artisan seeking to prepare or further functionalized the alginate polymer/hydrogel capsule platform claimed in ‘149 would have had reason to use Yu’s DVS chemistry to introduce a clickable vinyl sulfone/sulfone-containing linker onto the alginate polymer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu provides working reaction conditions for DVS modification of alginate and teaches that the degree of vinyl sulfone modification may be controlled by adjusting reaction conditions, such as pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Yu also teaches that VS-functionalized polymers are biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and hydrogels. Therefore, applying Yu’s DVS modification to the alginate polymers claimed in ‘149 would have predictably produced an alginate polymer having an ether-linked DVS-derived sulfone substituent corresponding to the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 12, 15 – 16, and 27 – 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12605486B2 in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
‘486B2 claims an alginate modified with a compound of Formula (II-b) (claim 1):
,
wherein each of R2a, R2b, R2c, and R2d is independently hydrogen (claim 2); wherein each of m and n is independently 1 (claim 3); wherein the compound of Formula (II-b) is (claim 4):
.
‘486B2 claims that the alginate is a high guluronic acid alginate (claim 5).
However, ‘486B2 does not claim modification of alginate hydroxyl groups with divinyl sulfone to form an ether-linked vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate. ‘486B2 does not claim a saccharide monomer having a DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent wherein one of R2 and R3 is C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O)ORA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alginate polymers claimed in ‘486B2 with Yu’s DVS/vinyl sulfone modification because ‘486B2 and Yu are directed to closely related modified alginate/polymer biomaterials. ‘486B2 claims alginate modified with a compound of Formula II-b, including embodiments where each of m and n is 1 and where the alginate is high guluronic acid alginate. Yu teaches that alginate and other hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers may be modified with divinyl sulfone to generate vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers. Thus, Yu supplies the DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent not claimed in ‘486B2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because both ‘486B2 and Yu concern covalently modified alginate/polymer materials useful in biomedical applications. ‘486B2 provides the modified alginate platform bearing an afibrotic Formula (II-b) compound, while Yu provides a known method for installing a reactive vinyl sulfone group on alginate hydroxyl groups. A skilled artisan seeking to further functionalize the modified alginate of ‘486B2 would have had reason to use Yu’s DVS chemistry to introduce an additional clickable vinyl sulfone/sulfone-containing linker onto the alginate polymer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu provides working conditions for modifying alginate with DVS and teaches that the degree of vinyl sulfone modification may be controlled by reaction conditions, such as pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Applying Yu’s known DVS modification to the alginate polymers claimed in ‘486B2 would have predictably produced an alginate polymer having an ether-linked DVS-derived sulfone substituent corresponding to the instant claims, while retaining the modified alginate/afibrotic compound features claimed in ‘486B2.
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 12, 15 – 17, 19 – 28, and 48 – 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 – 10, 21 – 23, 25 – 26, 31, and 53 – 54 of copending Application No. 19/164,884 in view of Yu (Biomacromolecules, 2012, Vol. 13, Issue 3, page 937 – 942, PTO-892).
‘884 claims a hydrogel capsule comprising a polysaccharide polymer comprising a photoactive crosslinking moiety and a compound of Formula (I) (claims 1 and 31):
,
wherein the compound of Formula (I) has a structure of (claims 21 – 22):
.
‘884 claims the polysaccharide polymer, wherein the polysaccharide polymer is alginate (claims 8 – 9), wherein the alginate is a high guluronic acid (G) alginate (claim 10). ‘884 claims the compound of Formula (I) is Compound 101 (claims 22 – 23). ‘884 claims a hydrogel capsule of any one of claims 1 – 24 (claim 25), wherein the composition of claim 25 further comprising an excipient (claim 26), wherein the hydrogel capsule encapsulates the islet cell (claim 53), wherein the cell produces a therapeutic agent (claim 54).
However, ‘884 does not claim that the saccharide monomer includes a DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent of the type recited in the claims, wherein one of R2 and R3 is C1-6 alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or wherein the saccharide monomer has the Formula (I-c)/vinyl sulfone-derived structure with n = 2 and m = 1. ‘884 also does not claim modification of alginate hydroxyl groups with divinyl sulfone to form an ether-linked vinyl sulfone-functionalized alginate.
Yu teaches a one-step “click” method for generating vinyl sulfone groups on hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers (Title). Yu teaches the schematic of the modification of hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymer by divinyl sulfone (DVS) (page 939, Scheme 1):
,
wherein the first step of the reaction is the deprotonation of hydroxyl at alkaline condition. Each deprotonated OH or alkoxide ion will then react with one DVS, such that for each DVS conjugated to HA there will be one free VS group (page 939, Left Col., para. 2). Yu teaches that the vinyl sulfone group (VS) is a popular choice because it is effective under mild aqueous conditions among the electron-deficient double bonds. Various VS-modified polymers, including dextran-VS, HA-VS, and PEG-VS, have been successfully synthesized and shown to be biocompatible and useful for forming bioconjugates and in stiu hydrogels with a thiol-containing counterpart (page 937, Left Col., para. 1). VS is able to participate in “click chemistry” toward thiol and take a “click chemistry” approach to generate VS groups in biopolymers (page 937, Left Col., para. 2). The above one-step synthesis used to prepare VS-functionalized polymers is capable to all hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers in general, including hyaluronic acid (HA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), dextran, alginate, and polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (page 937, Left Col., para. 3). The modified polymers, instead of forming pre-cross-linked hydrogels, generate “clickable” precursors that are suitable for a wide range of biomedical use (page 937, Right Col., para. 1). Yu also demonstrates the modification of alginate with DVS by first dissolving alginate:
in 0.1 M NaOH at 2% w/v. DVS is added instantly into the vigorously vortexing polymer solution. After 3 minutes, the reaction is stopped by adjusting the pH to 5 with 5 M HCl. The polymer made is purified (page 938, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the polysaccharide polymer comprising a saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-a) of claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9, and 11, wherein X is O; R1 and R4 are -O-; at least one of R2 and R3 is C1-6alkylene-S(O)2-R9 or R3 is hydrogen, wherein the alkylene is C2H4; R5 is C(O)ORA, wherein RA is hydrogen. Yu discloses a DVS-modified alginate, which corresponds to the saccharide monomer having the structure of Formula (I-c) of claims 12 and 16, wherein n is 2 and m is 1. The disclosure of Yu also reads on the limitation “the polysaccharide polymer is alginate” of claim 27. Yu further demonstrate that the degree of modification can be controlled by varying the pH, reaction time, and DVS to OH molar ratio (page 941, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polysaccharide polymers claimed in ‘884 with Yu’s DVS/vinyl sulfone modification because ‘884 and Yu are directed to closely related chemically modified polysaccharide biomaterials. ‘884 claims polysaccharide polymers comprising a compound of Formula (I), including Compound 101, wherein the polysaccharide polymer may be alginate, including high guluronic acid alginate, and further recite related hydrogel capsule, cell-encapsulation, therapeutic agent producing cell, and composition embodiments. Yu teaches that hydroxyl-containing water-soluble polymers, including alginate, may be modified with divinyl sulfone under alkaline aqueous conditions to generate pendant vinyl sulfone groups on the polymer. Thus, Yu supplies the DVS-derived sulfone-containing substituent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because both ‘884 and Yu concern modified polysaccharide/alginate materials for biomedical hydrogel applications. ‘884 provides alginate polymers modified with Compound 101 and hydrogel capsule/cell-encapsulation compositions, while Yu teaches that vinyl sulfone-functionalized polymers are clickable precursors suitable for forming bioconjugates and in situ hydrogels. A skilled artisan seeking to prepare or further functionalize the modified alginate polymers and hydrogel capsules claimed in ‘884 would have had reason to use Yu’s DVS chemistry to install a reactive vinyl sulfone/sulfone-containing linker on alginate hydroxyl groups. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yu provides working reaction conditions for DVS modification of alginate and teaches that the degree of vinyl sulfone modification may be controlled by varying pH, reaction time, and DVS/OH molar ratio. Yu also teaches that VS-functionalized polymers are biocompatible and useful as clickable precursors for forming bioconjugates and hydrogels. Therefore, applying Yu’s DVS modification to the alginate polymers claimed in ‘884 would have predictably produced a modified alginate polymer having an ether-linked DVS-derived sulfone substituent, including the Formula (I-a) and Formula (I-c) type structures recited in the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693