Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "202" and "382" have both been used to designate first hooking member.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "203" and "383" have both been used to designate second hooking member.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 53, 202 and 203.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: A, B, C, D and 521a.
The drawings are objected to because there is no corresponding Fig. 8a referenced on pag.
The drawings are objected to because page 22 line 2 of the specification should refer to Fig. 22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-28 and 32-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “at least on mesh support structure” in lines 5-6. It is unclear if this is the same mesh support structure recited in claim 21 line 2 or a separate and distinct mesh support structure. The Examiner interprets them to be the same. Dependent claim 23-28 are likewise rejected.
Claim 22 recites “a gap” in line 7 and “the gap” in lines 8-9. It is unclear if this is the same gap in claim 21 line 15 or a separate and distinct gap. The Examiner interprets them to be separate and distinct. Dependent claim 23-28 are likewise rejected.
Claim 32 recites “a first mesh region” in line 2. It is unclear if this is the same first mesh region recited in claim 31 line 2 or a separate and distinct first mesh region. The Examiner interprets them to be the same and recommends amended “a first mesh region” in claim 32 to “the first mesh region”.
Claim 33 recites “a first side” in line 4. It is unclear if this is the same first side recited in claim 33 line 2 or a separate and distinct first side.
Claim 33 recites “a second side” in line 5. It is unclear if this is the same second side recited in claim 33 line 3 or a separate and distinct second side.
Claim 39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 39 is a replication of claim 30 from which claim 39 depends from. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 30-36 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Armstrong (US 2002/0198588 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Armstrong teaches a lumen stent, comprising:
a mesh support structure (10, endoprosthesis, fig. 3),
wherein the mesh support structure comprises a first mesh region (upper part of 16, second segment, fig. 3) and a second mesh region connected to the first mesh region in a circumferential direction in a naturally deployed state (lower part of 16, second segment, fig. 3);
the first mesh region comprises a plurality of rows of intersecting units (fig. 3) formed by a plurality of first direction support wires spaced apart and a plurality of second direction support wires spaced apart overlapping each other (63, cross-over pattern, fig. 3, ¶ [0084]);
the second mesh region comprises at least one row of hooking units (20, interlocked stent patter, fig. 3, ¶ [0083]), each row of the hooking units comprising one or more hooking units arranged axially, and the hooking unit comprising a first hooking member (62, 3rd undulating patter, fig. 3) and a second hooking member (58, 2nd undulating pattern, fig. 3); and
the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units are mutually hooked substantially in an axial direction (fig. 3), or the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units are mutually separated substantially in the axial direction to form a gap (fig. 3), or the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units abut, but do not hook.
Regarding claims 30 and 39, Armstrong further teaches a distal end of the first hooking member and a proximal end of the second hooking member are mutually hooked (fig. 3, ¶ [0083]), and the distal end of the first hooking member and/or the proximal end of the second hooking member are bent inward (the peaks and troughs of the hooking units are bent as they go from outside the stent toward inside the stent as they hook onto their respective peak/trough).
Regarding claim 31, Armstrong further teaches a lumen stent, comprising:
a first mesh region (upper part of 16, second segment, fig. 3) and a second mesh region connected to the first mesh region in a circumferential direction in a naturally deployed state (lower part of 16, second segment, fig. 3);
the first mesh region comprises a plurality of rows of intersecting units (fig. 3) formed by a plurality of first direction support wires spaced apart and a plurality of second direction support wires spaced apart overlapping each other (63, cross-over pattern, fig. 3, ¶ [0084]);
the second mesh region comprises at least one row of hooking units (20, interlocked stent patter, fig. 3, ¶ [0083]), each row of the hooking units comprising one or more hooking units arranged axially, and the hooking unit comprising a first hooking member (62, 3rd undulating patter, fig. 3) and a second hooking member (58, 2nd undulating pattern, fig. 3); and
the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units are mutually hooked substantially in an axial direction (fig. 3), or the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units are mutually separated substantially in the axial direction to form a gap (fig. 3), or the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units abut, but do not hook.
wherein the lumen stent has a tubular shape (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 32, Armstrong further teaches the lumen stent comprises a first mesh region (upper part of 16, second segment, fig. 3) and two second mesh regions in the circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 3, below), the two second mesh regions connecting to two sides of the first mesh region, respectively (fig. 3, ¶ [0020]).
Regarding claim 33, Armstrong further teaches the first direction support wire extends to a first side for connection with the second hooking member (see annotated Fig. 3, below), and the first direction support wire extends to a second side for connection with the first hooking member (¶ [0084], see annotated fig. 3, below) the second direction support wire extends to a first side for connection with the first hooking member(¶ [0084], see annotated fig. 3, below), and the second direction support wire extends to a second side for connection with the second hooking member (¶ [0084], see annotated fig. 3, below).
Regarding claim 34, Armstrong further teaches the first hooking member comprises a wave trough (see annotated fig. 3, below) and two wave rods connected to the wave trough (see annotated fig. 3, below), and the second hooking member comprises a wave peak (see annotated fig. 3, below) and two wave rods connected to the wave peak (see annotated fig. 3, below), and the first hooking member and the second hooking member in at least portion of the hooking units are mutually hooked such that the wave trough of the first hooking member and the wave peak of the second hooking member are relatively movable in the axial direction (¶ [0083]).
Regarding claim 35, Armstrong further teaches a third mesh region in the circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 3, below);
two sides of the third mesh region are each connected to one second mesh region (see annotated fig. 3, below); or
two sides of the third mesh region are each connected to one first mesh region (see annotated fig. 3, below); or
two sides of the third mesh region are each connected to the first mesh region and the second mesh region, respectively (see annotated fig. 3, below).
Regarding claim 36, Armstrong further teaches the third mesh region comprises one or more waveform unit groups spaced apart in an axial direction, the waveform unit group comprising two waveform units mutually hooked in the axial direction (fig. 3, ¶ [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-25, 28 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view of Liu (US 2020/0188083 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Armstrong fails to teach a main body stent wherein at least a portion of the mesh support structure and an outer surface of the intermediate unit forming a gap in a radial direction. However, Liu teaches a covered stent with mesh support structure (12) that includes a main body stent (11, main stent, fig. 1),
and the main body stent comprises a proximal segment (see annotated fig. 1, below), a distal segment (see annotated fig. 1, below), and an intermediate segment positioned between the proximal segment and the distal segment (see annotated fig. 1, below), the intermediate segment comprising an intermediate unit (the part of the main stent that is in the intermediate segment denoted in annotated fig. 1, below) and at least one mesh support structure (see annotated fig. 1, below), and at least a portion of the mesh support structure and an outer surface of the intermediate unit forming a gap in a radial direction (see annotated fig. 1, below); the main body stent has an inner cavity extending through the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the intermediate unit (lumen of main stent 11, ¶ [0039]), the gap being in communication with the inner cavity (fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the lumen stent of Armstrong to include a main body stent wherein at least a portion of the mesh support structure and an outer surface of the intermediate unit forming a gap in a radial direction as taught by Liu in order to reconstruct a blood flow channel and isolating a lesion (¶ [0038], Liu).
Regarding claim 23, Armstrong further teaches the mesh support structure comprises two second mesh regions in the circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 3, below), the two second mesh regions connecting to two sides of the first mesh region, respectively (fig. 3, ¶ [0020]).
Armstrong fails to teach the mesh support structure is connected to the intermediate region. However, Liu further teaches the mesh support structure is connected to the intermediate unit through the second mesh regions on two sides (fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the lumen stent of Armstrong to include the mesh support structure is connected to the intermediate region as taught by Liu in order to reconstruct a blood flow channel and isolating a lesion (¶ [0038], Liu).
Regarding claim 24, Armstrong further teaches the first hooking member comprises a wave trough (see annotated fig. 3, below)and two wave rods connected to the wave trough (see annotated fig. 3, below), and the second hooking member comprises a wave peak and two wave rods connected to the wave peak (see annotated fig. 3, below); and
the first hooking member and the second hooking member are mutually hooked such that the wave trough of the first hooking member and the wave peak of the second hooking member are relatively movable in the axial direction (¶ [0083]).
Regarding claim 25, Armstrong as modified by Liu discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 23, and additionally teaches the mesh support structure further comprises at least one connector connected to the second mesh region (L, connection line fig. 2), and the mesh support structure is connected to the intermediate unit through the connector (fig. 2, ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 28, Armstrong as modified by Liu discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 23, and additionally teaches at least one support unit (the connection between the fixed segment 121 and the side wall of the main stent 11 supports the mesh support structure), wherein the support unit is provided at a peripheral edge of the mesh support structure (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 40, Armstrong fails to teach a stent system comprising a lumen stent and a covered stent connected to the lumen stent. However, Liu further teaches a stent system (10, covered stent, fig. 5a), comprising the lumen stent according to claim 30 and a covered stent connected to the lumen stent (11, main stent, fig. 5a), wherein the lumen stent is sleeved outside the covered stent (¶ [0044], fig. 5a, the connection stent is covered where it is outside the boundary of the main stent), and the lumen stent forms a gap with an outer surface of the covered stent in a radial direction (123, gap, figs 1 and 5a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the lumen stent of Armstrong to include a stent system comprising the lumen stent and a covered stent connected to the lumen stent as taught by Liu in order to reconstruct a blood flow channel and isolating a lesion (¶ [0038], Liu).
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view of Liu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Treacy (US 2019/0262151 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Armstrong in view of Liu fails to teach the connector is comprises a wave and shares the wave rods with the first and second hooking member. However, Treacy teaches a woven stent that includes the connector is connected to one first hooking member and one second hooking member (104, 106, wires, fig. 7), and the connector comprises a wave towards a circumferential direction (200c, bend point, fig. 14; and the wave shares one wave rod with the first hooking member (200e, leg, figs. 9 and 14) and one wave rod with the second hooking member (200d, leg, figs. 9 and 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector of Armstrong and Liu to include a wave and shares the wave rods with the first and second hooking member as taught by Treacy in order to cover sharp ends, (abstract, Treacy).
Regarding claim 27, Armstrong in view of Liu fails to teach two waists and a bottom edge. However, Treacy teaches a woven stent that includes the connector is connected to one first hooking member and one second hooking member (fig. 8), and the connector comprises two waists (200e and 106, 200d and 104, leg and wire make a waist, fig. 8) and a bottom edge connecting the two waists (200c, bend point, fig. 8); and one waist is formed by extending one wave rod of the first hooking member fig. 8), the other waist is formed by extending one wave rod of the second hooking member (fig. 8), and the two waists slidably move relative to each other at an intersection (where 104 and 106 intersect). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector of Armstrong and Liu to include two waists and a bottom edge as taught by Treacy in order to cover sharp ends, (abstract, Treacy).
Claim(s) 29 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view of Xiao (US 2019/0290460 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Armstrong further teaches the second mesh region comprises a proximal region (see annotated fig. 3, below), an intermediate region (see annotated fig. 3, below), and a distal region (see annotated fig. 3, below) from a proximal end (30, proximal end, fig. 1) to a distal end (24, distal end, fig. 1).
Armstrong fails to teach different hooking gap sizes. However, Xiao teaches a vascular stent that includes hooking gaps of varied sizes (¶ [0063-0065], fig. 7-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the hooking gaps of Armstrong in view of Liu to include varied sizes as taught by Xiao in order to not have too many warping wave crests/wave troughs that are produced on the inner wall of the stent (¶ [0063], Xiao). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the hooking gaps of whatever relative sizes were desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144)
Regarding claim 37, Armstrong further teaches at least one set of two waveform units mutually hooked in the axial direction in the third mesh region has a hooking gap (fig. 3).
Armstrong fails to teach different hooking gap sizes. However, Xiao teaches a vascular stent that includes hooking gaps of varied sizes (¶ [0063-0065], fig. 7-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the hooking gaps of Armstrong in view of Liu to include varied sizes as taught by Xiao in order to not have too many warping wave crests/wave troughs that are produced on the inner wall of the stent (¶ [0063], Xiao). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the hooking gaps of whatever relative sizes were desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144)
Regarding claim 38, Armstrong further teaches the second mesh region comprises a proximal region (see annotated fig. 3, below), an intermediate region (see annotated fig. 3, below), and a distal region (see annotated fig. 3, below) from a proximal end (30, proximal end, fig. 1) to a distal end (24, distal end, fig. 1).
Armstrong fails to teach different hooking gap sizes. However, Xiao teaches a vascular stent that includes hooking gaps of varied sizes (¶ [0063-0065], fig. 7-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the hooking gaps of Armstrong in view of Liu to include varied sizes as taught by Xiao in order to not have too many warping wave crests/wave troughs that are produced on the inner wall of the stent (¶ [0063], Xiao). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the hooking gaps of whatever relative sizes were desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144)
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774