DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “solver configured to implement Navier-Stokes equations” in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 16-19, 23-25, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroff et al. (WO 2020/237024 A1, Nov. 26, 2020) (hereinafter “Petroff”) in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US 2025/0259303 A1, Aug. 14, 2025) (hereinafter “Sakaguchi”).
Regarding claim 1: Petroff discloses an imaging system for a patient comprising: an imaging probe, comprising: an elongate shaft comprising a proximal end, a distal portion, and a lumen extending between the proximal end and the distal portion ([022]); a rotatable optical core comprising a proximal end and a distal end, wherein at least a portion of the rotatable optical core is positioned within the lumen of the elongate shaft ([022]); and an optical assembly positioned proximate the distal end of the rotatable optical core, the optical assembly configured to direct light to tissue to be imaged and to collect reflected light from the tissue to be imaged ([022]); an imaging assembly constructed and arranged to optically couple to the imaging probe, the imaging assembly configured to emit light into the imaging probe and to receive the reflected light collected by the optical assembly ([022]); and a processing unit comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory configured to store instructions for the processor to perform an algorithm ([122]); wherein the system is configured to record image data based on the reflected light collected by the optical assembly, wherein the image data comprises data collected from a segment of a blood vessel during a pullback procedure ([108]), wherein the algorithm comprises an artificial intelligence algorithm ([244], [253]), wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is trained to perform a side-branch identification [177], [217], [253]), and wherein the algorithm is configured to analyze the image data to: identify one or more side branches in the segment of the blood vessel ([177], [217], [253]); determine diameters of the one or more side-branches ([179], [218], [229], [253]); generate, based at least in part on results of the side-branch identification, a three-dimensional model of the segment of the blood vessel including the one or more side-branches (fig. 7, [190]-[193]; 3D Navier-Stokes is a 3D model where "every significant morphological feature is represented" includes side branches and other geometrical features of the vessel); and perform a computational fluid dynamics calculation on the three- dimensional model, using one or more boundary conditions determined from the diameters of one or more of the side-branches to estimate at least one hemodynamic property of the segment of the blood vessel ([0190] – “system 10 can be configured to include in its analysis (e.g. via algorithm 51) numerous geometric and other features of the imaged area, such as when every significant morphological feature is represented”; [0193] – “…such as when small morphological features effect the flow. Examples of these include: bifurcation lesions with significant stenosis”; [0211], [213] - assigning microvascular resistance calculated based on “flow and pressure at each side branch” where flow, pressure, and resistance are functions of diameter; while Petroff does not use the term “boundary condition,” the description of accounting for morphological features and side branch flow, pressure, and resistance is the function performed by boundary conditions).
While the identification of the side branches and other geometric features of the vessel can reasonably be understood to represent a segmentation (i.e. in order to be identified a feature must be separated from the background), Petroff does not explicitly disclose that the algorithm is configured to perform a side-branch segmentation.
Sakaguchi, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an intravascular imaging system that may be OCT ([0076]) which includes a processing unit comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory configured to store instructions for the processor to perform an algorithm ([0038]-[0039], [0041]); wherein the algorithm comprises an artificial intelligence algorithm ([0041]-[0042], [0046]), and wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is trained to perform a side-branch segmentation ([0042], [0044]-[0046]). Sakaguchi further teaches that it is difficult to recognize a bifurcated portion of a blood vessel in a tomographic image and to discriminate between a main vessel and a side-branch, while the disclosed system provides an improvement in the ability to recognize a side-branch ([0006]-[0007]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Petroff by including the side-branch segmentation of Sakaguchi in the process of identifying side branches in order to provide improved side-branch recognition/detection in view of the further teachings of Sakaguchi.
Regarding claim 2: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the image data comprises OCT image data (Sakaguchi – [0076])
Regarding claim 4: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm is configured to segment the image data (Petroff – [177]-[179]; Sakaguchi – [0042], [0044]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 5: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the segmentation is selected from the group consisting of: procedural device segmentation; guide catheter segmentation; guidewire segmentation; implant segmentation; endovascular implant segmentation; flow-diverter segmentation; lumen segmentation; side-branch segmentation ; and combinations thereof (Petroff – [177]; Sakaguchi - [0042], [0044]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 6: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the algorithm comprises a neural network trained to perform the segmentation (Petroff - [221] - algorithm 51, which is referenced in [177]-[179], is machine learning such as a convolutional network which is a type of neural network; Sakaguchi – [0046]).
Regarding claim 7: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm is configured to produce a confidence metric configured to represent a quality of results of an image processing step (Petroff - [180], [252]-[253]).
Regarding claim 8: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm comprises at least one a machine learning algorithm, a deep learning algorithm, or a neural network (Petroff - [221] - algorithm 51, which is referenced in [177]-[179], is machine learning or deep learning such as a convolutional network which is a type of neural network; Sakaguchi – [0046]).
Regarding claim 9: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose that the algorithm comprises a U-net algorithm (Sakaguchi – [0047]) and U-net inherently is “is configured to skip one or more layers of the neural network” (skip connections – see Siddique, Nahian, et al. "U-Net and its variants for medical image segmentation: theory and applications." arXiv preprint arXiv:2011.01118 (2020)).
Regarding claim 10: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm comprises a single neural network trained to perform two or more image segmentation processes (Petroff - [177]-[179], algorithm 51; Sakaguchi - figs. 6 and 10 - the vessel walls/lumens/side branches and plaques are segmented).
Regarding claim 11: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm is configured to receive image data in a single image domain, and wherein the algorithm is further configured to convert the image data into one or more additional image domains (Sakaguchi – [0048] – conv/deconv, [0082]-[0085] - oblique is converted to axial).
Regarding claim 12: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm is configured to process the image data in one or more image domains selected from the group consisting of: the polar domain; the cartesian domain; the longitudinal domain; the en-face image domain; a domain generated by calculating image features, such as first and/or second order features, image texture, image entropy, homogeneity, correlation, contrast, energy, and/or any other image feature; and combinations thereof (Sakaguchi - [0048] – conv/deconv, [0082]-[0085] - oblique is converted to axial which is ”en-face”).
Regarding claim 13: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a graphical user interface configured to be displayed to a user (Petroff - [170] - user interface 55, [186]-[188], [252]-[253]; Sakaguchi - fig. 9, [0068]).
Regarding claim 16: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 13, wherein the graphical user interface is configured to enable a user to review results of an image processing step (Petroff - [170] - user interface 55, [186]-[188], [252]-[253]; Sakaguchi - fig. 9 - G1 and G2, [0030], [0044], [0068]).
Regarding claim 17: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 16, wherein the graphical user interface is further configured to enable a user to approve the results of the image processing step (Petroff - [177] - user interface 55, [186]-[188], [234], [240], [252]-[253]).
Regarding claim 18: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose The system of claim 16, wherein the graphical user interface is further configured to enable a user to edit the results of the image processing step (Petroff - [188], [234], [240], [252]-[253]).
Regarding claim 19: Tominaga and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 16, wherein the algorithm comprises an artificial intelligence algorithm, and wherein the image processing step is performed by the artificial intelligence algorithm (Petroff - [221] - algorithm 51, which is referenced in [177]-[179], is machine learning such as a convolutional network which is a type of neural network; Sakaguchi – [0046]).
Regarding claim 23: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1. The limitation “wherein the system is configured to collect image data prior to an interventional procedure and after the interventional procedure” is merely the intended use of the system. However, Petroff discloses this function ([146], [241]).
Regarding claim 24: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 23, wherein the algorithm is configured to compare a pre-intervention image data and a post-intervention image data and to quantify an effect of the interventional procedure (Petroff – [241])
Regarding claim 25: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the algorithm comprises a bias (Petroff - [178] - weighting is bias).
Regarding claim 28: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the computational fluid dynamics calculation is implemented by a solver configured to implement Navier-Stokes equations (Petroff - [190] – any processor configured to implement the Navier-Stokes equation can be reasonably considered a “solver”).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroff and Sakaguchi as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Grass et al. (WO 2022/268624 A1, Dec. 29, 2022) (hereinafter “Grass”).
Regarding claims 14 and 15: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 13 but are silent on wherein the graphical user interface is configured to provide an image data quality indicator and wherein the image data quality indicator is displayed relative to a cross-sectional OCT image.
Grass, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a user interface for an intravascular imaging system which is configured to provide an image data quality indicator (pg. 10, lines 15-32), wherein the image data quality indicator is displayed relative to a cross-sectional OCT image (fig. 7; pg. 17, line 31 - pg. 18, line 12; pg. 3, line 29 - pg. 4, line 2 - the example given is IVUS however this could be performed using OCT). Grass further teaches that by indicating the value of the data quality metric in this manner, a physician may readily appreciate whether the data can be relied upon, alleviating some of the burden of its interpretation (pg. 2, lines 18-20); and that providing the value of the data quality metric for the current position of the interventional device in this manner helps to indicate to a physician whether the current position of the interventional device is a suitable position to make a measurement of the lumen diameter, for example (pg. 18, lines 9-12).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Petroff and Sakaguchi to include the image data quality indicator displayed relative to a cross-sectional OCT image as taught by Grass in order to achieve the benefits reduced burden on the physician and improved placement decision-making in view of the further teachings of Grass.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroff and Sakaguchi as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Tominaga et al. (US 2024/0013385 A1, Jan. 11, 2024) (hereinafter “Tominaga”).
Regarding claims 20-21: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 13, but are silent on wherein the graphical user interface comprises multiple workspaces, and wherein the data displayed in each workspace is synchronized by a time index or a location index.
Tominaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an imaging system comprising an imaging probe substantially the same as the imaging probe of claim 1 (figs. 1 and 2, [0024], [0027]-[0028], probe 11 with catheter sheath 11a; [0029]-[0030], [0032] - imaging core within shaft 13; [0028] - optical transmitter and receiver 12b) and a graphical user interface comprising multiple workspaces, and wherein the data displayed in each workspace is synchronized by a time index or a location index (figs. 9 and 13, [0064], [0076]; figs. 9 and 13, [0064] - the x-axes in the two different "workspaces" are "synchronized", [0076] - the locations in the longitudinal view or "workspace" is "synchronized" to the corresponding cross-sectional views in the transverse "workspace"). Tominaga further discloses that by displaying such information, it is possible to assist the operator in specifying the reference portion ([0064]) and that by displaying such information, it is possible to assist the operator in performing stent implant ([0076]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the user interface of Petroff and Sakaguchi in the manner taught by Tominaga in order to better assist the user by providing all necessary data in a single display to support user decision making.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroff and Sakaguchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gopinath (US 2018/0085170 A1, Mar. 29, 2018) (hereinafter “Gopinath”).
Regarding claims 26: Petroff and Sakaguchi disclose the system of claim 25, including a user interface where multiple system parameters can be entered or adjusted (Petroff – [0186]), but are silent on wherein the bias can be entered and/or modified via the user interface.
Gopinath, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an intravascular imaging system (fig. 1) including a processor configured to perform an image processing algorithm ([0053]), wherein the algorithm comprises a bias and the system further comprises a user interface, wherein the bias can be entered and/or modified via the user interface ([0015], [0078], [0094]-[0099] – the weighting factors are the “bias”). Gopinath further teaches that the use of stent planning software as disclosed can improve patient outcome and reduce cath lab time ([0003]-[0005]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Petroff and Sakaguchi by including the weighting (“bias”) adjustment interface of Gopinath in order to provide the additional benefits of improved patient outcome and reduced cath lab time in view of the further teachings of Gopinath.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection of all pending claims, filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799