DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
mechanical mechanism in claim 94
foot fixation element in claim 97 and claim 106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 87-93, 95 and 100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott et al. (US 2008/0154286A1).
Regarding claim 87, Abbott discloses a closure device including at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes (120,140; Fig. 6I; [0112-115]). Each pre-shaped hollow tube includes a proximal end positioned substantially at the proximal end of the closure device and a distal end configured to be at least partially deployed from the distal end of the closure device into a blood vessel. Upon deployment of the distal ends of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes, the distal ends of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes are, wherein tubular members (123) are capable of being retracted and extended [0112] to provide means for engagement between the distal ends of the pre-shaped hollow tubes to enable threading of a suture from a first tube to a second tube of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes. For example, retracting tubular member (123-2; Fig. 6I) to the same distance as tubular member (123-1) would allow the pre-shaped hollow tubes to engage when distally advanced from the distal end of the tubular members, thus providing means for threading a suture therebetween. However, the embodiment of Fig. 6I does not disclose proximal end and a distal end interconnected by a main sheath. Embodiment of Fig. 3A and 5U includes a main sheath (101) through which delivery members [0072; not shown for clarity] and needles (120, 140; Fig. 3A) are disposed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the closure device of Abbott (Fig. 6I) with a main sheath, as taught by Fig. 3A of Abbott, to provide means for insertion into the vasculature of a subject [0062].
Regarding claim 88, Abbott discloses that each of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes include at least two configurations. A first configuration in which the pre-shaped hollow tube is confined within the closure device and has a shape substantially parallel to the main sheath of the closure device [0111]. A second configuration in which the pre-shaped hollow tube protrudes out of the distal end of the closure device and the distal end of the pre-shaped tube has a curved shape [0111].
Regarding claim 89, Abbott discloses that the engagement of the at least two-pre-shaped hollow tubes is capable of resulting in at least one continuous passage from the proximal end of the first tube to the proximal end of the second tube of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes, through the engaged distal ends (Fig. 6I). It is noted that the engagement is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 90, Abbott discloses that the at least one continuous passage is capable of automatically guiding the suture from the proximal end of the first tube to the proximal end of the second tube when the suture is inserted and advanced through the at least one continuous passage. It is noted that the engagement, continuous passage and suture are not positively recited.
Regarding claim 91, Abbott discloses that the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes are positioned externally to the main sheath of the closure device when extended distally (Fig. 6I).
Regarding claim 92, Abbott discloses that the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes are positioned internally within the main sheath of the closure device when retracted [0111].
Regarding claim 93, Abbott discloses that the distal end of one or more of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes is cone-shaped (Fig. 6I).
Regarding claim 94, Abbott discloses at least one alignment element, aligning the distal ends of the tubular members (123), is capable of facilitating alignment between he at least pre-shaped hollow tubes (Fig. 6I).
Regarding claim 100, Abbott discloses that the blood vessel is capable of being a carotid artery [0193].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 94, 96-99, 101-104 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 105-106 is/are allowed. The prior art does not disclose or suggest a method for applying a suture to a blood vessel using a closure device including a main sheath and at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes, deploying the distal ends of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes from the distal end of the closure device until the distal ends assume a curved shape and engagement is established therebetween, threading a suture from the proximal end of a first tube of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes to the proximal end of a second tube through the engaged distal ends of the at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Scribner et al. (US 5,830,125) and Klein et al. (WO-9413211) disclose a closure device including at least two pre-shaped hollow tubes.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771