DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the correspondence filed on 01/18/2025.
Claims 1-15 are considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0190261, filed on 12/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 06/27/2024 appear to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner. The initialed and dated copies of applicants’ IDS form 1449 are attached to this instant Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vadim Seregin (US 20180278951 A1) (hereinafter Seregin):
Regarding Claim 1, Seregin teaches an image decoding method ([0008] video decoding method), the method comprising:
generating a motion vector prediction list for a current block ([0072] teaches generating a candidate MVP list );
selecting one from a plurality of motion vector prediction candidates included in the motion information prediction list ([0076], and [0072] teach selecting one candidate from the list);
reconstructing a motion vector difference value of the current block ([0209] teaches reconstructing the MVD ); and
adding the motion vector prediction candidate and the motion vector difference value to derive a motion vector of the current block ([0211] teaches adding the MVP and the MVD to derive the MV),
wherein a sign of the motion vector difference value is determined based on sign prediction information indicating whether a predicted sign matches an actual sign ([0007], and [0101] teaches using the sign prediction information to determine if the predicated sign matches the actual sign).
Regarding Claim 2, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1. Seregin further teaches motion vector candidates are derived by applying each sign combination of the motion vector difference value ([0104] teaches generating MV candidates by applying all sign combinations to the MVD magnitude),
a reference region within a reference picture is designated based on each of the motion vector candidates ([0107] teaches identifying reference regions for each candidate),
the predicted sign corresponds to a sign combination used to derive a reference region with a smallest cost among a plurality of reference regions ( [0109], and [0116] teach selecting the sign predictor based on the candidate with the smallest discontinuity ).
Regarding Claim 3, Seregin teaches the method of claim 2. Seregin further teaches wherein the reference region is a reference template adjacent to a reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate ([0117], and [0119] teach using L-shaped templates adjacent to the refence blocks indicated by MV candidates),
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a Sum of Difference (SAD) to the reference template and a current template adjacent to the current block ([0098], [0117], and [0123] teaches calculating cost using SAD between the current block’s template and the reference block’s template).
Regarding Claim 6, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1. Seregin further teaches the sign prediction information is decoded based on probability information ([0065], and [0132] teaches context coding using probabilities for the sign prediction).
Regarding Claim 7, Seregin teaches the method of claim 6. Seregin further teaches the probability information is determined based on a sign of a motion vector difference value in a direction to which a sign prediction is not applied among a L0 direction and a L1 direction ([0110] teaches the probability information is based on the sign of the MVD as a specified direction that is not L1 or L2 direction).
Regarding Claim 8, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1. Seregin further teaches the sign prediction information is signaled for each of a horizontal direction and a vertical direction ([0070], [0098], and [0101]- [0102] teaches signaling a flag for each component in the vertical and horizontal directions).
Regarding Claim 9, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1. Seregin further teaches the motion vector, the motion vector prediction candidate and the motion vector difference value relate to a control point motion vector of the current block ([0073]- [0076], [0211], and fig. 2 teach applying the MVD sign perdition method to the affine mode control point motions vectors. The MV, MVP, and MVD are affiliated with the control point motion vector).
Regarding Claim 10, Seregin teaches an image encoding method ([0009] teaches video encoding method), the method comprising:
generating a motion vector prediction list for a current block ([0072] and [0071] teaches generating a candidate MVP list );
selecting one from a plurality of motion vector prediction candidates included in the motion information prediction list ([0076], and [0072] teach selecting one candidate from the list);
deriving a motion vector difference value by subtracting a motion vector prediction candidate from a motion vector of the current block ([0006], and [0071] teach the MVD calculation as the MV and the MVP);
deriving a prediction sign for the motion vector difference value ([0178] teaches determining the sign for the MVD ); and
encoding sign prediction information indicating whether an actual sign of the motion vector difference value matches the prediction sign ([0009], and [0101] teaches encoding an indicator that indicates if the predicated sign matches the actual sign).
Regarding Claim 11, Seregin teaches the method of claim 10. Seregin further a plurality of motion vector candidates are derived by applying a plurality of sign combinations to the motion vector difference value ([0104] teaches generating MV candidates by applying all sign combinations to the MVD magnitude),
a reference region within a reference picture is designated based on each of the motion vector candidates ([0107] teaches identifying reference regions for each candidate),
the predicted sign corresponds to a sign combination used to derive a reference region with a smallest cost among a plurality of reference regions. ( [0109], and [0116] teach selecting the sign predictor based on the candidate with the smallest discontinuity ).
Regarding Claim 12, Seregin teaches the method of claim 11. Seregin further teaches wherein the reference region is a reference template adjacent to a reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate ([0117], and [0119] teach using L-shaped templates adjacent to the refence blocks indicated by MV candidates),
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a Sum of Difference (SAD) to the reference template and a current template adjacent to the current block ([0098], [0117], and [0123] teaches calculating cost using SAD between the current block’s template and the reference block’s template).
Regarding Claim 15, Seregin teaches A computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method ([0036] teaches the computer readable medium, [0041] teaches the bitstream generated by encoding method), the computer readable recording medium comprising:
generating a motion vector prediction list for a current block ([0072] and [0071] teaches generating a candidate MVP list );
selecting one from a plurality of motion vector prediction candidates included in the motion information prediction list ([0076], and [0072] teach selecting one candidate from the list);
deriving a motion vector difference value by subtracting the motion vector prediction candidate from a motion vector of the current block ([0006], and [0071] teach the MVD calculation as the MV and the MVP);
deriving a prediction sign for the motion vector difference value ([0178] teaches determining the sign for the MVD ); and
encoding sign prediction information indicating whether an actual sign of the motion vector difference value matches the prediction sign ([0009], and [0101] teaches encoding an indicator that indicates if the predicated sign matches the actual sign).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Vadim Seregin (US 20180278951 A1) (hereinafter Seregin) in view of Jaeho Lee (US 20200314444 A1) (hereinafter Lee):
Regarding Claim 4, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1. ; however Seregin does not explicitly teach wherein the reference region is a L0 reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate,
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a SAD to the L0 reference block and a L1 reference block corresponding to the L0 reference block.
However, in an analogous art, Jang teaches wherein the reference region is a L0 reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate ([0141] teaches evaluating L0 reference blocks indicated by motion candidates),
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a SAD to the L0 reference block and a L1 reference block corresponding to the L0 reference block ([0142] teaches calculating the cost of the candidate by applying SAF between the L0 block and the L1 block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding system and method as disclosed by Seregin to add cost analysis as disclosed by Lee to increase the coding efficiency (Lee[0012]).
Regarding Claim 13, Seregin teaches the method of claim 11. ; however Seregin does not explicitly teach wherein the reference region is a L0 reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate,
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a SAD to the L0 reference block and a L1 reference block corresponding to the L0 reference block.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the reference region is a L0 reference block indicated by the motion vector candidate ([0141] teaches evaluating L0 reference blocks indicated by motion candidates),
a cost for the reference region is obtained by applying a SAD to the L0 reference block and a L1 reference block corresponding to the L0 reference block ([0142] teaches calculating the cost of the candidate by applying SAF between the L0 block and the L1 block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding system and method as disclosed by Seregin to add cost analysis as disclosed by Lee to increase the coding efficiency (Lee[0012]).
Claims 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Vadim Seregin (US 20180278951 A1) (hereinafter Seregin) in view of Geonjung Ko (US 20210243476 A1) (hereinafter Ko):
Regarding Claim 5, Seregin teaches the method of claim 1; however Seregin does not explicitly teach if a reference region indicated by the motion vector candidate is out of a boundary of the reference picture, the motion vector candidate is determined to be unavailable
However, in an analogous art, Ko teaches if a reference region indicated by the motion vector candidate is out of a boundary of the reference picture, the motion vector candidate is determined to be unavailable ([0242], and [0255] teach determining the candidate is unavailable if the reference location is out of the picture boundary).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding system and method as disclosed by Seregin to add [the determination of MV candidate availability as disclosed by Ko to increase the coding efficiency (Ko[0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Seregin teaches the method of claim 11; however Seregin does not explicitly teach if a reference region indicated by the motion vector candidate is out of a boundary of the reference picture, the motion vector candidate is determined to be unavailable
However, in an analogous art, Ko teaches if a reference region indicated by the motion vector candidate is out of a boundary of the reference picture, the motion vector candidate is determined to be unavailable ([0242], and [0255] teach determining the candidate is unavailable if the reference location is out of the picture boundary).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding system and method as disclosed by Seregin to add [the determination of MV candidate availability as disclosed by Ko to increase the coding efficiency (Ko[0004]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486