DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 6/27/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“flicker detection unit” in claim(s) 1-3.
“correction unit” in claim(s) 1, 3, 13 and 18.
“control unit” in claim(s) 1-9 and 11-16.
“flicker region detection unit” in claim(s) 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 20 is directed to a program claimed in the absence of any underlying medium or other system, but a program is not a method, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The claim thus falls outside the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101 and is therefore nonstatutory. If the specification includes written description support, this rejection could be overcome by claiming the invention as being stored in a nontransitory computer readable medium; however, see MPEP 2111.05 for a discussion of functional and nonfunctional descriptive material as related to computer readable media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 20190268524 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima teaches An imaging device (Fig. 1) comprising:
an imaging element (12);
a flicker detection unit (25) that detects a flicker component from an image outputted from the imaging element (para. 0040);
a correction unit (24) that corrects the flicker component included in the image (para. 0040); and
a control unit (14) that makes a flicker detection adaptive setting that facilitates detection of the flicker component in the flicker detection unit in response to a shift from a normal imaging mode to a flicker detection mode and causes an image display unit to display an image in which the flicker component has been corrected by the correction unit (Figs. 6-7, 13; paras. 0097-01014, 0153; “a manipulation of pushing one button included in the manipulation unit 18a. While the button is pushed, the parameters of the correction signal CS are automatically optimized. Hereinafter, a mode in which this process is performed is appropriately referred to as one-push flickering correction”; “a feedback loop in which the flickering components included in the image are detected while the button is pushed and the parameters of the correction signal CS are automatically adjusted on the basis of the detection result is formed”).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit shifts to the normal imaging mode that is a normal setting not considering easiness of detection of the flicker component by the flicker detection unit, in response to detection of the flicker component by the flicker detection unit in the flicker detection mode (Fig. 12; paras. 0091-0096).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit shifts to a normal imaging mode that is a normal setting not considering easiness of detection of the flicker component by the flicker detection unit, in response to correction of the flicker component by the correction unit (Fig. 12; paras. 0091-0096).
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets a number of pixels (all/many pixels) of the image outputted from the imaging element to a number of pixels suitable for detection of the flicker component as the flicker detection adaptive setting (Fig. 6; para. 0040, 0071, 0101).
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets a shutter speed of the imaging element to a speed suitable for detection of the flicker component as the flicker detection adaptive setting (paras. 0091-0096; a frame rate/reading speed of the CMOS image sensor 12 is set to a speed (for example, 60 fps or 50 fps) at which the flickering components are easily detected; setting the frame rate includes setting a shutter speed to a value higher than a certain speed).
Regarding claim 7, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the control unit sets the shutter speed of the imaging element to be higher than a predetermined speed as the flicker detection adaptive setting (paras. 0091-0096).
Regarding claim 8, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets a readout time of the imaging element to a time suitable for detection of the flicker component as the flicker detection adaptive setting (paras. 0091-0096).
Regarding claim 9, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 8, wherein the control unit sets the readout time of the imaging element to be longer than a predetermined time as the flicker detection adaptive setting (paras. 0091-0096).
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, comprising a flicker region detection unit that detects a flicker region in which a flicker component is generated in a frame of an image (Figs. 1-3; a flicker region is the whole region).
Regarding claim 11, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the control unit performs control in a manner such that a flicker occurrence state is displayed for each flicker region (Figs. 1-3, 7; paras. 0071-0072; a screen showing the degree of deviation displayed on the display unit 18b for the whole region).
Regarding claim 12, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 11, wherein the control unit controls the image display unit in a manner such that the flicker occurrence state is displayed in a form corresponding to a flicker intensity for each flicker region (Fig. 7; paras. 0071-0072).
Regarding claim 14, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit causes the image display unit to display a flicker adjustment user interface (Fig. 7) in a case where flicker intensity is higher than a threshold (32a or SMALL) (Fig. 7; paras. 0071-0072).
Regarding claim 15, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit causes the image display unit to display a flicker adjustment user interface in a case of a moving image capturing mode (Fig. 7; paras. 0055, 0071-0072, 0091-0096, 0116).
Regarding claim 16, Nakajima teaches the imaging device according to claim 15, wherein the control unit causes the image display unit to display the flicker adjustment user interface (Fig. 7) in a case of a moving image capturing mode and in a case where the flicker intensity is equal to or lower than a threshold (LARGE, 32a) (Fig. 7; paras. 0055, 0071-0072, 0091-0096, 0116).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 20, Nakajima teaches A program (paras. 0032, 0159) for causing an imaging device to execute processes of: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 10, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 11588985 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches An imaging device (Fig. 1) comprising:
an imaging element (Fig. 1; 101);
a flicker detection unit (CPU 103) that detects a flicker component from an image outputted from the imaging element (Fig. 8; S102, S105, S108-S109);
a correction unit (CPU 103) that corrects the flicker component included in the image (Fig. 8; S104, S106, S110); and
a control unit that makes a flicker detection adaptive setting (“first actuation control” or “second actuation control” at S101/S107) that facilitates detection (S102, S105, S108-S109) of the flicker component in the flicker detection unit in response to a shift from a normal imaging mode (a moving image mode under “a second actuation control in which first pixel rows (first region) and second pixel rows (second region) are actuated using different shooting conditions” as shown in figures 3A, 3B to read out a thinning “moving image” and a thinning “flicker detection image”) to a flicker detection mode (a moving image mode under “a first actuation control in which all the pixels of the image sensor 101 are actuated under the same shooting conditions” as shown in figure 2 to read out full-resolution “moving image”), and causes an image display unit to display an image in which the flicker component has been corrected by the correction unit (Fig. 8; col. 5, lines 23- col. 6, line 17; col. 8, lines 28- col. 9, line 47; col. 12; live view display of the corrected moving image).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets a number of pixels of the image outputted from the imaging element to a number of pixels suitable for detection of the flicker component as the flicker detection adaptive setting (Figs. 2, 3, 8; col. 5, lines 23- col. 6, line 17; col. 8, lines 28- col. 9, line 47; S107 set to “first actuation control” to read out all pixels as 4k “moving image” for detecting flickers in S108).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the imaging device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit sets the number of pixels of the image outputted from the imaging element to be larger than that in the normal imaging mode as the flicker detection adaptive setting (Figs. 2, 3, 8; col. 5, lines 23- col. 6, line 17; col. 8, lines 28- col. 9, line 47; 4k “moving image” output in S107 larger than thinning “moving image” output in S101).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, comprising a flicker region detection unit that detects a flicker region (whole region) in which a flicker component is generated in a frame of an image (Fig. 8; S102, S105, S108-S109).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets the correction unit to an image correction mode for correcting the flicker component by image processing in a case of a moving image capturing mode (S106, S110 in a moving image mode), and sets the correction unit to a shutter speed correction mode for correcting the flicker using a shutter speed in a case of a still image capturing mode (S104, S110 in a still image live view mode) (Fig. 8; col. 5, lines 23- col. 6, line 17; col. 8, lines 28- col. 9, line 47).
Regarding claim 18, Kobayashi teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the correction unit sets a shutter speed to 1/N (N is a positive number) times a flicker frequency of any flicker region in a case where a plurality of flicker regions is generated in a frame (Fig. 8; S104).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi teaches A program (col. 13, lines 30-65) for causing an imaging device to execute processes of: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 20190268524 A1) in view of Kunishige et al (US 20130342726 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Nakajima teaches everything as claimed in claim 14, but fails to teach
wherein the flicker adjustment user interface includes an operation tool capable of roughly adjusting and finely adjusting a shutter speed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kunishige teaches
wherein the flicker adjustment user interface includes an operation tool capable of roughly adjusting and finely adjusting a shutter speed (Fig. 7D, para. 0078: “a warning indicating the presence of flickering is displayed on the live view and the automatic SYNC setting mode becomes to a mode which allows the shutter speed of the flickering cycle to be manually set”; Fig. 6; para. 0133: “The shutter speed is changed with the coarse step or the fine step depending on the difference in the operation methods such as the up/down buttons or the R-dial 315”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kunishige in Nakajima to have wherein the flicker adjustment user interface includes an operation tool capable of roughly adjusting and finely adjusting a shutter speed for providing additional shutter speed in the flicker adjustment user interface for enabling more method in the flicker adjustment yielding a predicted result.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637