DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/27/2024. Claims 6, 10, 12, 20 and 25-26 have been amended. Claims 11, 17 and 21-24 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-20 and 25-26 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 18 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites in the second claim limitations following the preamble, “the PSCACH locates at a starting position of the frame, and” which appears to be a typographical error resulting in issues related to grammar and syntax. The Examiner believes that the Applicant intended to recite “the PSCACH is located at a starting position of the frame” because the PSCACH is part of a data structure, thus it is physically unable to perform the function of “locates” as the claim inadvertently recites. This rationale is based on ¶43 and ¶59 which recites,“[0043]… The PSCACH signal or channel is mapped on the first N symbols of the frame structure, so that the receiving UE may decode and obtain the channel sharing situation faster, and then prepare the sidelink signal sent by itself earlier (or in time)… [0059] Here, “first” N symbols in a frame/slot may refer to the “earliest” N symbols in the frame/slot, and do not merely refer to “some” symbols in the frame/slot. As PSCACH occupies the “earliest” N symbols in the frame/slot, upon receiving the frame/slot, a receiving UE may receive and decode information from the PSCACH at the earliest time.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-16, 18-20 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. US 2021/0092783 (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
([Sun, Fig. 1] Network 100 is disclosed and utilized by the UE 115s for performing a method for wireless communication.)
configuring, by a first device, a frame for a sidelink communication in an unlicensed carrier, wherein:
([Sun, Fig. 1, ¶47-¶48 and ¶56-¶58] The UE is configured to communicate with other UEs using in an unlicensed band using frames (self-contained subframes), wherein this communication between the UEs may be performed over a sidelink. When the above sidelink communication using an unlicensed frequency band is performed in Time Division Duplex (TDD) mode, transmissions occur using the same frequency band via a modulated carrier.)
the frame comprises a physical sidelink channel assess channel (PSCACH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the PSCACH locates at a starting position of the frame, and
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶106] The claimed frame shown in Fig. 7 as the data structure, of the Channel Occupancy Time (COT) 704 comprised in the COT 702, that comprises at least a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) 712 carrying a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) 740 and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) 710, wherein the SCI 740 is interpreted as the claimed PSCACH, which is located at the start of frame of COT 704 and the SCI also locates or points to a starting time (interpreted as the claimed starting position of the frame) when sharing of the COT 702 (which is interpreted as an access channel) may start for the responding UE to join the COT 702. The COT 702 (interpreted as the claimed frame) also comprises a PSCCH 710/720/750)
the PSCACH is configured to indicate share information of at least one access channel for the PSSCH; and
[Sun, Fig. 7, ¶39 and ¶106] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, indicates remaining unused time resources in the COT 702, timing information associated with the unoccupied time period 706 of the COT 702 for sharing with the responding UEs, a starting time when sharing of the COT 702 may start for the responding UEs to join the COT 702.)
sending, by the first device, the frame to a second device, wherein the second device is configured to determine, based on the share information indicated by the PSCACH, whether to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication. ([Sun, ¶78, ¶94-¶97 and ¶130-¶134] The first UE 715 transmits to a second UE 715 the sidelink including a PSCCH/SCI and PSSCH, wherein the second UE 715 is configured to determine based on the SCI share information whether to join the COT.)
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
([Sun, Fig. 1] Network 100 is disclosed and utilized by the UE 115s for performing a method for wireless communication.)
receiving from a first device, by a second device, a frame for a sidelink communication in an unlicensed carrier, wherein:
([Sun, Fig. 1, ¶47-¶48 and ¶56-¶58] The UE is configured to communicate with other UEs using in an unlicensed band using frames (self-contained subframes), wherein this communication between the UEs may be performed over a sidelink such that a frame is transmitted from a first UE and received by a second UE over a sidelink. Wherein the above sidelink communication using an unlicensed frequency band is performed in Time Division Duplex (TDD) mode, transmissions occur using the same frequency band via a modulated carrier.)
the frame comprises a physical sidelink channel assess channel (PSCACH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the PSCACH locates at a starting position of the frame, and
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶106] The claimed frame shown in Fig. 7 as the data structure, of the Channel Occupancy Time (COT) 704 comprised in the COT 702, that comprises at least a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) 712 carrying a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) 740 and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) 710, wherein the SCI 740 is interpreted as the claimed PSCACH, which is located at the start of frame of COT 704 and the SCI also locates or points to a starting time (interpreted as the claimed starting position of the frame) when sharing of the COT 702 (which is interpreted as an access channel) may start for the responding UE to join the COT 702. The COT 702 (interpreted as the claimed frame) also comprises a PSCCH 710/720/750)
the PSCACH is configured to indicate share information of at least one access channel for the PSSCH;
[Sun, Fig. 7, ¶39 and ¶106] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, indicates remaining unused time resources in the COT 702, timing information associated with the unoccupied time period 706 of the COT 702 for sharing with the responding UEs, a starting time when sharing of the COT 702 may start for the responding UEs to join the COT 702.)
obtaining, by the second device, the shared information from the PSCACH; and determining, by the second device based on the obtained share information, whether to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶78, ¶94-¶97 and ¶130-¶134] The second UE 715 obtains a received transmission from the first UE 715 over the sidelink which includes a PSCCH/SCI and PSSCH, wherein the second UE 715 is configured to determine based on the SCI share information whether to join the COT, interpreted as at least one access channel for the sidelink communication.)
Regarding claim 25, Sun teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein:
([Sun, Figs. 4 and 7, UEs 400/715] The UE is an apparatus that communicates wirelessly using its transceiver and antenna, and comprises a processor and memory as shown in Fig. 4.)
in response to the apparatus being a first device, the processor is configured to read instructions from the memory and implement:
([Sun, Figs. 4 and 7, UEs 400/715] The UEs may be a first UE or second UE and based on that role in the sidelink communication the UEs execute instructions 406 stored in memory by a processor.)
configuring a frame for a sidelink communication in an unlicensed carrier, wherein:
([Sun, Fig. 1, ¶47-¶48 and ¶56-¶58] The UE is configured to communicate with other UEs using in an unlicensed band using frames (self-contained subframes), wherein this communication between the UEs may be performed over a sidelink. When the above sidelink communication using an unlicensed frequency band is performed in Time Division Duplex (TDD) mode, transmissions occur using the same frequency band via a modulated carrier.)
the frame comprises a physical sidelink channel assess channel (PSCACH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the PSCACH locates at a starting position of the frame, and
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶106] The claimed frame shown in Fig. 7 as the data structure, of the Channel Occupancy Time (COT) 704 comprised in the COT 702, that comprises at least a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) 712 carrying a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) 740 and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) 710, wherein the SCI 740 is interpreted as the claimed PSCACH, which is located at the start of frame of COT 704 and the SCI also locates or points to a starting time (interpreted as the claimed starting position of the frame) when sharing of the COT 702 (which is interpreted as an access channel) may start for the responding UE to join the COT 702. The COT 702 (interpreted as the claimed frame) also comprises a PSCCH 710/720/750)
the PSCACH is configured to indicate share information of at least one access channel for the PSSCH; and
[Sun, Fig. 7, ¶39 and ¶106] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, indicates remaining unused time resources in the COT 702, timing information associated with the unoccupied time period 706 of the COT 702 for sharing with the responding UEs, a starting time when sharing of the COT 702 may start for the responding UEs to join the COT 702.)
sending the frame to a second device, wherein the second device is configured to determine, based on the share information indicated by the PSCACH, whether to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication, or,
([Sun, ¶78, ¶94-¶97 and ¶130-¶134] The first UE 715 transmits to a second UE 715 the sidelink including a PSCCH/SCI and PSSCH, wherein the second UE 715 is configured to determine based on the SCI share information whether to join the COT.)
in response to the apparatus being a second device, the processor is configured to read instructions from the memory and implement:
([Sun, Figs. 4 and 7, UEs 400/715] The UEs may be a first UE or second UE and based on that role in the sidelink communication the UEs execute instructions 406 stored in memory by a processor.)
receiving from a first device a frame for a sidelink communication in an unlicensed carrier, wherein:
([Sun, Fig. 1, ¶47-¶48 and ¶56-¶58] The UE is configured to communicate with other UEs using in an unlicensed band using frames (self-contained subframes), wherein this communication between the UEs may be performed over a sidelink such that a frame is transmitted from a first UE and received by a second UE over a sidelink. Wherein the above sidelink communication using an unlicensed frequency band is performed in Time Division Duplex (TDD) mode, transmissions occur using the same frequency band via a modulated carrier.)
the frame comprises a physical sidelink channel assess channel (PSCACH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the PSCACH locates at a starting position of the frame, and
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶106] The claimed frame shown in Fig. 7 as the data structure, of the Channel Occupancy Time (COT) 704 comprised in the COT 702, that comprises at least a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) 712 carrying a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) 740 and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) 710, wherein the SCI 740 is interpreted as the claimed PSCACH, which is located at the start of frame of COT 704 and the SCI also locates or points to a starting time (interpreted as the claimed starting position of the frame) when sharing of the COT 702 (which is interpreted as an access channel) may start for the responding UE to join the COT 702. The COT 702 (interpreted as the claimed frame) also comprises a PSCCH 710/720/750)
the PSCACH is configured to indicate share information of at least one access channel for the PSSCH;
[Sun, Fig. 7, ¶39 and ¶106] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, indicates remaining unused time resources in the COT 702, timing information associated with the unoccupied time period 706 of the COT 702 for sharing with the responding UEs, a starting time when sharing of the COT 702 may start for the responding UEs to join the COT 702.)
obtaining the shared information from the PSCACH; and determining, based on the obtained share information, whether to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶78, ¶94-¶97 and ¶130-¶134] The second UE 715 obtains a received transmission from the first UE 715 over the sidelink which includes a PSCCH/SCI and PSSCH, wherein the second UE 715 is configured to determine based on the SCI share information whether to join the COT, interpreted as at least one access channel for the sidelink communication.)
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the frame comprises a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); and the PSCACH is configured to occupy same frequency resource as the PSCCH.
([See Sun, Fig. 7, ¶48, ¶104-¶106] In TDD mode the UL and DL transmissions occur using the same frequency band. In Fig. 7 the TDD mode is utilized for sidelink transmission, the data structure of COT 704 comprising the sidelink PSCCH 712 and SCI 740, wherein the SCI 740 is previously noted above as the claimed PSCACH; and the SCI 740 is in the same frequency band 302 as the PSCCH 712 as noted in ¶104 and ¶106.)
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein: the PSCACH and the PSCCH are adjacent to each other in the frame.
([See Sun, Fig. 7] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, and the PSCCH 712 are adjacent to each other in the frame/data structure of 704.)
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the PSCACH is configured to occupy same frequency resource as the PSSCH.
([See Sun, Fig. 7] The SCI 740, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as noted above, is configured occupy the same frequency resource (frequency band 302) as the PSSCH 710.)
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the PSCACH is configured to occupy frequency resource indicated by a system message, or the PSCACH is predefined to occupy a number of occupied frequency resources.
([See Sun, Fig. 7, ¶48, ¶104-¶106, ¶136] The sidelink PSCCH 712 comprises the SCI 740, wherein the SCI 740 is previously noted above as the claimed PSCACH; and the SCI 740 is in the same frequency band 302 as the PSCCH 712 as noted in ¶104 and ¶106 and shown in Fig. 7. Furthermore, the first UE obtains a PSCCH resource mapping, interpreted as the time-frequency resources where the PSCCH is located which comprises the SCI, based on a pre-configuration or configuration received from a serving BS, interpreted as the claimed system message as per ¶136 of Sun.)
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein: the frequency resource comprises at least one of the following: a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs), one or more subchannel, or one or more interval resource block (IRB).
([Sun, Figs. 3A-3B] The frequency band 302 resource comprises PRBs 310.)
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the PSCACH is configured to occupy starting N symbols in the frame, N being a positive integer.
([Sun, Figs. 3A-3B & 6-7, ¶63-¶65] The SCI, interpreted as the claimed PSCACH as indicated above, is configured to occupy starting N symbols in a frame, which is shown in figures 6-7 of Sun which depicts that SCI 640 similar to SCI 740 is configured at the beginning of the frame/data structure of the PSCCH of the COT, wherein the COT is depicted in Figs. 3A-3B as being comprised of symbols 306 over which the transmissions (SCI/PSCCH/PSSCH) occur. Therefore, the SCI 740 of the frame/data structure PSCCH 712 in the COT of Fig. 7 in transmitted in a resource in time that is at least one or more symbols 306 starting at the beginning of the frame/data structure PSCCH 712.)
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein: each of the N symbols comprises at least one of the following: a symbol corresponding to a sub-carrier space (SCS) of a PSCCH, a symbol corresponding to a SCS of the PSSCH, a symbol corresponding to a SCS of sidelink bandwidth part (BWP), a symbol corresponding to a pre-configured SCS for the PSCACH, or a pre-configured symbol.
([Sun, ¶64] Sun teaches wherein the RBs 310, are comprised of symbols 306, which has a corresponding SCS.)
Regrading claim 12, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the share information comprises at least one of the following: a channel access priority class (CAPC), a channel occupancy time (COT), a remaining channel occupancy time (RCOT), a group identifier (ID), a destination identifier (ID), or a share channel indication; and wherein: the share channel indication indicates a channel number.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶78, ¶102-¶103 and ¶113] The COT share information includes a CAPC used for acquiring the COT.)
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein: the share information is carried by a sequence, wherein: a length of the sequence indicates a number of resource elements (REs) used by the PSCACH in a symbol, a creation ID of the sequence indicates the CAPC, or a number of cyclic steps of the sequence indicates the COT or the RCOT.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶110-¶111] The SCI, interpreted as the claimed share information, is carried by a sequence (740-742 of Fig. 7) wherein the indication within the SCI carried in the sequence 740-742 (interpreted as the creation ID of the sequence) is an indication of the CAPC.)
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein: the share information is carried by a sequence, wherein: a length of the sequence indicates a number of resource elements (REs) used by the PSCACH in a symbol, or the sequence indicates the COT or the RCOT.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶106] The SCI, interpreted as the claimed share information, is carried by a sequence (740-742 of Fig. 7) wherein the indication within the SCI carried in the sequence 740-742 indicates the remaining unused time period in the COT (interpreted as the claimed RCOT).)
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein: the share information is carried by a sequence, wherein: a length of the sequence indicates a number of resource elements (REs) used by the PSCACH in a symbol, or the sequence indicates the CAPC.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶110-¶111] The SCI, interpreted as the claimed share information, is carried by a sequence (740-742 of Fig. 7) wherein the indication within the SCI carried in the sequence 740-742 indicates the CAPC.)
Regarding claim 16, Sun teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein: the share information is carried by a number of bit fields, wherein the number of bit fields includes at least one of the following: a bit field indicating the CAPC, a bit field indicating the COT, a bit field indicating the RCOT, a bit field indicating the group ID, a bit field indicating the destination ID, or a bit field indicating the share channel indication.
([Sun, ¶106, ¶179] Sun discloses that the information and signals may be represented using any of a variety of bits, such that SCI (sidelink control information), is information that is represented using a number of bits (interpreted as the claimed bit field), thus the field/number of bits that makeup/represent the SCI include bits that indicate the remaining unused time period in the COT (interpreted as the claimed RCOT).)
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein: the share information comprises at least one of the following: a channel access priority class (CAPC), a channel occupancy time (COT), a remaining channel occupancy time (RCOT), a group identifier (ID), a destination identifier (ID), or a share channel indication.
([Sun, Fig. 7, ¶78, ¶102-¶103 and ¶113] The COT share information includes a CAPC used for acquiring the COT.)
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein: in response to current transmission of the second device satisfying the CAPC, the second device determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication; or, wherein: in response to current granted resource of the second device satisfying the COT or the RCOT, the second device determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication; or, wherein: in response to current transmission of the second device satisfying the CAPC and current granted resource of the second device satisfying the COT or the RCOT, the second device determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication; or, wherein: in response to current transmission of the second device satisfying the group ID, the second device determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication; or, wherein: in response to current transmission of the second device satisfying at least one channel indicated by the share channel indication, the second device determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication.
([Sun, ¶105-¶106, ¶110-¶111 and ¶141] Sun teaches that in response to current transmission of the second UE (interpreted as the claimed “second device”) having a transmit traffic with the same CAPC or lower CAPC than the CAPC indicated in the SCI 740 (interpreted as the claimed “satisfying the CAPC”), the second UE determines to share the at least one access channel for the sidelink communication by sending the transmit traffic in the shareable remaining COT that was determined to be unoccupied COT.)
Regarding claim 26, Sun teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium instructions stored thereupon, the instructions, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method recited in claim 1.
[Sun, Fig. 4, Processor 402 and Memory 404 and instructions/software 406, ¶74-¶77, ¶180-¶181].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 2018/0288746 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein there are N symbols 306 in the PRB 310 that make up the resources of the frequency band 302 [Sun, ¶69 and ¶72].
But it does not teach wherein: N is predefined or configured by a configuration message; and the pre-configured SCS is predefined or configured by the configuration message.
However, Zhang teaches wherein: N is predefined or configured by a configuration message; and the pre-configured SCS is predefined or configured by the configuration message.
(Zhang, ¶160 a SCS configuration (also referred to as numerology configuration) of N symbol with in a slot is (pre-)configurable by RRC or equivalently, L1 signaling (interpreted as the claim configuration message).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sun, indicating that the frequency band resource is made up of PRBs each having a number of symbols, with the teaching of Zhang indicating that the N (number of symbols) is defined by a configuration message and the preconfigured SCS is predefined of configured by the configuration message over RRC signaling/L1 signaling. The resulting benefit would have been the ability to optimize spectral efficiency and throughput by preconfiguring different numerologies having various SCS.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. US 2023/0199675 (hereinafter Ryu).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein there are N symbols 306 in the PRB 310 that make up the resources of the frequency band 302 [Sun, ¶69 and ¶72].
But it does not teach, wherein: N is 2; and wherein: the N symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol; and the second symbol is duplicative with the first symbol, or the first symbol is duplicative with the second symbol.
([Ryu, Fig. 3, ¶42] A first symbol of the slot may be a duplicate of a symbol included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource allocation following the first symbol and in some cases, may be used for automatic gain control (AGC).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sun, indicating that the frequency band resource is made up of PRBs each having a number of symbols for sidelink communication, with the teaching of Ryu, indicating a sidlink communication may include multiple symbols and the first symbol may be a duplicate of a symbol following the first symbol. The resulting benefit would have been the ability to implement AGC which allows a UE to change the gain of a received signal such that the signal falls within a range of an analog to digital converter (ADC) [Ryu, ¶42].
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467