DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 19-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21, 23-24, 26-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidel et al. (WO 2021/239899 A1, hereinafter “Seidel”) in view of ("Summary of [AT116-e][240][Slicing] LS reply on slice list and priority Information", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116-e, R2-2111308, Agenda: 8.8.1, CMCC, November 01-12, 2021, pp. 1-19, hereinafter “CMCC”).
Regarding claims 19 and 34, Seidel discloses A user device [see Fig. 5, page 1, lines 7-10, page 15, lines 5-13; a UE], comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor [see Fig. 34, pages 94-96; processor and memory including computer program code, the memory and the computer program code configured to, with the processor], cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain a slice group mapping, SGM, configuration, wherein the SGM configuration indicates a plurality of mappings, wherein each mapping in the plurality of mappings comprise a mapping between a slice and a slice group; and tracking area, TA; and perform at least one of cell reselection or random access operation, at least partially based on the obtained slice group mapping configuration [see page 10, lines 14-35; “Fig. 3 illustrates an example for mapping of PRACH resources to network slice IDs. Fig. 3 illustrates an example of a network that may configure N slices, like hundreds of slices, and a N:1 mapping of slices to RACH resources may be implemented ... In case the mapping of the slice-specific RACH resource configuration to the network slices is not unique (as in Fig. 3), also referred to as a 1-to-many mapping, the UE may select from a group of network slices, like slices 1-3 or slices 4 to N in Fig. 3, associated with a slice-specific RACH resource configuration, like PRACH, or PRACHj in Fig. 3, the actual slice to be used based on one or more of the following:”; see page 22, lines 5-15; In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect … the UE is to receive, via the source base station’s RRC signaling, from the target base station one or more of the slice specific RACH resource configurations and/or one or more physical RACH resources within a slice specific RACH resource configuration provided by the target base station to be used when connecting to the target base station with a RACH procedure. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, within a certain area, like a tracking area, TA, the base stations provide the same slice specific RACH resource configurations for the one or more slices, and …”].
Seidel does not explicitly disclose a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area.
However, CMCC teaches a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area [see Q3, Page 11, OPPO; the granularities of the slice groups for cell reselection can be per TA when the NW configures the association between slice group and slice].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area”, as taught by CMCC, into the system of Seidel so that it would support the granularities of the slice groups for cell reselection per TA [see CMCC, Q3, Page 11, OPPO].
Regarding claims 20 and 35, Seidel discloses wherein the obtain, by the user device, a SGM configuration comprises at least one of: obtain the SGM configuration from core network; or obtain the SGM configuration from radio access network [see page 31, lines 20-26; “A RACH resource configuration policy may be stored in the core network, e.g. 5GC, and the UE may be configured or preconfigured with a default policy that may be updated based on a certain criterion or based on a request by the UE. For example, the UE may receive an updated or secondary slice specific RACH resource configuration policy from another entity of the wireless communication network, like a gNB or a sidelink UE or a relay or an entity of the 5GC (5G core network), e.g. by the access and mobility management function (AMF)"; see page 32, lines 1-4; "In accordance with embodiments, the slice-specific UE RACH resource configuration selection function may rely on information provided by the non-access stratum, NAS. The NAS mobility management, NAS-MM, function may communicate with the access mobility management function in the 5G core network, 5GC”].
Regarding claim 21, Seidel discloses wherein obtaining the SGM configuration from core network comprises obtaining the SGM configuration in non-access stratum (NAS) signaling and/or message; and wherein the obtain the SGM configuration from radio access network comprises obtain the SGM configuration in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and/or message [see page 31, lines 20-26; “A RACH resource configuration policy may be stored in the core network, e.g. 5GC, and the UE may be configured or preconfigured with a default policy that may be updated based on a certain criterion or based on a request by the UE. For example, the UE may receive an updated or secondary slice specific RACH resource configuration policy from another entity of the wireless communication network, like a gNB or a sidelink UE or a relay or an entity of the 5GC (5G core network), e.g. by the access and mobility management function (AMF)"; see page 32, lines 1-4; "In accordance with embodiments, the slice-specific UE RACH resource configuration selection function may rely on information provided by the non-access stratum, NAS. The NAS mobility management, NAS-MM, function may communicate with the access mobility management function in the 5G core network, 5GC”].
Regarding claims 23 and 37, Seidel discloses wherein the user device is further caused to: indicate invalid SGM to a network in an uplink signaling and/or message, wherein the uplink signaling and/or message comprises message 3, MSG3 or MSG5 or MSG1 of a random access channel, RACH or RRC signaling [see page 36, lines 18-25; “RACH Procedure Failure - Embodiments of the first aspect of the present invention handle failures of a RACH procedure following the selection of a slice-specific RACH resource configuration and selection of the actual RACH resources from the slice-specific configuration to be used for the RACH procedure. In case the access procedure on the RACH resource selected from the determined slice-specific RACH resource configuration fails, the UE may repeat the random- access using RACH resources of a configured or preconfigured fallback RACH resource configuration, for example, provided by a SIB-slice"; see page 70, lines 12-26; “Modify an ongoing RACH procedure - In accordance with embodiments, to modify the ongoing RACH procedure, the UE may modify a certain message transmitted by the UE during the ongoing RACH procedure by including into the certain message, in addition to an indication of the first slice, an indication of the second slice so as to allow a base station to provide in response to the certain message parameters for a configuration of the first and second slices. The UE may alter the content of Msg3 if not already transmitted to the gNB. The Msg3 content may contain a MAC CE, which informs the gNB about the additional slice, e.g. slice#2, that triggered a RACH procedure, thus that the gNB may decide to alter its Msg4 using a different C-RNTI for the UE to be used for communication for slice#2”].
Regarding claims 24 and 38, Seidel discloses wherein the slice group mapping configuration comprises at least one of: a set of slice groups mapping to a set of TAs, one or more mappings between the slice group and the TA, or one or more mappings between a physical cell identifier, PCI, and the slice group [see page 35, lines 23-30; “The mapping of access categories, access identities and access root causes to slice- specific RACH resource configurations provides for a flexible scheme which goes together with a signaling overhead as a mapping table needs to be configured in the gNB and signaled to the UE. In accordance with embodiments, the mapping table may be preconfigured or partly preconfigured in the UE, for example for emergency systems, such that a default behavior is specified with less or no signaling involved. The information may also be stored within the UE while moving through the network and only the differences or deltas needs to be updated by signaling to the respective UE”].
Regarding claim 26, Seidel discloses A first network node [see Fig. 5, 34, page 1, lines 7-10, page 15, lines 5-13; a base station], comprising:
at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor [see Fig. 34, pages 94-96; processor and memory including computer program code, the memory and the computer program code configured to, with the processor], cause the first network node at least to:
obtain a slice group mapping, SGM, configuration, wherein the SGM configuration indicates a plurality of mappings, wherein each mapping in the plurality of mappings comprise a mapping between a slice and a slice group; and tracking area, TA; and provide the SGM configuration to a user device [see page 10, lines 14-35; “Fig. 3 illustrates an example for mapping of PRACH resources to network slice IDs. Fig. 3 illustrates an example of a network that may configure N slices, like hundreds of slices, and a N:1 mapping of slices to RACH resources may be implemented ... In case the mapping of the slice-specific RACH resource configuration to the network slices is not unique (as in Fig. 3), also referred to as a 1-to-many mapping, the UE may select from a group of network slices, like slices 1-3 or slices 4 to N in Fig. 3, associated with a slice-specific RACH resource configuration, like PRACH, or PRACHj in Fig. 3, the actual slice to be used based on one or more of the following:”; see page 22, lines 5-15; In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect … the UE is to receive, via the source base station’s RRC signaling, from the target base station one or more of the slice specific RACH resource configurations and/or one or more physical RACH resources within a slice specific RACH resource configuration provided by the target base station to be used when connecting to the target base station with a RACH procedure. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, within a certain area, like a tracking area, TA, the base stations provide the same slice specific RACH resource configurations for the one or more slices, and …”].
Seidel does not explicitly disclose a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area.
However, CMCC teaches a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area [see Q3, Page 11, OPPO; the granularities of the slice groups for cell reselection can be per TA when the NW configures the association between slice group and slice].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a mapping between a slice, a slice group and tracking area”, as taught by CMCC, into the system of Seidel so that it would support the granularities of the slice groups for cell reselection per TA [see CMCC, Q3, Page 11, OPPO].
Regarding claim 27, Seidel discloses wherein the SGM configuration comprises at least one of: a set of slice groups mapping to a set of TAs, one or more mappings between a slice group and a TA, or one or more mappings between a physical cell identifier, PCI, and a slice group [see page 35, lines 23-30; “The mapping of access categories, access identities and access root causes to slice- specific RACH resource configurations provides for a flexible scheme which goes together with a signaling overhead as a mapping table needs to be configured in the gNB and signaled to the UE. In accordance with embodiments, the mapping table may be preconfigured or partly preconfigured in the UE, for example for emergency systems, such that a default behavior is specified with less or no signaling involved. The information may also be stored within the UE while moving through the network and only the differences or deltas needs to be updated by signaling to the respective UE”].
Regarding claim 28, Seidel discloses wherein the slice group mapping further comprises at least one slice to slice group mapping [see page 10, lines 28-35; “This mapping may also be dynamic, for example, during an emergency case, the network may be reconfigured to support a new slice-specific RACH resource configuration that may be mapped to one or more slices. In case the mapping of the slice-specific RACH resource configuration to the network slices is not unique (as in Fig. 3), also referred to as a 1-to-many mapping, the UE may select from a group of network slices, like slices 1-3 or slices 4 to N in Fig. 3, associated with a slice-specific RACH resource configuration, like PRACH, or PRACHj in Fig. 3, the actual slice to be used based on one or more of the following:”].
Regarding claim 29, Seidel discloses wherein the first network node is further caused to: transmit a slice configuration update to a second network node; or receive the slice configuration update from the second network node; wherein the slice configuration update comprises the SGM configuration [see page 31, lines 20-26; “A RACH resource configuration policy may be stored in the core network, e.g. 5GC, and the UE may be configured or preconfigured with a default policy that may be updated based on a certain criterion or based on a request by the UE. For example, the UE may receive an updated or secondary slice specific RACH resource configuration policy from another entity of the wireless communication network, like a gNB or a sidelink UE or a relay or an entity of the 5GC (5G core network), e.g. by the access and mobility management function (AMF)"; see page 32, lines 1-4; "In accordance with embodiments, the slice-specific UE RACH resource configuration selection function may rely on information provided by the non-access stratum, NAS. The NAS mobility management, NAS-MM, function may communicate with the access mobility management function in the 5G core network, 5GC”].
Regarding claim 30, Seidel discloses wherein the first network node is further caused to determine the SGM configuration [see page 10, lines 14-35; “Fig. 3 illustrates an example for mapping of PRACH resources to network slice IDs. Fig. 3 illustrates an example of a network that may configure N slices, like hundreds of slices, and a N:1 mapping of slices to RACH resources may be implemented ... In case the mapping of the slice-specific RACH resource configuration to the network slices is not unique (as in Fig. 3), also referred to as a 1-to-many mapping, the UE may select from a group of network slices, like slices 1-3 or slices 4 to N in Fig. 3, associated with a slice-specific RACH resource configuration, like PRACH, or PRACHj in Fig. 3, the actual slice to be used based on one or more of the following:”; see page 22, lines 5-15; In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect … the UE is to receive, via the source base station’s RRC signaling, from the target base station one or more of the slice specific RACH resource configurations and/or one or more physical RACH resources within a slice specific RACH resource configuration provided by the target base station to be used when connecting to the target base station with a RACH procedure. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, within a certain area, like a tracking area, TA, the base stations provide the same slice specific RACH resource configurations for the one or more slices, and …”].
Regarding claim 31, Seidel does not explicitly disclose obtain a registration area, RA, configuration of the user device from a core network node to determine the SGM configuration.
However, CMCC teaches obtain a registration area, RA, configuration of the user device from a core network node to determine the SGM configuration [see Q3, Ericsson, “UE will get the mapping Slice to Slice group in NAS signalling (registration), when UE enters new RA. Consequently, all cells in this RA (=list of TAs) need to apply the same Slice to Slice group mapping in SIB”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “obtain a registration area, RA, configuration of the user device from a core network node to determine the SGM configuration”, as taught by CMCC, into the system of Seidel so that it would support the granularities of the slice groups for cell reselection [see CMCC, Q3].
Regarding claim 32, Seidel discloses wherein the first network node is further caused to perform at least one of: obtain an assistant information, wherein the assistant information indicates the user device having invalid SGM configuration; or provide a valid SGM configuration to the user device based on the indicated invalid SGM configuration [see page 36, lines 18-25; “RACH Procedure Failure - Embodiments of the first aspect of the present invention handle failures of a RACH procedure following the selection of a slice-specific RACH resource configuration and selection of the actual RACH resources from the slice-specific configuration to be used for the RACH procedure. In case the access procedure on the RACH resource selected from the determined slice-specific RACH resource configuration fails, the UE may repeat the random- access using RACH resources of a configured or preconfigured fallback RACH resource configuration, for example, provided by a SIB-slice"; see page 70, lines 12-26; “Modify an ongoing RACH procedure - In accordance with embodiments, to modify the ongoing RACH procedure, the UE may modify a certain message transmitted by the UE during the ongoing RACH procedure by including into the certain message, in addition to an indication of the first slice, an indication of the second slice so as to allow a base station to provide in response to the certain message parameters for a configuration of the first and second slices. The UE may alter the content of Msg3 if not already transmitted to the gNB. The Msg3 content may contain a MAC CE, which informs the gNB about the additional slice, e.g. slice#2, that triggered a RACH procedure, thus that the gNB may decide to alter its Msg4 using a different C-RNTI for the UE to be used for communication for slice#2”].
Regarding claim 33, Seidel discloses wherein the first network node comprises a core network node and/or a radio access network node [see page 31, lines 20-26; “A RACH resource configuration policy may be stored in the core network, e.g. 5GC, and the UE may be configured or preconfigured with a default policy that may be updated based on a certain criterion or based on a request by the UE. For example, the UE may receive an updated or secondary slice specific RACH resource configuration policy from another entity of the wireless communication network, like a gNB or a sidelink UE or a relay or an entity of the 5GC (5G core network), e.g. by the access and mobility management function (AMF)"; see page 32, lines 1-4; "In accordance with embodiments, the slice-specific UE RACH resource configuration selection function may rely on information provided by the non-access stratum, NAS. The NAS mobility management, NAS-MM, function may communicate with the access mobility management function in the 5G core network, 5GC”].
Claims 22 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidel in view of CMCC and Murray et al. (US 2023/0156583 A1, hereinafter “Murray”).
Regarding claims 22 and 36, Seidel does not explicitly disclose check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second TA when the user device moves from a first TA to the second TA; or check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second registration area, RA, when the user device moves from a first RA to the second RA.
However, Murray teaches check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second TA when the user device moves from a first TA to the second TA; or check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second registration area, RA, when the user device moves from a first RA to a second RA [see Fig. 4, steps 231-232, para. 218; UE 201 reselects a cell 205 in TA1. At step 232, the UE 201 performs a Mobility Registration Update procedure to inform the network that it has moved to a TA that supports a different set of RAN slices].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second TA when the user device moves from a first TA to the second TA; or check whether the SGM configuration is valid for a second registration area, RA, when the user device moves from a first RA to a second RA”, as taught by Murray, into the combined system of Seidel and CMCC so that it would provide Slice Registration Area for a given network slice [see Murray, para. 215].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469