CTNF 18/724,931 CTNF 99257 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2), in view of Xia et al. (US20220060240 hereinafter Xia) . Regarding claim 1. Guo teaches the apparatus for a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 2 and par. 0056, teaches terminal device 200 (e.g., an example of the terminal device 101 of FIG. 1) in accordance with one or more implementations of the present disclosure. Wherein, fig. 1 and pars. 0021-0025, teaches terminal device 101 receiving and transmitting signals. Thus, it is obvious that terminal device 200 has to have some sort of transceiver) ; and a processor configured (fig. 2 and par. 0056, teaches terminal device 200 includes processing unit 210) to: receive, from a base station and via the transceiver, a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the base station and the UE in an uplink or a downlink direction (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0146, teaches the UE receiving from a network device a set of resources for beam measurements. Whereas, the set of resources can include a first portion of the set of resources is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP), and a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP. Wherein, the first and second TRP that identify the first and second portions of the set of resources reads as a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the base station and the UE) ; perform a number of layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurements for a second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0148, teaches the UE performing a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the first portion of the set of resources. Wherein, the first portion of the set of resources reads as for a second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to conducting L1-RSRP measurements on the set of resources. Furthermore, pars. 0145-0146, teaches the first and second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators) , transmit, to the base station, … a number of L1-RSRP reports corresponding to the number of L1- RSRP measurements (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device) . However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, performing a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators, transmit, to the base station, a number of P-MPR reports corresponding to the number of P-MPR measurements..; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports. Yuan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements, so Yuan is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan teaches performing a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the UE generating a panel-specific PHR for at least one of multiple antenna panels based on a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting. Whereas, the language “a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting” reads as a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to being the base station configuring triggers to perform panel specific reporting and thus when a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met there must be a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators. Moreover, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) based on at least one panel- specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE)) , transmit, to the base station, a number of P-MPR reports corresponding to the number of P-MPR measurements.. (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the UE transmits the panel-specific PHR to the BS 102) ; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the BS 102 may adjust transmission power, based on the panel-specific PHR or may switch to a different panel or a different beam indicated by the panel-specific PHR. Wherein, it is obvious that the future downlink communication from the BS 102 and received by the UE 104 would be switched to a different panel or a different beam indicated by the panel-specific PHR in response to the panel-specific PHR) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators, transmit, to the base station, a number of P-MPR reports corresponding to the number of P-MPR measurements..; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) However, the combination of Guo and Yuan explicitly fails to disclose, receiving data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the of… P-MPR reports and the …of L1-RSRP reports. Yuan-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for P-MPR reports and L1-RSRP reports, so Yuan-2 is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan-2 teaches receiving data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the of number P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports (fig. 9 and pars. 0099-0100, teaches the UE may configure a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) based on the MPE event, the MAC-CE. Wherein, the MAC-CE may be a power headroom report (PHR) MAC-CE including at least one power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Furthermore, pars. 0103-0106, teaches the UE 902 may select at least one candidate beam for a transmission of the MAC-CE. The at least one candidate beam may be selected based on at least one metric including: an uplink reference signal received power (RSRP) value, a first layer (L1)-RSRP value, a virtual power headroom report (PHR), or a power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Moreover, when the base station 904 may configure a transmission schedule for communication with the UE based on the MAC-CE, there must be some sort of selection and determination based on the received (L1)-RSRP and P-MPR. Therefore, the UE would receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the of… P-MPR reports and the …of L1-RSRP reports, as disclosed by Yuan-2 with the combination of Guo and Yuan. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication. (see Yuan-2 par. 0107) However, although Guo teaches the first and second subset of resources (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0146) , the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources. Xia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for subset of resources, so Xia is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Xia teaches the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources (par. 0022, teaches the first subset of beams having a coverage area that partially overlaps a coverage area of the beam of the second subset of beams) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources, as disclosed by Xia with the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Xia par. 0005) Regarding claim 3. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Guo further teaches the set of resource indicators comprises a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) resource indicators (SSBRIs) (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0147, teaches the set of resources can include Synchronization Signal blocks (SSB). Moreover, the UE reports one or more reporting groups. Wherein, the one or more reporting groups includes an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) corresponding to the first and second portion of the set of resources) , or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicators (CRIs) (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0147, teaches the set of resources can include Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources. Moreover, the UE reports one or more reporting groups. Wherein, the one or more reporting groups includes a first CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) corresponding to the first portion of the set of resources and a second CRI corresponding to the second portion of the set of resources. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art) . Regarding claim 4. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia teaches the apparatus for claim 3. Guo further teaches the first subset of resources includes the set of SSBRIs (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0147, teaches an SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) corresponding to the first portion of the set of resources) and the second subset of resources includes the set of CRIs (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0147, teaches a second CRI corresponding to the second portion of the set of resources) . Regarding claim 7. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Guo further teaches the processor is further configured (fig. 2 and par. 0056, teaches terminal device 200 includes processing unit 210) to send… one or more L1-RSRP reports of the number of L1-RSRP reports (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1- RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device) . However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, sending one or more P- MPR reports of the number of P-MPR reports asynchronously or independently of one or more L1-RSRP reports of the number of L1-RSRP reports. Yuan further teaches sending one or more P- MPR reports of the number of P-MPR reports asynchronously or independently of one or more L1-RSRP reports of the number of L1-RSRP reports (pars. 0076-0079, the UE transmitting a panel-specific PHR to the BS when the UE detects that a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met. Wherein, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) is based on at least one panel-specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE). Thus, the PHR report reads as a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports that is asynchronously or independently of one or more L1-RSRP reports of the number of L1-RSRP reports) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending one or more P- MPR reports of the number of P-MPR reports asynchronously or independently of one or more L1-RSRP reports of the number of L1-RSRP reports, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) Regarding claim 11. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Guo further teaches the processor is further configured (fig. 2 and par. 0056, teaches terminal device 200 includes processing unit 210) to transmit, to the base station (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device) . However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports upon occurrence of an event, the event comprising: change in a P-MPR value meeting a specific criterion. Yuan further teaches transmitting, to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports upon occurrence of an event, the event comprising: change in a P-MPR value meeting a specific criterion (pars. 0076-0079, the UE transmitting a panel-specific PHR to the BS when the UE detects that a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met. Wherein, the PHR may be triggered if a power backoff metric has been changed, for example the power backoff metric can be either one of the power backoffs associated with at least two UE panels (e.g., for two panels k={0, 1}, the maximum of P-MPR(1) and P-MPR(2), where P-MPR(k) is the P-MPR value associated with a panel k). Thus, the change in P-MPR(1) and/or P-MPR(2) would trigger the UE to transmit a panel-specific PHR to the BS. Wherein, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) is based on at least one panel-specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE). Thus, the PHR report reads as a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports upon occurrence of an event, the event comprising: change in a P-MPR value meeting a specific criterion, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2), in view of Xia et al. (US20220060240 hereinafter Xia), in further view of Hong (US20230043225) . Regarding claim 5. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Guo further teaches the processor is further configured to send … the number of L1-RSRP reports … (fig. 4 and pars. 0151-0152, teaches the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources can be reported once every two resources in the set of resources) . However, although Guo teaches the processor is further configured to send the number of L1-RSRP reports once every two resources (fig. 4 and pars. 0151-0152) , the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia explicitly fails to disclose, sending the number of P- MPR reports or the number of L1-RSRP reports periodically. Hong disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for P- MPR reports, so Hong is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Hong teaches sending the number of P- MPR reports or the number of L1-RSRP reports periodically (par. 0065, teaches the UE can report the P-MPR information to the base station in a periodic reporting manner. Par. 0008, teaches maximum allowed power reduction (P-MPR). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending the number of P- MPR reports periodically, as disclosed by Hong with the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Hong par. 0052) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2) . Regarding claim 12. Guo teaches the apparatus for a base station (fig. 4 and par. 0145, teaches a network device or gNB (e.g., the network device described above in relation to FIG. 1) that includes one or more TRPs (e.g., the TRP 111 and TRP 112)) , comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1 and pars. 0019-0020, teaches the network device include a base transceiver station. Moreover, the network device can wirelessly communicate with the terminal device, thus there has to be a transceiver component) ; and a processor configured (fig. 1 and pars. 0088-0089, teaches the network device can configure the terminal device, wherein there must be a processor component in order to conduct communication and configure the terminal device) to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the UE and the base station in an uplink or a downlink direction (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0146, teaches the UE receiving from a network device a set of resources for beam measurements. Whereas, the set of resources can include a first portion of the set of resources is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP), and a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP. Wherein, the first and second TRP that identify the first and second portions of the set of resources reads as a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the base station and the UE) ; receive, from the UE, … a number of L1-RSRP reports corresponding to a second subset of resources of the set of resource indicators (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Wherein, the UE performs a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the first portion of the set of resources. Whereas, the first portion of the set of resources reads as for a second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to conducting L1-RSRP measurements on the set of resources. Furthermore, pars. 0145-0146, teaches the first and second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device) .; and identify a beam of the set of beams for transmission of data in the downlink direction based on the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports. However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, from the UE, a number of P-PR reports corresponding to a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators. Yuan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements, so Yuan is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan teaches receiving, from the UE, a number of P-PR reports corresponding to a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the BS 102 receiving from the UE the panel-specific PHR. Wherein, pars. 0075-0077, teaches the UE generating a panel-specific PHR for at least one of multiple antenna panels based on a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting. Whereas, the language “a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting” reads as a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to being the base station configuring triggers to perform panel specific reporting and thus when a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met there must be a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators. Moreover, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) based on at least one panel-specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE). Thus, the base station receiving a number of P-PR reports corresponding to a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, from the UE, a number of P-PR reports corresponding to a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) However, the combination of Guo and Yuan explicitly fails to disclose, identifying a beam of the set of beams for transmission of data in the downlink direction based on the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports. Yuan-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for P-MPR reports and L1-RSRP reports, so Yuan-2 is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan-2 teaches identifying a beam of the set of beams for transmission of data in the downlink direction based on the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports (fig. 9 and pars. 0099-0100, teaches the UE may configure a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) based on the MPE event, the MAC-CE. Wherein, the MAC-CE may be a power headroom report (PHR) MAC-CE including at least one power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Furthermore, pars. 0103-0106, teaches the UE 902 may select at least one candidate beam for a transmission of the MAC-CE. The at least one candidate beam may be selected based on at least one metric including: an uplink reference signal received power (RSRP) value, a first layer (L1)-RSRP value, a virtual power headroom report (PHR), or a power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Moreover, when the base station 904 configures a transmission schedule for communication with the UE based on the MAC-CE, there must be some sort of selection and determination based on the received (L1)-RSRP and P-MPR. Therefore, identifying a beam of the set of beams for transmission of data in the downlink direction based on the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize identifying a beam of the set of beams for transmission of data in the downlink direction based on the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports, as disclosed by Yuan-2 with the combination of Guo and Yuan. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication. (see Yuan-2 par. 0107) Regarding claim 14. Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 12. Guo further teaches a P-MPR report of the number of P-MPR reports or an L1-RSRP report of the number of L1-RSRP reports includes a resource indicator associated with a received P-MPR report or a received L1-RSRP report (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0143, the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources. Wherein, the reports may include a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI) or a SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI) corresponding to the first and second portion of the set of resources. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art) . Regarding claim 15. Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 12. Guo further teaches the processor is further configured to transmit, to the UE, at least one criteria for transmitting … an L1-RSRP report to the base station (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0147, teaches the UE receives a request to measure perform a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources. Then, the UE can then perform the L1-RSRP measurement. Wherein, pars. 0147-0153, teaches once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete the UE reports the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources to the network device. Whereas, par. 0145, teaches the method of figure 4 is between a terminal device or UE and a network device or gNB, thus it is obvious that the network device is transmitting the request to measure perform a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the set of resources and receiving the reports) . However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, to the UE, at least one criteria for transmitting a P-PR report … to the base station. Yuan further teaches transmitting, to the UE, at least one criteria for transmitting a P-PR report … to the base station (figs. 6-8 and pars. 0075-0078, teaches the UE is configured by the BS with a trigger involving at least one metric such as a power backoff metric. Then, the UE detects that a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met. In response to detecting the trigger condition, the UE generates a panel-specific PHR for at least one of multiple antenna panels. Finally, the UE transmits the panel-specific PHR to the BS. Moreover, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) based on at least one panel-specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE)) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, to the UE, at least one criteria for transmitting a P-PR report … to the base station, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2), in further view of Zander et al. (US20210289487 hereinafter Zander) . Regarding claim 13. Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 12. However, although Guo teaches the first and second subset of resources (fig. 4 and pars. 0146-0147) , the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the second subset of resources comprises at least one resource indicator included in the first subset of resources. Zander disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for resource indicators, so Zander is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Zander teaches the second subset of resources comprises at least one resource indicator included in the first subset of resources (fig. 4 and par. 0069, teaches a first set of radio resources and a second set of radio resources have a common beam identity; BI0. Thus, the second subset of resources comprises at least one resource indicator included in the first subset of resources) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second subset of resources comprises at least one resource indicator included in the first subset of resources, as disclosed by Zander with the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Zander par. 0004) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2), in view of Xia et al. (US20220060240 hereinafter Xia), in further view of Hsieh et al. (US20220294518 hereinafter Hsieh) . Regarding claim 18. Guo teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE) from a base station, a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the base station and the UE in an uplink or a downlink direction (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0146, teaches the UE receiving from a network device a set of resources for beam measurements. Whereas, the set of resources can include a first portion of the set of resources is associated with a first transmission/reception point (TRP), and a second portion of the set of resources is associated with a second TRP. Wherein, the first and second TRP that identify the first and second portions of the set of resources reads as a set of resource indicators identifying a set of beams for transmission of data between the base station and the UE) ; performing, by the UE, a number of layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurements for a second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0148, teaches the UE performing a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement of the first portion of the set of resources. Wherein, the first portion of the set of resources reads as for a second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to conducting L1-RSRP measurements on the set of resources. Furthermore, pars. 0145-0146, teaches the first and second subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators) , transmitting, from the UE to the base station, … a number of L1-RSRP reports corresponding to the number of L1-RSRP measurements (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device) ; and transmitting data in the uplink direction from the UE to the base station (fig. 4 and pars. 0147-0153, teaches the UE reporting the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources once the L1-RSRP measurements are complete. Furthermore, it is obvious within the context of par. 0145, that the UE is reporting to the network device in an uplink direction) . However, although Guo suggest power management maximum power reduction (P-PRM) measurements (par. 0117) , the apparatus and methods of Guo explicitly fails to disclose, performing, by the UE, a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators, transmitting, from the UE to the base station, a number of P-MPR reports corresponding to the number of P-MPR measurements…; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports. Yuan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power management maximum power reduction (P-PR) measurements, so Yuan is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan teaches performing, by the UE, a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the UE generating a panel-specific PHR for at least one of multiple antenna panels based on a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting. Whereas, the language “a detected trigger condition for panel specific power reporting” reads as a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators due to being the base station configuring triggers to perform panel specific reporting and thus when a trigger condition for panel specific power reporting is met there must be a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators. Moreover, par. 0159, teaches generating and transmitting a panel-specific power headroom report (PHR) based on at least one panel-specific power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value specific to an antenna panel of a user equipment (UE)) , transmitting data in the uplink direction from the UE to the base station, …, the beam for data transmission in the downlink direction selected at least partly in response to the number of P-MPR reports.. (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the UE transmits the panel-specific PHR to the BS 102) ; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports (fig. 8 and pars. 0075-0077, teaches the BS 102 may adjust transmission power, based on the panel-specific PHR or may switch to a different panel or a different beam indicated by the panel-specific PHR. Wherein, it is obvious that the future downlink communication from the BS 102 and received by the UE 104 would be switched to a different panel or a different beam indicated by the panel-specific PHR in response to the panel-specific PHR) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing, by the UE, a number of power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) measurements for a first subset of resources identified by the set of resource indicators, transmitting, from the UE to the base station, a number of P-MPR reports corresponding to the number of P-MPR measurements…; and receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports, as disclosed by Yuan with the method and apparatus of Guo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve path loss. (see Yuan par. 0044) However, the combination of Guo and Yuan explicitly fails to disclose, the beam for data transmission in the downlink direction selected at least partly in response to the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports received at the base station from the UE. Yuan-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for P-MPR reports and L1-RSRP reports, so Yuan-2 is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Yuan-2 teaches the beam for data transmission in the downlink direction selected at least partly in response to the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports received at the base station from the UE (fig. 9 and pars. 0099-0100, teaches the UE may configure a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) based on the MPE event, the MAC-CE. Wherein, the MAC-CE may be a power headroom report (PHR) MAC-CE including at least one power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Furthermore, pars. 0103-0106, teaches the UE 902 may select at least one candidate beam for a transmission of the MAC-CE. The at least one candidate beam may be selected based on at least one metric including: an uplink reference signal received power (RSRP) value, a first layer (L1)-RSRP value, a virtual power headroom report (PHR), or a power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value. Moreover, when the base station 904 may configure a transmission schedule for communication with the UE based on the MAC-CE, there must be some sort of selection and determination based on the received (L1)-RSRP and P-MPR. Therefore, the UE would receive data in the downlink direction from the base station, over a beam of the set of beams, the data received over the beam at least partly in response to the transmission of the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the beam for data transmission in the downlink direction selected at least partly in response to the number of P-MPR reports and the number of L1-RSRP reports received at the base station from the UE, as disclosed by Yuan-2 with the combination of Guo and Yuan. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication. (see Yuan-2 par. 0107) However, although Guo teaches the first and second subset of resources (fig. 4 and pars. 0145-0146) , the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources. Xia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for subset of resources, so Xia is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Xia teaches the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources (par. 0022, teaches the first subset of beams having a coverage area that partially overlaps a coverage area of the beam of the second subset of beams) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second subset of resources including at least one resource in the first subset of resources, as disclosed by Xia with the combination of Guo, Yuan, and Yuan-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Xia par. 0005) However, the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting data in the uplink direction from the UE to the base station, over a beam of the set of beams on which the data is received from the base station at the UE in the downlink direction. Hsieh disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam selection, so Hsieh is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Hsieh teaches transmitting data in the uplink direction from the UE to the base station, over a beam of the set of beams on which the data is received from the base station at the UE in the downlink direction (fig. 4 and pars. 0110-0111, teaches the UE receives beam layer information from the network, then the UE performs radio signal measurements on references signals associated with the beam layer information of the cell coverage area 110 to select and/or determine a best or strongest beam layer to use. Furthermore, once determined par. 0119, teaches the UE 200 may enable and/or begin communication (e.g., data transmission and/or reception) using the individual beams of the selected. Wherein, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that signals sent by the network to a UE is a downlink and signals sent by the UE to the network is an uplink) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting data in the uplink direction from the UE to the base station, over a beam of the set of beams on which the data is received from the base station at the UE in the downlink direction, as disclosed by Hsieh with the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, and Xia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Hsieh par. 0126) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20230387992, examiner notes reliance on provisional applications 63/159, 324, filed Mar. 10, 2021 and 63/166, 899, filed Mar. 26, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Guo in the rejection below), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240049148 hereinafter Yuan), in view of Yuan et al. (US20240397449 hereinafter Yuan-2), in view of Xia et al. (US20220060240 hereinafter Xia), in view of Hsieh et al. (US20220294518 hereinafter Hsieh), in further view of Hong (US20230043225) . Regarding claim 19. Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, Xia, and Hsieh teaches the apparatus for claim 18. Guo further teaches transmitting, from the UE to the base station, …an L1-RSRP report of the number of L1-RSRP reports (fig. 4 and pars. 0151-0152, teaches the L1-RSRP measurement of the set of resources can be reported once every two resources in the set of resources) . However, although Guo teaches the processor is further configured to send the number of L1-RSRP reports once every two resources (fig. 4 and pars. 0151-0152) , the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, Xia, and Hsieh explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, from the UE to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P- MPR reports … periodically. Hong disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for P- MPR reports, so Hong is analogous to Guo. Furthermore, Hong teaches transmitting, from the UE to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P- MPR reports … periodically (par. 0065, teaches the UE can report the P-MPR information to the base station in a periodic reporting manner. Par. 0008, teaches maximum allowed power reduction (P-MPR). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, from the UE to the base station, a P-MPR report of the number of P- MPR reports … periodically, as disclosed by Hong with the combination of Guo, Yuan, Yuan-2, Xia, and Hsieh. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Hong par. 0052) Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2 , 6 , 8-10 , 16-17 , and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO whose telephone number is (703)756-5578. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30am - 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached at 571-272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474 /Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 13 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 14 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 15 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 16 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 17 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 18 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 19 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 20 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 21 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 22 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 23 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 24 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/724,931 Page 25 Art Unit: 2474