CTNF 18/724,954 CTNF 86547 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0156862 in view of Vodafone et al., “Support for Paging Early Indication”, 3GPP TSG-SA2 Meeting #148-e CP-2108959, 2021-11-08 . Re claim 5, Park discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network, the method comprising: determining that the UE supporting a first paging subgrouping did not indicate a capability to support the first paging subgrouping during a last registration procedure in response to determining that an emergency packet data unit (PDU) session over a first access network is active (paragraph [248], registration is requested; paragraph [250], while emergency PDU session exist); initiating a registration procedure for a mobility and a periodic registration update procedure after the emergency PDU session is released over the first access network (paragraph [250], the release of the emergency PDU session, the UE releases the existing N1 NAS signalling connection, and start a registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update); indicating the capability to support the first paging subgrouping . Park discloses the claimed invention but is silent on paging subgrouping. Vodafone in analogous art discloses determining that the UE supporting a first paging subgroup did not indicate a capability to support the first paging subgrouping during the last registration procedure in response to an emergency packet data unit (PDU) session is active (page 7, sec 5.4.X.2, When the UE has an active emergency PDU session: The UE shall not signal Paging Subgrouping Support indication in the Registration Request Message) and further teaches that indicating the capability to support the first paging subgroup in a registration procedure (page 7, section 5.4.X.2, In the Registration Request message, the Paging Subgrouping Support Indication indicates whether the UE supports PEIPS). It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use this paging subgrouping teaching of Vodafone in the system of Park and arrive at the claimed invention so as to support CN assigned Paging Early Indication with Paging subgrouping assistance information (page 1). Re claim 6, in the obvious combination, Park discloses that the first access network is 3 rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access (paragraph [247], 3GPP). Re claim 7, in the obvious combination, Vodafone discloses that the first paging subgrouping is a new radio (NR) paging subgrouping (page 7, VoNR) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., US 20230135662 A1 in view of MediaTek et al., “Paging Early Indication with Paging Subgrouping Assistance”, 3GPP TSG-CT Meeting #94-e CP-213211, 2021-12-10 . Re claim 12, Lin discloses a user equipment (fig 5, ref 501), comprising: a transceiver (fig 5, ref. 501, inherit, see two way communication between UE and 5Gs); a processor (fig 5, ref 501, inherit in UE; also see paragraph [27], processor), configured to: perform a registration procedure indicating support of a first paging subgrouping (fig 5, ref 511; paragraph [25], UE received the Negotiated [support of a first paging subgrouping] PEIPS assistance information IE during the last registration procedure); receiving from an access and mobility function (AMF) entity, a negotiated paging early indication with paging subgrouping (PEIPS) assistance information in a registration accept message (paragraph [32], UE 501 obtains the power-saving feature assistance information IE; paragraph [6], The Paging Subgrouping can be based on either the UE's temporary ID or a paging subgroup allocated by the AMF ); use a PEIPS assistance information in response to receiving the negotiated PEIPS assistance information (fig 5, ref 512; paragraph [32], UE 501 monitors paging according to the PEIPS assistance information to save power consumption.); establishing an emergency packet data unit (PDU) session over a first access network (paragraph [32], In step 521 , an emergency PDU session is established successfully over 3GPP access); stop to use the PEIPS assistance information in response to establishing the emergency PDU session (paragraph [32], In step 522 , UE 501 stops (suspends) using the PEIPS assistance information); performing a handover procedure of the emergency PDU session from the first access network to a second access network (paragraph [33], the successful completion of handover of the emergency PDU session from 3GPP to non-3GPP access); in case that the emergency PDU session is handover from the first access network to the second access network, use the PEIPS assistance information (paragraph [33], UE 501 determines that the emergency PDU session is handover (to non-3GPP) or transferred (to EPC). Accordingly, in step 532 , UE 501 starts (resumes) to use the PEIPS assistance information. Lin discloses the claimed invention but is silent on the PEIPS being received in a registration accept message. MediaTek in analogous art discloses receiving from an access and mobility function (AMF) entity, a negotiated paging early indication with paging subgrouping (PEIPS) assistance information in a registration accept message (page 5, section 5.3.X, the network provides to the UE the negotiated PEOPS assistance information, including the Paging subgroup ID, in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT; page 6, 5.5.1.2.2 REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF). Further, if it is arguable that registration procedure indicating support is not taught by the negotiation of Lin, MediaTek discloses perform a registration procedure indicating support of a first paging subgrouping (page 5, 5.3.X, If the UE indicates support of NR paging subgrouping to the REGISTRATION REQUEST). It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate this teaching of MediaTek into the disclosure of Lin and arrive at the claimed invention so that PEIPS is implemented (see “consequences if not approved” in page 1). Re claim 13, in the obvious combination, Lin discloses that the first access network is a 3 rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access and the second access network is non-3GPP access (paragraph [33], in step 531 , UE 501 determines that the emergency PDU session is handover (to non-3GPP) or transferred (to EPC)). Re claim 14, in the obvious combination, Lin discloses that the negotiated PEIPS assistance information includes a paging subgroup identifier (ID) (see claim 3). Re claim 15, in the obvious combination, Lin discloses that the first paging subgrouping is a new radio (NR) paging subgroup (paragraph [32], PEIPS (NR)). Claims 1-4 are drawn to the UE method by the corresponding UE apparatus of claim 12-15 respectively and is rejected for the same reasons since implementing the apparatus would necessitate using the method as claimed. Claims 8-11 are drawn to the UE method by the corresponding UE apparatus of claim 12-15 respectively and is rejected for the same reasons since implementing the apparatus would necessitate using the method as claimed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL whose telephone number is (571)270-7926. The examiner can normally be reached MON- THURS 5:30AM - 3:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amanda Lauritzen can be reached at 5712724303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 2 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 3 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 4 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 5 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 6 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/724,954 Page 7 Art Unit: 6215