Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 32B, 92A, 100A, 114A, 114B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings do not show the fluid arrangement of claim 33, specifically, how the runoff
from the HVAC module is fluidly connected to the fluid line 124 and filter trap 126.
Claim Objections
Claim are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 reads “wherein the enclosable volume shell 12A” which should either read “wherein the enclosable volume shell
Claim 5 reads “a lower volume beneath the grow bed and being configured to periodically
spray roots of said plant with an aqueous nutrient solution within said lower volume” which should read “a lower volume beneath the grow bed and nozzles
spray roots of said plant with an aqueous nutrient solution within said lower volume”
Claim 12 reads “a lower air circulation interface being positioned belove the grow bed and
in fluid connection with said lower volume” which should read “a lower air circulation interface being positioned below the grow bed and in fluid connection with said lower volume”
Claim 13 reads “A soilless growing system comprising;” which should read “A soilless
growing system comprising[[;]]:”
Claim 15 reads “wherein the grow bed is further comprised of a foam substrate received in
the opening.” According to the specification and drawings, the grow bed itself does not comprise the substrate, it is the crop holder that can receive a foam substrate. Therefore this should be amended to either “wherein the grow bed [[is]] further comprises [[of]] a foam substrate received in the opening,” or “wherein the grow bed [[is]] further includes [[of]] a foam substrate received in the opening.”
Claim 16 reads “wherein roots of the plant part on the concave lower face through said
radially- disposed opening, wherein the crop holder is comprised of a flexible unabsorbant material in a compression relationship to anchor the plant stem on the centrally-disposed opening and to part the roots on the concave lower face” which should read “and configured to anchor the plant stem on the centrally-disposed opening and to part the roots on the concave lower face” to remove duplicate limitations and fix method step type language.
Claim 19 reads “a diaphragm pump connected to said intermediary storage vessel so as to
pressurize said intermediary storage vessel by intermittently or periodically” which should read “a diaphragm pump connected to said intermediary storage vessel so as to pressurize said intermediary storage vessel [[by]] intermittently or periodically.”
Claim 23 is objected to for lack of clarity in regards to limitation “a hot/cold water coil in
fluid connection with said inlet header so as to heat and cool said air flow.” It is unclear if Applicant intends “/” to mean “and/or” or only “or.” If only “or,” then this is improper as the second portion of the limitation requires both heating and cooling.
Claim 25 is objected to for lack of clarity in regards to limitation “wherein the grow module
is comprised on a mounting point on the enclosable volume shell.” It is not fully clear what Applicant means to claim in this limitation, however, it appears Applicant means to claim that the grow module is positioned on a mounting point, in which case the limitation should read “ wherein the grow module is positioned on a mounting point on the enclosable volume shell.”
Claim 25 reads “said harvester being removable engaged with the growbed” which should
read “said harvester being removably engaged with the grow bed.”
Claims 30 and 31 are objected to for improper status identifiers. Claims 30 and 31 were
withdrawn as a result of the restriction requirement and Applicant’s election without traverse on 10/26/2025. Therefore the status identifiers of claims 30 and 31 should be (Withdrawn – currently amended).
Claim 32 reads “wherein the enclosable volume shell is comprised of a load sensor within
said lower volume” which should read “wherein the enclosable volume shell further comprises a load sensor within said lower volume”
Claim 33 reads “wherein the lower portion of the enclosable volume shell is comprised of a
filter trap between said outflow and said nutrient module” which should read “wherein the lower portion of the enclosable volume shell further comprises a filter trap between said outflow and said nutrient module”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is rejected for lack of clarity regarding the limitation “wherein the grow bed is further comprised of a foam substrate received in the opening.” Firstly, according to the specification and drawings, the grow bed itself does not comprise the substrate, it is the crop holder that can receive a foam substrate. Secondly, claim 13 specifically states “wherein said plant is positioned in the crop holder without a substrate,” and therefore the substrate of claim 14 is contradictory. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected for lack of clarity regarding the limitation “wherein the crop holder is comprised of a centrally-disposed opening extending through the grow bed.” It is unclear if Applicant is trying to claim that the crop holder extends through the length of the grow bed, or that the centrally-disposed opening of the crop holder extends through the entirety of the crop holder (which extends through the bed). Claim 16 is likewise rejected. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2).
Regarding claim 1, Penn discloses a soilless growing system, comprising:
a grow module (150), wherein said grow module comprises:
an enclosable volume shell (103) having an interior (see fig 1);
a removable grow bed (102) being received within said interior (see fig 1);
a plant being positioned in the grow bed (102) so as to be growable through the grow bed (see fig 1); and
artificial lighting (113) configured to provide light energy to the plant (claim 25),
a nutrient module (109) connected to the grow module so as supply and condition an aqueous nutrient solution to the grow module (claim 13); and
a HVAC module (460) connected to the grow module so as supply and condition a gaseous environment to the grow module.
Penn fails to disclose the grow bed, being comprised of a removeable crop holder and being received in said interior; a plant being positioned by the crop holder so as to be growable through the grow bed; the artificial lighting being within said interior, wherein said plant is positioned in the crop holder without a substrate.
Blackburn teaches a removable grow bed (30 and 32), being comprised of a removeable crop holder (collar 12 with central opening 14) and being received in said interior (see fig 2); a plant being positioned in the grow bed (30/32) by the crop holder (12) so as to be growable through the grow bed (see fig 2); and wherein said plant is positioned in the crop holder without a substrate (plant positioned in collar 12 without any substrate, see fig 2 and col 6, lines 7-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the removable crop holder without a substrate of Blackburn with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the plant is secure within the aperture such that it is stable throughout its growth and development, and providing a simpler growing setup due to not requiring a substrate.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except the artificial lighting being received within the interior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the lighting within the enclosed volume with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide closer lighting to the plants, ensuring they have adequate light for photosynthesis as they grow and develop, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 13, Penn discloses a soilless growing system, comprising;
a grow module (150), wherein said grow module comprises:
an enclosable volume (103) having an interior (see fig 1);
a removable grow bed (102) being received within said interior (see fig 1);
a plant being positioned in the grow bed (102) so as to be growable through the grow bed (see fig 1); and
artificial lighting (113) configured to provide light energy to the plant (claim 25),
a nutrient module (109) connected to the grow module so as to supply and condition an aqueous nutrient solution to the grow module (see fig 1 and claim 13); and
a HVAC module (460) connected to the grow module so as to supply and condition a gaseous environment to the grow module.
Penn fails to disclose the grow bed, being comprised of a removeable crop holder and being received in said interior; a plant being positioned by the crop holder so as to be growable through the grow bed; the artificial lighting being within said interior, wherein said plant is positioned in the crop holder without a substrate, wherein the grow bed is further comprised of an additional removeable crop holder, and wherein the grow module is further comprised of an additional plant corresponding to the additional crop holder.
Blackburn teaches a removable grow bed (30 and 32), being comprised of a removeable crop holder (collar 12 with central opening 14) and being received in said interior (see fig 2); a plant being positioned in the grow bed (30/32) by the crop holder (12) so as to be growable through the grow bed (see fig 2); and wherein said plant is positioned in the crop holder without a substrate (plant positioned in collar 12 without any substrate, see fig 2 and col 6, lines 7-30), wherein the grow bed is further comprised of an additional removeable crop holder (multiple collars 12, see fig 2), and wherein the grow module is further comprised of an additional plant corresponding to the additional crop holder (multiple plants in each crop holders, see fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the removable crop holder without a substrate of Blackburn with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the plant is secure within the aperture such that it is stable throughout its growth and development, and providing a simpler growing setup due to not requiring a substrate.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except the artificial lighting being received within the interior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the lighting within the enclosed volume with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide closer lighting to the plants, ensuring they have adequate light for photosynthesis as they grow and develop, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cunningham (US-20220124995-A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 1, and Penn further discloses wherein the grow module wherein the grow module is air-tight (page 24, lines 20-22, casing is sealed to plant board to maintain sterility of the interior), and wherein the enclosable volume shell 12A is formed as an elongated square bifrustum, triangular bipyramid, cuboid, rectangular cuboid, pentagonal bipyramid, hexagonal bipyramid or any suitable polyhedral shape (rectangular cuboid, see parge 24, lines 20-22).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the grow module is optically opaque.
Cunningham teaches wherein the grow module is optically opaque (opaque outer door/shell, see para 0224 and figs 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the grow module to be optically opaque as taught by Cunningham with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure only the artificial lighting affects the plants, and they are not further illuminated by accidental outside light, which could result in light damage or incorrect illumination timing.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cunningham (US-20220124995-A1), Bissonnette (US 20070271841 A1) and Allgeier (US 20230088481 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 1, and Penn further discloses wherein the grow module is divided into an upper volume (100) above the grow bed, and a lower volume (101) beneath the grow bed (see fig 1), and being configured to periodically spray roots of said plant with an aqueous nutrient solution within said lower volume (fluid irrigation feeders 109, see fig 1); wherein a lower portion of the enclosable volume shell corresponding to said lower volume is comprised of side walls having a sealing liner (gasket 105 to seal top and bottom portions, see page 21, lines 26-27), said sealing liner being configured to collect and return excess aqueous nutrient solution to said nutrient module via an outflow (gasket 105 to seal top and bottom portions, see page 21, lines 26-27), wherein the grow bed is positioned in a section of said upper volume so as to be removable from the grow module by lifting vertically through said section (removal and insertion of plant board enabled, see page 20, lines 25-31), wherein the grow module has a height and width (see fig 1), and wherein the enclosable volume shell is comprised of a door assembly being configured to provide access to said upper volume (cover 106 includes a door or sealed zipper, see page 15).
The modified reference fails to explicitly teach wherein an upper portion of the enclosable volume shell corresponding to said upper volume is comprised of an optically reflective internal surface, said height being at least equal to or greater than said width so as to accommodate and permit plant growth above the grow bed and plant root growth below the grow bed, and said door assembly being covered by a thermally-insulating layer.
Bissonnette teaches wherein an upper portion of the enclosable volume shell corresponding to said upper volume is comprised of an optically reflective internal surface (photo radiation hood 220 has reflective material, see para 0063, 0133, 0390 and fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the reflective surface of Bissonnette with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure seeds or plants receive optimal illumination for germination and growth.
Cunningham teaches wherein the grow module has a height and width (see fig 2), said height being at least equal to or greater than said width so as to accommodate and permit plant growth above the grow bed and plant root growth below the grow bed (see fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the height and width with the configuration of Cunningham with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the plants have room to grow sufficiently tall uninhibited by the grow module.
Allgeier teaches said door assembly being covered by a thermally-insulating layer (insulated liner, Penn has sealing gasket around door).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the sealing gasket around the door of Penn with the thermally insulating layer of Allgeier with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the grow module is maintained as proper temperature requirements for the growing plants.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Bissonnette (US 20070271841 A1) and Alessio (US-12016277-B2).
Regarding claim 16, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 13, and Blackburn further teaches wherein the crop holder (collar 12 with central opening 14) is annular in shape, wherein the crop holder is comprised of a centrally-disposed opening extending from an upper surface of the crop holder to a central cavity and,(collar 12 with central opening 14, see figs 1-2), wherein the plant is comprised of a plant stem protruded through the centrally- disposed opening toward the upper volume (see fig 2).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the crop holder is comprised of a radially-disposed opening extending from said central cavity through the grow bed toward the lower volume, wherein the crop holder is comprised of two identical pieces so as to form an outer shoulder around the centrally-disposed opening, wherein said central cavity is comprised of a concave lower face with a centrally-disposed concaved recess so as to locate and prevent seeds from escaping from the concave lower face, wherein roots of the plant part on the concave lower face through said radially- disposed opening, wherein the crop holder is comprised of a flexible unabsorbant material in a compression relationship to anchor the plant stem on the centrally-disposed opening and to part the roots on the concave lower face, wherein the crop holder further comprises: an annular carrier removable engaged around the two identical pieces so as to transport the crop holder to and from the grow bed, and wherein said annular carrier is comprised of an engagement means for the grow bed or a perforated elongate structure extended into the upper volume so as to support the stem of the plant or both.
Alessio teaches wherein said central cavity is comprised of a concave lower face (20) with a centrally-disposed concaved recess (22) so as to locate and prevent seeds from escaping from the concave lower face (see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the central cavity of the crop holder with the concave recess of Alessio with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the seeds remain in the cavity while allowing the roots space to grow.
Bissonnette teaches a radially-disposed opening extending from said central cavity through the grow bed toward the lower volume (radial openings of crop holder, see figs 11-12), wherein roots of the plant part on the concave lower face through said radially- disposed opening (radial openings of crop holder, see figs 11-12), wherein the crop holder is comprised of a flexible unabsorbant material (injection molded ABS, see para 0392) in a compression relationship to anchor the plant stem on the centrally-disposed opening and to part the roots on the concave lower face (see figs 11-12 and 15, radially disposed openings), wherein the crop holder further comprises: an annular carrier (support means 186, see fig 13) removable engaged around the two identical pieces so as to transport the crop holder to and from the grow bed (see fig 13 and para 0150-0152) and wherein said annular carrier is comprised of an engagement means for the grow bed (see fig 13 and para 0150-0152) or a perforated elongate structure extended into the upper volume so as to support the stem of the plant or both.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the crop carrier with the radial openings, flexible material and annular carrier of Bissonnette with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a strong yet flexible carrier for the plants, that will allow roots to grow, and allow for ease of transport and transplanting.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the crop holder is comprised of two identical pieces so as to form an outer shoulder around the centrally-disposed opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the crop holder to be made of two separate pieces with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide an easier user experience when transplanting of the plant is required, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang (CN-111165331-A).
Regarding claim 19, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 1, and Penn further discloses wherein the nutrient module comprises: a nutrient reservoir having the aqueous nutrient solution being monitored for pH (pH monitoring and adjusting with the fluid delivery system 560), fresh water, nutrients and pH regulators being in fluid connection with said nutrient reservoir to supply fresh water, nutrients and pH solutions to the aqueous nutrient solution (fluid delivery pump 460, optional nutrients from feeders 109, also pH adjustment, see page 25), and a pump (460) to supply the aqueous nutrient solution to the grow module (see fig 1).
The modified reference fails to teach monitoring conductivity, and an intermediary storage vessel in fluid connection with said nutrient reservoir; a diaphragm pump connected to said intermediary storage vessel so as to pressurize said intermediary storage vessel by intermittently or periodically, and supply the aqueous nutrient solution to the grow module
Jiang teaches monitoring conductivity (conductivity probe see page 8), and an intermediary storage vessel (21) in fluid connection with said nutrient reservoir; a diaphragm pump (15) connected to said intermediary storage vessel (21) so as to pressurize said intermediary storage vessel by intermittently or periodically (diaphragm pump pressurizes water into 14), and supply the aqueous nutrient solution to the grow module (pump 15 pressurizes water into 14 which is then conveyed to the planting modules, see fig 3 and pages 5 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the conductivity probe and diaphragm pump of Jiang with a reasonable expectation of success as these will provide more precise nutrient monitoring and specific hydration dosing to ensure the plants are receiving optimal growth conditions.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allgeier (US-20230088481-A1).
Regarding claim 23, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 1, and Penn further discloses wherein said HVAC module is in fluid connection with the grow module so as to supply a treated gaseous environment (air inlets 11 for air delivery system 460, see fig 4B), wherein said treated gaseous environment is comprised of an environment by at least one of the following: filtration (filter 490), ventilation, heating, cooling, humidification, pressurization, and carbon dioxide concentration (HVAC system 460, also with carbon dioxide concentration, see page 25), wherein the HVAC module (460) comprises: an inlet header (471); an outlet header in fluid connection with said inlet header (472); a carbon dioxide supplying device in fluid connection with said inlet header so as to add carbon dioxide to said air flow (CO2 source 466, see page 35, adds CO2 to the filtered air going to the covers); and in fluid connection with said inlet header so as to heat and cool said air flow (cooling batteries page 35, lines 10-12).
The modified reference fails to teach a fan in fluid connection with said inlet header and said outlet header so as to induce air flow between inlet and outlet headers.
Allgeier teaches a fan in fluid connection with said inlet header and said outlet header so as to induce air flow between inlet and outlet headers, (fan 152, see para 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the fan of Allgeier with a reasonable expectation of success as these will ensure there is fresh air flow to all the plants and allow for precise adjustment of the air flow for optimal growth conditions based on growth stage or plant type.
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bank (US-11537107-B2).
Regarding claim 25, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 1, and Penn further discloses an additional grow module (see fig 7, multiple grow modules) being connected to said nutrient module (see fig 5) and said HVAC module (see fig 4b), a modular racking being comprised of: pairs of vertical frame members (multiple vertical racking structures, see page 15), wherein the grow module is comprised on a mounting point on the enclosable volume shell (each grow module is mounted on a horizontal mounting arm, see fig 8), wherein said modular racking is stackable with an additional modular racking (stackable system, see fig 8).
The modified reference fails to teach a horizontal spanning member having ends receivable between the pairs of vertical frame member; and a module support arm above said horizontal spanning member, wherein the grow module is supported on said module support arm by said mounting point, wherein said modular racking is longitudinally extendable into aisles, and wheeled trolleys mounted below said horizontal spanning member; a harvester; and a processing area, said harvester being moveable between the grow module and said processing area, said harvester being removable engaged with the growbed.
Blackburn teaches a modular racking (see figs 8-10) being comprised of: pairs of vertical frame members (66, see fig 8); a horizontal spanning member (72, see fig 10) having ends receivable between the pairs of vertical frame member (see fig 8); and a module support arm (76) above said horizontal spanning member, wherein the grow module (120) is supported on said module support arm (76) by said mounting point, wherein said modular racking is longitudinally extendable into aisles (see fig 8, racking extends into aisles, both individual shelves and whole rack via wheels), and wheeled trolleys (64) mounted below said horizontal spanning member (see fig 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified with the modular racking system of Blackburn with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow a space efficient cultivation system, and the allow for easy access to each grow module as needed for harvesting or maintenance.
Bank teaches a harvester (mobile robot 110, see figs 1 and 4); and a processing area (120, see figs 1 and 4); said harvester being moveable between the grow module and said processing area (see figs 4a-j); said harvester being removable engaged with the growbed (see fig 4a-j).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the harvester and processing area of Bank with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for easy harvesting and maintenance of one grow module without disturbing or removing the entirety of the grow modules to provide a more efficient user experience.
Claim(s) 32 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2), Cunningham (US-20220124995-A1), Bissonnette (US 20070271841 A1) and Allgeier (US 20230088481 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Millar (US-11102942-B2) and Ikeuchi (US-20200305369-A1).
Regarding claim 32, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in 5, and Penn further discloses wherein the grow module further comprises a sensor in communication with a processor (processor 308 & controller 310 may control the system based on sensor data, see page 21), wherein said sensor is selected from one of a group consisting of a temperature sensor, humidity sensor, pressure sensor, carbon dioxide sensor, digital image capture, light sensor, and airflow sensor (sensors 316 include temperature, airflow, carbon dioxide, humidity, illumination, image sensor, see page 21), wherein said processor is in communication with said artificial lighting, said nutrient module, and said HVAC module so as to monitor and control growth of said plant and roots of said plant (controller 310 (which includes processor 308) controls that respective environment control system, for example, based on sensor data associated with that respective environment control system).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the enclosable volume shell is comprised of a load sensor within said lower volume, and a weigh frame on said load sensor, wherein the grow bed is positioned on said weigh frame, said load sensor being configured to monitor a mass of the grow bed and being in communication with the processor, and wherein the grow module further comprises an impingement nozzle being disposed in said lower volume and being configured to provide said aqueous nutrient solution in a wide-angled spray pattern.
Millar teaches wherein the shell is comprised of a load sensor (310), a weigh frame (frame can be tray or just a group of cells) on said load sensor, wherein the grow bed (105) is positioned on said weigh frame (104), said load sensor being configured to monitor a mass of the grow bed (tray 105) and being in communication with the processor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the load sensor of Millar with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for easy monitoring of the grow bed and plant weight throughout the plants life cycle to provide accurate data regarding plant yield and weight for harvest.
Ikeuchi teaches wherein the grow module further comprises an impingement nozzle being disposed in said lower volume and being configured to provide said aqueous nutrient solution in a wide-angled spray pattern (see para 0148, nozzle with impingement frame to provide spray, see also fig 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the impingement nozzle with a wide spray pattern as taught by Ikeuchi with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure all the plant roots in the grow module receive adequate and equal water, for optimal growth and development.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the load sensor is within said lower volume of the enclosable volume shell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with this configuration with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the load sensor data is accurate to the grow bed and within the grow volume so as to not include the weight of debris or other environmental elements, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 28, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 32, and Penn further discloses wherein said processor is comprised of instructions written in software (see fig 2b, claim 35), and wherein said instructions comprise performing the following operations: wherein said instructions comprise performing the following operations: performance of a plurality of experiments for growing said plant, each experiment of said plurality of experiments being controlled by a recipe from a plurality of recipes identifying parameters for growing said plant (see fig 2b, claim 35); obtainment of a machine learning model by training a machine learning algorithm using experimental results (see fig 2b, claim 35); creation of a new recipe by the machine learning model for growing said plant (see fig 2b, claim 35); automation of load-scheduling by delay, bring-forward, shorten and/or extend scheduled automated activities of the system sub modules/units (computing device 310 can change schedule of illumination, see fig 2b, claim 35), the automated activities being comprised of at least one of group consisting of: photoperiods, cleaning operations, pressurization, and aisle movements (computing device 310 can change schedule of illumination, see fig 2b, claim 35); and adjustment of load-scheduling by economy/efficiency of the automated activities to assess the detriment to the crops and advantage of meeting a configurable/settable load/power-demand profile based upon historic data (ML model computes environment parameters for the profiles of each plant & adjusts parameters, see fig 2b); and creation of the strategy for operation of the soilless growing system (ML model computes environment parameters for the profiles of each plant & adjusts parameters, see fig 2b, claim 35).
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penn (WO 2021105990 A2) in view of Blackburn (US-10973186-B2) and Jiang (CN-111165331-A) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Cunningham (US-20220124995-A1) and Obrist (CN 106413383 A).
Regarding claim 33, the modified reference teaches the soilless growing system as in claim 19.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the intermediary storage vessel has a pressurization between 4bar to 6bar by said diaphragm pump, wherein the lower portion of the enclosable volume shell is comprised of a filter trap between said outflow and said nutrient module, and wherein said outflow is in fluid connection with said nutrient module through said filter trap so as to return said excess aqueous nutrient solution and condensate run-off from said HVAC module to said nutrient module.
Obrist teaches wherein the intermediary storage vessel has a pressurization between 4bar to 6bar by said diaphragm pump (5-6bar pressure in storage line before nozzle, see page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the pressurization of Obrist with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the fluid is maintained at a high enough pressure to reach the plants when sprayed, such that the plants receive optimal fluid for plant health and growth, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Cunningham teaches wherein the lower portion of the enclosable volume shell (lower portion 206) is comprised of a filter trap (286) between said outflow (226) and said nutrient module (216, see fig 5), and wherein said outflow (226) is in fluid connection with said nutrient module (216) through said filter trap (286) so as to return said excess aqueous nutrient solution and condensate run-off from said HVAC module to said nutrient module (see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the filter trap in the configuration of Cunningham with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide filtering of the liquid before it reaches the nutrient module to ensure the plants receive only clean nutrient fluid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Applicant argues against Bissonnette in regards to the substrate-less crop holders. New reference Blackburn discloses crop holders 12 that do not include any growing substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642