DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 8/27/2024 and 11/19/2025 are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. EP1020203B1 (“Fujii”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujii discloses a fluid transfer device (fig. 1), comprising: a housing (13); a core (14) positioned in said housing (13) for relative movement with said housing (13), the core (14) having a bore (21) having an inlet (supply 15) and an outlet (16, 10)(inlet and outlet described in para 0031, “In the channel 21, an inflow port and an outflow port form an angle of 120 degrees with each other.”) spaced from the inlet (15), and first (13b for 12) and second gate (13b for 19) receiving regions spaced from said inlet (15) and said outlet (16); and an actuator (17) operatively connected in said device to cause relative movement between said core and said housing.
FUJII – ANNOTATED FIGURE 1
Regarding Claim 2, Fujii discloses first and second gates (ann. fig. 1) respectively positioned in said first and second gate-receiving regions (ann. fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Fujii discloses said core (14) is disk-shaped, said first and second (ann. fig. 1) gate-receiving regions have a radius of curvature (ann. fig. 1), and wherein said first and second gates (ann. fig. 1) have a radius of curvature (ann. fig. 1) that matches the radius of curvature of said gate-receiving regions (see fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Fujii discloses a method of creating an aseptic connection, comprising coupling a first connector and a second connector (ann. fig. 1) to a valve core (14), the valve core (14) having an inner bore (21), first and second gate-receiving regions (ann. fig. 1) and first and second gates (ann. fig. 1) respectively occupying said first and second gate-receiving regions (ann. fig. 1); actuating said valve core (14) to establish fluid communication between said first and second connectors (ann. fig. 1) through said inner bore (21); and further actuating (with handle 17) said valve core (14) to move said first connector (ann. fig. 1) into engagement with said first gate (ann. fig. 1), and to move said second connector into engagement with said second gate (ann. fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Fujii discloses removing said first and second connectors (11a/ 12a) from said valve core (14) after said first and second gates (12, 19) are respectively engaged in said first and second connectors (ann. fig. 1).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Svensson EP0028601B1 (“Svensson”).
Regarding Claim 1, Svensson discloses a fluid transfer device (fig. 1), comprising: a housing (15); a core (22) positioned in said housing (15) for relative movement with said housing (15), the core (22) having a bore (27) having an inlet (21) and an outlet (14) spaced from the inlet (21), and first (33) and second gate (13) receiving regions spaced from said inlet (21) and said outlet (14); and an actuator (23) operatively connected in said device to cause relative movement between said core and said housing.
Regarding Claim 9, Svensson discloses said relative movement is linear movement (see fig. 3).
SVENSSON – FIGURE 3
Conclusion
/DAPHNE BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753