DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6, 8-12, 16-27 and 32-33 have been cancelled.
Claims 34-40 have been added.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/15/2026. Claims 1-15 and 28-31 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 28-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 13-14, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2022/0104044 A1) in view of Inoue et al. (US 2025/0056503 A1).
For claim 1 Huang teaches a baseband processor (Fig. 2 “UE 201 includes processor 232 and memory 231” and paragraph 24 “baseband processor”) comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 2 “UE 201 includes processor 232 and memory 231including program 236”);
one or more processors, when executing the instructions (Fig. 2 “UE 201 includes processor 232 and memory 231including program 236”), configured to:
operate in an active mode by performing a radio link monitoring (RLM) within a secondary cell group (SCG) based on one or more reference signals from a base station, the one or more reference signals having a first rate of transmission (Fig. 9 “normal (active) RLM/BFD normal measurement”, paragraph 26 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in normal (active)”, and paragraph 27 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in normal (active) with one DRX cycle (first rate)”); and
transition, in response to the indication, from the active mode to the power saving mode by performing the RLM based on one or more reference signals from the base station, the one or more reference signals having a second rate of transmission smaller than the first rate of transmission (Fig. 9 “relaxed RLM/BFD measurement”, paragraph 26 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in relax mode”, and paragraph 27 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in relaxed mode with K*DRX cycle (second smaller rate)”).
Huang does not explicitly teach performing a radio link monitoring (RLM) within a secondary cell group (SCG), and receive an indication from the base station to enter a power saving mode upon deactivation of the SCG.
However, Inoue teaches in a case that the PSCell of the SCG is configured with multiple downlink BWPs, the processing unit 502 of the UE 122 may perform RLM by using the reference signal corresponding to the RLM-RS in the Active BWP in the PSCell of the SCG unless the processing unit 502 determines that the SCG is to enter the deactivated state (Inoue: paragraphs 345 and 353).
In addition, Inoue teaches The terminal apparatus may perform radio link monitoring using a certain type of reference signal (such as a cell-specific reference signal (CRS)) in a serving cell (such as a PCell and/or a PSCell). The terminal apparatus may receive, from the base station apparatus, a configuration (radio link monitoring configuration: RadioLinkMonitoringConfig) indicating which reference signal (e.g., which reference signal transmission rate is used) is used for radio link monitoring in the serving cell (such as the PCell and/or the PSCell), and may perform radio link monitoring by using one or more configured reference signals (hereinafter referred to as RLM-RS). The terminal apparatus may perform radio link monitoring using any other signal. A physical layer processing unit of the terminal apparatus may notify the higher layer of in-synchronization in a case that the condition for in-synchronization is satisfied in the serving cell (such as the PCell and/or the PSCell) (Inoue: paragraph 146).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Inoue in the RLM/BFD configuration method of Huang in order to configure UE to perform RLM using RLM-RS-design option (Inoue: paragraphs 345 and 353).
For claim 2 Huang in view of Inoue teaches the baseband processor, wherein:
operating in the active mode further comprises performing abeam failure detection (BFD) based on the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission (Huang: Fig. 9 “normal (active) RLM/BFD normal measurement”, paragraph 26 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in normal (active)”, and paragraph 27 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in normal (active) with one DRX cycle” and as discussed in claim 1) ; and
operating in the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission ( Huang Fig. 9 “relaxed RLM/BFD measurement”, paragraph 26 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in relax mode”, and paragraph 27 “SSB and CSI-RS resources for performing RLM/BFD in relaxed mode with K*DRX cycle (smaller rate)” and as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 5 Huang in view of Inoue teaches the baseband processor, wherein:
the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission comprises system synchronizations blocks (SSBs), a channel state information (CSI) resource signal (CSI-RS), or a combination of the SSBs and the CSI-RS (as discussed in claim 1); and
the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 7 Huang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message with instructions to transition to the power saving mode (paragraph 22 “RRC signaling”).
For claim 13 Huang teaches the baseband processor, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
prior to the transition from the active mode to the power saving mode, receive an indication that the power saving mode is supported by the base station (paragraph 7 “UE receives configuration information of a plurality of reference signals for performing radio link monitoring (RLM) and beam failure discovery (BFD) measurements in a new radio (NR) network”).
For claim 14 Huang teaches the baseband processor, wherein the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission correspond to a same frequency range as the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (paragraph 21 “RLM/BFD can be performed in either FR1 or FR2”).
For claim 28 Huang in view of Inoue teaches a base station (Fig. 2 “base station 202”), comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 2 “base station 202 including memory 221 storing program 224”);
one or more processors, when executing the instructions (Fig. 2 “base station 202 including memory 221 storing program 224 and processor 222”), configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) in an active mode, one or more reference signals with a first rate of transmission for a radio link monitoring (RLM) (as discussed in claim 1);
detect an implicit indication to transition the UE from an active mode to a power saving mode, wherein the implicit indication includes the UE being stationary or having a low mobility (Huang: paragraph 26 “For example, an RLM/BFD configuration circuit 291 that configures SSB and CSI-RS resources for RLM/BFD; an RLM/BFD control and handling circuit 292 that determines whether and how to perform RLM/BFD based on the RLM/BFD configuration; a measurement state transition handling circuit 293 that handles normal state and relaxed state transition based on different criteria, and a measurement circuit 294 that performs normal or relaxed RLM/BFD measurements accordingly” and paragraph 41 “In step 1002, the UE determines whether the UE satisfies criteria for entering a relaxed RLM/BFD measurement state, wherein the criteria comprises at least one of a serving cell quality criteria, and a UE mobility criteria during a period of time”); and
transition, to the UE in the power saving mode, one or more reference signals with a second rate of transmission smaller than the first rate of transmission for the RLM in response to detecting the implicit indication (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 29 Huang in view of Inoue teaches the base station of claim 28, wherein:
the active mode further comprises performing abeam failure detection (BFD) based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1); and
the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with at the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 30 Huang in view of Inoue teaches a method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (as discussed in claim 1), comprising:
operate in an active mode by performing a radio link monitoring (RLM) based on one or more reference signals from a base station, the one or more reference signals having a first rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1);
receive an indication from the base station to enter a power saving mode upon a bandwidth part (BWP) going dormant, wherein the BWP is used by the base station for transmitting the one or more reference signals (Inoue: Fig. 14 “PERFORM OPERATION FOR BWP IN DEACTIVATED STATE (BWP going dormant)” and as discussed in claim 1); and
transition, in response to the indication, from the active mode to the power saving mode by performing the RLM based on one or more reference signals from the base station, the one or more reference signals having a second rate of transmission smaller than the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 31 Huang in view of Inoue teaches the baseband method, wherein:
the active mode further comprises performing a beam failure detection (BFD) based on the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1); and
the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 15, and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0262509 A1).
For claim 3 Huang in view of Inoue teaches with exception of RRM teaches the baseband processor (as discussed in claim 1), wherein:
operating in the active mode further comprises performing a radio resource management (RRM) based on the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1); and
operating in the power saving mode further comprises performing the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claim 1).
Huang in view of Inoue does not explicitly teach RRM.
However, Chen teaches in a case that there is one first resource, switching to measurement relaxation for the first operation on the first resource, for example, RLM/BFD/RRM measurement relaxation on a corresponding resource, such as RLM/BFD/RRM measurement relaxation on a corresponding beam, BWP, CC, carrier, CG, RS, or TRP (Chen: at least paragraphs 128-131).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Chen in the combined Inoue and Huang method of performing RLM/BFD to include performing RLM/BFD/RRM or skipping one or more RLM, BFD, or RRM to satisfy some design requirements (Chen: paragraphs 134-136).
For claim 4 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the baseband processor of claim 3, wherein the active mode, further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 15 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the baseband processor, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
prior to the transition from the active mode to the power saving mode, receive an indication that the power saving mode is supported by a master cell group (MCG) or a secondary cell group (SCG) (Chen: paragraph 46 “a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG)” and paragraph 115 “an SCG is released, suspended, deactivated, or dormant”).
For claim 34 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the baseband processor of claim 3, wherein the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 35 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the base station of claim 28, wherein:
the active mode further comprises performing a radio resource management (RRM) based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with the first rate of transmission(as discussed in claims 1 and 3); and
the power saving mode further includes comprises the RRM based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 36 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the base station of claim 35, wherein:
wherein the active mode further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 37 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the base station of claim 35, wherein:
the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals transmitted with the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 38 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 30, wherein:
the active mode further comprises performing a radio resource management (RRM) based on the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3); and
the power saving mode further comprises performing the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 39 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 38, wherein:
the active mode further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having the first rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
For claim 40 Huang in view of Inoue and further in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 38, wherein:
the power saving mode further comprises performing the BFD and the RRM based on the one or more reference signals having the second rate of transmission (as discussed in claims 1 and 3).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tayyab et al. (US 2025/0317856 A1); “RELAXED MEASUREMENT BASED ON WAKE-UP SIGNAL”.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415