DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 07/06/2026.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-25 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 8 has been amended.
Claim(s) 7 has been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The pollution degree is understood by the Examiner as defined in para. [0023] of the instant published specification (1, 2 or 3, but is preferably 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 11-20, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0214716 A1, Krajewski et al. (hereinafter “Krajewski”) in view of US 2016/0163903 A1, Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1
Krajewski teaches a solar module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059] comprising:
one or more solar cells (418) having a front face and a back face [Fig. 4A and para. 0058], said solar cells (418) being electrically connected to a terminal (corresponding to external connection point) via one or more electrically conductive interconnect members (corresponding to busbars or other points of electric contact, such as one or more connectors) [Figs. 4A-4B and 9A-9B, paras. 0043, 0066, 0069 and 0076-0077], and surrounded by an encapsulant (solar cells 418 are encapsulated by material 410) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059];
an insulating backsheet (corresponding to back layer 406) arranged to overlay the one or more solar cells (418) and encapsulant (410) on a back face side of the module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059]; and
a laminate interlayer (corresponding to moisture barrier 402 and insulation sheet 404) interposed between the encapsulant (410) and the backsheet (406) [Figs. 4A-4B and para. 0058], the laminate interlayer (402 and 404) comprising an electrically insulating layer (corresponding to insulation sheet 404) and a metallic barrier film (corresponding to moisture barrier 402 which may be a pinhole-free metallic material) arranged in that order from a front face side of the module (400) to the back face side of the module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B, paras. 0050 and 0058];
wherein the laminate interlayer (402/404) has a lateral extent less than the lateral extent of the backsheet (406) (“[b]ack layer 406 has planar dimensions larger than those of the moisture barrier 402 and insulation sheet 404”) [Figs. 4A-4B and para. 0058].
Krajewski, Fig. 4B
Krajewski does not teach a laminate interlayer comprising two or more non-contiguous regions.
Yang teaches a solar module comprising an interlayer structure (corresponding to top insulating layer 442 and bottom conductive interlayer 444) having two or more non-continuous regions (see 464, 462 and 448) such that electrical paths through the backsheet may be stablished thereby coupling adjacent solar strings without the need of additional tabbing wires between the two strings which not only saves materials cos but also simplifies fabrication process [Fig. 4B, paras. 0053 and 0059].
Krajewski and Yang are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laminate interlayer of Krajewski to comprise one or more non-continuous regions, as in Yang, in order to create electrical pathways through the backsheet, in addition to the moisture barrier properties of the interlayer, thereby allowing for adjacent solar elements to be electrically coupled without the need of additional tabbing wires, reducing costs and simplifying the fabrication process.
Regarding claim 6
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the laminate interlayer (402/404) substantially overlays all of the one or more solar cells (418) on a back face side [Krajewski, Figs. 4A-4B].
Regarding claim 9
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the one or more electrically conductive interconnect members comprises an interconnect busbar (busbars or other points of electric contact) [Krajewski, Figs. 4A-4B and 9A-9B, paras. 0066, 0069 and 0076].
Regarding claim 11
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above. Modified Krajewski discloses the electrically insulating layer (404) comprising a PET layer having a thickness of 1-10 mils (0.0254 mm to 0.254 mm; 1 mil = 0.0254 mm) [Krajewski, paras. 0015 and 0051].
Accordingly, because the structure of the electrically insulating layer (404) disclosed in modified Krajewski is identical to the one described in the instant specification (para. [0087] of the instant published application states “[a]s PET has an RTI of greater than 90°C, it meets the IEC standards for distance through insulation as defined in IEC 61730-1:2016”), the limitation “wherein the electrically insulating layer has a relative thermal index (RTI) of greater than 90°C” is inherently disclosed in the art.
The court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 12
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the electrically insulating layer (404) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyolefins (PO), polyamides (PA), and polycarbonates (PC) [Krajewski, paras. 0015 and 0051].
Regarding claim 13
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the electrically insulating layer (404) has a thickness of 0.01 mm or more (1 to 10 mills = 0.0254 mm to 0.254 mm; 1 mil = 0.0254 mm) [Krajewski, paras. 0015 and 0051].
Regarding claim 14
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the metallic barrier film (402) comprises a foil layer, optionally an aluminum foil layer or a copper foil layer (“[i]n addition to aluminum or alloys thereof, metallic moisture barriers may be copper, palladium, titanium, gold, silver, iron, molybdenum, stainless steel, steel, zinc, alloys thereof such as brass, or other combinations thereof.”) [Krajewski, para. 0050].
Regarding claim 15
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the metallic barrier film (402) has a thickness of 5 µm or more (between 5 and 500 microns) [Krajewski, para. 0050].
Regarding claim 16
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the laminate interlayer (402/404) comprises one or more primer layers disposed on a front face side and/or a back face side of the interlayer (the insulation sheet a multilayer laminate of PET/EVA, the EVA corresponding to the one or more primer layers) [Krajewski, para. 0050].
Regarding claim 17
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the one or more primer layers comprise a polyolefin material (i.e., EVA) [Krajewski, para. 0050]
Regarding claim 18
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein each of the one or more primer layers comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA), polyethylenes (PE) including linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), and polyolefin-elastomers (POE) [Krajewski, para. 0050]
Regarding claim 19
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the one or more primer layers (corresponding EVA layer within the laminate of the insulation sheet 404 OR to bond between sealing material 414 and insulation sheet 404) are laminated on the electrically insulating layer (404) and/or metallic barrier film (402) via an adhesive layer (bond between layers may be through an adhesive) [Krajewski, Fig. 4B, paras. 0051-0052, 0066, 0069 and 0072].
Regarding claim 20
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the backsheet (406) is a polymeric backsheet [Krajewski, para. 0052].
Regarding claim 22
Krajewski teaches a method for manufacturing a solar module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059], the method including the steps of:
(i) providing one or more solar cells (418), said solar cells (418) being electrically connected to a terminal (corresponding to external connection point) via one or more electrically conductive interconnect members (corresponding to busbars or other points of electric contact, such as one or more connectors) [Figs. 4A-4B and 9A-9B, paras. 0066, 0069 and 0076-0077];
(ii) arranging an encapsulant (410) to surround the one or more solar cells (418) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059];
(iii) arranging a backsheet (corresponding to back layer 406) to overlay the one or more solar cells (418) and encapsulant (410) on a back face side of the module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B and paras. 0058-0059]; and
(iv) arranging a laminate interlayer (corresponding to moisture barrier 402 and insulation sheet 404) having a lateral extent less than the lateral extent of the backsheet (406) (“[b]ack layer 406 has planar dimensions larger than those of the moisture barrier 402 and insulation sheet 404”) to be interposed between the encapsulant (410) and the backsheet (406) [Figs. 4A-4B and para. 0058],
wherein the laminate interlayer (402 and 404) comprises an electrically insulating layer (corresponding to insulation sheet 404) and a metallic barrier film (corresponding to moisture barrier 402 which may be a pinhole-free metallic material) arranged in that order from a front face side of the module (400) to the back face side of the module (400) [Figs. 4A-4B, paras. 0050 and 0058].
Krajewski does not teach a laminate interlayer comprising two or more non-contiguous regions.
Yang teaches a solar module comprising an interlayer structure (corresponding to top insulating layer 442 and bottom conductive interlayer 444) having two or more non-continuous regions (see 464, 462 and 448) such that electrical paths through the backsheet may be stablished thereby coupling adjacent solar strings without the need of additional tabbing wires between the two strings which not only saves materials cos but also simplifies fabrication process [Fig. 4B, paras. 0053 and 0059].
Krajewski and Yang are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laminate interlayer of Krajewski to comprise one or more non-continuous regions, as in Yang, in order to create electrical pathways through the backsheet, in addition to the moisture barrier properties of the interlayer, thereby allowing for adjacent solar elements to be electrically coupled without the need of additional tabbing wires, reducing costs and simplifying the fabrication process.
Regarding claim 24
Modified Krajewski teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the laminate interlayer (402/404) is attached to the backsheet (406) before the backsheet is arranged to overlay the one or more solar cells and encapsulant on a back face side of the module (a PET/adhesive/Al foil/adhesive/PVF pre-laminate stack assembly is formed) [Krajewski, para. 0072], and
wherein steps (iii) and (iv) are performed as a single method step of arranging a combination interlayer-backsheet to overlay the one or more solar cells and encapsulant on a back face side of the module (“[t]he laminate stack may then be assembled with the solar cells, front layer and other module components to complete the module”) [Krajewski, para. 0072].
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajewski in view of Yang, as applied to claims 1, 6, 9, 11-20, 22 and 24 above, and further in view of US 2021/0408309 A1, Yu et al. (hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 2
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein one or both of (i) and (ii) applies:
(i) wherein the solar module further comprises an electrically conductive frame (metal frame) [Krajewski, para. 0064];
(ii) wherein the one or more electrically conductive interconnect members extend through a horizontal plane in which the laminate interlayer lies (see conductive paste within vias 462 and 464) [Yang, Fig. 4B and para. 0061].
Modified Krajewski is silent to the following parameters within conditions (i) and (ii):
a first predetermined minimum creepage distance provided between an edge of the laminate interlayer and the electrically conductive frame, and
a second predetermined minimum creepage distance provided between an edge of the laminate interlayer and the one or more electrically conductive interconnect members.
Yu teaches that the safety performance of photovoltaic modules should meet safety standards for creepage distance (electrical clearance distance and distance through insulation) in the IEC61730-1 standard, wherein through adjustment and design of the encapsulating material, it is helpful to reduce the creepage distance thereby reducing material consumption and weight of the photovoltaic module [paras. 0022 and 0043-0044].
Modified Krajewski and Yu are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the first and second predetermined minimum creepage distances (result-effective variables), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameters through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired safety performance for creepage distance in the IEC61730-1 standard while reducing the material consumption and weight of the solar module, thus reducing costs.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 3
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the first and/or second predetermined minimum creepage distances are selected based on Table 3 of IEC 61730-1:2016 [Yu, para. 0043].
Regarding claim 4
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein (i) applies [Krajewski, para. 0064].
With regards to the first predetermined minimum creepage distance being selected to be greater than or equal to the value given in Row 1(a) or Row 3 of Table 3 of IEC 61730-1:2016 for at least the single module voltage or VOC, and the pollution degree of the module, Yu teaches that the safety performance of photovoltaic modules should meet safety standards for creepage distance (electrical clearance distance and distance through insulation) in the IEC61730-1 standard, wherein through adjustment and design of the encapsulating material, it is helpful to reduce the creepage distance thereby reducing material consumption and weight of the photovoltaic module [paras. 0022 and 0043-0044].
Accordingly, in the absence of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the first predetermined minimum creepage distance (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired safety performance for creepage distance in the IEC61730-1 standard while reducing the material consumption and weight of the solar module, thus reducing costs. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 5 and 8
Modified Krajewski teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein (ii) applies (see conductive interconnecting members comprising a conductive paste within vias 462 and 464 extending through a horizontal plane in which the laminate interlayer, 442/444, lies) [Yang, Fig. 4B, paras. 0053 and 0061], and wherein the one or more electrically conductive interconnect members extend through a gap (corresponding to vias 462 and 464) between the non-contiguous regions of the interlayer [Yang, Fig. 4B and para. 0061].
With regards to a second predetermined minimum creepage distance provided between an edge of the laminate interlayer and the one or more electrically conductive interconnect members (instant claim 8), wherein the second predetermined minimum creepage distance is selected to be greater than or equal to the value given in Row 1(a) or Row 3 of Table 3 of IEC61730-1:2016 for at least the single module voltage or VOC, and the pollution degree of the module (instant claim 5), Yu teaches that the safety performance of photovoltaic modules should meet safety standards for creepage distance (electrical clearance distance and distance through insulation) in the IEC61730-1 standard, wherein through adjustment and design of the encapsulating material, it is helpful to reduce the creepage distance thereby reducing material consumption and weight of the photovoltaic module [Yu, paras. 0022 and 0043-0044].
Accordingly, in the absence of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the first predetermined minimum creepage distance (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired safety performance for creepage distance in the IEC61730-1 standard while reducing the material consumption and weight of the solar module, thus reducing costs.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajewski in view of Yang, as applied to claims 1, 6, 9, 11-20, 22 and 24 above, and further in view of US 2019/0259883 A1, Aranami et al.
Regarding claim 10
Modified Krajewski is silent to the terminal being located on a back face side of the module.
Aranami shows that, in solar modules, positioning a terminal (See terminal box 4 comprising output wirings 5) is a known structure known in the art [Figs. 1 and 3, para. 0039].
Modified Krajewski and Aranami are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have positioned the terminal of modified Krajewski on a back side of the module, as disclosed in Aranami, as such is a commonly known structure in the art and one would have recognized that such location would avoid a reduction in the active surface area of the device (i.e., on the light incident side).
Regarding claim 21
Krajewski teaches the one or more solar cells comprising, for example, microcrystalline, amorphous, polymer or thin film solar cells [para. 0055].
Krajewski is silent to the one or more solar cells being heterojunction technology (HJT) cells.
Aranami shows that crystalline solar cell elements can be selected from single crystal silicon, polycrystalline silicon, a heterojunction type, or a compound solar cell element such as III-V group [para. 0032].
Krajewski and Aranami are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules.
Because Aranami teaches choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solar cell structures, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143].
Since Aranami teaches that heterojunction solar cells lead to the anticipated success, said structure is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 25 is allowed over the cited art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 23
Krajewski teaches the method as set forth above.
Krajewski teaches that the step (iv) is performed simultaneously to step (iii) wherein a pre-laminate layer including the laminate interlayer (402/404) is bonded with the back layer prior to laminating to the other components of the module [paras. 0072-0073].
Accordingly, Krajewski fails to disclose that the step (iv) of arranging a laminate interlayer (402/404) to be interposed between the encapsulant (410) and the backsheet (406) of the solar module (400) is performed between the steps (ii) of arranging an encapsulant (410) to surround the one or more solar cells (418), and (iii) of arranging a backsheet (406) to overlay the one or more solar cells (418) and encapsulant (410) on a back face side of the module (400).
One would not be motivated to modify the order of steps (iii) and (iv) in Krajewski as such would destroy the desired operation of Krajewski, in which a pre-laminate stack including the laminate interlayer and the backsheet layer is formed prior to laminating with the encapsulating material.
Regarding claims 25
Claim 25 is allowed for the same reasons as set forth in claim 23 above.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claim 8 overcome the previous rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant's arguments, filed 07/06/2026, with regards to the rejection of claims 1, 6, 9, 11-20, 22 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yang's conductive interlayer serves an entirely different purpose than the claimed laminate interlayer. Specifically, Applicant points to Yang’s statement that the conductive interlayer was originally motivated by the need for a moisture barrier, while also allowing electrical paths through the backsheet.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (see MPEP 2144). The alleged different purpose does not distinguish the cited art from the claimed laminate interlayer.
Furthermore, in the instant case, Yang discloses that the one or more non-continuous regions allow for the interlayer to maintain moisture barrier properties, prevent shorting between busbars, and also allow the adjacent solar cell elements to be electrically coupled without the need of additional tabbing wires, thereby reducing costs and simplifying the fabrication process.
Applicant argues that the cited references, either alone or in any combination, must disclose, teach, or suggest the identification of an arrangement in which the laminate interlayer as a whole includes two separate parts which do not touch one another where each of those parts includes an electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film.
Applicant argues that claim 1 requires that the laminate interlayer comprises two or more non-contiguous regions and that since the laminate interlayer is required to include both an electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film arranged in that order from a front face side of the module to the back face side of the module, the non-continuous regions must include both the electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film which form the laminate interlayer.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claim does not require each non-continuous region to independently include both the electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film which form the laminate interlayer, nor does it require the discontinuity to extend through every layer of the laminate interlayer. Rather, claim 1 broadly recites a laminate interlayer comprising an electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film, wherein the laminate interlayer comprises two or more non-continuous regions. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are directed to limitations that are not recited in the claim.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, in Yang the two or more non-continuous regions are formed in both the bottom conductive interlayer 444 and in the top insulating layer 442 (See vias 464 and 462 filled with an electrically conductive material and gap 448 for preventing shorting between bus bars).
Applicant argues that non-contiguous in this sense refers to an arrangement where the laminate interlayer comprises two or more separate parts which do not touch each other, where each of those parts includes an electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film.
Applicant relies on Page 6, lines 5-8 and Page 17, lines 4-5 of the specification to define the term non-continuous.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claim does not require each non-continuous region to independently include both the electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film which form the laminate interlayer, nor does it require the discontinuity to extend through every layer of the laminate interlayer. Rather, claim 1 broadly recites a laminate interlayer comprising an electrically insulating layer and a metallic barrier film, wherein the laminate interlayer comprises two or more non-continuous regions. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are directed to limitations that are not recited in the claim and improperly import limitations from the specification into the claim.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that both Krajewski and Yang teach away from the claimed invention because the proposed modified would defeat their respective intended purposes.
Applicant argues that Krajewski's entire design requires a continuous, fully enclosed moisture barrier with a seal extending around it for complete electrical isolation.
Applicant further argues that creating non-contiguous regions in Krajewski's laminate interlayer would defeat both of its core purposes-maintaining an unbroken moisture barrier and ensuring complete electrical isolation of the metallic layer.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference teaches away only when it criticizes, discredits or otherwise discourages the modification set forth in the rejection.
The court has held “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, “[t]he test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, Yang teaches that the vias (464 and 462) are filled with electrically conductive material, thereby establishing electrical paths through the backsheet, and the gap 448 electrically insulates and prevents shorting between busbars [paras. 0053, 0059 and 0061 of Yang). Such non-continuous regions within the interlayer of Yang provide electrical pathways though the backsheet while maintaining electrical insulation, simplifying fabrication and reducing material usage. The disclosure of a moisture barrier does not criticize or discourage the use of non-continuous layers.
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
It is further noted that two separate tests define the scope of analogous prior art: (1) whether the art is from the same field of applicant’s endeavor, regardless of the problem addressed and, (2) if the reference is not within the field of the inventor’s endeavor, whether the reference still is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor is involved. In re Klein, 647 F.3d. 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (citing In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). The test is NOT if the references are analogous to each other, but analogous between the reference and the instant invention.
Applicant argues that Yang similarly teaches away from the claimed configuration.
Applicant argues that Yang's gap 448 is specifically designed to prevent electrical connection between busbars through the conductive interlayer-the opposite of providing a structural accommodation for interconnect members to pass through and that a person of ordinary skill in the art reading Yang would understand that the gap serves as an electrical barrier to isolate portions of the conductive interlayer, not as a passage through which interconnect members could extend.
Applicant further argues that modifying Yang to allow interconnect members to extend through the gap would defeat Yang's express purpose of preventing shorting between busbars of opposite polarity.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not propose modifying Yang. Furthermore, as disclosed in para. 0059, the vias (464 and 462) are filled with electrically conductive material, thereby establishing electrical paths through the backsheet, and the gap 448 electrically insulates and prevents shorting between busbars [paras. 0053, 0059 and 0061 of Yang). Such non-continuous regions within the interlayer of Yang provide electrical pathways though the backsheet while maintaining electrical insulation, simplifying fabrication and reducing material usage. The disclosure of a moisture barrier does not criticize or discourage the use of non-continuous layers.
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 22, the rejection is maintained for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-6, 8, 10-21, 22 and 24, applicant provides no pertinent arguments other than stating that they depend from an allowable claim. As set forth above, the claims 1 and 22 remain rejected over Krajewski in view of Yang. Accordingly, the rejection(s) of claims 2-6, 8, 10-21 and 24 are maintained.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721